DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 5-21, 23 are currently pending. Claims 1-3, 5-21, 23 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 9 of the response, filed June 10, 2026, with respect to the rejections of Claims 8-21, 23 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and Claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of amendments. The rejections of Claims 8-21, 23 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and Claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see Pg. 11-13 of the response, filed with respect to the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1, Applicant’s arguments recite parts of Mawle (US 2021/0317849 A1) and concludes with the assertion that there is no teaching that either plate alone is designed and sized to independently carry the full load. The Office finds this argument to be unpersuasive. MPEP 2114 recites an apparatus claim covers what a device is, not what a device does. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. In this instance, the claimed function is being “configured to independently carry a load between the rotary actuator and the first external mounting connector”. It is not clear how the structure recited leads to the conclusion of lacking the claimed function. Figure 34A of Mawle illustrates brackets (3482a, left and right since b is mislabeled) as redundant features that carry loads. All the structural elements of the brackets required by the claim are disclosed by Mawle. Additionally, the assertion that the function is not met is incorrect, as seen in Figure 34H of Mawle. Described in paragraph [0204], this is an embodiment with a single-ended rotary actuator. Thus, the left and right “sides” of the embodiment of Figure 34A are capable of individual operation, each being fully capable of carrying loads independently. It is not clear from the arguments what structural difference makes Mawle incapable of performing the claimed function.
Applicant's arguments, see Pg. 13-18 of the response, filed with respect to the rejections of Claims 8 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claims 8 and 15, Applicant first argues Timms (US 2024/0295256 A1) and Decker (US 2020/0070958 A1) do not expressly teach the claimed redundant dual-bracket mounting architecture (see Pg. 14-15). Applicant is reminded that in arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). This feature is addressed by Mawle, and thus will be present in the combination as presented by the Office. See the rejection of Claim 8 on Pg. 11-12 of the Non-Final Rejection field March 12, 2026 for example.
Regarding the arguments that Timms and Decker are directed to different actuators (see Pg. 15-16), as noted above, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. Additionally, obviousness is based on what the combination of teachings would suggest to one of ordinary skill, not the bodily incorporation of the structure of one reference into the other. The limitation of the claim to be addressed by Timms-Decker was the concept of the first external mounting connector being adjacent to and aligned with a structural rib of the aircraft airframe structural member, and for the method, the subsequent method of operation. The rest of the limitations that Applicant alleges are missing were addressed by Mawle of the combination. The teachings of Timms and Decker do not have to teach the same exact type of actuator as Mawle.
Regarding the argument that there is no motivation to combine (see Pg. 16), this argument is found to be unpersuasive. Applicant’s argument itself cites the motivation, such as discussed in Pg. 12-13 of the previous Non-Final Rejection. The limitations of the bracket bodies is present in Mawle rather than Timms-Decker. There is no connection between the motivation cited by Applicant and the alleged missing limitations.
Regarding the argument that the references teach away from the claimed configuration, the Office respectfully disagree that the teachings of Timms and Decker amount to a teaching away. The portions cited by Applicant are merely general statements compared to other known actuators, not specifically that of Mawle. The teachings of Timms and Decker were provided in the rejection to show how one of ordinary skill would consider mounting an actuator, not to modify the actuators of Timms and Decker with that of Mawle as suggested by the arguments. Additionally, assuming arguendo the relevance of the citations of Timms-Decker by Applicant to the combination, the nature of the teaching is highly relevant and must be weighed in substance (see MPEP 2145, X, D, 1). Even if Timms and Decker were directed specifically towards the type of actuator disclosed by Mawle when referring to “known” actuators, the actuator is still known art. The showing of mounting practices for an actuator shown in Timms-Decker are still known as well. The art does not specifically discourage the solution of using a known actuator with a known mounting practice.
Regarding the argument that the specification supports the claimed advantages (see Pg. 17-18), Applicant’s citations of advantages is appreciated. However, the Office believes the required structure of the claim limitations to be met. As detailed above, the arguments provided by Applicant have been found to be unpersuasive. MPEP 2145, II states that the recognition of a latent property does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention. If there is a structural difference that provides an advantage not contemplated by the art of record, the difference should be presented in the claims themselves.
No further arguments have been provided with respect to the remaining claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claims 3, 10, and 17, the claims contain a numeral (2). It is noted that previously, the claims referenced numerals (1), (2), (3) for labeling three separate options. However, since there is now only one option, the (2) appears unnecessary. What was previously the second option is now the only option.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, Lines 17-18 of Claim 1 recite “the second mounting assembly disposed about an end of the rotary output shaft”. However, just previously, the claim recites “a rotary output shaft having a second mounting assembly”. It is unclear how the assembly is disposed about an end of the shaft when it is defined as part of the shaft itself. For purposes of examination, they will be interpretable as being definable as different parts.
Regarding Claim 1, Lines 6-8 recite “the first mounting surface includes an aircraft airframe structural member, and the first external mounting connector is adjacent to and aligned with a structural rib of the aircraft airframe structural member”. Lines 25-27 recite “wherein the first mounting surface comprises an aircraft airframe structural member, and the first external mounting connector is adjacent to and aligned with a structural rib of the aircraft airframe structural member”. The limitations appear to be repetitions of one another. It is unclear how to treat the repetitions regarding if they require any additional structure. For purposes of examination, the repetition is believed to be accidental.
Claims 2-3, 5-7, 21 are subsequently rejected for their dependencies upon a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 21, as far as they are definite and understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mawle et al. (US 2021/0317849 A1), hereinafter Mawle.
Regarding Claim 1, Figures 34A-I of Mawle teach a rotary actuator comprising: a housing (external portion of 3440a which surrounds 3412a, hereinafter 3440a, see Figure 34B) comprising a first mounting assembly (right portion of 3440a in view of Figure 34A); a first mounting bracket (left 3482a) adapted for attachment to the first mounting assembly at a first proximal end (end closest to 3440a), the first mounting bracket being a generally flat plate-like body having a first major face (in Figure 34A, the right face of the left 3482a), and adapted at a first distal end (end closest to 3484) for attachment to a first external mounting connector of a first mounting surface (not shown), the first mounting surface includes an aircraft airframe structural member (see paragraph [0199]); a second mounting bracket (3482b, appears mislabeled the right “a” in Figure 34A) adapted for attachment to the first mounting assembly at a second proximal end (end closest to 3440a), the second mounting bracket being a generally flat plate-like body and having a second major face (in Figure 34A, the left face of the right 3482a) arranged parallel to and abutting the first major face (right face of the left 3482a) of the first mounting bracket (left 3482a), such that the first mounting bracket (left 3482a) and the second mounting bracket (right 3482a, should be b) are mechanically redundant to each other, each configured to independently carry a load between the rotary actuator and the first external mounting connector, and adapted at a second distal end (end closest to 3484) for attachment to the first external mounting connector; a rotor assembly (comprises 3412a) rotatably journaled in said housing (3440a) and comprising a rotary output shaft (3412a) having a second mounting assembly (right portion of 3412a in view of Figure 34A), the second mounting assembly disposed about an end of the rotary output shaft (right end of 3412a, see how the right portion of 3412a in Figure 34A is at the end); a third mounting bracket (left 3452a) adapted for attachment to the rotary output shaft (3412a) at a third proximal end (end closest to 3412a), and adapted at a third distal end (end closest to 3454) for attachment to a second external mounting connector of a second mounting surface (not shown); and a fourth mounting bracket (right 3452a) adapted for attachment to the rotary output shaft (3412a) at a fourth proximal end (end closest 3412a), and adapted at a fourth distal end (end closest 3454) for attachment to the second external mounting connector; wherein the first mounting surface comprises an aircraft airframe structural member (see paragraph [0199]) [0196-0201]. Paragraphs [0199] and [0201], respectively, discuss the mounting to an external surface such as an aircraft frame, and mounting to a bracket on an aircraft control surface. These are interpreted to be the first external mounting connector of a first mounting surface and second external mounting connector of a second mounting assembly. There being two mounting brackets (3482a, one should be b) next to each other as illustrated (see Figure 34A) satisfies the broadest reasonable interpretation of being mechanically redundant. As such, they satisfy the structure required to be configured to independently carry loads. See also paragraphs [0203-0204] discussing loading, in particular each left and right half of the rotary actuator individually is capable of carrying loads.
The limitation of the first external mounting connector is adjacent to and aligned with a structural rib of the aircraft airframe structural member is treated as intended use of the claimed rotary actuator. As noted in the preamble, the claim is with respect to a rotary actuator. Lines 1-5 note that the actuator is “adapted” for “attachment to a first external mounting connector of a first mounting surface”. In other words, the first mounting surface is not structure of the rotary actuator. The recitation with respect to the manner in which a claims apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP 2114, II). As noted above, all the structural features of the rotary actuator are met. Therefore, the claim is anticipated by Mawle.
Regarding Claim 2, Mawle discloses the rotary actuator as set forth in Claim 1.
Figures 34A-I of Mawle disclose wherein: (1) the first mounting bracket (3482a) and the second mounting bracket (3482b) are formed as separate bodies; or (2) the third mounting bracket (left 3452a) and fourth mounting bracket (right 3452a) are formed as separate bodies; or (3) both (1) and (2).
Regarding Claim 3, Mawle discloses the rotary actuator as set forth in Claim 1.
Figure 34A of Mawle discloses wherein: (2) a third major face (right face) of the third mounting bracket (left 3452a) abuts a fourth major face (left face) of the fourth mounting bracket (right 3452a).
Regarding Claim 5, Mawle discloses the rotary actuator as set forth in Claim 1.
While Figures 34A-I of Mawle do not explicitly show wherein: the second mounting surface comprises a mounting feature of an aircraft assembly to be actuated; and the second external mounting connector is adjacent a structural rib of the aircraft assembly as claimed. However, the rotary actuator satisfies structure required of the claim. Claim 1 specifies part of the rotary actuator be adapted for attachment to the second external mounting connector of the second mounting surface. The adaptation for attachment to the mounting connector and mounting surface is considered intended use of the claimed structure. Recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP 2114, II). Figure 34A shows (left and right brackets of 3452a) having physical structure with a hole (3454). Paragraph [0201] discusses the adaptation for mounting to an external feature, such as a mounting bracket on an aircraft control surface. The record does not indicate any additional structure would be required to perform the claimed usage. Thus, the disclosed structure is interpreted as satisfying the structure required to perform the claimed intended usage.
Regarding Claim 6, Mawle discloses the rotary actuator as set forth in Claim 1.
Figures 34A-I of Mawle disclose wherein the rotary output shaft comprises a first shaft assembly (3412a) and the second mounting assembly (right end of 3412a in Figure 34A), and the rotor assembly comprises a second rotary output shaft (3412b) comprising a second shaft (shaft portion of 3412b) and a third mounting assembly (left end of 3412b) [0197].
Regarding Claim 7, Mawle discloses the rotary actuator as set forth in Claim 6.
Figures 34A-I of Mawle disclose a fifth mounting bracket (left 3452b in view of Figure 34A) adapted for attachment to the second rotary output shaft (3412b) at a fifth proximal end (end closest 3412b), and adapted at a fifth distal end (end closest 3454) for attachment to the second external mounting connector of the second mounting assembly (not shown); and a sixth mounting bracket (right 3452b) adapted for attachment to the second rotary output shaft (at left end of 3412b) at a sixth proximal end (end closest 3412b), and adapted at a sixth distal end (end closest 3454) for attachment to the second external mounting connector [0196-0201]. Paragraph [0201] discusses the mounting to a bracket on an aircraft control surface. This attachment is interpreted to be the second external mounting connector.
Regarding Claim 21, Mawle discloses the rotary actuator as set forth in Claim 7.
The limitation of wherein the rotary actuator is configured to carry a load between a surface load and the structural rib through a first load path extending from the third and fourth mounting brackets to the first mounting bracket, and through a second load path extending from the fifth and sixth mounting brackets to the second mounting bracket, each of the first and second load paths being redundant to each other and configured to independently carry the load between the surface load and the structural rib is treated as intended use of the claimed structure. Recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP 2114, II). Figure 34A of Mawle shows third and fourth mounting brackets (two brackets at 3452a) in connection with first mounting bracket (left 3482a) and fifth and sixth mounting brackets (two brackets at 3452b) in connection with the second mounting bracket (right 3482b, mislabeled as a). This may be better seen in the embodiments that show perspective view of a single side of the assembly, such as in Figure 34G. Thus, this is sufficient structure to performed the claimed functions because the respectively claimed brackets are in connection, which allows for the first and second load paths to redundantly and independently carry the load. See also paragraphs [0203-0204] discussing the transfer of load between (3452b) and (3482b). The claimed surface load and structural rib are not required structure of the rotary actuator, only that the rotary actuator be configured to carry the loads between the surface load and structural rib, which is satisfied through being capable of mounting such as through holes (3454, 3848).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mawle in view of Timms et al. (US 2024/0295256 A1), hereinafter Timms, and Decker (US 2020/0070958 A1), hereinafter Decker.
Regarding Claim 8, Figures 34A-I of Mawle teach an aircraft assembly comprising: an airframe comprising a first mounting surface having a first external mounting connector; an aircraft member configured to be moved relative to the airframe and comprising a second mounting surface having a second external mounting connector (not shown, see paragraph [0201] discussing mounting to a mounting bracket, i.e. second mounting surface having a second external mounting connector, on an aircraft control surface, i.e. aircraft member); and a rotary actuator comprising: a housing (external portion of 3440a which surrounds 3412a, hereinafter 3440a, see Figure 34B) comprising a first mounting assembly (right portion of 3440a in view of Figure 34A); a first mounting bracket (left 3482a) being a generally flat plate-like body having a first major face (in Figure 34A, the right face of the left 3482a), the first mounting bracket adapted for attachment to the first mounting assembly at a first proximal end (end closest to 3440a), and adapted at a first distal end (end closest to 3484) for attachment to the first external mounting connector of the first mounting surface (not shown), the first mounting surface comprising an aircraft airframe structural member (not shown, see paragraph [0199] discussing mounting to an external surface such as an aircraft airframe, thus the surface interpreted to be part of the airframe and the connector interpreted to be the part of the surface connection occurs); a second mounting bracket (3482b, appears mislabeled the right “a” in Figure 34A) adapted for attachment to the first mounting assembly at a second proximal end (end closest to 3440a), and adapted at a second distal end (end closest to 3484) for attachment to the first external mounting connector, the second mounting bracket being a generally flat plate-like body and having a second major face (in Figure 34A, the left face of the right 3482a) arranged parallel to and abutting the first major face (right face of the left 3482a) of the first mounting bracket (left 3482a), such that the first mounting bracket (left 3482a) and the second mounting bracket (right 3482a, should be b) are mechanically redundant to each other, each configured to independently carry a load between the rotary actuator and the first external mounting connector; a rotor assembly (comprises 3412a) rotatably journaled in said housing (3440a) and having a rotary output shaft (3412a) and comprising a second mounting assembly (right portion of 3412a in view of Figure 34A), the second mounting assembly disposed about an end of the rotary output shaft (right end of 3412a, see how the right portion of 3412a in Figure 34A is at the end); a third mounting bracket (left 3452a) adapted for attachment to the rotary output shaft (3412a) at a third proximal end (end closest to 3412a), and adapted at a third distal end (end closest to 3454) for attachment to the second external mounting connector of a second mounting surface (not shown); and a fourth mounting bracket (right 3452a) adapted for attachment to the rotary output shaft (3412a) at a fourth proximal end (end closest 3412a), and adapted at a fourth distal end (end closest 3454) for attachment to the second external mounting connector [0196-0201]. There being two mounting brackets (3482a, one should be b) next to each other as illustrated (see Figure 34A) satisfies the broadest reasonable interpretation of being mechanically redundant. As such, they satisfy the structure required to be configured to independently carry loads. See also paragraphs [0203-0204] discussing loading, in particular each left and right half of the rotary actuator individually is capable of carrying loads.
Mawle does not expressly teach the first external mounting connecting being adjacent to and aligned with a structural rib of the aircraft airframe structural member as claimed. However, such a connection would have been obvious in view of Timms and Decker.
Figure 2 of Timms teaches a rotary actuator assembly (12) with mounting brackets (14, 16, 20) that are for attachment of the output of the actuator portion (100). The mounting surface (for 14) comprises an aircraft airframe structural member (suitable structure), and the external mounting connecting (for 14) being adjacent to and aligned (due to being fixed) with a structural rib (rib or spa (believed to be typo of “spar”)) of the aircraft airframe structural member. Such an attachment helps provide a suitable support in which the actuator may react against when in use. Particularly, there is sufficient strength to resist loads that the actuator will exert [0011, 0057]. While not specifically shown, the aspect of being adjacent to and aligned results from the fixing of the mounting bracket. Figure 2 of Timms shows (14, with flange portion 22) to be a flange with mounting holes (24) arranged transverse to the extension direction [0057-0058]. Decker evidences that to attach objects to such a flange, you would place them adjacent to and aligned. See Figures 5B-C of Decker, where cylindrical hinged portion (526) has flanged portions extending from the cylindrical surface that are adjacent to and aligned with the structural members (504, 514) in order to be attached [0034-0035].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aircraft assembly taught by Mawle with the first external mounting connecting being adjacent to and aligned with a structural rib of the aircraft airframe structural member as suggested by Timms and evidenced by Decker, to provide the benefit of providing a suitable support for reactions against the actuator that has the strength resist loads of the actuator.
Regarding Claim 9, Mawle, Timms, and Decker teach the aircraft assembly as set forth in Claim 8.
Figures 34A-I of Mawle teach wherein: (1) the first mounting bracket (3482a) and the second mounting bracket (3482b) are formed as separate bodies; or (2) the third mounting bracket (left 3452a) and fourth mounting bracket (right 3452a) are formed as separate bodies; or (3) both (1) and (2).
Regarding Claim 10, Mawle, Timms, and Decker teach the aircraft assembly as set forth in Claim 8.
Figure 34A of Mawle teaches wherein: (2) a third major face (right face) of the third mounting bracket (left 3452a) abuts a fourth major face (left face) of the fourth mounting bracket (right 3452a).
Regarding Claim 11, Mawle, Timms, and Decker teach the aircraft assembly as set forth in Claim 8.
Mawle teaches a movable control surface (external surface) coupled to and movable by the third mounting bracket (left 3452a) and the fourth mounting bracket (right 3452a) such that the movable control surface is pivotable with respect to the other end (at 3482a) [0201].
The modification in Claim 8 by Timms introduces the structural rib (rib or spa(r)) of the aircraft airframe structure (Timms, [0011, 0057]).
Regarding Claim 12, Mawle, Timms, and Decker teach the aircraft assembly as set forth in Claim 8.
Mawle teaches wherein: the second mounting surface comprises a mounting feature of an aircraft assembly to be actuated; and the second external mounting connector is adjacent a structure. Paragraph [0201] discusses mounting to a mounting point of an aircraft assembly to be actuated (control surface).
Similar to the modification of Timms-Decker in Claim 8, it would also be obvious for the structure to be a structural rib of the aircraft assembly. Timms discusses attachment of actuators to ribs and spa(r)s to provide appropriate strength to resist actuator loads (Timms, [0011, 0057]). While the discussion is with respect to the airframe, the teachings are still relevant since they relate to force reactions provided to structures attached to actuators. Figure 5B-C of Decker exemplifies attaching of flange objects to each other involves placing them adjacent (see 512, 514 attaching to flanges of 526) [0035].
Regarding Claim 13, Mawle, Timms, and Decker teach the aircraft assembly as set forth in Claim 8.
Figures 34A-I of Mawle teach wherein the rotary output shaft comprises a first shaft assembly (3412a) and the second mounting assembly (right end of 3412a in Figure 34A), and the rotary assembly comprises a second rotary output shaft (3412b) comprising a second shaft (shaft portion of 3412b) and a third mounting assembly (left end of 3412b) [0197].
Regarding Claim 14, Mawle, Timms, and Decker teach the aircraft assembly as set forth in Claim 13.
Figures 34A-I of Mawle teach a fifth mounting bracket (left 3452b in view of Figure 34A) adapted for attachment to the second rotary output shaft (3412b) at a fifth proximal end (end closest 3412b), and adapted at a fifth distal end (end closest 3454) for attachment to the second external mounting connector of the second mounting assembly (not shown); and a sixth mounting bracket (right 3452b) adapted for attachment to the second rotary output shaft (at left end of 3412b) at a sixth proximal end (end closest 3412b), and adapted at a sixth distal end (end closest 3454) for attachment to the second external mounting connector [0196-0201]. Paragraph [0201] discusses the mounting to a bracket on an aircraft control surface. This attachment is interpreted to be the second external mounting connector.
Regarding Claim 15, Figures 34A-I of Mawle teach a method of rotary actuation comprising: providing a rotary actuator comprising: a housing (external portion of 3440a which surrounds 3412a, hereinafter 3440a, see Figure 34B) comprising a first mounting assembly (right portion of 3440a in view of Figure 34A); a first mounting bracket (left 3482a) adapted for attachment to the first mounting assembly at a first proximal end (end closest to 3440a), the first mounting bracket being a generally flat plate-like body having a first major face (in Figure 34A, the right face of the left 3482a), and adapted at a first distal end (end closest to 3484) for attachment to a first external mounting connector of a first mounting surface (not shown) comprising an aircraft airframe structural member (see paragraph [0199]); a second mounting bracket (3482b, appears mislabeled the right “a” in Figure 34A) adapted for attachment to the first mounting assembly at a second proximal end (end closest to 3440a), and adapted at a second distal end (end closest to 3484) for attachment to the first external mounting connector, the second mounting bracket being a generally flat plate-like body and having a second major face (in Figure 34A, the left face of the right 3482a) arranged parallel to and abutting the first major face (right face of the left 3482a) of the first mounting bracket (left 3482a), such that the first mounting bracket (left 3482a) and the second mounting bracket (right 3482a, should be b) are mechanically redundant to each other, each configured to independently carry a load between the rotary actuator and the first external mounting connector; a rotor assembly (comprises 3412a) rotatably journaled in said housing (3440a) and having a rotary output shaft (3412a) and comprising a second mounting assembly (right portion of 3412a in view of Figure 34A), the second mounting assembly disposed about an end of the rotary output shaft (right end of 3412a, see how the right portion of 3412a in Figure 34A is at the end); a third mounting bracket (left 3452a) adapted for attachment to the rotary output shaft (3412a) at a third proximal end (end closest to 3412a), and adapted at a third distal end (end closest to 3454) for attachment to a second external mounting connector of a second mounting surface (not shown); and a fourth mounting bracket (right 3452a) adapted for attachment to the rotary output shaft (3412a) at a fourth proximal end (end closest 3412a), and adapted at a fourth distal end (end closest 3454) for attachment to the second external mounting connector; energizing the rotor assembly; urging rotation of the rotary output shaft (3412a); urging, by the rotary output shaft (3412a), rotation of the third mounting bracket (left 3452a); urging, by the rotary output shaft (3412a), rotation of the fourth mounting bracket (right 3452a); and urging, by the third mounting bracket (left 3452a) and the fourth mounting bracket (right 3452a), motion of the second external mounting connector to pivot the second external mounting connector [0196-0201]. Paragraphs [0199] and [0201], respectively, discuss the mounting to an external surface such as an aircraft frame, and mounting to a bracket on an aircraft control surface. These are interpreted to be the first external mounting connector of a first mounting surface and second external mounting connector of a second mounting assembly. Paragraphs [0195-0197, 0214] discuss energizing assembly (3410a) to urge rotation of the rotary output shaft (3412a). Paragraphs [0215-0216] discuss the subsequent urging of (3450), which the brackets (3452a) are a part of according to paragraph [0200], to move the movable portion it is connected to, i.e. the second external mounting connector. There being two mounting brackets (3482a, one should be b) next to each other as illustrated (see Figure 34A) satisfies the broadest reasonable interpretation of being mechanically redundant. As such, they satisfy the structure required to be configured to independently carry loads. See also paragraphs [0203-0204] discussing loading, in particular each left and right half of the rotary actuator individually is capable of carrying loads.
Mawle does not expressly teach the first external mounting connector being adjacent to and aligned with a structural rib of the aircraft airframe structural member; motion of the second external mounting connector to pivot the external mounting connector with respect to the structural rib of the aircraft as claimed. However, such a method would have been obvious in view of Timm and Decker.
Figure 2 of Timms teaches method of rotary actuation comprising: providing a rotary actuator assembly (12) with mounting brackets (14, 16, 20) that are for attachment of the output of the actuator portion (100). The mounting surface (for 14) comprises an aircraft airframe structural member (suitable structure), and the external mounting connecting (for 14) being adjacent to and aligned (due to being fixed) with a structural rib (rib or spa (believed to be typo of “spar”)) of the aircraft airframe structural member, motion of the external mounting connector (for 20) to pivot (see paragraph [0025] noting actuation) the external mounting connector with respect to the structural rib of the aircraft. Such an attachment helps provide a suitable support in which the actuator may react against when in use. Particularly, there is sufficient strength to resist loads that the actuator will exert [0011, 0057]. While not specifically shown, the aspect of being adjacent to and aligned results from the fixing of the mounting bracket. Figure 2 of Timms shows (14, with flange portion 22) to be a flange with mounting holes (24) arranged transverse to the extension direction [0057-0058]. Decker evidences that to attach objects to such a flange, you would place them adjacent to and aligned. See Figures 5B-C of Decker, where cylindrical hinged portion (526) has flanged portions extending from the cylindrical surface that are adjacent to and aligned with the structural members (504, 514) in order to be attached [0034-0035].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Mawle with the first external mounting connector being adjacent to and aligned with a structural rib of the aircraft airframe structural member; motion of the second external mounting connector to pivot the external mounting connector with respect to the structural rib of the aircraft as suggested by Timms and evidenced by Decker, to provide the benefit of providing a suitable support for reactions against the actuator that has the strength resist loads of the actuator.
Regarding Claim 16, Mawle, Timms, and Decker teach the method as set forth in Claim 15.
Figures 34A-I of Mawle teach wherein: (1) the first mounting bracket (3482a) and the second mounting bracket (3482b) are formed as separate bodies; or (2) the third mounting bracket (left 3452a) and fourth mounting bracket (right 3452a) are formed as separate bodies; or (3) both (1) and (2).
Regarding Claim 17, Mawle, Timms, and Decker teach the method as set forth in Claim 15.
Figure 34A of Mawle teaches wherein: (2) a third major face (right face) of the third mounting bracket (left 3452a) abuts a fourth major face (left face) of the fourth mounting bracket (right 3452a).
Regarding Claim 18, Mawle, Timms, and Decker teach the method as set forth in Claim 15.
Mawle teaches wherein: the second mounting surface comprises a mounting feature of an aircraft assembly to be actuated. Paragraph [0201] discusses mounting to a mounting point of an aircraft assembly to be actuated (control surface).
Similar to the modification of Timms-Decker in Claim 15, it would also be obvious for the structure to be a structural rib of the aircraft assembly. Timms discusses attachment of actuators to ribs and spa(r)s to provide appropriate strength to resist actuator loads (Timms, [0011, 0057]). While the discussion is with respect to the airframe, the teachings are still relevant since they relate to force reactions provided to structures attached to actuators. Figure 5B-C of Decker exemplifies attaching of flange objects to each other involves placing them adjacent (see 512, 514 attaching to flanges of 526) [0035].
Regarding Claim 19, Mawle, Timms, and Decker teach the method as set forth in Claim 15.
Figures 34A-I of Mawle teach wherein the rotary output shaft comprises a first shaft assembly (3412a) and the second mounting assembly (right end of 3412a in Figure 34A), and the rotor assembly comprises a second rotary output shaft (3412b) comprising a second shaft (shaft portion of 3412b) and a third mounting assembly (left end of 3412b) [0197].
Regarding Claim 20, Mawle, Timms, and Decker teach the method as set forth in Claim 19.
Figures 34-I of Mawle teach a fifth mounting bracket (left 3452b in view of Figure 34A) adapted for attachment to the second rotary output shaft (3412b) at a fifth proximal end (end closest 3412b), and adapted at a fifth distal end (end closest 3454) for attachment to the second external mounting connector of the second mounting assembly (not shown); and a sixth mounting bracket (right 3452b) adapted for attachment to the second rotary output shaft (at left end of 3412b) at a sixth proximal end (end closest 3412b), and adapted at a sixth distal end (end closest 3454) for attachment to the second external mounting connector [0196-0201]. Paragraph [0201] discusses the mounting to a bracket on an aircraft control surface. This attachment is interpreted to be the second external mounting connector.
Regarding Claim 23, Mawle, Timms, and Decker teach the method as set forth in Claim 15.
Figures 34A-I of Mawle teach carrying a load through a first load path from the third and fourth mounting brackets (left and right 3452a) to the first mounting bracket (left 3482a), and through a second load path extending from the fifth and sixth mounting brackets (left and right 3452b) to the second mounting bracket (3482b, appears mislabeled the right “a” in Figure 34A), each of the first and second load paths being redundant to each other and configured to independently carry the load. Mawle shows the appropriate structural connections between the brackets. Thus, the loads experience during use of the method are carried as required of the claim. Note also paragraph [0204] describing the loads for independent operation of a single side (fifth/sixth with second brackets).
The modification in Claim 15 by Timms-Decker results in the load being between a surface load and the structural rib. Timms discusses attachment of actuators to ribs and spa(r)s to provide appropriate strength to resist actuator loads (Timms, [0011, 0057]). Thus, it is between a surface load (other bracket the rib is not attached to) and the structural rib.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELTON K WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745