DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the RCE filed on 08/26/2026.
Claims 1-16 are pending and rejected.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 15-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarnikov (US 20110270913 A1) in view of Sen (US 10708170 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Jarnikov teaches a communication device that transmits packets received from a first device to a second device using one of a plurality of communication lines, the device comprising a central processing unit (CPU), a memory storing a program, and a buffer that stores the packets, wherein the CPU executes the program to perform:
receiving the packets from the first device ([0041], fig. 1, a receiver module 1 communicates with an external server for requesting and receiving content data 101);
identifying a chunk to which each of the packets belongs, the chunk being a unit of data treated as a single piece of data at a higher layer ([0004] Each copy typically consists of two-to five-seconds segments called chunks (single piece of content data) that are physically separated (e.g. a file is created for each chunk in a copy) or logically separated (e.g. all chunks of a copy are stored in a single file with an addressing structure that allows to access any chunk individually);
acquiring a communication performance of each of the plurality of the communication lines ([0041] The receiver module is furthermore configured to estimate the available bandwidth, typically based on the size of the downloaded content data and the duration of its transmission);
reading the packets from the buffer and transmitting each of the read packets to the second device using the communication line assigned to the read packet ([0041] Data read from the buffer 3 and provided to the decoder 4; [0004] predict transmission time for the next chunk from different quality levels and choose the quality level that minimizes the risk of late chunk delivery while keeping the quality level as high as possible).
Jarnikov does not explicitly teach
assigning, for each of a plurality of chunks, each of a plurality of the packets to respective one of the plurality of the communication lines based on the communication performance, to minimize an arrival time required for all packets belonging to the chunk to reach the second device, such that two or more of the plurality of the communication lines are assigned to the packets belonging to one chunk.
Sen teaches
assigning, for each of a plurality of chunks, each of a plurality of the packets to respective one of the plurality of the communication lines based on the communication performance, to minimize an arrival time required for all packets belonging to the chunk to reach the second device, such that two or more of the plurality of the communication lines are assigned to the packets belonging to one chunk (col. 2, lines 6-11, the chunk of data is split into a plurality of packets including a first packet and a second packet. A first sub-flow is selected to transport the first packet to the remote device and a second sub-flow is selected (communication lines are assigned) to transport the second packet to the remote device. (col. 3, lines 4-11, For instance, a difference of 100 to 450 milliseconds between the arrival times of the last bytes of two sub-flows has been observed using the MinRTT algorithm, whereas the last bytes are more likely to arrive at the receiver simultaneously using the optimal scheduling decision. Performance of the MPTCP scheme is greatly enhanced when all sub-flows complete at the receiver at the same time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention made to include in the Jarnikov disclosure, chunks are transmitted to destination based on performance of the connections, as taught by Sen. One would be motivated to do so to improve download time over cellular and WiFi network paths on mobile endpoint devices.
Regarding claim 2, Jarnikov and Sen teach the communication device according to claim 1, wherein Jarnikov further teaches the CPU identifies the chunks based on the reception interval of the packets received ([0004] Each copy typically consists of two-to five-seconds segments called chunks that are physically separated (e.g. a file is created for each chunk in a copy) or logically separated).
Regarding claim 3, Jarnikov and Sen teach the communication device according to claim 2, wherein Jarnikov further teaches the chunks are frames generated by compression of video ([0005] On the contrary, the bit budget may vary per frame in order to enhance the rate-distortion performance of the encoded video).
Regarding claim 6, Jarnikov and Sen teach the communication device according to claim 1, wherein Jarnikov further teaches the CPU assigns, for each of the chunks, each of the plurality of the packets to one of the plurality of the communication lines based on at least one of the available bandwidth of each communication line and the delay time of each communication line ([0014] estimating an available bandwidth of the packet switched network), wherein the available bandwidth is based on a transmission duration of the digital content; [0068] data packets may be delayed due to multiple traffic flows contending for the same path).
Regarding claim 7, Jarnikov and Sen teach the communication device according to claim 1, wherein Jarnikov further teaches the CPU assigns, for each of the chunks, each of the plurality of the packets to respective one of the plurality of the communication lines based on at least one of the amount of un-transmitted data in the chunk being transmitted, and the amount of in-flight data, the in-flight data being data that is being transmitted or scheduled to be transmitted on each communication line and has not reached the second device, in addition to the communication performance ([0043] Although it is possible that a next chunk is not available, for simplicity in this example the external server always has the next chunk available, so the buffer fullness on the client side is the only limiting factor. If the buffer is full, the receiver is put on hold until the buffer 3 has sufficient space to accommodate the next chunk; [0045] The client buffer 3 is kept as full as possible to be able to accommodate a possible oversized chunk or a drop in the network throughput. Requesting chunks (depicted by 203) at a low quality decreases transmission time leaving more reserve time available to transmit following chunks).
Regarding claim 8, Jarnikov and Sen teach the communication device according to claim 6, wherein Jarnikov further teaches the CPU assigns, for each of the chunks, each of the plurality of the packets to respective one of the plurality of the communication lines based on at least one of the amount of un-transmitted data in the chunk being transmitted, and the amount of in-flight data, the in-flight data being data that is being transmitted or scheduled to be transmitted on each communication line and has not reached the second device, in addition to the communication performance ([0043] Although it is possible that a next chunk is not available, for simplicity in this example the external server always has the next chunk available, so the buffer fullness on the client side is the only limiting factor. If the buffer is full, the receiver is put on hold until the buffer 3 has sufficient space to accommodate the next chunk; [0045] The client buffer 3 is kept as full as possible to be able to accommodate a possible oversized chunk or a drop in the network throughput. Requesting chunks (depicted by 203) at a low quality decreases transmission time leaving more reserve time available to transmit following chunks).
Regarding claim 9, Jarnikov and Sen teach the communication device according to claim 1, wherein Jarnikov further teaches the CPU, when transmitting a subsequent packet using the communication line to which no preceding packet is assigned, reads the subsequent packet from the from a position offset from a beginning of the buffer, the preceding packet is a packet of a preceding chunk, which is a chunk that should complete reaching the second device first, and the subsequent packet is a packet of a subsequent chunk, which is a chunk that should complete reaching the second device after the preceding chunk ([0065] In this example the duration of a chunk is 2 seconds, video sequences are split in chunks and trace files are created for recording sizes of all chunks. The trace files contain size measurements for chunks from different quality levels).
Regarding claim 10, Jarnikov and Sen teach the communication device according to claim 1, Jarnikov further teaches CPU controls the storage of the packets in the buffer and the discarding of the packets from the buffer by the chunks ([0015] signaling from the controller to the receiver a quality level of a next chunk of data).
Regarding claim 11, Jarnikov and Sen teach the communication device according to claim 1, wherein Jarnikov further teaches the CPU identifies a communication flow to which the packet belongs based on the source and/or destination of the packet, the CPU assigns each of the plurality of packets to respective one of the plurality of communication lines for each communication flow and for each chunk, to make the arrival time of the plurality of packets by the chunk to the second device the earliest ([0009] In practice the channel throughput may not be constant bit rate and may vary over time, due to competing traffic, changing to a different routing path, or switching between different content sources; [0042] Typically, every chunk belongs to a particular quality level. Hereby the controller changes the quality level of the receiver in such way that a chunk can be successfully received within a given time period).
Regarding claim 12, Jarnikov and Sen teach the communication device according to claim 1, wherein Jarnikov further teaches the CPU transmits chunk identification information that identifies the chunk to which the packet belongs ([0004] Each copy typically consists of two-to five-seconds segments called chunks that are physically separated or logically separated. A protocol allows a client to request a data chunk from one of several quality levels at run-time to react to varying network conditions).
Regarding claim 13, Jarnikov and Sen teach the communication device according to claim 1, wherein Jarnikov further teaches the CPU transmits chunk size information indicating the size of the chunk to which the packet belongs ([0063] The statistics are gathered off-line by measuring sizes of chunks of a particular duration from the various video inputs and dividing the measured values by the bandwidth that the calculated strategy will be used for).
Regarding claim 14, Jarnikov and Sen teach the communication device according to claim 1, Jarnikov further teaches wherein the communication device is mounted to a mobile object ([0003] respond to an operation of attaching the electronic device onto a vehicle magnetic suction bracket by a user).
Regarding claim 15, Jarnikov teaches a communication method performed by a CPU of a communication device comprising a buffer that stores the packets and transmitting packets received from a first device to a second device using one of a plurality of communication lines, the method comprising:
receiving the packets from the first device ([0041], fig. 1, a receiver module 1 communicates with an external server for requesting and receiving content data 101);
identifying the chunk to which each of the packets belongs, the chunk being a unit of data treated as a single piece of data at a higher layer ([0004] Each copy typically consists of two-to five-seconds segments called chunks that are physically separated (e.g. a file is created for each chunk in a copy) or logically separated (e.g. all chunks of a copy are stored in a single file with an addressing structure that allows to access any chunk individually);
acquiring the communication performance of each of a plurality of the communication lines ([0041] The receiver module is furthermore configured to estimate the available bandwidth, typically based on the size of the downloaded content data and the duration of its transmission);
reading the packets from the buffer and transmitting each of the read packets to the second device using the communication line assigned to the read packet ([0041] Data read from the buffer 3 and provided to the decoder 4; [0004] predict transmission time for the next chunk from different quality levels and choose the quality level that minimizes the risk of late chunk delivery while keeping the quality level as high as possible).
Jarnikov does not explicitly teach
assigning, for each of a plurality of chunks, each of a plurality of the packets to respective one of the plurality of the communication lines based on the communication performance, to minimize an arrival time required for all packets belonging to the chunk to reach the second device, such that two or more of the plurality of the communication lines are assigned to the packets belonging to one chunk.
Sen teaches
assigning, for each of a plurality of chunks, each of a plurality of the packets to respective one of the plurality of the communication lines based on the communication performance, to minimize an arrival time required for all packets belonging to the chunk to reach the second device, such that two or more of the plurality of the communication lines are assigned to the packets belonging to one chunk (col. 2, lines 6-11, the chunk of data is split into a plurality of packets including a first packet and a second packet. A first sub-flow is selected to transport the first packet to the remote device and a second sub-flow is selected (communication lines are assigned) to transport the second packet to the remote device. (col. 3, lines 4-11, For instance, a difference of 100 to 450 milliseconds between the arrival times of the last bytes of two sub-flows has been observed using the MinRTT algorithm, whereas the last bytes are more likely to arrive at the receiver simultaneously using the optimal scheduling decision. Performance of the MPTCP scheme is greatly enhanced when all sub-flows complete at the receiver at the same time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention made to include in the Jarnikov disclosure, chunks are transmitted to destination based on performance of the connections, as taught by Sen. One would be motivated to do so to improve download time over cellular and WiFi network paths on mobile endpoint devices.
Regarding claim 16, Jarnikov teaches a computer-readable non-transitory storage medium storing a communication program executable by a CPU of a communication device comprising a buffer that stores the packets and transmitting packets received from a first device to a second device using one of a plurality of communication lines, the communication program causing the communication device to:
receive the packets from the first device ([0041], fig. 1, a receiver module 1 communicates with an external server for requesting and receiving content data 101);
identify the chunk to which each of the packets belongs, the chunk being a unit of data treated as a single piece of data at a higher layer ([0004] Each copy typically consists of two-to five-seconds segments called chunks that are physically separated (e.g. a file is created for each chunk in a copy) or logically separated (e.g. all chunks of a copy are stored in a single file with an addressing structure that allows to access any chunk individually);
store the packets in a buffer ([0041] The received data is stored in a buffer);
acquire the communication performance of each of a plurality of the communication lines ([0041] The receiver module is furthermore configured to estimate the available bandwidth, typically based on the size of the downloaded content data and the duration of its transmission);
read the packets from the buffer and transmitting each of the read packets to the second device using the communication line assigned to the read packet ([0041] Data read from the buffer 3 and provided to the decoder 4; [0004] predict transmission time for the next chunk from different quality levels and choose the quality level that minimizes the risk of late chunk delivery while keeping the quality level as high as possible).
Jarnikov does not explicitly teach
assign, for each of a plurality of chunks, each of a plurality of the packets to respective one of the plurality of the communication lines based on the communication performance, to minimize an arrival time required for all packets belonging to the chunk to reach the second device, such that two or more of the plurality of the communication lines are assigned to the packets belonging to one chunk.
Sen teaches
assign, for each of a plurality of chunks, each of a plurality of the packets to respective one of the plurality of the communication lines based on the communication performance, to minimize an arrival time required for all packets belonging to the chunk to reach the second device, such that two or more of the plurality of the communication lines are assigned to the packets belonging to one chunk (col. 2, lines 6-11, the chunk of data is split into a plurality of packets including a first packet and a second packet. A first sub-flow is selected to transport the first packet to the remote device and a second sub-flow is selected (communication lines are assigned) to transport the second packet to the remote device. (col. 3, lines 4-11, For instance, a difference of 100 to 450 milliseconds between the arrival times of the last bytes of two sub-flows has been observed using the MinRTT algorithm, whereas the last bytes are more likely to arrive at the receiver simultaneously using the optimal scheduling decision. Performance of the MPTCP scheme is greatly enhanced when all sub-flows complete at the receiver at the same time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention made to include in the Jarnikov disclosure, chunks are transmitted to destination based on performance of the connections, as taught by Sen. One would be motivated to do so to improve download time over cellular and WiFi network paths on mobile endpoint devices.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarnikov (US 20110270913 A1) in view of Sen (US 10708170 B2) and further in view of Sung (US 20190160834).
Regarding claim 4, Jarnikov and Sen teach the communication device according to claim 1, Jarnikov does not explicitly teach
wherein the CPU identifies the chunks based on the identifier contained in the IP header of the packet.
Sung teaches
wherein Sung further teaches the CPU identifies the chunks based on the identifier contained in the IP header of the packet ([0127] a unique session identification is a session identifier stored in the header of an IP packet).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention made to include in the Jarnikov disclosure, packet includes IP address header, as taught by Sung. One would be motivated to do so to transmit data packets, so that the overall performance of the aggregate end-to-end connection is satisfactory, and is not affected negatively by transmitting data packets through established end-to-end connections that have poor performance.
Regarding claim 5, Jarnikov and Sen teach the communication device according to claim 1, Janikov does not explicitly teach
wherein the packet identification unit identifies the chunk based on the identification information contained in the TCP/UDP payload of the packet.
Sung teaches
wherein Sung further teaches the packet identification unit identifies the chunk based on the identification information contained in the TCP/UDP payload of the packet ([0127] the session identifier is stored in the payload of an IP packet).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention made to include in the Jarnikov disclosure, identification information contained in the payload of the packet, as taught by Sung. One would be motivated to do so to transmit data packets, so that the overall performance of the aggregate end-to-end connection is satisfactory, and is not affected negatively by transmitting data packets through established end-to-end connections that have poor performance.
Conclusion
/ANH NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458