DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nip et al. (US 2012/0282111 A1, hereafter “Nip”).
As to claim 1, Nip discloses an electroosmotic pump (100; see Fig. 2) comprising:
a housing (see annotated Fig. 2 below, hereafter referred to as “Fig. A”) including a shaft hole (annotated below, between arrows);
a membrane (106) arranged between a first space (upper part of 102, annotated below) disposed in a direction away from the shaft hole and a second space (area between shaft and top of membrane, annotated below) adjacent to the shaft hole (Fig. A);
a first electrode body (108A) and a second electrode body (108B) arranged at opposite sides of the membrane (Fig. 2);
a shaft (see Fig. A) extending to an outside of the housing through the shaft hole (Fig. A); and
a deformation portion (110) communicating with a side of the housing, in which the first space is formed, including a third space (annotated below) connecting to the first space, and being deformable (para 0068, 0071).
As to claim 2, Nip discloses the electroosmotic pump of claim 1, further comprising a first fluid included in an internal space of the housing (see para 0067, 0068, 0071).
As to claim 3, Nip discloses the electroosmotic pump of claim 2, wherein a volume of the first fluid is less than a volume of the internal space (since the claim does not explicitly define where the internal space is located or give a numerical value for either volume, one can arbitrarily interpret the internal space as a volume that satisfies this limitation – see para 0067, 0068, 0071).
As to claim 5, Nip discloses the electroosmotic pump of claim 2, wherein the first fluid is provided in each of the first space and the second space (see para 0067, 0068, 0071), and a volume of the first fluid in the first space is less than a volume of the first space (the examiner notes that interpretation of the first space and second space is somewhat arbitrary, the second space can be further interpreted to include, for example, chamber 104 as well as chamber 122 in order to satisfy the claim, additionally “a volume” is not the same thing as a total volume and can additionally be interpreted arbitrarily).
For the purposes of rejecting claims 9-10, an alternative interpretation of Nip is given below:
As to claim 1, Nip discloses an electroosmotic pump (100; see Fig. 2) comprising:
a housing (see annotated Fig. 2 below, hereafter referred to as “Fig. B”) including a shaft hole (annotated below, between arrows);
a membrane (106) arranged between a first space (upper part of 102, annotated below) disposed in a direction away from the shaft hole and a second space (area between shaft and top of membrane, annotated below) adjacent to the shaft hole;
a first electrode body (108A) and a second electrode (108B) body arranged at opposite sides of the membrane (Fig. B);
a shaft (annotated below) extending to an outside of the housing through the shaft hole (Fig. B); and
a deformation portion (annotated below, includes 110 as well as walls that 110 is attached to) communicating with a side of the housing (see Fig. B), in which the first space is formed, including a third space (annotated below) connecting to the first space, and being deformable (para 0068, 0071).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nip in view of Bryant et al. (US 6,604,908 A1, hereafter “Bryant”).
As to claim 7, Nip discloses the electroosmotic pump of claim 1 as described in the first rejection of claim 1 above, but does not expressly recite wherein the deformation portion is formed of a material capable of elastic deformation.
Bryant discloses “methods and systems may utilize pump chambers having at least one moveable surface, where, in some embodiments the moveable surface is a flexible membrane, which, in some such embodiments is elastic” (see para beginning line 11 col. 12, also see para beginning line 45 col. 17).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nip such that the deformation portion is formed of a material capable of elastic deformation. One would have been motivated to do so so that the deformation portion of Nip provides a resistance to beinding or stretching (see see para beginning line 11 col. 12, also see para beginning line 45 col. 17 of Bryant).
As to claims 9-10, Nip discloses the electroosmotic pump of claim 1 as described in the second rejection of claim 1 above, but does not expressly recite wherein an elastic portion that is capable of elastic deformation is formed in a side of the deformation portion or wherein the elastic portion is at a center portion of the deformation portion.
Bryant discloses “methods and systems may utilize pump chambers having at least one moveable surface, where, in some embodiments the moveable surface is a flexible membrane, which, in some such embodiments is elastic” (see para beginning line 11 col. 12, also see para beginning line 45 col. 17).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nip such that the movable member 110 is formed of a material capable of elastic deformation. One would have been motivated to do so so that the movable member of Nip provides a resistance to beinding or stretching (see see para beginning line 11 col. 12, also see para beginning line 45 col. 17 of Bryant). With such a modification, it can be further said that an elastic portion that is capable of elastic deformation is formed in a side of the deformation portion or wherein the elastic portion is at a center portion of the deformation portion (moveable member 110 of Nip being in a side/center portion of the annotated deformation portion – see Fig. B above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to each of claims 4, 6 and 8, while Nip discloses the limitations of claim 1 (and claim 2 is it pertains to claim 4), Nip is silent to the limitations recited in each of claims 4, 6, and 8 in combination with the limitations of claims 2 and/or 1, respectively.
Conclusion
/James D Ponton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783