DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6 (species I) in the reply filed on 6/22/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Staude et al (DE 10 2014 117821).
Regarding claim 1, Staude discloses a steering wheel device with hands-off detection (HOD), comprising:
a steering wheel (10) having a manipulation ring defining a central axis, wherein the manipulation ring includes a left holding segment and a right holding segment; and
a holding sensing module (11) assembled to the steering wheel and including:
a first sensing electrode (11a) having a plurality of first parts and disposed on the manipulation ring, wherein each of the first parts of the first sensing electrode has a first width, and the first widths of the first parts are different from each other and gradually decrease in a first direction from the left holding segment toward the right holding segment; and
a second sensing electrode (11a’) having a plurality of second parts and disposed on the manipulation ring, wherein each of the second parts of the second sensing electrode has a second width, and the second widths of the second parts are different from each other and gradually increase in the first direction from the left holding segment toward the right holding segment;
wherein the first sensing electrode and the second sensing electrode face toward each other and are spaced apart from each other through an elongated gap therebetween;
wherein, in any two of longitudinal cross sections of the holding sensing module each covering the central axis, the two first widths are different from each other, and the two second widths are different from each other (i.e. each individual sensing module 11 can be broken to “parts” wherein each part has a distinct width).
Regarding claim 2, Staude discloses in any one of the longitudinal cross sections, each of the first sensing electrode and the second sensing electrode has a circular shape having a center of circle that is located in the manipulation ring (see top of page 5, provided translation).
Regarding claim 3, Staude discloses in a transverse cross section of the holding sensing module perpendicular to the central axis, the first sensing electrode has a first central angle relative to the central axis, and the second sensing electrode has a second central angle relative to the central axis, and wherein a difference between the first central angle and the second central angle is less than or equal to 5 degrees.
Regarding claim 5, Staude discloses the first sensing electrode has a slanting edge facing toward the second sensing electrode, and the slanting edge and the transverse cross section have an arrangement angle therebetween that is within a range from 0 degrees to 45degrees.
Regarding claim 6, Staude discloses the first parts of the first sensing electrode are integrally formed as a single one-piece structure having an elongated shape, the second parts of the second sensing electrode are integrally formed as a single one-piece structure having an elongated shape, and a thickness of the first sensing electrode is equal to a thickness of the second sensing electrode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staude et al in view of Liu (US Pub No 2016/0142052).
Regarding claim 4, it is noted that Staude fails to disclose the sensor extending 180 to 360 degrees. Staude discloses the sensor (11) wraps circumferentially around the steering wheel and has 12 sensors, i.e. ~30 degrees. However, Liu discloses a similar sensor structure (104) wherein the sensor is elongate to determine the position in which the sensor is touched. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of Staude in view of Liu to achieve the predictable result of having a single sensing arrangement for detecting the presence and area of the contact rather than a plurality of electrode elements for a simpler control and more efficient use of energy.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Patrick Cicchino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619