DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-5 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1:
The claim states “a light source emitting ultraviolet rays to a fluid flowing through…” This limitation is directed to the method of operation while the claim is directed to a “device”. Process limitation within a device claim render the claim indefinite because it is not clear if the process must be occurring or not for direct infringement to occur (see MPEP 2173.05(P)). It is recommended that the applicant use “capable of”, “configured to”, or similar language to clarify the intent of the claim.
The claim states “wherein an end part is brough into contact with a surface…” It is not clear what “an end part” is referring to”.
Regarding Claims 4 and 5:
The claims state “in a case of viewing in a direction along a central axis…” This limitation renders the claims indefinite because it is not clear what structure it is limiting the claims to.
The remaining claims are indefinite as they depend from an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN 115583690 A, English machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 1:
Chen teaches the fluid sterilization device, comprising: a cylindrical part (water supply cylinder 1) (see pg. 4, last paragraph, figs. 1-3); a light source (ultraviolet lamp tubes 34) (see pg. 5, 1st paragraph), emitting ultraviolet rays to a fluid flowing through an inside of the cylindrical part via a window (lens 35) (see pg. 5, 1st paragraph, fig. 3); a water turbine (impeller) (see pg. 5, 1st paragraph), provided inside the cylindrical part; and a removal part (cleaning assembly 7), provided at the water turbine, wherein an end part (scraping strip 72) is brought into contact with a surface of the window on a side opposite to a side of the light source (see pg. 5, 1st paragraph, fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 2:
Chen teaches the fluid sterilization device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: a biasing part (roller frame 71), provided between the water turbine and the removal part and pressing the removal part against the surface of the window by using elastic force (see pg. 5, 1st paragraph, fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 115583690 A, English machine translation provided) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Torii (JP 2017104830 A, English machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 3:
Chen teaches the fluid sterilization device as claimed in claim 1.
Chen does not teach wherein the removal part is a brush, and bristles of the brush contact the surface of the window.
Torii teaches a fluid sterilization device wherein a removal part is a brush (brush 34) (see pg. 2, 5th paragraph) and the bristles of the brush contact the surface of a window (window portion 28) (see pg. 2, 2nd paragraph).
Chen and Torii are analogous inventions in the art of fluid sterilization devices. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the removal part (scraping strip) of Chen with a brush, as disclosed by Torii, because it is the simple substitution of one known removal part with another known removal part, obviously resulting in the removal of debris from the window, with an expectation of success. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach the fluid sterilization device of claims 1 or 2 comprising a “base…having a plurality of holes penetrating through in a thickness direction, wherein…blades of the water turbine pass through positions overlapped with the hole.”.
Conclusion
/CLAIRE A NORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779 7/27/2026