DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Han fails to teach or disclose a load monitoring system comprising a sensor coupled to the suspension component that includes an alignment feature that extends from a main body of the sensor. Han also fails to teach or disclose an alignment feature including a first leg that extends from a bottom surface of the main body and a protrusion that extends from the first leg at a position spaced from the bottom surface of the main body such that the main body of the sensor is in contact with a first surface of the suspension component and the alignment feature is in contact with a second surface of the suspension component; and Andersson is directed towards a load sensor arrangement arranged on a vehicle axle, having a totally different sensor structure/configuration than the sensor configuration for load sensing claimed herein. Similarly, Brown is simply directed to a calibrating a sensor for monitoring load condition of a vehicle. The cited references (Han, Andersson and Brown) alone or in combination fail to disclose, teach or suggest to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) a load monitoring system comprising a sensor coupled to the suspension component that includes an alignment feature that extends from a main body of the sensor, the alignment feature including a first leg that extends from a bottom surface of the main body and a protrusion that extends from the first leg at a position spaced from the bottom surface of the main body such that the main body of the sensor is in contact with a first surface of the suspension component and the alignment feature is in contact with a second surface of the suspension component.
In response, Examiner notes, and as described in the rejection to claim 1 below, Han discloses a load monitoring system (MTD paragraph 1) comprising: a suspension component (300, 310); and a sensor (110) coupled to the suspension component that includes an alignment feature (250) extending from a main body of the sensor (110); wherein the alignment feature (250) includes a first leg (fig. 7 shows legs on opposite sides of the body 110, 200a) extending from a bottom of the sensor main body (110, 200a) such that the main body (110, 200a) of the sensor contacts a first surface (top surface; fig. 7) of the suspension component, and the alignment feature (250) is in contact with a second surface (side or bottom surface; fig. 7) of the suspension component (MTD pages 3-4). (Figs. 1-9, MTD pages 1-4.) Han discloses an alignment feature that curves from the top to the bottom surface of the suspension component but does not specifically disclose a protrusion. Andersson teaches of the alignment feature further comprises a protrusion (Modified fig. 2, below) extending from a surface of the protruding leg (114) at a position spaced from the bottom of the sensor main body (102) (paragraph 139 describes the clamping structure being applied to a leaf spring). (Figs. 1-15, paragraphs 103-139.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the protrusion structure as described in Andersson into the invention of Han with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reliably secure the sensor. (Paragraph 139.) In addition, because both Han and Andersson teach using sensors attaching to leaf springs, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to substitute one method (having a curved leg from the top to the bottom of the element being measured) for the other (having a protrusion that extends underneath the element being measured) to achieve the predictable result of securing a sensor onto a leaf spring.
In response to Andersson being directed towards a load sensor arrangement arranged on a vehicle axle; the reference Andersson is being used to describe how a sensor can be attached to a leaf spring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han (KR 10-0880156 B1; Machine Translation of Description ‘MTD’).
With respect to claim 10, Han discloses an angle sensor (MTD page 2) comprising: a main body (110, 200a) and an alignment feature (250) that extends from the sensor main body, wherein the main body (110, 200a) includes a first contact surface (bottom surface of 110, 200a) in contact with a first surface (top surface; fig. 7) of a suspension component (300, 310) (MTD page 2 “the first detection sensor (110) is first fixed to the plate spring (300) by the adhesive portion (112)”) and the alignment feature (250) includes a second contact surface (fig. 7, surface that contacts bottom of suspension component 300, 310) in contact with a second surface of the of the suspension component (300, 310). (Figs. 1-9, MTD pages 1-4.)
With respect to claim 11, Han discloses the alignment feature (250) includes a leg (fig. 7 showing opposing legs extending from sides of the sensor main body) that extends from a bottom surface (fig. 7) of the main body (110, 200a) proximate a first side of the main body; and the second contact surface (fig. 7, surface the contacts bottom of suspension component 300, 310) comprises a surface of the leg (fig. 7 showing opposing legs extending from sides of the sensor main body). (Figs. 1-9, MTD pages 1-4.)
With respect to claim 12, Han discloses the first contact surface (bottom surface of 110, 200a) comprises the bottom surface of the main body; and the second contact surface (fig. 7, surface that contacts bottom of suspension component 300, 310) is substantially perpendicular (fig. 7) to the bottom surface. (Figs. 1-9, MTD pages 1-4.)
With respect to claim 14, Han discloses the alignment feature (250) includes a first leg (fig. 7 shows legs on opposite sides of the body 110, 200a) that extends from a bottom of the main body (110, 200a) proximate a first side of the main body (fig. 7) and a second leg (fig. 7 shows legs on opposite sides of the body 110, 200a) that extends from the bottom of the main body (110, 200a) proximate a second side of the main body (110, 200a); the first leg (fig. 7 shows legs on opposite sides of the body 110, 200a) includes a first contact surface (fig. 7 surface contacting one side of leaf spring); and the second leg (fig. 7 shows legs on opposite sides of the body 110, 200a) includes a second contact surface (fig. 7 surface contacting opposite side of leaf spring) substantially parallel to the first contacting surface (fig. 7 shows the legs contacting the sides of the leaf spring as parallel to one another). (Figs. 1-9, MTD pages 1-4.)
With respect to claim 15, Han discloses the first contact surface (fig. 7 surface contacting one side of leaf spring) is spaced from the second contact surface (fig. 7 surface contacting opposite side of leaf spring) by a distance corresponding to a width (fig. 7) of the suspension component (300, 310). (Figs. 1-9, MTD pages 1-4.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 16-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (KR 10-0880156 B1; Machine Translation of Description ‘MTD’) in view of Andersson (US 2021/0008940).
With respect to claims 1 and 17, Han discloses a load monitoring system (MTD paragraph 1) comprising: a suspension component (300, 310); and a sensor (110) coupled to the suspension component that includes an alignment feature (250) extending from a main body of the sensor (110); wherein the alignment feature (250) includes a first leg (fig. 7 shows legs on opposite sides of the body 110, 200a) extending from a bottom of the sensor main body (110, 200a) such that the main body (110, 200a) of the sensor contacts a first surface (top surface; fig. 7) of the suspension component, and the alignment feature (250) is in contact with a second surface (side or bottom surface; fig. 7) of the suspension component (MTD pages 3-4). (Figs. 1-9, MTD pages 1-4.) Han discloses an alignment feature that curves from the top to the bottom surface of the suspension component but does not specifically disclose a protrusion. Andersson teaches of the alignment feature further comprises a protrusion (Modified fig. 2, below) extending from a surface of the protruding leg (114) at a position spaced from the bottom of the sensor main body (102) (paragraph 139 describes the clamping structure being applied to a leaf spring). (Figs. 1-15, paragraphs 103-139.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the protrusion structure as described in Andersson into the invention of Han with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reliably secure the sensor. (Paragraph 139.) In addition, because both Han and Andersson teach using sensors attaching to leaf springs, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to substitute one method (having a curved leg from the top to the bottom of the element being measured) for the other (having a protrusion that extends underneath the element being measured) to achieve the predictable result of securing a sensor onto a leaf spring.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Protrusion;
Also first protrusion (left) and second protrusion (right))]
With respect to claim 2, Han, as modified, discloses the sensor (110) is an angle sensor (MTD page 2). (Figs. 1-9, MTD pages 1-4.)
With respect to claims 3 and 20, Han, as modified, discloses the suspension component comprises a leaf spring (300; fig. 4) including a main leaf (300). (Figs. 1-9, MTD pages 1-4.)
With respect to claim 4, Han, as modified, discloses the bottom surface of the sensor main body abuts a top surface of the main leaf (300, 310) (MTD pages 3-4 “an adhesive for adhesion with the plate spring (300) is applied to the lower surface of the fixed portion (200a) to perform primary fixation”); and an inner surface of the alignment feature (250) contacts an edge of the main leaf (300, 310) (fig. 7 showing the alignment feature wrapping around the edge of the leaf spring; MTD pages 3-4 “secondary fixation is performed through the fastening portion (250), thereby allowing the fixed portion (200a) to adhere more firmly to the plate spring (300)”). (Figs. 1-9, MTD pages 1-4.)
With respect to claim 5, Han discloses the alignment feature as wrapping around the leaf spring (fig. 7) and not specifically the inner surface of the alignment feature is substantially perpendicular to the bottom surface of the sensor main body. Andersson teaches of the inner surface of the alignment feature (202) is substantially perpendicular (figs. 8-9, 11-12) to the bottom surface of the sensor main body (116). (Figs. 1-15, paragraphs 103-139.) It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the alignment feature of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
With respect to claim 8, Han, as modified, discloses the first leg (fig. 7 shows legs on opposite sides of the body 110, 200a) is proximate a first side of the sensor main body (fig. 7) and further includes a second leg (fig. 7 shows legs on opposite sides of the body 110, 200a) that extends from the bottom of the main body (110, 200a) proximate a second side of the sensor main body (110, 200a); the first leg (fig. 7 shows legs on opposite sides of the body 110, 200a) includes a first contact surface (fig. 7 surface contacting bottom of leaf spring); and the second leg (fig. 7 shows legs on opposite sides of the body 110, 200a) includes a second contact surface (fig. 7 surface contacting bottom of leaf spring) substantially parallel to the first contacting surface (fig. 7 shows the legs contacting the bottom of the leaf spring as parallel to one another). (Figs. 1-9, MTD pages 1-4.)
With respect to claim 9, Han, as modified, discloses a fastener (112) coupling the sensor (110) to the suspension component (300, 310). (Figs. 1-9, MTD pages 1-4.)
With respect to claim 16, Han is silent regarding a protrusion. Andersson teaches of the alignment feature further comprises: a first protrusion (Modified fig. 2, above) that extends from the first contact surface (fig. 2) in a direction toward the second contact surface (fig. 2); and a second protrusion (Modified fig. 2, above) that extends form the second contact surface in a direction toward the first contact surface (fig. 2). (Figs. 1-15, paragraphs 103-139.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the protrusion structure as described in Andersson into the invention of Han with a reasonable expectation of success in order to reliably secure the sensor. (Paragraph 139.)
With respect to claim 19, Han discloses receiving data from the sensor (110); and determining a load on the suspension component (300, 310) based at least in part on the data (MTD page 4) received by the sensor. (Figs. 1-9, MTD pages 1-4.)
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han and Andersson, as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Brown (US 7,761,258).
With respect to claim 18, Han, as modified, is silent regarding calibrating the sensor. Brown teaches of calibrating the sensor. (Figs. 10-11, col. 7, lines 42-67, col. 8, col. 9, lines 1-20.) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the attachment sensor structure as described in Andersson into the invention of Han, as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to measure the angular displacement of the loaded and unloaded vehicle in order to have a reference frame within which the system can operate. (Col. 8, lines 2-4.)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES A ENGLISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614