DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species A1 (i.e., claims 1-10 and 19-20) in the reply filed on 09/10/2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claim(s) 1-10 and 19-20 is/are examined herein.
With respect to the rejoinder request of withdrawn claims, Examiner reminds Applicant that withdrawn claims need to have ALL the limitations of an allowable claim and meet all the other requirements for rejoinder. Examiner notes that withdrawn claims 11-18 as currently presented have 112(b) issues, claim objections, and do not include ALL the limitations of an allowable claim.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 3 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, “the frame structure” should be changed to --the framed structure--.
In line 3 of Claim 19, “with the frame structure” should be changed to --with the framed structure--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the counterbalance is a movable counterbalance configured to move laterally along the stabilizing arm” which is indefinite because it seems to contradict the limitation “wherein the stabilizing arm is integrally coupled with a counterbalance”. It is unclear how the counterbalance can be integrally coupled to the stabilizing arm and at the same time be movable along the stabilizing arm.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the printing arm rotatably coupled with the frame structure at one end and coupled with one or more print heads disposed at another end of the printing arm, configured to print a 3-D object on the platform by injecting material in the media tanks via the print head” which is indefinite. It is unclear which element of the many recited elements (the printing arm or the print head) is configured to print a 3-D object. It is unclear how the printing occurs by injecting material in the media tanks via the print head. In fact, the claimed language “injecting material in the media tanks via the print head” is inconsistent with Applicant’s disclosure (See [0018] of Applicant’s published application).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected as being dependent from claim 19 and therefor including all the limitation thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Snyder (US 20170036783).
Regarding claims 1-2, Snyder discloses a micro-gravity three-dimensional printer (device 100 for additive manufacturing in space: P0002, 0032, 0072-0073, 0107) comprising:
a framed structure (104) supporting a movable printing arm (frame 104 supporting movable printing arm 1502a: P0108-0109, Fig. 15), the printing arm (1502a) operative to print a three-dimensional object (P0072-0073, 0109);
a stabilizing arm (arm 1502b) coupled with and extending away from the framed structure (arm 1502b coupled with and extending away from 104: P0107, Fig. 15; arm 1502b capable of stabilizing 100 by providing fine and/or gross control movements and/or counterbalancing the weight/movements of the printing arm 1502a: P0107-0108, Fig. 15; furthermore, the arm 1502b is are capable of functioning as a stabilizing arm because 1502b is structurally equivalent to the claimed stabilizing arm: See MPEP §§ 2112.01 I, 2114 I-II, and 2115); and
one or more stabilizing devices (thruster(s) 1202), wherein the one or more stabilizing devices include at least one thruster (thruster(s) 1202) coupled with the framed structure (P0102-0103, annotated in Fig. 15, shown in Fig. 16) to prevent movement of the framed structure in a micro-gravity environment (thruster(s) 1202 capable of controlling/preventing movement of 104/100 in space: P0102-0105; furthermore, thruster(s) 1202 are capable of preventing movement of the framed structure in a micro-gravity environment because the thruster(s) 1202 is/are structurally equivalent to the claimed at least one thruster: See MPEP §§ 2112.01 I, 2114 I-II, and 2115). Thus, Snyder discloses the three-dimensional printer as claimed by applicant.
Regarding claim 3, Snyder further discloses one or more media tanks coupled with the framed structure to store material to create the three-dimensional object (feedstock source/module configured to store printing material in liquid form coupled to frame 104: P0077, 0087, 0106, 0109).
Regarding claim 5, Snyder further discloses a material platform (build tray) coupled to the framed structure (Fig. 19), the material platform operative to receive material released from the printing arm to form the 3-D object (P0109, 0114, Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 6, Snyder further discloses wherein the printing arm is configured to rotate and move toward or away from the material platform during print of the 3-D object (printing arm 1502 is capable of rotating and moving toward or away from the build tray during print of the 3-D object via the disclosed motors and/or rotary joint: P0107-0109, 0114, Figs. 15 and 19).
Regarding claim 9, Snyder further discloses one or more print heads (1508) disposed on one end of the printing arm (1502a) through which material from the media tanks flow to create the three-dimensional object (P0109, Fig. 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snyder as applied to claim above, and further in view of Wolfgram (US 20140363532).
Regarding claim 4, Snyder fails to disclose one or more tab bars extending outward from the framed structure and coupled with the one or more media tanks.
In an analogous art, 3D printers, Wolfgram discloses the technique of including one or more tab bars (See annotated Fig. 7) extending outward from a framed structure (1) and coupled with one or more feedstock sources for the benefit(s) of maximizing/unclogging volume of the framed structure (Figs. 6-7, corresponding description, and as shown in annotated Fig. 7 below).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the 3D printer of Snyder in view of Wolfgram by including one or more tab bars extending outward from the framed structure and coupled with the one or more media tanks for yielding the predictable benefit(s) of maximizing/unclogging volume of the framed structure as suggested by Wolfgram. See MPEP §§ 2143 I C, 2143 I G, and/or 2144 II.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snyder as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Owada (US 20050248065).
Regarding claim 10, Snyder fails to disclose an ultra-violet light source that includes a plurality of ultra-violet array elements coupled around the one or more print heads to direct ultra-violet light on the three-dimensional object.
In an analogous art, 3D printers, Owada discloses the technique of including an ultra-violet light source that includes a plurality of ultra-violet array elements (50) coupled around one print head (26) to direct ultra-violet light on a three-dimensional object (P0045-0051, 0059, Figs. 6A-C and 9A) for the benefit(s) of enabling/expediating curing and/or enhancing quality of the three-dimensional object (P0008-0009, 0070).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the 3D printer of Snyder in view of Owada by including an ultra-violet light source that includes a plurality of ultra-violet array elements coupled around the one or more print heads to direct ultra-violet light on the three-dimensional object for yielding the predictable benefit(s) of enabling/expediating curing and/or enhancing quality of the three-dimensional object as suggested by Owada. See MPEP §§ 2143 I C, 2143 I G, and/or 2144 II.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record, alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest “wherein the stabilizing arm is integrally coupled with a counterbalance disposed about a midpoint of the stabilizing arm” as instantly claimed. No other prior art was located that fairly suggested the claimed invention in whole or in part, along with the requisite motivation for combining to render the claimed invention obvious.
Claim 19 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action. The prior art of record, alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest “a stabilizing arm coupled with and extending away from the framed structure having a movable counterbalance configured to move laterally along the stabilizing arm in response to Newtonian forces or gravitational forces on the printer” as instantly claimed. No other prior art was located that fairly suggested the claimed invention in whole or in part, along with the requisite motivation for combining to render the claimed invention obvious.
Conclusion
JERZI H. MORENO HERNANDEZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1743
/JERZI H MORENO HERNANDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743