DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
The following is a Non-Final Office Action in response to Applicant’s amendments filed on 08/24/2026.
a. Claim 1 is amended
b. Claims 5-8 were previously cancelled
c. Claims 9-10 are new
Overall, claims 1-4, 9-10 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 USC 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-4, 9-10 are rejected under 35 USC 101 because the claimed invention is not directed to patent eligible subject matter. The claimed matter is directed to a judicial exception, i.e. an abstract idea, not integrated into a practical application, and without significantly more.
Per Step 1 of the multi-step eligibility analysis, claims 1-4, 9-10 are directed to a computer implemented method.
Thus, on its face, each independent claim and the associated dependent claims are directed to a statutory category of invention.
Per Step 2A.1. The limitations of independent claim 1 shown in bold recite an abstract idea as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a). The non-bolded language are additional elements addressed further below.
[A] A method for settling cryptocurrency transactions, comprising:
[B] entering a smart contract, on a cryptocurrency network, between a user and a service provider account (SPA), wherein entering the smart contract comprises:
[C] generating the smart contract, on the cryptocurrency network, allowing the transfer of a maximum number of tokens from a user's wallet to a Service Provider wallet associated with the Service Provider, wherein the maximum number of tokens is committed as a token allowance recorded on a ledger of the cryptocurrency network via an approve function of a token standard of the cryptocurrency network, the token allowance granting the SPA authority to withdraw up to the maximum number of tokens from the user's wallet, wherein generating the smart contract comprises:
[D] accessing terms of agreement of the smart contract, utilizing a user device; and
[E] inputting acquiescence to the agreement utilizing the user device; and
[F] recording the smart contract on the ledger on the cryptocurrency network;
[G] entering a second smart contract, on the cryptocurrency network, between a merchant and the SPA, wherein entering the second smart contract comprises recording the second smart contract on the ledger on the cryptocurrency network;
[H] receiving, at one or more processors associated with a Service Provider, from one or more processors associated with a merchant, a request from the merchant to approve an amount for a point-of-sale (POS) transaction, the POS transaction being one of a plurality of POS transactions associated with the user;
[I] determining, by the one or more processors associated with the service provider, whether to approve the amount for the POS transaction based on spending power associated with the user, the spending power calculated as a wallet balance associated with the user minus a card balance associated with the user, the wallet balance corresponding to an amount of tokens committed to the smart contract as the token allowance, wherein the card balance comprises a cumulative total of unsettled POS transactions of the plurality of POS transactions associated with the user;
[J] approving, utilizing the one or more processors associated with the Service Provider, the request from the merchant based on the determined approval;
[K] updating, utilizing the one or more processors, the card balance associated with the user and a merchant account balance, based on approving the amount for the transaction;
[L] forwarding, responsive to a settlement trigger comprising at least one of a predefined time period or a transaction threshold, a new on-chain transaction request and a second on-chain transaction request to the cryptocurrency network after updating the card balance, from the one or more processors associated with the Service Provider, to execute the smart contract and the second smart contract to settle the cumulative total of unsettled POS transactions in a single instance; and
[M] initiating a token transfer and a second token transfer, on the cryptocurrency network, by executing the smart contract and the second smart contract, wherein the executing of the smart contract withdraws tokens from the user's wallet subject to the token allowance recorded on the ledger.
Claim 1 recites: settling cryptocurrency transaction ([A]); entering and generating a contract ([B]-[C], [G]); accessing, agreeing and recording the contract ([D]-[F]); receiving a request ([H]); determining whether to approve the amount ([I]); approving the request ([J]); updating the balance ([K]); and forwarding a new request and initiating a transfer ([L]-[M]), which, based on the claim language and in view of the application disclosure, represents a process aimed at processing transaction.
The claim elements identified above covers agreement in form of agreement in the form of contracts, sales activities or behaviors, business relationships because the claim language recites accessing, agreeing and recording the contract, approving transaction, updating the balance after approval. Additionally, the applicant's specification recites on [0011] "to initiate a transaction, users, merchants, and a service provider may enter an exemplary smart contract". The one of skill in the art can determine that a transaction in being performing utilizing a contract. Additionally, the recited claim limitation above falls under Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, i.e., Commercial or Legal Interactions grouping of abstract ideas (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)).
Accordingly, it is reasonable to conclude that claim 1 recites an abstract idea that corresponds to a judicial exception.
Per Step 2A.2. The identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements in the independent claims only amount to instructions to apply the judicial exception to a computer, or are a general link to a technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(f); MPEP 2106.05(h)). For example, the added elements “cryptocurrency,” “smart,” “cryptocurrency network,” “device,” "one or more processors," and "POS" recite computing elements at a high level of generality, which is equivalent to instructions to implement the abstract idea "by a computer" or "on a computer." The additional elements do not preclude from carrying out the identified abstract idea of processing cryptocurrency transaction. Therefore, those additional elements do not serve to integrate the identified abstract idea into practical application.
The additional elements in the independent claims, shown not bolded above, recite: smart ([B]-[D], [F]-[G], [L]-[M]), token ([C], [M]), device ([D], [E]), one or more processors ([H]-[L]), point of sale (POS) ([H]-[I]). When considered individually, they amount to nothing more than reception, transmission and/or general computation (i.e., not specific enough computation) of claim elements that serve merely to implement the abstract idea using computing components for performing computer functions (corresponding to the words "apply it" or an equivalent), or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea.
Therefore, the additional steps of claim 1 do not integrate the identified abstract idea into a practical application and the claims remain a judicial exception.
Per Step 2B. Claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when the independent claim is reevaluated as a whole, as an ordered combination under the considerations of Step 2B, the outcome is the same as under Step 2A.2.
Therefore, when considered as a whole and as an ordered combination, the additional elements in the claim amount to instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer. Moreover, as noted above, there is nothing the computing and additional elements (limitations [B]-[M]), that is significant or meaningful to the underlying abstract idea because the identified abstract idea of processing transaction could have been reasonably performed when provided with the relevant data and/or information. Therefore, it is concluded that independent claim 1 is deemed ineligible.
Dependent Claims: Claims 2-4, 9-10 are analyzed for subject matter eligibility. However, these claims fails to recite patent eligible subject matter for following reasons:
Claim 2, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract idea as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a). The non-bolded language are additional elements addressed further below. The claim further recites:
[A] updating the ledger on the cryptocurrency network.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing transaction. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the "certain methods of organizing human activity" grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 3, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract idea as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a). The non-bolded language are additional elements addressed further below. The claim further recites:
[A] wherein: initiating the token transfer comprises initiating token the transfer, on the cryptocurrency network, by executing the smart contract previously recorded on the ledger on the cryptocurrency network, wherein executing the smart contract comprises transferring, via a transferFrom function of the token standard and subject to the token allowance, a quantity of tokens corresponding to the user's card balance from the user's wallet to the SPA; and
[B] initiating the second token transfer comprises initiating the second token transfer, on the cryptocurrency network, by executing the second smart contract previously recorded on the ledger on the cryptocurrency network, wherein executing the second smart contract comprises transferring a second quantity of tokens corresponding to the merchant account balance from the SPA to a merchant wallet.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing cryptocurrency transaction. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the "certain methods of organizing human activity" grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 4, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract idea as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a). The non-bolded language are additional elements addressed further below. The claim further recites:
[A] wherein initiating the second token transfer occurs before initiating the token transfer.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing cryptocurrency transaction. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the "certain methods of organizing human activity" grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 9, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract idea as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a). The non-bolded language are additional elements addressed further below. The claim further recites:
[A] wherein the token standard comprises an ERC-20 token standard, and wherein the token allowance comprises an ERC-20 allowance approved to an address of the SPA.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing cryptocurrency transaction. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the "certain methods of organizing human activity" grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 10, recites the following bolded claim elements as abstract idea as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a). The non-bolded language are additional elements addressed further below. The claim further recites:
[A] wherein each of the executing of the smart contract and the executing of the second smart contract is atomic such that the token transfers of the respective execution either all complete or are all rolled back.
The claim further recites the abstract idea of processing cryptocurrency transaction. In other words, it recites limitations grouped within the "certain methods of organizing human activity" grouping of abstract ideas. The non-bolded additional elements fail to recite a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea because it merely serves as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
When the dependent claims are considered as a whole, as an ordered combination, the claim elements noted above appear to merely apply the abstract concept to a technical environment in a very general sense, i.e., a computer receives information from another computer, processes that information and then sends a response based on processing results. The most significant elements of the claims, that is the elements that really outline the inventive elements of the claims, are set forth in the elements identified in the independent claims as an abstract idea. The fact that the computing devices are facilitating the abstract concept is not enough to confer subject matter eligibility. Overall, the further elements do not confer subject matter eligibility to the invention since their individual and combined significance are not changing the nature of the abstract concepts at the core of the claimed invention. Therefore, it is concluded that the dependent claims of the instant application do not amount to significantly
more. (See MPEP 2106.05).
In sum, claims 1-4, 9-10 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3-4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “wherein executing the smart contract comprises transferring, via a transferFrom function of the token standard and subject to the token allowance…” The Applicant’s specification on [00104] recites, “In an exemplary embodiment, exemplary withdrawing am amount may be performed utilizing “transferFrom” function in ERC-20.” One of skilled in the art, based on the recited portion of the specification, cannot determine the scope of token standard, as the Applicant’s specification uses “ERC-20” as example but does not indicate if ERC-20 is only standard. The claim must particularly point out and distinctly define the metes and bounds of the subject matter to be protected by the patent grant (see MPEP 2171). Additionally, a broad claim is not indefinite merely because it encompasses a wide scope of subject matter provided the scope is clearly defined. But a claim is indefinite when the boundaries of the protected subject matter are not clearly delineated, and the scope is unclear (see MPEP 2173.04). In this case one of skill would not be able to avoid an infringement because the metes and bounds of what “token standard” should be used is not clear.
The reference is provided for the purpose of compact prosecution.
The remainder of claim is rejected based on virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sells (US 20220051219 A1), in view of Brock (US 20190034889 A1), in further view of Abbas (US 20240386427 A1).
Regarding Claim 1. Sells discloses:
entering a smart contract, on a crypto currency network, between a user and a service provider account (SPA), wherein entering the smart contract comprises: [see at least Fig. 1, (0053) the platform 100 may allow users who have balances in cryptocurrency to be able to spend it in real time, whenever, and wherever they want, which currently is not possible today. (0054) the platform 100 may include an orchestration services system 102, including automated services 104 that may utilize smart contracts 108 … managing a wallet, such as a cryptocurrency wallet 112 using the native interfaces. (0056) The platform 100 may further include … a financial service provider (FSP) system 212]
… smart contract, on the cryptocurrency network, allowing the transfer of a maximum number of tokens from a user's wallet to a Service Provider wallet associated with the Service Provider … [see at least (0013) the exchange may be automatically performed by the platform based at least in a part on a rule stored in a smart contract. The rule may relate to a minimum cryptocurrency valuation to be met prior to making the exchange, a maximum cryptocurrency valuation, a range of cryptocurrency valuations, a fiat currency valuation (such as an exchange rate with one or more other forms of fiat or cryptocurrencies), an interest rate range, a transaction size (minimum, maximum, or range)]
Note: MPEP 2144.01 sets forth that it is proper to consider not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. Here, it is reasonable to infer that in order to perform transaction using smart contract, one of the rules is the maximum cryptocurrency evaluation (i.e. maximum number of token). And therefore, one of skill in the art would have understood the reference to teach the limitation.
… wherein the maximum number of tokens is committed as a token allowance recorded on a ledger of the cryptocurrency network via an approve function of a token standard of the cryptocurrency network, the token allowance granting the SPA authority to withdraw up to the maximum number of tokens from the user's wallet … [see at least (0013) the exchange may be automatically performed by the platform based at least in a part on a rule stored in a smart contract. [A]n entity separate from the third-party financier may hold the user's cryptocurrency wallet and the third-party financier may receive/send cryptocurrency from/to the wallet holder (i.e., withdrawing token). (0098) the wallet holder may transfer an amount of cryptocurrency to an account of the third-party financier.]
receiving, at one or more processors associated with a Service Provider, from one or more processors associated with a merchant, a request from a merchant to approve an amount for a point-of-sale (POS) transaction the POS transaction being one of a plurality of POS transactions associated with the user; [see at least Fig. 10, (0098) The user may initiate a fiat currency payment transaction funded by a cryptocurrency on the user's application … The request may be received at the user's bank. The bank may relay the request to the third-party financier and the user's wallet holder … the wallet holder may transfer an amount of cryptocurrency to an account of the third-party financier … The merchant may receive the currency selected for the purchase of a good or service or other transaction type as an outcome of this process 1018. (0100) The user may complete a transaction at a point-of-sale 1206, which may be an in-store purchase in a brick-and-mortar merchant establishment, an online merchant establishment, or some other transaction location.]
determining, by the one or more processors associated with the service provider, whether to approve the amount for the POS transaction based on spending power associated with the user, the spending power calculated as a wallet balance associated with a user minus a card balance associated with the user, the wallet balance corresponding to an amount of tokens committed to the smart contract as the token allowance, [see at least Figs. 9-10, 15, (0092) The amount of fiat that could be spent … is actually in the user's checking account may be determined by an algorithm that understands a user's bitcoin balance and ability to redeem that for fiat currency at a discounted rate to minimize price volatility in the redemption/settlement process. (0096) The bank can determine the cryptocurrency transaction amount based on various factors 904. For example, the amount can be based on the cryptocurrency balance of the user's cryptocurrency account … the bank 922 may reduce the cryptocurrency balance in the user's mobile application and reduce the overdraft amount available by an amount commiserate with the transaction 920. (0098) Upon receipt of the cryptocurrency, the third-party financier may transfer a sum of fiat currency to an account associated with the bank. Upon receipt of the funds, the bank may authorize the payment. (0100) The user may complete a transaction at a point-of-sale 1206, which may be an in-store purchase in a brick-and-mortar merchant establishment, an online merchant establishment, or some other transaction location. (0130) a user may have selected fiat and only has an insufficient amount 1502, for example $1,000 available on a purchase that requires $2,000. If the user has available cryptocurrency in excess of the difference, the system may enable the user to spend both forms of currency]
Note: MPEP 2144.01 sets forth that it is proper to consider not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. Here, the Examiner notes the Sells reference determines how much the user may transact with based on an overdraft limit derived from the user’s cryptocurrency balance (see Sells Fig. 9, element 904), and reduce the overdraft amount available with each transaction against it (see Fig. 9 element 920) It is therefore reasonable to infer that the amount the user may spend is the cryptocurrency-backed amount minus the transactions charged against that amount (i.e., a wallet balance minus card balance). And therefore, one of skill in the art would have understood the reference to teach the limitation.
approving, utilizing the one or more processors associated with the Service Provider, the request from the merchant based on the determined approval; [see at least Figs. 10, (0098) Upon receipt of the cryptocurrency, the third-party financier may transfer a sum of fiat currency to an account associated with the bank. Upon receipt of the funds, the bank may authorize the payment.]
forwarding, responsive to a settlement trigger comprising at least one of a predefined time period … a new on-chain transaction request … to the cryptocurrency network … to execute the smart contract … to settle the cumulative total of unsettled POS transactions in a single instance; and [see at least (0013) the exchange may be automatically performed by the platform based at least in a part on a rule stored in a smart contract. The rule may relate to … a timing parameter (such as when the transfer should be executed). (0087) a smart contract that facilitates transaction execution. (0088) the platform 100 may use a Layer 2 or second layer protocol … to account for a plurality of transactions before such transactions are recorded to the blockchain for final settlement … the final disposition of recording the transactions to the blockchain for final settlement may be done in a single event, such as finalizing a full day of transactions at the end of the business day (i.e., predefined time period).]
Note: Examiner notes the claim recites the limitation “at least one of” a predefined time period or a transaction threshold, the end of business day settlement of Sells stratifies the settlement trigger.
initiating a token transfer … on the cryptocurrency network, by executing the smart contract … [see at least (0011) the cryptocurrency amount corresponds to the request for payment based on the cryptocurrency valuation, exchanging the cryptocurrency amount for a fiat currency amount of corresponding value, and transferring the fiat currency amount to the entity to satisfy the request for payment. (0098) the wallet holder may transfer an amount of cryptocurrency to an account of the third-party financier.]
wherein the executing of the smart contract withdraws tokens from the user's wallet subject to the token allowance recorded on the ledger. [see at least (0054) the platform 100 may include an orchestration services system 102, including automated services 104 that may utilize smart contracts 108, and other mechanisms and services as part of managing a wallet, such as a cryptocurrency wallet 112 using the native interfaces (including application programming interfaces) and systems of the cryptocurrency wallet 112 and also managing a traditional financial account 110 (0096) a Bitcoin wallet and/or a cryptocurrency custodian 914 may redeem an equivalent amount of cryptocurrency for the transaction upon settlement and transfer of the fiat currency to the bank 922 or third-party financier or other account 916. The Bitcoin wallet and/or a cryptocurrency custodian may deduct the cryptocurrency from an available cryptocurrency balance and transmit related data to the bank 918, whereupon the bank 922 may reduce the cryptocurrency balance in the user's mobile application and reduce the overdraft amount available by an amount commiserate with the transaction 920.]
Sells discloses performing transaction using smart contract, however, Sells does not disclose:
generating the smart contract … wherein generating the smart contract comprises: accessing terms of agreement of the smart contract, utilizing a user device; and inputting acquiescence to the agreement utilizing the user device; and recording the smart contract on a ledger on the cryptocurrency network;
entering a second smart contract, on the cryptocurrency network, between a merchant and the SPA, wherein entering the second smart contract comprises recording the second smart contract on the ledger on the cryptocurrency network;
… wherein the card balance comprises a cumulative total of unsettled POS transactions of the plurality of POS transactions associated with the user;
updating, utilizing the one or more processors, the card balance associated with the user and a merchant account balance, based on approving the amount for the transaction;
forwarding, responsive to a settlement trigger comprising a transaction threshold, … a second on-chain transaction request to the cryptocurrency network after updating the card balance, from the one or more processors associated with the Service Provider, to execute … the second smart contract …
initiating … a second token transfer, on the cryptocurrency network, by executing …the second smart contract,
Nonetheless, Brock discloses:
… between a merchant and the SPA, … [see at least Figs. 4A, 7A, (0075) The merchant can choose which currency they would like to receive deposits in … payment service 108 will auto-create cryptocurrency ledger 207 for the merchant. (0082) payment service 108 ledgers … reflect two different transactions—one with customer 104 and one with merchant 102. (0112) cryptocurrency wallet 235 could send a message to transfer cryptocurrency to cryptocurrency wallet 215 (i.e., SPA) of payment service 108. Thereafter, cryptocurrency wallet can send a message to transfer cryptocurrency to cryptocurrency wallet 237 of merchant profile 130. (i.e., transaction between SPA and the merchant)]
… wherein the card balance comprises a cumulative total of unsettled POS transactions of the plurality of POS transactions associated with the user; [see at least (0058) customer 104 may also have one or more internal payment cards registered with payment service 108. Internal payment cards can be linked to all accounts associated with customer profile 132. (0079) Since this transaction is an inter-network transaction (within payment service 108) the transaction does not need to be transmitted to blockchain 220. Blockchain 220 continues to reflect that payment service 108 is the holder of the cryptocurrency (0104) payment service 108 can record transactions taking place within payment service 108 involving cryptocurrency until the number of transactions has exceeded a determined limit … Once the limit has been reached payment service 108 can publish the transactions in private blockchain 230 to public blockchain 220 where miners can verify the transactions and record the transactions in blocks on public blockchain 220 (i.e., the transaction recorded withing the payment service 108 but not yet published to public blockchain 220 are cumulative total of unsettled transaction.) (0112) merchant profile 130 and customer profile 132 can reflect the changed balance in advance of the recording on public blockchain 220.]
updating, utilizing the one or more processors, the card balance associated with the user and a merchant account balance, based on approving the amount for the transaction; [see at least Fig. 4A, (0036) The payment processing service 126 may function to receive the information regarding a transaction from POS device 105 of merchant 102 and attempt to authorize the payment instrument used to conduct the transaction. Payment processing service 126 may then send an indication of whether the payment instrument has been approved or declined back to POS device 105. (0078) Payment service can then debit cryptocurrency ledger 204 for the value calculated at step 312 and credit payment service 108's cryptocurrency ledger 219 with the same value. (0081) n addition to debiting customer 104's cryptocurrency ledger 204, payment service 108 also debits (314) its own cash ledger (in US Dollars) and in turn credits merchant 102's fiat currency ledger 108 with the value owed. In some embodiments, payment service 108 may take a transaction fee out of the value owed. (0088) Payment service 108 can then debit (334) payment service 108 cryptocurrency ledger 219 and credit merchant profile 130 cryptocurrency ledger 207, and can complete the transaction as addressed with respect to steps 318 and 320 of FIG. 4A. (0112) merchant profile 130 and customer profile 132 can reflect the changed balance in advance of the recording on public blockchain 220.]
forwarding, responsive to a settlement trigger comprising a transaction threshold, … a second on-chain transaction request to the cryptocurrency network after updating the card balance, from the one or more processors associated with the Service Provider, to execute … the second smart contract … [see at least (0104) payment service 108 can record transactions taking place within payment service 108 involving cryptocurrency until the number of transactions has exceeded a determined limit (limit could be a number of transactions, storage space allocation for a number of transactions, or any other limit, etc.). Once the limit has been reached payment service 108 can publish the transactions in private blockchain 230 to public blockchain 220 where miners can verify the transactions and record the transactions in blocks on public blockchain 220 (i.e., transaction threshold). (0105) payment service 108 can participate as a miner at least for its transactions to be posed to public blockchain 220. (0112) cryptocurrency wallet 235 could send a message to transfer cryptocurrency to cryptocurrency wallet 215 of payment service 108. Thereafter, cryptocurrency wallet can send a message to transfer cryptocurrency to cryptocurrency wallet 237 of merchant profile 130 … These transactions can be recorded first to private blockchain 230 or directly to public blockchain 220. While public blockchain might still take minutes or an hour to record the transaction to the blockchain, merchant profile 130 and customer profile 132 can reflect the changed balance in advance of the recording on public blockchain 220.]
initiating … a second token transfer, on the cryptocurrency network, by executing …the second smart contract, [see at least 7A, (0110) Payment service 108 can complete the transaction by reducing 512 the cryptocurrency balance in customer 104's wallet 235 and increasing 512 cryptocurrency balance in merchant 102's wallet 237. (0112) Thereafter, cryptocurrency wallet can send a message to transfer cryptocurrency to cryptocurrency wallet 237 of merchant profile 130.]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the smart contract transactions of Sells to include the internal balance updating as taught by Brock, in order to complete point-of-sale (POS) transactions without waiting on blockchain confirmation while reducing the data transmitted to, and the processing demand on the ledger (Brock [0079]). Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Sells in view of Brock.
The combination of Sells in view of Brock discloses performing transaction using smart contract. However, the above combination does not disclose:
generating the smart contract … wherein generating the smart contract comprises: accessing terms of agreement of the smart contract, utilizing a user device; and inputting acquiescence to the agreement utilizing the user device; and recording the smart contract on a ledger on the cryptocurrency network;
entering a second smart contract, on the cryptocurrency network, … wherein entering the second smart contract comprises recording the second smart contract on the ledger on the cryptocurrency network;
However, Abbas discloses:
entering a second smart contract, on the cryptocurrency network, … wherein entering the second smart contract comprises recording the second smart contract on the ledger on the cryptocurrency network; [see at least (0072) The blockchain network 200 utilizes blockchain technology to provide a secure and transparent platform for executing code of one or more smart contracts. Put another way, the blockchain network 200 described herein may store one or more smart contracts. (0077) The smart contract may automatically execute to enforce terms of an agreement between parties on the blockchain network 200 … non-limiting examples include initiating a transfer of resources … creating buyer/seller agreements. (0085) the smart contract may be compiled into bytecode and deployed on the blockchain network 200.]
generating the smart contract…wherein generating the smart contract comprises: [see at least (0073) When a smart contract is created, it is compiled into bytecode and stored on the blockchain network 200]
accessing terms of agreement of the smart contract, utilizing a user device; and [see at least (0082) The indication of acceptance may include an acknowledgement to one or more terms of the smart contract. (0089) a graphical user interface may be displayed that includes terms and conditions of an agreement]
inputting acquiescence to the agreement utilizing the user device; and [see at least (0082) The indication of acceptance may include an acknowledgement to one or more terms of the smart contract. (0089) the mobile application, the server computer system 120 may cause the client device 110 to display a request for the voice input to trigger execution of the smart contract … a message requesting voice input such as for example “Please confirm that you agree to these terms and conditions.”]
recording the smart contract on a ledger on the cryptocurrency network; [see at least (0073) When a smart contract is created, it is compiled into bytecode and stored on the blockchain network 200, along with a set of rules that determine how the smart contract will execute.]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the smart contract transaction of Sells, in view of Brock to include the smart contract generation and ledger recording of Abbas. A person having the ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the generation of smart contract upon user’s acceptance of its terms, and the recording of each smart contracts on the blockchain of Abbas into user-service provider, service-provider, and merchant of Sells, in view of Brock in order to ensure that “the parties can trust that the contract will be executed exactly as written” (see Abbas [0074). Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Sells, in view of Brock, in further view of Abbas.
Regarding Claim 2. Sells, Brock, Abbas discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Brock further discloses:
comprising updating a ledger on the cryptocurrency network. [see at least Fig. 4A, (0039) transactions involving cryptocurrency, payment service 108 can communicate over network(s) 110 with cryptocurrency network 145. (0040) merchants 102 sending the transaction data directly to the payment service 108 as part of the request to authorize the payment instrument. (0104) Once the limit has been reached payment service 108 can publish the transactions in private blockchain 230 to public blockchain 220 where miners can verify the transactions and record the transactions in blocks on public blockchain 220. (0112) These transactions can be recorded first to private blockchain 230 or directly to public blockchain 220.]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the smart contract settlements of Sells, in view of Brock, in further view of Abbas to include the ledger updating of Brock, in order to have the transactions verified and recorded by the cryptocurrency network (see Brock [0039]) while reducing the data transmitted to the public ledger (see Brock [0079]). Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Sells, in view of Brock, in further view of Abbas.
Claims 3-4, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sells, in view of Brock, in further view of Abbas, as applied to claims [1, 2] above, in further view of Remeika (US 11080689 B1)
Regarding Claim 3. Sells, Brock, Abbas discloses the limitations of Claim 2. Sells further discloses:
initiating the token transfer comprises initiating the token transfer, on the cryptocurrency network, by executing the smart contract … wherein executing the smart contract comprises transferring … a quantity of tokens corresponding to the user's card balance from the user's wallet to the SPA; and [see at least (0011) the cryptocurrency amount corresponds to the request for payment based on the cryptocurrency valuation. (0088) the final disposition of recording the transactions to the blockchain for final settlement may be done in a single event, such as finalizing a full day of transactions at the end of the business day. (0098) the wallet holder may transfer an amount of cryptocurrency to an account of the third-party financier (i.e., transferring from the user to the SPA).]
Brock further discloses:
initiating the second token transfer comprises initiating the second token transfer, on the cryptocurrency networking, by executing the second smart contract … wherein executing the second smart contract comprises transferring a second quantity of tokens corresponding to the merchant account balance from the SPA to a merchant wallet. [see at least Fig. 7A, (0088) Payment service 108 can then debit (334) payment service 108 cryptocurrency ledger 219 and credit merchant profile 130 cryptocurrency ledger 207. (0110) Payment service 108 can complete the transaction by reducing 512 the cryptocurrency balance in customer 104's wallet 235 and increasing 512 cryptocurrency balance in merchant 102's wallet 237. (0112) cryptocurrency wallet 235 could send a message to transfer cryptocurrency to cryptocurrency wallet 215 of payment service 108. Thereafter, cryptocurrency wallet can send a message to transfer cryptocurrency to cryptocurrency wallet 237 of merchant profile 130 (i.e., transferring from SPA to a merchant).]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the smart contract settlements of Sells, in view of Brock, in further view of Abbas to include the separate SPA-to-merchant token transfer of Brock in order to pay a merchant the elects to receive cryptocurrency without waiting for confirmation form the public blockchain (see Brock [0112]). Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Sells, in view of Brock, in further view of Abbas.
Abbas further discloses:
… by executing the smart contract previously recorded on the ledger on the cryptocurrency network … and … by executing the second smart contract previously recorded on the ledger on the cryptocurrency network … [see at least Fig. 6, (0072) The blockchain network 200 utilizes blockchain technology to provide a secure and transparent platform for executing code of one or more smart contracts. Put another way, the blockchain network 200 described herein may store one or more smart contracts. (0073) When a smart contract is created, it is compiled into bytecode and stored on the blockchain network 200, along with a set of rules that determine how the smart contract will execute. (0085) Responsive to generating the smart contract, the server computer system 120 performs operations to deploy the smart contract on the blockchain network 200. (0092) communicating an indication of the voice input to the blockchain network to automatically trigger execution of the smart contract (step 640) (i.e., executing the smart contracts previously recorded on the ledger).]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the smart contract settlements of Sells, in view of Brock, in further view of Abbas to include executing smart contracts previously deployed on the blockchain as taught by Abbas, in order to ensure that “the parties can trust that the contract will be executed exactly as written,” because deployed smart contract “are immutable and cannot be altered once deployed” (see Abbas [0074]). Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Sells, in view of Brock, in further view of Abbas.
The combination of Sells in view of Brock, in further view of Abbas discloses settling transaction using smart contracts, however, the above combination of Sells, Brock, Abbas does not disclose:
transferring, via a transferFrom function of the token standard and subject to the token allowance,
Nonetheless, Remeika discloses:
transferring, via a transferFrom function of the token standard and subject to the token allowance, [see at least Figs. 1C, 1D, (5/58-62) transfer function 107 is used for a withdraw workflow and is initiated by the approved entity rather than the token holder. This function allows contracts to send tokens on behalf of the token holder, for example, to deposit to a contract address. (6/50-67) in order to allocate 10 tokens to Mediator 104 to spend on her behalf, Alice would call the function “approve(Mediator, 10).” The allowance data structure will contain the information that Alice has allowed a transfer to Mediator 104 of up to 10 tokens … if Mediator 104 wants to transfer 10 tokens on Alice's behalf from Alice to Bob, Mediator 104 can execute the ERC-20 transfer function “transferFrom (Alice, Bob, 10),” which designates Alice as the sender, Bob as the recipient, and 10 as the value. Executing the token contract's transfer function 107 will alter the token contract's balances data structure to reflect the result of transferring 10 tokens from Alice to Bob. Similarly, the allowance data structure will be altered to reflect the result of having transferred 10 tokens from Alice to Bob.]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the user-to-SPA token transfer of Sells, in view of Brock, in further view of Abbas to include the ERC-20 “approve()” and “transferFrom()” functions of Remeika. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the “transferFrom()” function of Remeika, which lets an approved entity send tokens on behalf of the token holder up to the approved allowance, into the token transfer of Sells, in view of Brock, in further view of Abbas, in order to permit SPA to withdraw the user’s tokens only up to the amount the user approved while preventing token holder from transferring the same committed tokens again (see Remeika (6/45-48)). Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Sells, in view of Brock, in further view of Abbas, in further view of Remeika.
Regarding Claim 4. Sells, Brock, Abbas, Remeika discloses the limitations of Claim 3. Sells further discloses:
wherein initiating the second token transfer occurs before initiating the token transfer. [see at least (0087) Redemption and payment transfer may be timed in various orders and sequences by the orchestration services; for example, a transfer to a merchant may be made in advance of redemption, vice versa, or simultaneously. (0088) plurality of platform 100 users may conduct merchant transactions that are ultimately to be settled using a cryptocurrency balance, such as Bitcoin, and these transactions may be noted using Layer 2 or Layer 3 protocols to record that the transactions are occurring, but the final disposition of recording the transactions to the blockchain for final settlement may be done in a single event, such as finalizing a full day of transactions at the end of the business day.]
Note: Examiner notes the Sells reference expressly discloses the transfer to the merchant (i.e., the second token transfer) may be made in advanced of redemption of the user’s cryptocurrency (i.e., the token transfer from the user). Accordingly, the claimed order is taught by Sells. Additionally, Sells discloses that the transfer “may be timed in various orders and sequences” and selecting among those disclosed orders would have been obvious (see MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(C)).
Regarding Claim 9. Sells, Brock, Abbas discloses the limitations of Claim 1. The combination of Sells in view of Brock, in further view of Abbas discloses settling transaction using smart contracts, however, the above combination of Sells, Brock, Abbas does not disclose:
wherein the token standard comprises an ERC-20 token standard, and wherein the token allowance comprises an ERC-20 allowance approved to an address of the SPA.
Nonetheless, Remeika discloses:
wherein the token standard comprises an ERC-20 token standard, and wherein the token allowance comprises an ERC-20 allowance approved to an address of the SPA. [see at least Figs. 1C, 1D, (5/36-52) Note that participant 102 and Mediator 104 can represent individuals, entities, or accounts. Alice can use the Regulated Token System 100 to approve funds to be deposited in escrow, also commonly referred to as an allowance data structure, or to be allocated to Mediator 104 by calling an approve function 106 from an account or wallet such as an Ethereum wallet or ERC-20 compatible wallet. The approve function 106 can be the ERC-20 “approve( )” function, which has a spender and a value as parameters and, when called by a token holder, allows the spender to withdraw from the token holder's account multiple times up to the amount specified by the value. For example, in order to allocate 10 tokens to Mediator 104 to spend on her behalf, Alice can call the function “approve(Mediator, 10).” The allowance data structure will contain the information that Alice has allowed a transfer to Mediator 104 of up to 10 tokens (i.e., an ERC-20 allowance approved to an address of the spender, Mediator 104, corresponding to the SPA). (6/57-67) if Mediator 104 wants to transfer 10 tokens on Alice's behalf from Alice to Bob, Mediator 104 can execute the ERC-20 transfer function “transferFrom (Alice, Bob, 10),” which designates Alice as the sender, Bob as the recipient, and 10 as the value. Executing the token contract's transfer function 107 will alter the token contract's balances data structure to reflect the result of transferring 10 tokens from Alice to Bob. Similarly, the allowance data structure will be altered to reflect the result of having transferred 10 tokens from Alice to Bob.]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the token allowance of Sells, in view of Brock, in further view of Abbas to include the ERC-20 “approve()” function of Remeika. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the ERC-20 allowance approved to the spender’s address of Remeika, into the smart contract of Sells, in view of Brock, in further view of Abbas, in order to grant the SPA authority to withdraw up to the approved amount using standardized ERC-20 functions, which provide “better uniformity, reduced complexity, and enhanced liquidity of tokens” (see Remeika (1/2125). Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Sells, in view of Brock, in further view of Abbas, in further view of Remeika.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sells, in view of Brock, in further view of Abbas, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Linton (US 20200145214 A1).
Regarding Claim 10. Sells, Brock, Abbas discloses the limitations of Claim 1. The combination of Sells in view of Brock, in further view of Abbas discloses settling transaction, however, the above combination of Sells, Brock, Abbas does not disclose:
wherein each of the executing of the smart contract and the executing of the second smart contract is atomic such that the token transfers of the respective execution either all complete or are all rolled back.
Nonetheless, Linton discloses:
wherein each of the executing of the smart contract and the executing of the second smart contract is atomic such that the token transfers of the respective execution either all complete or are all rolled back. [see at least (0032) The exemplary embodiments provide a solution for an atomic execution of a multi-party transaction using a smart contract that applies a two-phase commit mechanism to ensure that the transaction takes place between the parties only if all involved parties agree and sign off on it in blockchain-based network. (0041) a wide variety of multi-party atomic smart contract-based transactions may be executed on the blockchain based on this principle. (0046) Phase 2 may begin only when the smart contract successfully collects and verifies the required number of attestations. If all conditions are met, the smart contract executes and posts cryptographic proof of successful execution to the blockchain. (0047) Optionally, the process may include exchange of crypto-currency and/or exchange of an authorizing token or of a cryptographic key. In this case, in phase 1, the crypto-currency is collected and held in escrow by the smart contract, until a successful completion of phase 2, at which time it is transferred to the receiving party(ies) according to the smart contract terms. If the timeout occurs or any required condition of the contract fails, the crypto-currency is released back from escrow to the original parties (i.e., rolled back).]
In addition, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the execution of the smart contract and second smart contract of Sells, in view of Brock, in further view of Abbas to include the atomic smart contract execution of Linton. A person a having the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the “all or nothing” execution of Linton into the settlement of Sells, in view of Brock, in further view of Abbas, in order to ensure that each settlement “takes place between the parties only if all involved parties agree” (see Linton [0032]), so that no party is left with a partially completed token transfer when the cumulative total of unsettled POS transactions is settled. Accordingly, the claimed subject matter is obvious over Sells, in view of Brock, in further Abbas, in further view of Linton.
Response to Amendments/Arguments
With respect to Applicant’s Remarks as to the claim objection.
Applicant submits: “Claim 1 was objected to for reciting " from one or processors " which the Office indicated should read " from one or more processors " Without acquiescing to the propriety of the objections, the Applicant has amended the claims to overcome the objection. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the objection.”
Examiner response: In light of Applicant’s amendment, the claim objection has been withdrawn.
With respect to Applicant’s Remarks as to the claims being rejected under 35 USC § 101.
Applicant submits: “The Office Action characterizes the claims as being directed to "enabling cryptocurrency transactions" or payment processing. That characterization fails to reflect the actual focus of the claimed invention: As amended, independent claim 1 is directed to a specific technical control architecture for executing smart contracts on a cryptocurrency network, in which the smart contracts are generated and recorded on a distributed ledger, and parameterized to limit token transfer authority. As now amended, the recited token transfer limit is not abstract: the maximum number of tokens is committed as a token allowance recorded on the ledger via an approve function of a token standard, and execution withdraws tokens subject
to that ledger-recorded allowance.
Examiner response: Examiner has fully considered but does not find Applicant’s argument persuasive. The Applicant argues the claims are not directed to an abstract idea. However, Examiner respectfully disagree with the Applicant, as the claims recites accessing, agreeing and recording the contract, approving transaction, updating the balance after approval. These claim elements covers sales activity which falls under Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, i.e., Commercial or Legal Interactions grouping of abstract ideas (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). The rejection has been maintained.
Applicant submits: “The Office Action further appears to suggest that determining whether to approve a transaction could be performed mentally. Applicant respectfully asserts that this assertion ignores the claims as a whole. For example, claim 1 recites maintaining a cumulative card balance of unsettled transactions. calculating spending power as a function of multiple system-maintained values, recording smart contracts on a distributed ledger; and executing the smart contracts via on-chain transaction requests. A human cannot mentally perform these steps, nor can a mental process record or execute smart contracts on a cryptocurrency network. Most critically, a mental process cannot condition or control execution of a smart contract once deployed to a blockchain.”
Examiner response: Examiner has fully considered but doesn’t find Applicant’s argument persuasive. The Applicant argues the claims are not directed to a mental process; however, the Examiner respectfully disagree with the Applicant. The Examiner points out the Applicant may have mischaracterized the claim analysis. In previous action mailed on 02/26/2026 and current action, the Examiner points out the claim elements as whole are directed to sales activity which falls under Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, i.e., Commercial or Legal Interactions grouping of abstract ideas (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). See the updated rejection above. The rejection has been maintained.
Applicant submits: “Even assuming arguendo that the claims involve an abstract concept, Applicant respectfully asserts that they integrate that concept into a practical application. Specifically, Applicant asserts that amended claim 1 requires a specific sequencing and enforcement architecture in which: 1. smart contracts are first generated and recorded on the ledger; 2. authorization for a POS transaction is computed using a cumulative unsettled balance maintained by the system; 3. balances are updated upon approval of a request associated with a POS transaction; and 4. on-chain execution is initiated only after approval via distinct on-chain transaction requests. “IV. The Office Action Fails to Establish Lack of Significantly More" (Step 2B) The Office Action further asserts that the claims merely recite conventional activity. Applicant respectfully asserts that this conclusion is unsupported. Specifically, the Office Action fails to identify evidence showing that it was routine or conventional to: generate smart contracts with predefined token transfer limits that are recorded on the ledger; maintain a cumulative unsettled card balance separate from wallet balance; compute authorization of a POS transaction using that balance; or initiate multiple on-chain transaction requests only after approval of the POS transaction.”
Examiner response: Examiner has fully considered but doesn’t find Applicant’s argument persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagree with the applicant, the claim recites additional elements of “smart,” “token,” “device,” “one or more processor,” and “POS” recites computing elements at high level of generality. Additionally, the additional elements serve as a tool process transaction. The rejection has been maintained.
With respect to Applicant’s Remarks as to the claims being rejected under 35 USC § 103.
Applicant submits: “None of the cited references discloses or suggests generating and ledger-recording a smart contract that limits token transfers based on pre-authorized spending authority, as opposed to executing transfers at the time of settlement. The Office Action maps the "maximum number of tokens" to Sells' general disclosure of a ,I rule stored in a smart contract (Sells [0013]) and relies on inference under MPEP 2144.01 § to supply the maximum; a rule governing when an exchange occurs is not a token allowance recorded on the ledger and granted to the SPA's address via an approve function, as claim 1 now expressly requires, and inference cannot supply a specific claimed structure that no reference discloses. Abbas' disclosure that a created smart contract "is compiled into, I bytecode and stored on the blockchain" (Abbas [0073]) is generic contract deployment and discloses no pre-committed withdrawal allowance.” (Remarks pg. 14)
Examiner response: Examiner has fully considered but does not find Applicant’s argument persuasive. Sells stores in a smart contract a rule setting maximum cryptocurrency valuation and transaction size that must be met before cryptocurrency is transferred from the user’s wallet (Sells [0013]), and track’s the user’s “cryptocurrency allowance” (i.e., how much cryptocurrency the user can spend at any given point (Sells [0094]). Thus, the “maximum” is set in before each transfer. Furthermore, the Abbas reference discloses storing the smart contract on the blockchain “along with a set of rules that determines how the smart contract will execute” (see Abbas [0048], [0073]). Thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would reasonably infer from these teachings committing the maximum as token allowance recorded on the ledger, granting the SPA authority to withdraw up that amount. The Abbas reference is relied upon for granting and recording smart contract, and not for the allowance. The references must be considered in combination rather than individually (see MPEP 2145(IV)).
Applicant submits: “The cited references do not disclose maintaining a cumulative unsettled transaction balance that is distinct from the user's wallet balance and used to constrain subsequent authorization decisions. Nor do they teach computing authorization eligibility as a function of both on-chain wallet balance and, accumulated unsettled transaction state. Nor does Sells [0130], which describes a user with an insufficient selected fiat amount, disclose a cumulative unsettled transaction accumulator netted against an on-chain committed allowance, as claim 1 now requires … This language makes clear that system balances are updated upon authorization, not upon settlement or execution. The cited references do not disclose updating internal balances based solely on transaction approval, nor do they teach updating such balances before any blockchain execution occurs. The cited references do not disclose or suggest deferring the initiation of on-chain transaction requests until after a separate authorization step, nor do they teach coordinated execution of multiple smart contracts conditioned on prior approval. As amended, claim 1 further requires that the forwarding occurs responsive to a settlement trigger comprising a predefined time period or a transaction threshold, and that execution settles the cumulative total of unsettled POS transactions in a single instance. The per-transaction conversion and settlement flows of Sells and Brock teach away from accumulating authorized-but-unsettled transactions for deferred, single-instance settlement (immediate settlement is the operating principle of those systems), and Abbas is silent.” (Remarks pgs. 15-16)
Examiner response: Examiner has fully considered but does not find Applicant’s argument persuasive. Sells determines how much the user may transact with from an overdraft limit based on the user’s cryptocurrency balance, reduce the amount with each transaction (see Sells Fig. 9 [0096]), and settles the accumulated transactions on the blockchain in a single end of business day event (see Sells [0088]). This alone satisfies the claimed “at least one of” settlement trigger. The Brock reference updates the customer and the merchant balance upon approval and before any blockchain recording (see Brock [0079], [0112]), and holds the accumulated unsettled transactions withing the payment service until a transaction limit is reached before publishing them to the blockchain. Additionally, both references (i.e., Sells, and Brock) discloses settlement to reduce processing burden (see Sells [0088], and Brock [0079]), neither teaches away from the claimed limitation.
Applicant submits: “The cited references do not recognize the technical problem addressed by exemplary embodiments consistent with the claimed invention, and therefore provide no motivation to combine their teachings in this manner absent hindsight.” (Remarks pg. 16)
Examiner response: Examiner has fully considered but does not find Applicant’s argument persuasive. Examiners point out the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant (see MPEP 2144 (IV)). In addition, both the Sells, and the Brock references addresses the same problem as identified by the Applicant, by minimizing the amount of token transfers for a plurality of transactions, a reduced amount of fees are charged in the aggregate for the transfers, thereby, saving gas fee (see Applicant’s Specification [0020]. Sell discloses “the transactions to the blockchain for final settlement may be done in a single event … may reduce computing capacity requirements, increase transaction processing speed (e.g., because each individual transaction does not need to be recorded to the blockchain in real-time), and reduce costs associated with the processing” (see Sells [0088]). And Brock discloses “as cryptocurrency transactions increase in number, the processing demands on the public ledger need not increase proportionally as the bulk of the transactions are in fact carried out within the payment service 108” (see Brock [0079]). Both of these references address the same problem the Applicant identifies, which is reducing on-chain transaction the processing cost. Lastly, each feature listed by Applicant is mapped to the cited art above. See the updated rejection. Thus, the rejection has been maintained.
Applicant submits: “Authorization must occur before on-chain execution, and
balances must be updated before transaction requests are forwarded. Reordering these steps
would defeat the purpose of the claimed invention. The Office Action improperly treats this
sequencing as an obvious design choice when it is, in fact, central to the claimed technical
solution.” (Remarks pg. 16)
Examiner response: Examiner has fully considered but does not find Applicant’s argument persuasive. The claim sequence is taught by the combination of reference. The Brock reference discloses approving the transaction (see Brock [0036]), then updates the customer and merchant balances (see Brock Fig. 4A, [0112]), and only then records the accumulated transaction on the blockchain (see Brock [0104]). And, then the Sells reference discloses recoding the authorized transactions for the final settlement at the end of the day in a single event (see Sells [0088]). Thus, the rejection has been maintained.
Applicant submits: “Dependent claims 2-4 are allowable at least by virtue of their respective dependencies on independent claim 1, in addition to their own allowable features. For example, "initiating the second token transfer occurs before initiating the token transfer" would be against the principles of operation of the cited art. In the cited references, settlement follows authorization and user debit, not the reverse, and reordering these steps would undermine the references' stated transaction flow … Claims 9 and 10 are additionally allowable at least for reciting, respectively, the ERC-20 allowance approved to the SPA's address and atomic all-or-nothing execution of the smart contracts, which no cited reference teaches or suggests. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests the allowance of this application.” (Remarks pgs. 16-17)
Examiner response: Examiner has fully considered but does not find Applicant’s argument persuasive. The Examiner respectfully disagree with the applicant, as the dependent claims 2-4, and 9-10 remain rejected by at least virtue of dependency. Additionally, Sells expressly discloses that “a transfer to a merchant may be made in advance of redemption, vice versa, or simultaneously” (see Sells [0087]). Transferring to the merchant before redeeming the user’s cryptocurrency is therefore a disclosed mode of operation of Sells, and not a change to its principal of operation. Additionally, the present rejection does not treat the claimed order as non-functional descriptive material.
Additionally, claim 9 is rejected under Sells, in view of Brock, in further view of Remeika. Remeika discloses an ERC-20 allowance approved to a spender, and withdrawal via transferFrom function (see Remeika [05/36]-[6/54-67]). Then, claim 10 is rejected under ells, in view of Brock, in further view of Linton. Linton discloses atomic smart contract execution where “all elements execute together or fail together,” with cryptocurrency released back to the original parties on failure (see Linton [0046]-[0047]). Thus, the rejection has been maintained.
Relevant Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon which, however, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20190139033 A1 Ricotta; Frank et al. METHOD FOR REAL-TIME CONVERSION OF CRYPTOCURRENCY TO CASH AND OTHER FORMS OF VALUE AT THE POINT OF USE - [0022] FIG. 2 shows Settlement Services, which may settle transactions across multiple Currency Wallets 120. For example, the process to load a debit card with funds may take longer than the time available to complete a transaction, in which case, the settlement services may handle completion of the transaction and update appropriate balances after completion of such transaction. In one embodiment, Distributed Reserve Services may provide a pool of funds that allow settlement services to complete a transaction in the absence of sufficient funds in Reserve Account 206.
US 20240330902 A1 Dashkov; Ivan SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR GENERATING GRAPHICS FOR CRYPTOGRAPHIC TOKENS - [0023] As used herein, the term “cryptographic token” is a digital value that is stored/recorded on a blockchain. Cryptographic tokens include payment tokens, such as coins (e.g., Bitcoin), utility tokens, security tokens, and “non-fungible tokens.” As used herein, “non-fungible token” (“NFT”) refers to a cryptoasset in the form of a unique, cryptographic token corresponding to a digital asset, which can include any of the examples of a digital asset listed above. The NFT may be a blockchain-based deed of digital ownership and/or certificate of authenticity of a digital asset. As used herein, an NFT is not a digital asset but is used to signify ownership of the digital asset. The NFT can be built (i.e., minted) in accordance with contemporary and relevant standards, such as, e.g., an Ethereum Request for Comments (ERC) 721 (Non-Fungible Token Standard) or ERC1155 (Multi Token Standard) among other relevant standards and as appropriate for the particular blockchain network and applications used therewith. Further, an NFT is built or minted in accordance with the terms of a smart contract. The particular conditions and terms of a smart contract can govern details of a transaction involving the minting or transfer of an NFT, and the terms can impact the value or, at least, the perceived value of the NFT over time. For example, a smart contract can enforce a rarity of NFTs minted under the smart contract by limiting the maximum allowable number of NFTs which can be minted under the contract. In some cases, a smart contract can include terms mandating that a royalty be paid to the owner of the smart contract upon a secondary sale of an NFT. In essence, the NFT represents authentication of the transaction and serves as a record of this authentication on a blockchain ledger (e.g., Bitcoin, Ethereum, and the like). As such, the NFT itself may fluctuate in value depending on various aspects of the transaction, e.g., the parties involved, value exchanged, time and/or date, exclusivity, or combinations thereof, among other factors. Further, the number and/or frequency of transactions may also cause the NFT to fluctuate in value.
US 20220261882 A1 Youb; Christopher et al. METHOD FOR CREATING COMMODITY ASSETS FROM UNREFINED COMMODITY RESERVES UTILIZING BLOCKCHAIN AND DISTRIBUTED LEDGER TECHNOLOGY - [0209] Smart contracts deployed on blockchains enable the creation of new types of digital assets, called tokens, that can interact with each other. In general, all kinds of digital information or assets can be customized in the form of tokens, whose process refers to tokenization. After digital assets are tokenized, they can be recorded on the blockchain. Different blockchains may have different tokenization processes. Currently, the most well-known guideline to create a token is a series of Ethereum Request for Comments (ERCs), which describe the fundamental functionalities and provide guidelines that a token should comply with working correctly on the Ethereum network. Within ERCs, various types of tokens are defined regarding the features of assets, e.g., ERC-20 for divisible assets and ERC-721 for indivisible assets. Once a token representation of a digital asset is created on a blockchain, it can be traded via a process known as an Initial Coin Offering (ICO), the online sale of created tokens.
US 20230169413 A1 Augustine; Scott et al. DAMPENING TOKEN ALLOCATIONS BASED ON NON-ORGANIC SUBSCRIBER BEHAVIORS - [0121] In some example blockchain networks, operations within the blockchain network require fees, like gas fees, which are paid to participants of the blockchain network that execute and agree upon results of those operations (e.g., one or more computing nodes of the blockchain network). Accordingly, in some embodiments, the process may include a step 320 to determine an estimated gas cost of the transaction. For example, an API of an entity participating within the blockchain network may be queried to return an average gas cost. In some embodiment, the smart contract includes an input for a gas threshold, like the maximum amount of gas the questing entity will pay for effecting a burn transaction. In some embodiments, the smart contract obtains a current gas cost estimate and determines whether the gas threshold meets or exceeds the average gas cost to ensure the transaction is likely to be processed. If the gas threshold does not meet or exceed current average gas cost, a new threshold may be returned for approval by the requesting entity. Accordingly, in some embodiments, requesting entities may be responsible for transaction fees. In some other embodiments, another entity on the ecosystem layer may be responsible for transaction fees and reimbursed by allocation of a value of digital bearer assets to the entity based on value of gas fees paid (e.g., between each minting and distribution of the digital bearer assets). In some embodiments, that entity may sign burn transactions to indicate approval of gas fee payment. In either instance, a gas threshold based on, or consistent with, estimated gas cost 320 may be specified for one or more transactions, like a burn transaction 322, submitted onto the blockchain network.
US 20200311816 A1 Calvin; Ross Way DISTRIBUTED LEDGER INVESTMENT GOVERNANCE PLATFORM - [0286] As best illustrated in FIG. 9, rather than leveraging two layers of tokens, e.g. Ethereum Request for Comment number 20 (“ERC-20”) for the currency token and Ethereum Request for Comment number 721 (“ERC-721”) for the asset token, Cardano provides the ability to break down transactions, identities and assets into multiple, decentralized settlement and calculation layers including asset tokenization itself and the currency cryptocurrency. This allows for ephemeral data such as trading transactions to be kept separate from the DAO's internal ecosystem logic, reputation systems, and asset data. While the currency will be tradable with other cryptocurrency and fiat, the underlying asset tokens are preferably tradable only for currency and locked into a single integrated system of settlement layers.
US 20240078536 A1 Dashkov; Ivan SYSTEMS AND METHODS USING DIGITAL ASSETS - [0027] As used herein, the term “cryptographic token” is a digital value that is stored/recorded on a blockchain. Cryptographic tokens include payment tokens, such as coins (e.g., Bitcoin), utility tokens, security tokens, and “non-fungible tokens.” As used herein, non-fungible token or “NFT” refers to a cryptoasset in the form of a unique, cryptographic token corresponding to a digital asset comprising a computer-generated virtual object and metadata therefor, including digital articles of footwear, and/or digital articles of apparel. The NFT may be a blockchain-based deed of digital ownership and/or certificate of authenticity of a digital asset. As used herein, an NFT is used to signify ownership of the digital asset. The NFT can be built (e.g., minted) in accordance with contemporary and relevant standards, such as, e.g., an Ethereum Request for Comments (ERC) 721 (Non-Fungible Token Standard) or ERC1155 (Multi Token Standard) among other relevant standards and as appropriate for the particular blockchain network and applications used therewith. Further, an NFT is built or minted in accordance with the terms of a smart contract. The particular conditions and terms of a smart contract can govern details of a transaction involving the minting or transfer of an NFT, and the terms can impact the value or, at least, the perceived value of the NFT over time. For example, a smart contract can enforce a rarity of NFTs minted under the smart contract by limiting the maximum allowable number of NFTs which can be minted under the contract. In some cases, a smart contract can include terms mandating that a royalty be paid to the owner of the smart contract upon a secondary sale of an NFT. In essence, the NFT represents authentication of the transaction and serves as a record of this authentication on a blockchain ledger (e.g., Bitcoin, Ethereum, and the like). As such, the NFT itself may fluctuate in value depending on various aspects of the transaction, e.g., the parties involved, value exchanged, time and/or date, exclusivity, or combinations thereof, among other factors. Further, the number and/or frequency of transactions may also cause the NFT to fluctuate in value.
US 20240330906 A1 Ellis; Mark et al. TOKEN STANDARD IMPLEMENTATION FOR TOKENIZED SECURITIES - [0013] Embodiments of the present disclosure provide a token standard implementation for tokenized securities. More particularly, the present disclosure provides techniques for enforcing transfer restrictions to regulated groups for compliance with financial regulatory bodies such as the United States Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). The techniques balance simplicity and sufficiency for smart contract-based securities tokens without adding unnecessary complexity for simple use cases. Further, the techniques account for restrictions by preexisting token standards, such as various Ethereum Request for Comment (ERC) standards (e.g., ERC-20, ERC-1404, etc.) as well as non-standardized ERC guidance. Advantageously, the embodiments of the present disclosure ensure that the full operations of a given smart contract securities token are clear to users associated with the smart contract.
Conclusion
/M.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3698
/PATRICK MCATEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3698