Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. 2006/0118735 A1) in view of Obara et al. (U.S. 2009/0059773 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim et al. disclose a device fabricated via an integrated circuit fabrication process, incorporating a planar electron gun (cold cathode 1 including field emitter array on substrate, paragraphs [0052], [0073]).
Kim et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose a magnetic field sensing device.
Obara et al. disclose a magnetic field sensing device (magnetic detector 36 configured to acquire magnetic flux density in an electron beam system, paragraphs [0072] & [0116]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Kim et al. by incorporating magnetic field sensing functionality as taught by Obara et al., as doing so would provide the ability to detect magnetic field strength through its effect on electron trajectories because Obara et al. emphasize in paragraphs [0027 & 0028] that measuring magnetic flux density allows correction of beam position and focus affected by magnetic fields, thus improving accuracy and control in electron beam systems.
Regarding claim 2, Kim et al. disclose cold filed emission (via cathode operation in ultrahigh vacuum to reduce contamination, see paragraph [0054]); in which electrons emitted by cold field emission may travel on a long mean free path with minimal collisions with atoms, ions or other obstructions (see [0052 & 0079])
Kim et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose an evacuated chamber in which electrons emitted by cold field emission.
Obara et al. disclose an evacuated chamber (30) in which electrons emitted by cold field emission may travel on a long mean free path with minimal collisions with atoms, ions or other obstructions (see [0057], an evacuated vacuum chamber (vacuum chamber 30, also see paragraph [0059]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Kim et al. by incorporating an evacuated chamber as taught by Obara et al., as doing so would provide stable electron propagation on a long mean free path with minimal collisions because Obara et al. emphasize in paragraph [0059] that the vacuum chamber maintains the environment for electron beam operation, thus improving reliability of electron travel in the system.
Regarding claim 3, Kim et al. disclose electrons influenced by magnetic field from magnets while operating in vacuum (see paragraph [0057]); a die or as part of an IC package, allowing the entry of magnetic fields, but not of air or contaminants, such that the traveling electrons may be acted upon by the Lorentz Force (see [0057]).
Kim et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose a glass or plastic window over the evacuated chamber.
Obara et al. disclose a glass or plastic window over the evacuated chamber (see [0051], a sealed vacuum chamber structure interfacing with external components (paragraph [0053]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Kim et al. by incorporating a window structure in the chamber boundary as suggested by Obara et al., as doing so would allow magnetic fields to act on electrons via Lorentz Force while preventing air or contaminants because Obara et al. emphasize in paragraph [0053] that the chamber structure maintains vacuum integrity during operation, thus enabling controlled magnetic interaction without contamination.
Regarding claim 4, Kim et al. disclose electrons accelerated toward a conductive target (mask 2) under applied voltage with Lorentz modulation of trajectories (see paragraphs [0052] & [0057]); two or more anodes, to which nominally the same potential is applied (see [0062 & [0071]).
Kim et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose the electrons to drift or accelerate from the cathode to strike the anodes with the number of electrons arriving at each anode being modulated by the Lorentz Force resulting from the magnetic field entering the chamber.
Obara et al. disclose the electrons to drift or accelerate from the cathode to strike the anodes with the number of electrons arriving at each anode being modulated by the Lorentz Force resulting from the magnetic field entering the chamber (see [0086], multiple electrode structures; electrostatic deflection electrode 74 including electrode pairs, paragraph [0085]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Kim et al. by segmenting the target into multiple anodes as suggested by Obara et al., as doing so would enable detection of differential electron arrival caused by magnetic field deflection because Obara et al. emphasize in paragraph [0025] & claim 1 that electrode pairs control electron beam position via applied voltages, thus allowing measurement of Lorentz Force effects through current differences.
Regarding claim 5, Kim et al. disclose high voltage applied between cathode and mask for electron acceleration (see paragraph [0059]).
Kim et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose an integrated voltage multiplier to provide a large negative potential to the cathode.
Obara et al. disclose an integrated voltage multiplier to provide a large negative potential to the cathode (see [0110], wherein voltage generation and drive circuitry providing controlled voltages, also see paragraph [0112]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Kim et al. by incorporating an integrated voltage multiplier as part of the voltage circuitry as suggested by Obara et al., as doing so would provide the required large negative potential to the cathode because Obara et al. emphasize in paragraph [0112] that drive circuits deliver precise voltages for electron beam control, thus ensuring stable acceleration in the device.
Regarding claim 6, Kim et al. disclose electron distribution varying due to Lorentz force producing measurable signal differences (see paragraph [0057]).
Kim et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose an operational amplifier or trans-impedance amplifier which can amplify the difference in potentials or current flow between anodes that result from collection of differing numbers of electrons.
Obara et al. disclose an operational amplifier or trans-impedance amplifier which can amplify the difference in potentials or current flow between anodes that result from collection of differing numbers of electrons (see [0114] an amplifier amplifying detected signals, amplifier 87, also see paragraph [0112]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Kim et al. by including an amplifier as taught by Obara et al., as doing so would amplify differences in signals corresponding to electron distribution because Obara et al. emphasize in paragraph [0112] that the amplifier processes signals to the level necessary for control, thus improving detection of magnetic field-induced variations.
Regarding claim 7, Kim et al. disclose system compensation for variations in emission behavior (see paragraph [0064]).
Kim et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose the amplifier having a means to calibrate away any offset, when power is first applied to the device or subsequently, either in the presence or absence of electron flow.
Obara et al. disclose the amplifier having a means to calibrate away any offset, when power is first applied to the device or subsequently, either in the presence or absence of electron flow (see [0124] wherein correction based on measured magnetic information (correction voltage calculated to compensate variations, paragraph [0104]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Kim et al. by including offset calibration as taught by Obara et al., as doing so would improve measurement accuracy by removing offsets because Obara et al. emphasize in paragraph [0104] that correction voltages compensate for system variations, thus enhancing precision upon power-up or during operation.
Regarding claim 8, Kim et al. disclose variation of applied voltage and modulation affecting beam response (paragraph [0060]).
Kim et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose the amplifier of claim 6 having an analog- or digital-input gain control to adjust the sensitivity and full-scale deflection limit of the device.
Obara et al. disclose the amplifier of claim 6 having an analog- or digital-input gain control to adjust the sensitivity and full-scale deflection limit of the device (see 0124] wherein adjustable amplification with predetermined amplification factor, also see amplifier 87, paragraph [0124]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Kim et al. by providing gain control as taught by Obara et al., as doing so would adjust sensitivity and full-scale deflection because Obara et al. emphasize in paragraph [0124] that the amplifier gain is set to the level required by the components, thus allowing tunable response in the system.
Regarding claim 9, Kim et al. disclose system response depending on voltage and field conditions with threshold-like behavior (paragraph [0060]).
Kim et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose having a limiting amplifier with intentional dead zone, to convert the analog output of the amplifier of claim 6 into a differential binary output, with a third output state of zero differential voltage when its input is less than some programmable threshold.
Obara et al. disclose a limiting amplifier with intentional dead zone, to convert the analog output of the amplifier of claim 6 into a differential binary output, with a third output state of zero differential voltage when its input is less than some programmable threshold (see [0124] signal-based control decisions using measured magnetic information, also see paragraph [0073]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Kim et al. by implementing a limiting amplifier with threshold behavior as suggested by Obara et al., as doing so would generate discrete output states for control because Obara et al. emphasize in paragraph [0073] that magnetic detector output drives control decisions, thus providing clear binary differentiation with a zero state below threshold.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 2006/0268455 A1 to Gerber discloses a magnetic field sensor, including an insulating substrate and a conductive thin film deposited on the substrate. The thin film consists of a material having an extraordinary Hall coefficient, the thin film also has a resistivity and a film thickness no greater. than a threshold thickness at which the resistivity is substantially equal to 150% of a bulk resistivity of the material. The sensor also includes conductors coupled to the thin film for injecting a current into the film and measuring a voltage generated across the thin film responsive to the injected current. Devices having other types of thin films, including homogeneous and non-homogeneous films, the films having enhanced extraordinary Hall coefficients, are also provided.
U.S. 2003/0030778 A1 to Novak discloses an air bearing stage device which is suitable for use with a vacuum environment is disclosed. According to one aspect of the present invention, a stage apparatus includes a table that is positioned in a system vacuum chamber, a first rod that carries the table, and first and second plates that support the first rod. The first plate includes an air bearing surface that is held against the first side of a first wall by a first vacuum force. A first drive mechanism drives the first plate to move the first rod in a first direction, and also drives the second plate to move the first rod in the first direction, while a second drive mechanism which includes a second rod and a first linear motor causes the second rod to move the first rod in a second direction.
U.S. 2022/0376162 A1 to Ivry et al. disclose a Compositions comprising a) one or more amorphous superconductor layers bound to one or more flexible substrate layers, or b) one or more superconductor layers bound to one or more layers of a high dielectric material are disclosed. Furthermore, provided herein are articles comprising one or more compositions of the invention and method of manufacturing thereof.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
April 1, 2026
/HUY Q PHAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858