DETAILED ACTION
The application of Pertti Puukangas for Indicating a process position for radio frequency tag filed 8/02/24 has been examined. Claims 1-21 are pending.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it include the phrase “the present invention”. This is implied and should be avoided. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17-18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17, the phrase “optionally based” rendered the claim indefinite for failing to particularly point the applicant’s invention. The examiner is unable to determine if the limitation following the word “optionally” should be considered as part of the applicant’s invention.
Regarding claim 18, , the word “optionally” rendered the claim indefinite for failing to particularly point the applicant’s invention. The examiner is unable to determine if the limitation following the word “optionally” should be considered as part of the applicant’s invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,5,7-11,13-14,16-19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. US Patent Application Publication 20080100329 in view of Grillberger Europeans Patent Publication EP 3047458
Regarding claims 1-3, Nguyen et al. teaches a coupling element configured to indicate a process position of at least one radio frequency identification, RFID, tag, the coupling element comprising:
a housing (306) comprising an inside (fig. 3, paragraph 038);
a shield plate forming a top surface of the housing and comprising at least one sensing aperture (Body 302 comprises a cavity 306 for receiving tags, the body has opposite surfaces made of suitable material such as metal, metal provide the shield, paragraph 039); the coupling element configured to generate an electromagnetic field arranged to couple with the at least one RFID tag (antenna 308 provide the electromagnetic field for coupling with the RFID tag, paragraph 042), and
wherein the coupling element is configured to process the at least one RFID tag within the sensing aperture such that the at least one RFID tag is coupled to the coupling element via the electromagnetic field (paragraph 042-043). Nguyen teaches a light module for providing the status of the RFID test and the light is operated based on the timing of the controlled process of testing the RFID tag (the light indicating when the processing of the RFID is complete represent the timing of the processing of the RFID tag, paragraph 047) but is silent on teaching the light is arranged inside of the housing and configured to illuminate the inside of the housing. Grillberger in an analogous art teaches illuminating a housing in order to provide an indication of the status of a RFID tag (Page 2, paragraph 09, EP 3047458) and teaches the light comprises LED (page 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Nguyen as disclosed by Grillberger because such modification represents an rearrangement of the lighting module from the test module to the housing and producing the predictable result of providing an indication of the status of the RFID tag.
Regarding claim 5, Nguyen teaches the light is controlled based on the end signal of the process of the RFID tag by turning on the light to indicate whether the RFID tag pass or fail the testing (paragraph 047).
Regarding claim 7, Nguyen teaches the coupling element is configured to process RFID tag successively fed on the sensing aperture, and wherein the illuminated RFID tags are indicated and/or detectable (conveyor system is used to move the RFID tag, paragraph 051).
Regarding claim 8, Nguyen teaches the coupling element is configured to process successive RFID tags and to illuminate the successive RFID tag in order to indicate whether positions of the successive RFID tags are stable or non-stable in relation to the sensing aperture (RFID tag is held in position by vacuum system ,paragraph 052-053).
Regarding claim 9, Nguyen teaches the coupling element is configured to adjust a speed of movement of an at least one RFID tag to be processed in relation to the sensing aperture, based on an indicated position of the at least one processed RFID tag in relation to the sensing aperture (the motor is operated by control signal to move the RFID tag, paragraph 051).
Regarding claim 10, Nguyen teaches the coupling element is configured to adjust a start time of the process, or a start position of at least one RFID tag to be processed, based on an indicated position of the at least one processed RFID tag in relation to the sensing aperture (the process is started when a web of tag is received at the tag assembly line, fig. 17, paragraph 050).
Regarding claim 11, Nguyen teaches turn on for a predefined time period, responsive to at least responsive to the coupling element receiving an end signal of the process (the light is controlled based on the end signal of the process of the RFID tag by turning on the light to indicate whether the RFID tag pass or fail the testing, paragraph 047).
Regarding claim 13, Nguyen teaches the coupling element is configured to be controlled by a controller (test m0dule 402 control coupling element, paragraph 044).
Regarding claim 14, Nguyen teaches an apparatus for indicating a process position for at least one radio frequency identification, RFID, tag comprising the coupling element (fig. 6, paragraph 048).
the coupling element comprising:
a housing (306) comprising an inside (fig. 3, paragraph 038);
a shield plate forming a top surface of the housing and comprising at least one sensing aperture (metal provide the shield, paragraph 039); the coupling element configured to generate an electromagnetic field arranged to couple with the at least one RFID tag (antenna 308 provide the electromagnetic field for coupling with the RFID tag, paragraph 042), and
wherein the coupling element is configured to process the at least one RFID tag within the sensing aperture such that the at least one RFID tag is coupled to the coupling element via the electromagnetic field (paragraph 042-043). Nguyen teaches a light module for providing the status of the RFID test and the light is operated based on the timing of the controlled process of testing the RFID tag (the light indicating when the processing of the RFID is complete represent the timing of the processing of the RFID tag, paragraph 047) but is silent on teaching the light is arranged inside of the housing and configured to illuminate the inside of the housing. Grillberger in an analogous art teaches illuminating a housing in order to provide an indication of the status of a RFID tag (Page 2, paragraph 09, EP 3047458) and teaches the light comprises LED (page 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Nguyen as disclosed by Grillberger because such modification represents an rearrangement of the lighting module from the test module to the housing and producing the predictable result of providing an indication of the status of the RFID tag.
Regarding claim 16, Nguyen teaches controller integrated to the coupling element, or a controller connected to the coupling element (test m0dule 402 control coupling element, paragraph 044).
Regarding claim 17, Nguyen teaches the controller is configured to indicate and/or detect a position of the at least one or successive RFID tags in relation to the sensing aperture (paragraph 038-040).
Regarding claim 18, Nguyen teaches turn on for a predefined time period, responsive to at least responsive to the coupling element receiving an end signal of the process (the light is controlled based on the end signal of the process of the RFID tag by turning on the light to indicate whether the RFID tag pass or fail the testing, paragraph 047).
Regarding claim 19, Nguyen teaches the coupling element is configured to adjust a speed of movement of an at least one RFID tag to be processed in relation to the sensing aperture, based on an indicated position of the at least one processed RFID tag in relation to the sensing aperture (the motor is operated by control signal to move the RFID tag, paragraph 051).
Regarding claim 20, Nguyen teaches a method for indicating a process position for at least one radio frequency identification, RFID, tag (paragraph 043, 073), the method comprising:
processing at least one RFID tag within a sensing aperture, which is situated on a top surface (RFID tag 100 is on top of apertures 306, fig, 6, paragraph 038-039) of a coupling element (antenna 308 provide the electromagnetic field for coupling with the RFID tag, paragraph 042), such that the at least one RFID tag is coupled to the coupling element via an electromagnetic field (paragraph 042). Nguyen teaches a light module for providing the status of the RFID test and the light is operated based on the timing of the controlled process of testing the RFID tag (the light indicating when the processing of the RFID is complete represent the timing of the processing of the RFID tag, paragraph 047) but is silent on teaching the light is arranged inside of the housing and configured to illuminate the inside of the housing. Grillberger in an analogous art teaches illuminating a housing in order to provide an indication of the status of a RFID tag (Page 2, paragraph 09, EP 3047458) and teaches the light comprises LED (page 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Nguyen as disclosed by Grillberger because such modification represents an rearrangement of the lighting module from the test module to the housing and producing the predictable result of providing an indication of the status of the RFID tag.
Regarding claim 21, Nguyen teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium configured to cause the apparatus to perform a method for indicating a process position for at least one radio frequency identification. RFID tag (paragraph 043, 073), the method comprising:
processing at least one REID tag within a sensing aperture, which is situated on a top surface of a coupling element, such that the at least one RFID tag is coupled to the coupling element via an electromagnetic field (fig.3, paragraph 038-039). Nguyen teaches a light module for providing the status of the RFID test and the light is operated based on the timing of the controlled process of testing the RFID tag (the light indicating when the processing of the RFID is complete represent the timing of the processing of the RFID tag, paragraph 047) but is silent on teaching the light is arranged inside of the housing and configured to illuminate the inside of the housing. Grillberger in an analogous art teaches illuminating a housing in order to provide an indication of the status of a RFID tag (Page 2, paragraph 09, EP 3047458) and teaches the light comprises LED (page 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Nguyen as disclosed by Grillberger because such modification represents an rearrangement of the lighting module from the test module to the housing and producing the predictable result of providing an indication of the status of the RFID tag.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. US Patent Application Publication 20080100329 in view of Grillberger Europeans Patent Publication EP 3047458 and further in view of Ford US Patent Application Publication 20180216808.
Regarding claim 4, Nguyen in view of Grillberger teaches illuminating a housing in order to provide an indication of the status of a RFID tag (Page 2, paragraph 09, EP 3047458) but is silent on teaching light emitted from the at least one light is configured to reflect from the interior of the housing. Ford in an analogous art teaches light emitted from the at least one light is configured to reflect from the interior of the housing (paragraph 016).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Nguyen in view of Grillberger as disclosed by Ford because such modification represent an improvement over the system of Nguyen in view of Grillberger in order to allow more lighting to be emitted via the upper surface of the housing.
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. US Patent Application Publication 20080100329 in view of Grillberger Europeans Patent Publication EP 3047458 and further in view of Forster US Patent Application Publication 20130122803.
Regarding claim 6, Nguyen is silent on teaching the at least one light comprises colored lights configured to indicate status of RFID tags responsive to different measurement and/or process results. Forster in an analogous art teaches the use of colored light for indicating the different status of the RFID tag (paragraph 089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Nguyen in view of Grillberger as disclosed by Forster because such modification represent an improvement over the system of Nguyen in view of Grillberger in order to provide a distinct indication of the status of the RFID tag that is easily perceivable by the user.
Claim 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. US Patent Application Publication 20080100329 in view of Grillberger Europeans Patent Publication EP 3047458 and further in view of Eshleman et al. US Patent Application Publication 2014/0102742.
Regarding claim 12, Nguyen sis silent on teaching the at least one light is controlled by adjusting a duration of illumination in relation to a speed of movement of the at least one RFID tag. Eshleman et al. in an analogous art teaches controlling the duration of the illumination based on the speed of operation of an apparatus (paragraph 072).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Nguyen in view of Grillberger as disclosed by Eshleman et al. because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Nguyen in view of Grillberger by providing a visual indication of the speed of operation of the apparatus.
Claim 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. US Patent Application Publication 20080100329 in view of Grillberger Europeans Patent Publication EP 3047458 and further in view of Kawamata US Patent Application Publication 20060220858.
Regarding claim 15, Nguyen is silent on teaching a camera configured to capture image data comprising at least one or successive illuminated RFID tags within the sensing aperture. Kawamata in an analogous art teaches a camera configured to capture image data of the RFID tag under test (paragraph 039-040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Nguyen in view of Grillberger as disclosed by Kawamata because such modification represent an improvement over the system of Nguyen in view of Grillberger by further identifying defect in the RFID tag based on defect shown by the captured image.
Conclusion
/VERNAL U BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686