Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
Such claim limitation is: a hollow connecting means connecting with the outlet at another end line 9 of in independent claim 1, according to the specification at page 10 the connecting means (34) comprises a substantially cylindrical body rotatable about a central, longitudinal axis as shown in FIG. 3.
Because this claim limitation is not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is not being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant intends to have this limitation interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim limitation a hollow connecting means connecting with the outlet at another end line 9 of in independent claim 1 has been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, but the result is inconclusive. Thus, it is unclear whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the term “connecting means” is sufficient for connecting two objects. The boundaries of this claim limitation are ambiguous; therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In response to this rejection, applicant must clarify whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Mere assertion regarding applicant’s intent to invoke or not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is insufficient. Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim to clearly invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by reciting “means” or a generic placeholder for means, or by reciting “step.” The “means,” generic placeholder, or “step” must be modified by functional language, and must not be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
(b) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, should apply because the claim limitation recites a function to be performed and does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts to perform that function;
(c) Amend the claim to clearly avoid invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by deleting the function or by reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to perform the recited function; or
(d) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, does not apply because the limitation does not recite a function or does recite a function along with sufficient structure, material or acts to perform that function.
Independent claim 1 recites the limitation "the connecting means" in line 11, which is different from the “a hollow connecting means recited in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 is rejected since it depends from the claim 1 but introduces a body, an air passageway, an air channel, etc. but it is not clear whether these elements are different from the same elements which were introduced in claim 1.
Claims 2-20 are rejected for their dependency on claim 1.
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1)
Claims 1- are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication (2012/0079678) to Spinelli.
Regarding independent claim 1, Spinelli discloses a body (110) adapted to engage a surface to be cleaned, the body (110) includes an inlet (114) for receiving dust from the surface under suction, and an outlet (116) attachable with a suction tube of the vacuum cleaning appliance (capable of attaching to a suction tube) (See paragraph [0121]);
an air passageway (132-146) adapted to direct air flow from the inlet (114) to the outlet (116), the air passageway (132-146) comprises an air channel connecting with the inlet at one end (114), and a hollow connecting means (120) connecting with the outlet (116) at another end with the connecting means (120) is rotatable to pivot about an axis along a direction of the air flow, such that opening of the air passageway (132-146) remains substantially constant regardless of the pivotal movement of the connecting means (120) (See paragraphs [0044]-[0048]).
Claims 1-13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication (2003/0140449) to Alton.
Regarding independent claim 1, Alton discloses a body (11) adapted to engage a surface to be cleaned, the body (11) includes an inlet (28a) for receiving dust from the surface under suction, and an outlet (27a) attachable with a suction tube of the vacuum cleaning appliance (capable of attaching to a suction tube) (See paragraphs [0040]-[0042] and FIG. 1);
an air passageway (31) adapted to direct air flow from the inlet (28a) to the outlet (16), the air passageway (31) comprises an air channel (17) connecting with the inlet at one end (28a), and a hollow connecting means (15) connecting with the outlet (27a) at another end with the connecting means (15) is rotatable to pivot about an axis along a direction of the air flow, such that opening of the air passageway (31) remains substantially constant regardless of the pivotal movement of the connecting means (15) (See paragraphs [0052]-[0056] and FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Alton discloses that the air channel (17) includes a non-linear air channel (See FIG. 3) arranged on a plane substantially parallel to the surface (See FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Alton discloses that the non-linear air channel comprises a U-shaped air channel (See FIG. 3) connecting the inlet (28a) with the connecting means (15).
Regarding claim 4, Alton discloses that the connecting means (15) defines an L-shaped air passage connecting the air channel (17) with the outlet (27a) (See FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Alton discloses that the connecting means (15) is arranged in a T-shaped (See FIG. 3) configuration defining the L-shaped air passage at two adjacent arms (74, 74) substantially perpendicularly arranged (See FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Alton discloses that the connecting means (15) is rotatable to pivot the outlet between a lower position (downward) and a raised position (upward), with a pivot angle between about zero degrees to about 90 degrees, respectively, in respect of the surface (See FIGS. 1-6).
Regarding claim 7, Allton discloses that the connecting means (15) includes a substantially cylindrical body rotatable about a central, longitudinal axis (See FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Alton discloses that the air channel (17) and the connecting means (15) are connected via one or more sealing means (108b) (See paragraph [0071]).
Regarding claim 9, Alton discloses that the inlet (28a) comprises a forward-facing opening (120) arranged at a front portion of the body (11).
Regarding claim 10, Alton discloses that the forward-facing opening (120) is configured to extend further downwardly and inwardly to allow for a forward suction and a downward suction from the surface to be cleaned.
Regarding claim 11, Alton discloses that the body (11) further includes a front suction chamber (124) at the front portion of the body (11), the front suction chamber (124) being arranged to be in fluid communication with the forward-facing opening (120).
Regarding claim 12, Alton discloses the front suction chamber (124) defines a forward-facing nozzle (251) at a front edge the body (11).
Regarding claim 13, Alton discloses that the forward-facing nozzle (251) includes an elongated nozzle (251) extending along at least partially the front edge of the body (11).
Regarding claim 17, Alton discloses that the body (11) further includes a substantially planar base portion (bottom) for positioning the body on the surface (See FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Alton discloses the outlet (27a) comprises an attaching means (35a) for attaching the body (11) with the suction tube of a vacuum cleaning appliance.
Regarding claim 19, Alton discloses vacuum cleaning appliance (See paragraph [0039]), comprising a suction head (10) according to claim 1.
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication (2003/0140449) to Alton in view of U.S. Patent (9,839,335) to Eriksson.
Regarding claim 14, Alton is silent regarding that the front suction chamber (251) comprises a cover. However, Eriksson teaches a nozzle (1) having rotatable member (3). Eriksson teaches that the nozzle (1) includes a cover (12) being made of transparent material. Eriksson teaches that have a cover protects the suction chamber from debris and the transparent cover provides a view into the rotatable member to determine if it needs to be cleaned (See Col. 4 lines 10-20). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Alton with Eriksson to include transparent cover in order to protect the suction chamber (251) form the debris with a transparent cover (12) that allows for inspection of the roller brush.
Regarding claim 15, Alton as modified with Eriksson teaches claim 15. In particular, Eriksson teaches that the cover (12) is movable to adjust size of the forward-facing opening (movable side to side).
Regarding claim 16, Alton as modified with Eriksson teaches claim 16. In particular, Erikksson teaches that have a cover protects the suction chamber from debris and the transparent cover provides a view into the rotatable member to determine if it needs to be cleaned (See Col. 4 lines 10-20). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Alton with Eriksson to include transparent cover in order to protect the suction chamber (251) form the debris with a transparent cover (12) that allows for inspection of the roller brush.
Conclusion
MICHAEL DEANGILO. JENNINGS
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MICHAEL D JENNINGS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723