DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 7/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for at least the following reasons:
Applicant has argued that Bradski, in [0152] – [[0153] and [0161], do not, by themselves, disclose a corresponding ruleset including a parameter specifying an orientation of the end effector relative to the workholder, or operation of the robot based on the parameter.
However, the rejection is based on the combined teachings of O’Hare and Bradski, rather than on Bradski alone. O’Hare teaches the workpiece specific stored and retrieved ruleset that is used to control transfer of a workpiece, while Bradski is relied upon to teach controlling the orientation of the grasped workpiece or end effector for placement at the destination. Specifically, Bradski, in [0153], teaches changing the orientation of the object along the motion path so that the object accommodates the drop off location, and Bradski, in [0161], teaches establishing an end state for placement of an object into a fixture.
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have incorporated the teachings of Bradski (placement orientation) into O’Hare’s workpiece specific ruleset, so that the control system causes the robot to use the appropriate end effector orientation when delivering the workpiece to the workholder. That being said, in the opinion of the examiner, the combination of O’Hare and Bradski adequately teaches and/or suggests the features of claim 1 that the applicant has contested, and therefore, the examiner does not feel that the applicant’s arguments overcome the outstanding rejection.
Applicant appears to use the same argument with respect to claims 15 and 18, and so the examiner’s response is the same as that of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (Maintained)
Claims 1, 8, 9, 15, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hare et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0356218 A1 (‘218), in view of Bradski et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0221187 A1 (‘187).
As per claim 1, ‘218 discloses a method of sequentially delivering each workpiece of a plurality of workpieces, each workpiece being from a different family of workpieces, to a workholder to hold the workpiece during inspection by an inspection instrument of an inspection system, the inspection system comprising the inspection instrument, a robot having an end effector configured to grasp each workpiece, the robot disposed to move each workpiece directly to the measurement volume of the inspection instrument, and a control system in control communication with the robot (e.g., See ‘218; [0028], [0159] – [0160] and [0163], which discloses a robot, workholder, inspection instrument, and control system sequentially moving workpieces for inspection), the method comprising:
providing a plurality of non-identical workpieces for inspection by the workpiece inspection system, each workpiece of the plurality of workpieces being from a different family of a plurality of families of workpieces (e.g., See ‘218; [0016], and [0026], which disclose different workpieces being provided for the sequential inspection, with different inspection operations for each workpiece);
providing a plurality of workpiece delivery rulesets, each ruleset of the plurality of workpiece delivery rulesets corresponding, respectively, to a family from the plurality of families of workpieces; and, for each such non-identical workpiece of the plurality of non-identical workpieces (e.g., See ‘218; [0019], and [0025] – [0027], which disclose stored job objects providing different handling and inspection data for different workpieces):
subsequently operate the inspection system to inspect said non-identical workpiece (e.g., See ‘218; [0018] and [0020], which disclose the inspection system inspecting each different workpiece).
Although ‘218 discloses retrieving, for each non-identical workpiece, a job object used to control robot transfer of the workpiece to the measurement volume for inspection (e.g., See ‘218; [0237] – [0242]), ‘218 does not specifically disclose retrieving, from the plurality of workpiece delivery rulesets, a ruleset corresponding to the family of said workpiece, said corresponding ruleset comprising a set of parameters to automatically customize transfer of the workpiece to the workholder in the measurement volume, said set of parameters including a parameter specifying an orientation of the end effector relative to the workholder prior to delivering the workpiece to the workholder.
‘187 discloses these missing features by disclosing, in [0153], and [0161], that the robotic manipulator moves the object through a determined motion path while changing the orientation of the grasped object so that it accommodates the drop-off location, and further teaches placing the object into a fixture, i.e., a workholder.
Further, although ‘218 discloses using a control computer and a retrieved job object to coordinate robot transfer of each non-identical workpiece to the measurement volume for inspection (e.g., See ‘218; [0237] – [0243]), ‘218 does not specifically disclose sequentially, using the control system to customize operation of the robot pursuant to the parameters of the corresponding ruleset to orient the end effector relative to the workholder prior to delivering the workpiece to the workholder.
‘187 discloses these missing features by disclosing, in [0152] - [0153] and [0161], that after selecting the grasp point, the robotic manipulator grips the object and moves it through the determined motion path while changing the object’s orientation to accommodate placement at the workholder.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of ‘187 into ‘218 for the purpose of better guiding robot positioning before workpiece handoff so that different workpieces could be more accurately positioned before handoff to the fixture, thereby improving the reliability and accuracy of the transfer process.
As per claim 8, ‘218’s combined system (‘218 in view of ‘187) further discloses that prior to being delivered by the robot to the workholder, the workpiece is in a storage location (e.g., See ‘218; [0159], which discloses that before the robot delivers the workpiece to the workholder, the workpiece is in a storage location), and wherein the corresponding ruleset comprises a parameter specifying an orientation of the end effector relative to the workpiece prior to grasping the workpiece for delivery to the workholder (e.g., See ‘218; [0166] – [0170] and [0194], and ‘187; [0124] – [0128], which collectively disclose stored pickup information for a specific workpiece and selecting a robotic arm configuration for grasping that workpiece); and pursuant to which the control system customizes the operation of the robot to orient the end effector relative to the workpiece prior to grasping the workpiece with the effector (e.g., See ‘187; [0120] – [0121], which discloses the robot using a selected path to the workpiece before grasping it).
As per claim 9, ‘218’s combined system (‘218 in view of ‘187) further discloses that the end effector comprises a gripper having a maximum gripper gap (e.g., See ‘218; [0160], which discloses that the end effector comprises a gripper with fingers separated by a gap that opens and closes; and thus would have been understood to have a maximum gripper gap which would obviously be defined by its mechanical travel limit), and wherein the corresponding ruleset comprises a parameter quantitatively specifying a specified gap width that is which is less than the maximum gripper gap (e.g., See ‘218; [0160] and [0169], which disclose a gripper gap and stored gripper width for a specific workpiece), pursuant to which the control system customizes the operation of the robot to open the gripper to the specified gap width (e.g., See ‘218; [0160] – [0161] and [0169], which disclose that the robot and gripper are controlled by a controller and that the control system customizes operation of the robot to open the gripper to the specified gap width).
With respect to claim 15, the rejection rationale applied above to claim 1 is incorporated herein, the only discernable difference being that claim 15 recites the same subject matter in system that claim 1 recites in method form.
With respect to claim 16, ‘218’s combined system (‘218 in view of ‘187) further discloses that the workpiece inspection instrument comprises a coordinate measuring machine (e.g., See ‘218; [0028], which discloses that the workpiece inspection instrument comprises a coordinate measuring machine).
With respect to claim 18, the rejection rationale applied above to claim 1 is incorporated herein, the only discernable difference being that claim 18 recites the same subject matter in computer readable medium form that claim 1 recites in method form.
Claims 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hare et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0356218 A1 (‘218), in view of Bradski et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0221187 A1 (‘187), as applied to claims 1 and 18, respectively, from above, in further view of Venkatesh et al., U.S. Patent No. 6,074,443 A (‘443).
As per claim 2, ‘218’s combined system does not specifically disclose that the corresponding ruleset comprises a parameter specifying a wait time between (i) the robot end effector arriving at the workholder with a workpiece and (ii) subsequently releasing said workpiece by the end effector, pursuant to which the control system customizes the operation of the robot to cause the robot to pause for at least the wait time prior to releasing said workpiece.
‘443 discloses these missing features by disclosing, in C2 L21-23 and C10 L67 – C11 L8, that the robot is positioned at the chamber, waits if necessary, and then swaps the workpieces.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of ‘443 into ‘218’s combined system so that the robot waits briefly after the workpiece arrives at the workholder and before releasing it, thereby making the transfer more stable and reliable.
As per claim 19, the rejection rationale applied above to claim 2 is incorporated herein.
Claims 3 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hare et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0356218 A1 (‘218), in view of Bradski et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0221187 A1 (‘187), as applied to claims 1 and 18, respectively, from above, in further view of YOUNGWERTH et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0319749 A1 (‘749).
As per claim 3, ‘218’s combined system does not specifically disclose that the corresponding ruleset comprises a parameter specifying that the workholder grasps the workpiece prior to release of said workpiece by the end effector, pursuant to which the control system customizes the operation of the robot and the workholder to cause the workholder to grasp the workpiece prior to release of said workpiece by the end effector, so that the workpiece is held by the workholder before being released by the end effector.
‘749 discloses these missing features by disclosing, in [0078] – [0079], that the workholder grasps the workpiece and then the end effector releases it.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of ‘749 into ‘218’s combined system for the purpose of coordinating workholder grasp with end effector release so that the workpiece remains securely held during transfer, thereby improving the reliability of workpiece transfers.
As per claim 20, the rejection rationale applied above to claim 3 is incorporated herein.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hare et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0356218 A1 (‘218), in view of Bradski et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0221187 A1 (‘187), as applied to claim 1, from above, in further view of Birang et al., U.S. Patent No. 5,459,632 A (‘632).
As per claim 5, ‘218’s combined system does not specifically disclose that the corresponding ruleset comprises a parameter specifying a wait time between (i) the workholder releasing a workpiece and (ii) an act of grasping said workpiece, by the end effector, pursuant to which the control system operates the robot to pause for at least the wait time prior to retrieving said workpiece form the workholder.
‘632 discloses these missing features by disclosing, in C13 L16-25, that after the workholder releases the workpiece, the control system waits and only later causes retrieval of the workpiece.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of ‘632 into ‘218’s combined system for the purpose of allowing time after workholder release before retrieval of the workpiece by the end effector, thereby improving the reliability of workpiece pickup.
As per claim 14, ‘218’s combined system does not specifically disclose that the corresponding ruleset comprises a parameter quantitatively specifying an opening delay between (a) completion of an inspection operation by a workpiece inspection instrument, and (b) opening the workpiece interface to release the workpiece, pursuant to which the control system customizes the operation of the workholder to open the workpiece interface after passing of said opening delay.
‘632 discloses these missing features by disclosing, in C13 L16-25, that after processing is completed, the control system waits and only later causes release of the workpiece.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of ‘632 into ‘218’s combined system so that the control system waits briefly after completion of the inspection operation and before opening the workholder to release the workpiece, thereby improving the reliability of workpiece release.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hare et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0356218 A1 (‘218), in view of Bradski et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0221187 A1 (‘187), as applied to claim 1, from above, in further view of Zhu et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0308866 A1 (‘866).
As per claim 7, ‘218’s combined system does not specifically disclose that prior to being delivered by the robot to the workholder, the workpiece is in a storage location (e.g., See ‘218; [0159], which discloses that, prior to being delivered by the robot to the workholder, the workpiece is in a storage location), and wherein the corresponding ruleset comprises a parameter specifying a safe position for the end effector above a workpiece prior to grasping the workpiece for delivery to the workholder (e.g., See ‘866; [0016] and [0023], which disclose that the robot uses an approach position and plans its motion to pick up the workpiece while avoiding collisions with the storage bin), pursuant to which the control system customizes the operation of the robot to move the end effector to the safe position prior to grasping the workpiece (e.g., See ‘866; [0023] and [0050], which disclose that the control system plans the robot motion and provides robot motion commands causing the robot to move the end effector to the safe position before grasping the workpiece).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of ‘866 into ‘218’s combined system for the purpose of moving the end effector to a safe position above the workpiece before grasping it, thereby avoiding bin collisions during pickup.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Hare et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0356218 A1 (‘218), in view of Bradski et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0221187 A1 (‘187), as applied to claim 1, from above, in further view of St. Onge, U.S. Patent No. 6,357,994 B1 (‘994).
As per claim 10, ‘218’s combined system does not specifically disclose that the end effector comprises a gripper having a minimum gripper gap, and wherein the ruleset comprises a parameter instructing the robot to close the gripper to its minimum griper gap, pursuant to which the control system customizes the operation of the robot to close the gripper to its minimum griper gap when grasping a workpiece.
‘994 discloses these missing features by disclosing, in C9 L60 – C10 L65, that the central gripping device has movable fingers that retract inwardly to grip the workpiece.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of ‘994 into ‘218’s combined system for the purpose of closing the gripper to its minimum gripper gap when needed for secure workpiece grasping, thereby improving the reliability of workpiece handling.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 11, 12, 13 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 4, the prior art does not teach or adequately suggest the claimed release first sequence, where the end effector releases the workpiece before the workholder grasps it, in combination with the other claimed features and or limitations as claimed.
With respect to claim 6, the prior art does not teach or adequately suggest a specific workholder closing force for holding the workpiece, in combination with the other claimed features and or limitations as claimed.
With respect to claim 11, the prior art does not teach or adequately suggest a specific workholder opening gap before the workpiece is grasped, in combination with the other claimed features and or limitations as claimed.
With respect to claim 12, the prior art does not teach or adequately suggest a specific workholder closing speed for gripping the workpiece, in combination with the other claimed features and or limitations as claimed.
With respect to claims 13 and 17, the prior art does not teach or adequately suggest a specific delay before the workholder closes to grip the workpiece, in combination with the other claimed features and or limitations as claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/RONALD D HARTMAN JR/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119 September 30, 2026
/RDH/