DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18793684 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of following:
- With respect to claims 1, 8, 15, the copending discloses a first station (STA) in a wireless network, comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory (see claim 1, lines 1-4 of copending), the processor configured to cause: establishing a peer-to-peer (P2P) link with a second STA (see claim 1, lines 5-6 of copending); transmitting, to an access point (AP), a first frame that requests the AP to assist in protecting a P2P communication between the first STA and the second STA (see claim 1, lines 7-10 of copending); receiving, from the AP, a second frame that indicates assistance that the AP is able to provide in response to the first frame (see claim 1, lines 14-16 of copending); and communicating with the second STA based on the assistance provided from the AP (see claim 1, lines 18-19 of copending).
- Regarding to claims, the Application merely broaden the scope of the copending by eliminate “wherein a first basic service set (BSS) corresponding to the first AP and a second BSS corresponding to the second AP partially overlap”. It have been held that the omission of the element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex Parte Raine, 168 USPQ 375 (bd. App. 1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not need would be obvious to one skill in the art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 12, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
- Regarding to claim 5, the term “the first STA is not associated with the AP and the second STA is associated with the AP” is conflicted to the claim 1, since claim 1 discloses the first STA communicate with the AP, therefore the first STA cannot be associated with the AP as claim 5. Same rejection for claims 12, 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8, 10-11, 15, 17-18is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1) as being anticipated by Sharma (Pub .No. 20150245394).
- With respect to claims 1, 8, 15, Sharma teaches a first station (STA) in a wireless network, comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory (e.g. Fig. 3), the processor configured to cause: establishing a peer-to-peer (P2P) link with a second STA (e.g. step s400-s401 in Fig. 4); transmitting, to an access point (AP), a first frame that requests the AP to assist in protecting a P2P communication between the first STA and the second STA (e.g. step S405 in Fig. 4); receiving, from the AP, a second frame that indicates assistance that the AP is able to provide in response to the first frame (e.g. step s411 in Fig. 4); and communicating with the second STA based on the assistance provided from the AP (e.g. s415 in Fig. 4).
- With respect to claims 3, 10, 17, Sharma teaches wherein the assistance is associated with channel access opportunity by the first STA or the second STA (see par. 23).
- With respect to claims 4, 11, 18, Sharma teaches wherein the first STA is associated with the AP and the second STA is not associated with the AP (e.g. Fig. 1 shows MT 3-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6-7, 9, 13-14, 16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma (Pub .No. 20150245394) in view of Hu (Pub. No. 20230239797).
- With respect to claims 2, 9, 16, Sharma fails to discloses the assistance is associated with reduction of interference to the P2P link from a basic service set (BSS) corresponding to the AP. Hu discloses the BSS corresponding to AP (see par. 75), therefore it would have been obvious to implement the BSS into the Sharma’s invention for control communication in WLAN.
- With respect to claims 6, 13, 20, Hu teaches wherein the first STA is an owner of a P2P group that includes the first STA and the second STA (see par. 74).
- With respect to claims 7, 14, Hu teaches wherein at least one of the first STA or the second STA is within the BSS (see par. 75).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/PHUC H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471