DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
1. This is in response to application filed on 8/1/2024 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claims Objection
3. Claims 14 and 16 are the same. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-13, 15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lewis et al. (US 2010/0159833), (hereinafter, Lewis).
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 19, Lewis discloses an electronic device/ non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions/method (= wireless communication device 400, see [0049]) comprising:
a communications radio (= wireless communication system 412, see [0059]);
a wireless controller including a ranging sensor (= processor 404 and sensor subsystem 408, see [0051-53]);
a display device (= user interface 402, see [0050]);
memory to store instructions (= datastore 406, see [0051 and 0060-61]); and
one or more processors of an electronic device to execute the instructions, wherein the instructions cause the one or more processors to:
determine a range and a direction to a target wireless device (= wireless headset 401 may be in communication with device 400, see [0049 and 0058]) via the ranging sensor of a wireless controller during a bi-directional ranging operation
(= sensor subsystem 408 may sense a quality indicative of a proximity and/or direction to the wireless headset, see [0052 and 0071]);
determine a target position estimate for the target wireless device relative to the electronic device based on the range and the direction to the target wireless device
(= sensor subsystem may send data indicative of a proximity and/or direction to the headset; and the data may include a value indicative of distance and/or direction, signal strength level or the like; and the sensor subsystem 408 may send direction data that represents the present orientation of device 400, see [0052 and 0066]); and
present an indicator of a proximity to the target position estimate for the target wireless device along a trajectory, wherein the trajectory represents a path taken by the electronic device (= processor 404 may direct the user interface 402 to display textual and/or graphical representation indicative of the proximity, distance and/or direction to the wireless headset 401, see [0067 and 0074]).
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned in claim 1, Lewis discloses the electronic device of the one or more processors to execute the instructions, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: present at least one of the target position estimate for the target wireless device along the trajectory or an indicator for the direction to the target wireless device (see, [0067]).
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 20 as mentioned in claims 1,10 and 19, Lewis discloses the electronic device/non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions/method of the one or more processors to execute the instructions, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: receive a beacon signal from a target wireless device and determine at least one signal strength value from the beacon signal; and estimate at least one proximity value to the target wireless device based on the at least one signal strength value (see, [0074]).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, as mentioned in claims 3 and 11, Lewis discloses the electronic device/ non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions of the one or more processors to execute the instructions, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: determine a category for the at least one signal strength value from a plurality of categories for signal strength values; and present the indicator of a proximity value in accordance with the determined category (= signal strength will be its greatest/weakest, see [0074 and 0071]).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned in claim 1, Lewis discloses the electronic device of the one or more processors to execute the instructions, the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: present a distance to the target wireless device (see, [0066 and 0071]).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, as mentioned in claims 1 and 10, Lewis discloses the electronic device/ non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions of the one or more processors to execute the instructions, the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: establish a wireless radio connection with the target wireless device (see, [0049 and 0058]).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, as mentioned in claims 1 and 10, Lewis discloses the electronic device/non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions, wherein presenting a signal strength proximity view and a ranging view comprises presenting at least one indicator of a proximity value to the target wireless device (see, [0049 and 0058]).
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned in claim 10, Lewis discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium, the operations additionally comprising: selecting to present a ranging view is performed in response to establishing a wireless radio connection with the target wireless device (see, [0049 and 0058]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8, 14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lewis in view of Martin et al., (US 2020/0228943), (hereinafter, Martin).
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 16, as mentioned in claims 1 and 10, Lewis explicitly fails to disclose the electronic device/ non-transitory machine-readable medium, the one or more processors to execute the instructions, the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: request, the target wireless device, increase a beaconing rate.
However, Martin, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the electronic device/ non-transitory machine-readable medium, the one or more processors to execute the instructions, the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: request, the target wireless device, increase a beaconing rate
(= increasing the frequency of pinging the UWB tags 104, see [0045]; and UWB tag 104 may be configured to transmit UWB signals on-demand/as-triggered, see, [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Martin with Lewis for the benefit of achieving a communication system whereby frequency of pinging among devices could be adjusted thereby allowing extended battery operation is the system.
Regarding claims 8 and 17, as mentioned in claims 1 and 10, Lewis explicitly fails to disclose the electronic device/ non-transitory machine-readable medium, the one or more processors to execute the instructions, the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: perform one or more wireless ranging operations including a ranging operation performed via an ultra-wideband radio.
However, Martin, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the electronic device/ non-transitory machine-readable medium, the one or more processors to execute the instructions, the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: perform one or more wireless ranging operations including a ranging operation performed via an ultra-wideband radio (= increasing the frequency of pinging the UWB tags 104, see [0045]; and UWB tag 104 may be configured to transmit UWB signals on-demand/as-triggered, see, [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Martin with Lewis for the benefit of achieving a communication system whereby frequency of pinging among devices could be adjusted thereby allowing extended battery operation is the system.
CONCLUSION
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Shin et al., (US 2017/0123039) teaches ultra wideband-based high precision position method and system.
b. Ding et al., (US 2019/0195981) teaches methods and system for determining a location of a mobile device.
c. Shin et al., (US 2017/0123045) teaches mobile apparatus for measuring relative location based on UWB and method thereof.
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.