Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites a “third encapsulation layer” but does not recite a “second encapsulation layer”. This is introduced in child claim 3. For claim 2, to be definite, there needs to be a first, second, and third encapsulation layer.
Claim 5 includes “a second isolation portion located in the transition region, the second isolation portion spaces apart from the hole region”; 'spaces' should be replaced with 'spaced'.
Claim 8 recites a “third hollow portion”, but neither claim has recited a “second hollow portion”. For the claim to be definite, there needs to be a first, second, and third hollow portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)&(a)(2) as being anticipated by
Wang et al. US 20240324421 A1 (hereinafter Wang)
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses:
A display panel, comprising a display region, a hole region, and a transition region located between the display region and the hole region, (Wang; Fig. 1; 101, 200, 4.) and further comprising: a substrate; (Wang; Fig. 2; [0084] 1. display substrate;) a pixel defining layer located on a side of the substrate, (Wang; Fig. 6; [0084] 122. pixel defining layer) the pixel defining layer comprising at least one pixel defining portion and a pixel opening (Wang; Fig. 6; [0084, 0112] 1221. Opening) enclosed by the pixel defining portion; a light-emitting layer (Wang; Fig. 6; [0084, 0111] 120. light-emitting layer) comprising at least one light-emitting unit located within the pixel opening; (Wang; Fig. 6; [0084, 0111] light-emitting devices below opening 1221) and an inorganic encapsulation layer located on a side of the light-emitting unit facing away from the substrate and comprising a first hole (Wang; Fig.7 [0095] 1002. First hole segment) configured to avoid cutting damage (Wang; Fig. 6; [0084] the encapsulation layer 130 may include a first inorganic layer) and the hole region being within the first hole. (Wang; Fig. 1; 101, 200, 4.)
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the limitation of claim 1 as discussed above.
Wang discloses:
wherein the inorganic encapsulation layer comprises a first encapsulation layer(Wang; Fig. 6; [0123] the encapsulation layer 130 may include a first inorganic layer) and a third encapsulation layer, the third encapsulation layer is located on a side of the first encapsulation layer facing away from the substrate, (Wang; Fig. 6; [0123] second inorganic layer) and the first hole is disposed on the first encapsulation layer or the third encapsulation layer. (Wang; Fig. 7; [0095] 1002. First hole segment)
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches the limitation of claim 2 as discussed above.
Wang discloses:
wherein the display panel further comprises: a second encapsulation layer located between the first encapsulation layer and the third encapsulation layer, the second encapsulation layer comprising an organic material. (Wang; Fig. 6; [0123] the encapsulation layer 130 may include a first inorganic layer, an organic layer and a second inorganic layer.)
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches the limitation of claim 1 as discussed above.
Wang discloses:
further comprising a first insulating layer located on the substrate, wherein the first insulating layer is provided with a first hollow portion located in the transition (Wang; Fig. 1; [0087] 4. Light-shielding body) region and spaced apart (Wang; Fig. 2; [0087] 42. Second Light-shielding portion) from the display region, (Wang; Fig. 7;1002. second hole segment) and wherein the first hollow portion extends from the transition region to an interface between the hole region and the transition region; (Wang; Fig. 7;1002. second hole segment; 1001. first hole segment as the hollow portion extends from the transition region 4 to an interface between the hole 1002 and the transition region 4.) the first hollow portion extends through the first insulating layer along a thickness direction of the display panel; (Wang; Fig. 7;1002. Second hole segment; Fig. 6; 7. second adhesive layer;) and the first hollow portion is in an annular shape and surrounds the hole region. (Wang; Fig. 7;1002. second hole segment; Fig. 8; 42. first light-shielding portion;)
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches the limitation of claim 6 as discussed above.
Wang discloses:
wherein the first hole is located in the transition region, and an orthogonal projection of the first hollow portion on the substrate is at least partially overlapped with an orthogonal projection of the first hole on the substrate; (Wang; Fig. 7;1002. second hole segment; 1001. first hole segment;) or the orthogonal projection of the first hollow portion (Wang; Fig. 7; 1002. Second hole segment) on the substrate is within the orthogonal projection of the first hole on the substrate. (Wang; Fig. 7; 1001. first hole segment;)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims [ 4, 5, 8-21 ] are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and further in view of Jiang US 20210028388 A1 (hereinafter Jiang)
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches the limitation of claim 2 as discussed above.
Wang discloses:
the inorganic encapsulation layer; the transition region; the hole region; the first encapsulation layer, (Wang; Fig. 6; 130, 42) and the first hole is disposed on the third encapsulation layer and the first hole extends through the third encapsulation layer along the thickness direction of the display panel. (Wang; Fig. 6; the encapsulation layer 130; Fig. 7; 200. light-transmitting hole;)
Wang does not disclose:
a blocking trench; the blocking trench is in an annular shape and surrounds the hole region; the blocking trench extends through the first encapsulation layer along a thickness direction of the display panel;
Jiang discloses:
a blocking trench located in the transition region; the blocking trench is in an annular shape and surrounds the hole region; the blocking trench extends through the first encapsulation layer along a thickness direction of the display panel; (Jiang; Fig. 4; a dam 80, a barrier unit 85;)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Jiang’s barrier unit to Wang’s design to improve sealing, moisture/oxygen barrier performance, and long-term reliability of the device.
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches the limitation of claim 4 as discussed above.
Wang discloses:
the display panel further comprises at least one isolation structure located on the substrate, the isolation structure comprising a first isolation portion located in the display region (Wang; Fig. 6; 7. second adhesive layer;)
Wang does not disclose:
a second isolation portion located in the transition region, the second isolation portion spaces apart from the hole region, and the blocking trench is located on a side of the second isolation portion facing away from the substrate
Jiang discloses:
a second isolation portion located in the transition region, the second isolation portion spaces apart from the hole region, and the blocking trench is located on a side of the second isolation portion facing away from the substrate. ;(Jiang; Fig. 4; a dam 80, a barrier unit 85;)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Jiang’s design to Wang’s design to improve sealing, moisture/oxygen barrier performance, and long-term reliability of the device.
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches the limitation of claim 6 as discussed above.
Wang does not disclose:
wherein a plurality of third hollow portions located in the transition region are disposed on the first insulation layer, and the plurality of third hollow portions are disposed around the first hollow portion and spaced apart from the first hollow portion; the plurality of third hollow portions are spaced apart from each other; and each of the plurality of third hollow portions is in an annular shape and surrounds the hole region.
Jiang discloses:
wherein a plurality of third hollow portions located in the transition region are disposed on the first insulation layer, and the plurality of third hollow portions are disposed around the first hollow portion and spaced apart from the first hollow portion; the plurality of third hollow portions are spaced apart from each other; and each of the plurality of third hollow portions is in an annular shape and surrounds the hole region. (Jiang; Fig. 2; Same structure.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Jiang’s design to Wang’s design to stopping cracks forming on OLED substrates.
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses:
A display panel, comprising a display region, a hole region, and a transition region located between the display region and the hole region, (Wang; Fig. 1; 101, 200, 4.) and further comprising: a substrate; (Wang; Fig. 2; [0084] 1. display substrate;) a pixel defining layer located on a side of the substrate, (Wang; Fig. 6; [0084] 122. pixel defining layer) the pixel defining layer comprising at least one pixel defining portion and a pixel opening (Wang; Fig. 6; [0084] 1221. Opening) enclosed by the pixel defining portion; a light-emitting layer (Wang; Fig. 6; [0084] 120. light-emitting layer) comprising at least one light-emitting unit located within the pixel opening; (Wang; Fig. 6; [0084] 1221. Opening) and an inorganic encapsulation layer located on a side of the light-emitting unit facing away from the substrate, (Wang; Fig. 6; [0123] the encapsulation layer 130; [0084] 120. light-emitting layer)
Wang does not disclose:
comprising a blocking trench located in the transition region. (Zhu (applicant); Fig. 14; 840)
Jiang discloses:
comprising a blocking trench located in the transition region. (Jiang; Fig. 4; a dam 80, a barrier unit 85;)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Jiang’s barrier unit to Wang’s design to improve sealing, moisture/oxygen barrier performance, and long-term reliability of the device.
Regarding claim 10, Wang in review of Jiang teaches the limitation of claim 9 as discussed above.
Wang discloses:
wherein the inorganic encapsulation layer comprises a first encapsulation layer and a third encapsulation layer, the third encapsulation layer is located on a side of the first encapsulation layer facing away from the substrate, the inorganic encapsulation layer comprises a first hole configured to avoid cutting damage and located in the hole region, and the hole region is within the first hole; (Wang; Fig. 6; [0123] the encapsulation layer 130 may include a first inorganic layer, an organic layer and a second inorganic layer. Notice that the second inorganic layer is the third encapsulation layer.)
Wang does not disclose:
The blocking trench is disposed on the first encapsulation layer or the third encapsulation layer; the blocking trench is in an annular shape and surrounds the hole region; the blocking trench is disposed on the first encapsulation layer, and the first hole is disposed on the third encapsulation layer; and the blocking trench extends through the first encapsulation layer.
Jiang discloses:
The blocking trench is disposed on the first encapsulation layer or the third encapsulation layer; the blocking trench is in an annular shape and surrounds the hole region; the blocking trench is disposed on the first encapsulation layer, and the first hole is disposed on the third encapsulation layer; and the blocking trench extends through the first encapsulation layer. (Jiang; Fig. 4; a dam 80, a barrier unit 85;)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Jiang’s barrier unit to Wang’s design to improve sealing, moisture/oxygen barrier performance, and long-term reliability of the device.
Regarding claim 11, Wang in review of Jiang teaches the limitation of claim 9 as discussed above.
Wang discloses:
the display panel further comprises at least one isolation structure located on the substrate, the isolation structure comprising a second isolation portion located in the transition region, the second isolation portion being spaced apart from the hole region, (Wang; Fig. 7;1002. Second hole segment; Fig. 6; 7. second adhesive layer;)
Wang does not disclose:
The blocking trench being located on a side of the second isolation portion facing away from the substrate.
Jiang discloses:
The blocking trench being located on a side of the second isolation portion facing away from the substrate. (Jiang; Fig. 4; a dam 80, a barrier unit 85;)
Regarding claim 12, Wang in review of Jiang teaches the limitation of claim 10 as discussed above.
Wang does not disclose:
a first insulating layer located on the substrate, the first insulating layer being provided with a first hollow portion, the first hollow portion being located in the transition region and spaced apart from the display region, and the first hollow portion extending from the transition region to an interface between the hole region and the transition region; wherein the first hollow portion extends through the first insulating layer along a thickness direction of the display panel; and the first hollow portion is in an annular shape and surrounds the hole region.
Jiang discloses:
a first insulating layer located on the substrate, the first insulating layer being provided with a first hollow portion, the first hollow portion being located in the transition region and spaced apart from the display region, and the first hollow portion extending from the transition region to an interface between the hole region and the transition region; wherein the first hollow portion extends through the first insulating layer along a thickness direction of the display panel; and the first hollow portion is in an annular shape and surrounds the hole region.
(Jiang; Fig1; Fig. 2; Same structure.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Jiang’s design unit to Wang’s design to stopping cracks forming on OLED substrates.
Regarding claim 13, Wang in review of Jiang teaches the limitation of claim 12 as discussed above.
Wang discloses:
first hole is located in the transition region, and an orthogonal projection of the first hollow portion on the substrate is at least partially overlapped with an orthogonal projection of the first hole on the substrate; or the orthogonal projection of the first hollow portion on the substrate is within the orthogonal projection of the first hole on the substrate. (Wang; Fig.1; Fig.7)
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses:
A display panel, comprising a display region, a hole region, and a transition region located between the display region and the hole region, (Wang; Fig. 1; 101, 200, 4.) and further comprising: a substrate; (Wang; Fig. 2; [0084] 1. display substrate;) a first insulating layer located on the substrate, (Wang; Fig. 6; 7. second adhesive layer;) the first insulating layer being provided with a first hollow portion, (Wang; Fig. 7; 1002. Second hole segment) the first hollow portion being located in the transition region and spaced apart from the display region, and the first hollow portion extending from the transition region to an interface between the hole region and the transition region; (Wang; Fig. 7; 1002. Second hole segment) a pixel defining layer (Wang; Fig. 6; [0084] 122. pixel defining layer) located on a side of the first insulating layer facing away from the substrate and comprising a pixel defining portion and a pixel opening (Wang; Fig. 6; [0084] 1221. Opening) enclosed by the pixel defining portion; and a light-emitting layer comprising at least one light-emitting unit (Wang; Fig. 6; [0084] 120. light-emitting layer) located within the pixel opening.
Regarding claim 15, Wang in review of Jiang teaches the limitation of claim 14 as discussed above.
Wang discloses:
a first encapsulation layer located on a side of the light-emitting unit facing away from the substrate, the first encapsulation layer comprising a first section located in the display region; a second encapsulation layer located on a side of the first encapsulation layer facing away from the substrate; and a third encapsulation layer located on a side of the second encapsulation layer facing away from the substrate, (Wang; Fig. 6; [0123] the encapsulation layer 130 may include a first inorganic layer, an organic layer and a second inorganic layer. Notice that the second inorganic layer is the third encapsulation layer.)
Wang does not disclose:
at least one of the first encapsulation layer and the third encapsulation layer is provided with a blocking trench or a first hole for avoiding cutting damage; and the second encapsulation layer is located in the display region.
Jiang discloses:
at least one of the first encapsulation layer and the third encapsulation layer is provided with a blocking trench or a first hole for avoiding cutting damage; and the second encapsulation layer is located in the display region. (Jiang; Fig. 4; a dam 80, a barrier unit 85;)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Jiang’s barrier unit to Wang’s design to improve sealing, moisture/oxygen barrier performance, and long-term reliability of the device.
Regarding claim 16, Wang in review of Jiang teaches the limitation of claim 15 as discussed above.
Wang discloses:
an isolation structure located on a side of the substrate, the isolation structure comprising a second isolation portion located in the transition region, the second isolation portion being spaced apart from the hole region, (Wang; Fig. 6; 7. second adhesive layer;)
wherein the first encapsulation layer further comprises a second section located in the transition region, the second section is at least partially located within the first hollow portion, the second section is divided by the second isolation portion to form a plurality of sub sections, (Wang; Fig. 6; [0123] the encapsulation layer 130 may include a first inorganic layer, an organic layer and a second inorganic layer. Notice that the second inorganic layer is the third encapsulation layer.)
Wang does not disclose:
A blocking trench is formed between adjacent sub sections of the plurality of sub sections on the isolation structure; and each sub section of the plurality of sub sections comprises a first thinning portion located on at least one side of the second isolation portion.
Jiang discloses:
A blocking trench is formed between adjacent sub sections of the plurality of sub sections on the isolation structure; (Jiang; Fig. 4; a dam 80, a barrier unit 85;) and each sub section of the plurality of sub sections comprises a first thinning portion located on at least one side of the second isolation portion. (Jiang; Fig. 4)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Jiang’s design unit to Wang’s design to improve sealing, moisture/oxygen barrier performance, and long-term reliability of the device.
Regarding claim 17, Wang in review of Jiang teaches the limitation of claim 16 as discussed above.
Wang discloses:
wherein the pixel defining layer comprises a second pixel defining portion located within the first hollow portion, (Wang; Fig. 6; [0084] 122. pixel defining layer)
Wang dose not discloses:
The second isolation portion is located on a side of the second pixel defining portion facing away from the substrate.
Jiang discloses:
The second isolation portion is located on a side of the second pixel defining portion facing away from the substrate. (Jiang; Fig. 4)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Jiang’s design to Wang’s design to improve sealing, moisture/oxygen barrier performance, and long-term reliability of the device.
Regarding claim 18, Wang in review of Jiang teaches the limitation of claim 17 as discussed above and further in review of Liu US 20240032353 A1 (hereinafter Liu)
Wang discloses:
the isolation structure comprises a first isolation portion (Wang; Fig. 6; 7. second adhesive layer;) located in the display region the pixel defining layer comprises a first pixel defining portion located in the display region, (Wang; Fig. 6; [0084] 122. pixel defining layer) the pixel opening comprises a first pixel opening enclosed by the first pixel defining portion, (Wang; Fig. 6; [0084] 1221. Opening) the display panel further comprises a first electrode layer (Wang; Fig. 6; 121) located on a side of the light-emitting layer (Wang; Fig. 6; [0084] 120. light-emitting layer) facing away from the substrate, and the light-emitting unit comprises a second light-emitting unit located on a side of the second isolation portion facing the hole region. (Wang; Fig. 6; [0084] 120. light-emitting layer)
Wang does not disclose:
A first isolation opening enclosed by the first isolation portion; the light-emitting unit comprises a first light-emitting unit located in the first isolation opening; the first electrode layer comprises a first electrode located in the first isolation opening;
Liu discloses:
A first isolation opening enclosed by the first isolation portion; the light-emitting unit comprises a first light-emitting unit located in the first isolation opening; the first electrode layer comprises a first electrode located in the first isolation opening; ([0026] 1283 Isolation opening.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Liu’s design to Wang’s design to avoid display errors.
Regarding claim 19, Wang in review of Jiang and Liu teaches the limitation of claim 17 as discussed above
Wang discloses:
The pixel defining portion further comprises an extension portion connected to the first pixel defining portion, (Wang; Fig. 6; [0084] 122. pixel defining layer) the extension portion is at least partially located on a surface of the barrier wall facing away from the substrate; (Wang; Fig. 2; [0084] 1. display substrate;) the extension portion extends to the transition region; and the extension portion is spaced apart from the first pixel defining portion. (Wang; Fig. 6; [0084] 122. pixel defining layer)
Wang does not disclose:
The display panel further comprises two or more barrier walls located on a side of the first insulating layer facing away from the substrate, each of the two or more barrier walls is disposed between the first pixel defining portion and the first hollow portion and is annular around the transition region.
Jiang discloses:
The display panel further comprises two or more barrier walls located on a side of the first insulating layer facing away from the substrate, each of the two or more barrier walls is disposed between the first pixel defining portion and the first hollow portion and is annular around the transition region. (Jiang; Fig. 4; a dam 80, a barrier unit 85;)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Jiang’s design to Wang’s design to stopping cracks forming on OLED substrates.
Regarding claim 20, Wang in review of Jiang teaches the limitation of claim 15 as discussed above.
Wang discloses:
the third encapsulation layer comprises a first hole configured to avoid cutting damage and located in the hole region, and wherein the first hollow portion extends through the first insulating layer along a thickness direction of the display panel, (Wang; Fig. 6; [0123] the encapsulation layer 130 may include a first inorganic layer, an organic layer and a second inorganic layer. Notice that the second inorganic layer is the third encapsulation layer.)
and an orthogonal projection of the first hollow portion on the substrate is at least partially overlapped with an orthogonal projection of the first hole on the substrate; or the orthogonal projection of the first hollow portion on the substrate is within the orthogonal projection of the first hole on the substrate. (Wang; Fig. 7; 1001, 1002, 1003)
Regarding claim 21, Wang teaches the limitation of claim 14 as discussed above.
Wang discloses:
wherein the first hollow portion comprises an upper surface and a lower surface arranged opposite to each other along a thickness direction of the display panel, the upper surface is located on a side of the lower surface facing away from the substrate, (Wang; Fig. 7; 1001, 1002, 1003) the first hollow portion is provided with a first opening located on the upper surface and a second opening located on the lower surface, and an orthographic projection of the second opening on the substrate is within an orthographic projection of the first opening on the substrate; (Wang; Fig. 7; 1001, 1002, 1003)
Liu does not disclose:
The first insulating layer is provided with one or more third hollow portions located in the transition region, each of the one or more third hollow portions is disposed around the first hollow portion and spaced apart from the first hollow portion .
Jiang discloses:
The first insulating layer is provided with one or more third hollow portions located in the transition region, each of the one or more third hollow portions is disposed around the first hollow portion and spaced apart from the first hollow portion (Jiang; Fig. 2; )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add Jiang’s design to Wang’s design to stopping cracks forming on OLED substrates.
Conclusion
/WEI LI/Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/Brent A. Fairbanks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899