DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is response to communication filed on 06/22/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this action.
This Action is Non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Pub. No. 2009/0086953 A1 to Vendrow in view of U.S Pub. No. 2002/0106059 A1 to Kroll et al. (hereinafter “Kroll”).
Regarding claim 1, Vendrow teachers A method for managing service calls comprising:receiving at least one incoming telephone call (Fig.4 and paragraph [0024]; call messaging system can be configured to receive an inbound call 404 between a caller device 402) ;screening the at least one incoming call (Fig.4 and paragraph [0042]; at 406, the call messaging system can determine whether a caller has a matching caller ID. In some embodiments, the call messaging system can use other attributes associated with the call to specify whether to apply filtering rules in handling the call); processing information pertaining to the service required,determining a required action, and executing the required action (Fig. 2 step 430 and paragraph [0042]; If there is no bypass condition, flow 400 continues to 416 at which custom screening and customized screening rules can be applied. If the screening is bypassed at 414, or if the customized screening continues at 416, then the flow continues 420 to notify the called party e.g., the callee. Next, flow 400 continues to 422 at which a determination is made as to whether to screen the call e.g., determine whether in situ screening of an active call is available or activated, whereby "personal screening" is performed at the called device during the active call).
Vendrow does not explicitly teach if the incoming call is from a valid caller then executing a valid call protocol; wherein the valid call protocol comprises connecting the valid caller to a service agent, prompting the valid caller for information pertaining to the service required, receiving the information pertaining to the service required.
In the same field of endeavor, Kroll teaches if the incoming call is from a valid caller then executing a valid call protocol; wherein the valid call protocol comprises connecting the valid caller to a service agent, prompting the valid caller for information pertaining to the service required, receiving the information pertaining to the service required (Fig. 8 step 170-184 or 186 and paragraph [0060]; In step 174 the system requests the full name of the caller. In step 176 the system will do a speech recognition match on that name. In step 178 the system will search the police database for that name. In step 180 the system will repeat the name to the caller to confirm. In step 182 the system will attempt to match the caller identification with a fugitive. It will do this by attempting to match the name, spectral voice characteristics (even if the individual lied about their name), and the keypad signature. If there is no match then the system goes to step 184 and does a normal process. If there is a match then the system goes to step 186 and adds 15 points to the priority score and presents the name and the felony record to the dispatcher).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Vendrow’s teaching with a feature of if the incoming call is from a valid caller then executing a valid call protocol; wherein the valid call protocol comprises connecting the valid caller to a service agent, prompting the valid caller for information pertaining to the service required, receiving the information pertaining to the service required as taught by Kroll in order to improve identification, prioritization and handling of an incoming emergency calls to direct the appropriate service personnel (Abstract, Kroll).
Regarding claim 2, Vendrow teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the step of screening comprises assigning a prioritization index to a valid caller (Fig.4, paragraphs [0038] and [0042]; identified inbound caller ID and any stored information associated with the caller, the Database 350 can assign a priority to the inbound call).
Regarding claim 3, Vendrow teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the step of screening comprises obtaining call identification markers (Fig.4, paragraphs [0038] and [0042]; the identified inbound caller ID and any stored information associated with the caller, the Database 350 can assign a priority to the inbound call).
Regarding claim 4, Vendrow teaches the method of claim 3 wherein the call identification markers comprise caller phone numbers (Fig. 4, paragraphs [0030] and [0042]; a large group of users where a user is identified by one or more telephone numbers).
Regarding claim 5, Vendrow teaches the method of claim 3 wherein the call identification markers comprise caller locations (paragraph [0029]; a caller to identify a specific extension or location at which to connect with the call).
Regarding claim 6, Vendrow teaches the method of claim 3 wherein the call identification markers comprise an advance mobile location (paragraphs [0029]- [0032]; a caller to identify a specific extension or location at which to connect with the call).
Regarding claim 7, Vendrow teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the step of screening comprises executing a non-valid call protocol if the incoming call is from a non-valid caller (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0042]; call messaging system can apply filtering rules that specify, for example, predetermined actions based on the caller ID, caller history, time of day, call frequency, or any other condition. If no, then the flow continues from 406 to 408, at which call messaging system determines whether to block the call (e.g., in response to a filtering rule). If yes, the call is disconnected at 412, otherwise flow 400 continues to 418, at which the call is screened using default screening rules).
Regarding claim 8, Vendrow teaches the method of claim 7 wherein the non-valid call protocol comprises rejecting the non-valid call (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0042]; call messaging system can apply filtering rules that specify, for example, predetermined actions based on the caller ID, caller history, time of day, call frequency, or any other condition. If no, then the flow continues from 406 to 408, at which call messaging system determines whether to block the call (e.g., in response to a filtering rule). If yes, the call is disconnected at 412, otherwise flow 400 continues to 418, at which the call is screened using default screening rules).
Regarding claim 9, Vendrow teaches the method of claim 7 wherein the non-valid call protocol comprises reporting the non-valid caller to authorities (paragraphs [0040]- [0042]; call messaging system 306 can provide a web interface, a softphone, default administrator configurations, and user-defined preferences to alert potential call receivers, enabling them to make decisions concerning which calls to answer, to redirect, and to ignore).
Regarding claim 10, Vendrow teaches the method of claim 7 wherein the non-valid call protocol comprises alerting law enforcement (paragraphs [0040]- [0042]; a call messaging system can detect a call generating from device 402 and enable a call originating at device 402 to bypass the custom screening so that emergency officials can quickly connect with a callee at caller device 432 without being impeded by the customized screening).
Regarding claim 11, Vendrow teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the step of executing the required action comprises providing service information to the caller (paragraphs [0040]- [0042]; a call messaging system can detect a call generating from device 402 and enable a call originating at device 402 to bypass the custom screening so that emergency officials can quickly connect with a callee at caller device 432 without being impeded by the customized screening).
Regarding claim 12, Vendrow teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the step of executing the required action comprises establishing a parallel remote connection to a caller device (paragraph [0039]; each call routing, the circuit switch or softswitch 340 can access any of the default endpoint, the saved ANI, and the saved actual first calling endpoint and can apply all user-defined routing rules simultaneously or sequentially to ring any or all of these stored endpoints. Also, if the receiver is busy, then for a high priority call, the switch 340 can facilitate a caller to barge in to connect the inbound call to a receiving endpoint 210, 220, and 290).
Regarding claim 13, Vendrow teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the set of executing the required action comprises dispatching an emergency response unit (paragraphs [0040]- [0042]; a call messaging system can detect a call generating from device 402 and enable a call originating at device 402 to bypass the custom screening so that emergency officials can quickly connect with a callee at caller device 432 without being impeded by the customized screening).
Regarding claim 14, Vendrow teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the set of executing the required action comprises determining if an emergency dispatch is required (paragraphs [0040]- [0042]; a call messaging system can detect a call generating from device 402 and enable a call originating at device 402 to bypass the custom screening so that emergency officials can quickly connect with a callee at caller device 432 without being impeded by the customized screening).
Regarding claim 15, Vendrow teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the step of executing the required action comprises connecting the caller to a human service agent (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0042]; call messaging system can be configured to receive an inbound call 404 between a caller device 402 and a callee device 432. At 406, the call messaging system can determine whether a caller has a matching caller ID. In some embodiments, the call messaging system can use other attributes associated with the call to specify whether to apply filtering rules in handling the call).
Regarding claim 16, Vendrow teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising establishing a preferred language for communicating and asking prompting questions in the preferred language for communicating with the caller (paragraph [0025]; the first menu item can be a prompt asking for the user name or the reason for this call or other information. The caller answers with some reason, and this reason is played to the callee. By listening to the reason and viewing the caller-ID, the callee can decide how to dispatch this call. For example, the following are applicable actions: answer this call, send this call to voice mail, send this call to another agent, and let callee or system default policies route this call. Note that speech recognition can evaluate and parse the caller reason for key words. Speech recognition of keywords can dispatch this call to user or system defined routing rules or to available agents).
Regarding claim 17, Vendrow teaches the method of claim 1 further comprising categorizing the incoming call according to the information prompted from the caller by assigning a category selected from: emergency call, non-emergency call, harassment call, nuisance call, service request call, information call, extension call, routing call, common call, repeat call and combinations thereof (paragraphs [0040]- [0042]; a call messaging system can detect a call generating from device 402 and enable a call originating at device 402 to bypass the custom screening so that emergency officials can quickly connect with a callee at caller device 432 without being impeded by the customized screening).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Pub. No. 2009/0086953 A1 to Vendrow in view U.S Pub. No. 2021/0044673 A1 to MacGabann.
Regarding claim 18, Vendrow teaches a method for providing automatic emergency call management the method comprising: receiving an incoming call from a caller; obtaining incoming call identification markers; applying a call filter; assigning a prioritization value to the incoming call; routing call according to prioritization value (Fig.4, paragraphs [0028], [0042] and [0046]; screening engine 614 can be configured to screen and dispatch an inbound call. While a call is active (i.e. still pending), communication device 652 can present a subset of prompts in association with interface 602. The prompts provide a callee with various action options regarding the inbound call based on, for example, screening rules 124 and call dispatching rules 126 of FIG. 1. After callee selects from the various action options, communication device 652 can communicate with a call messaging system to implement the selected dispatching action or can perform the dispatching action itself).
However, Vendrow does not explicitly teach connecting automatic service agent to caller; automatic agent prompting caller for information; categorizing call according to the information prompted from the caller; establishing that a dispatch is required; checking if an emergency response unit has already been dispatched; and if no emergency response unit has already been dispatched then dispatching unit to emergency.
MacGabann teaches connecting automatic service agent to caller; automatic agent prompting caller for information; categorizing call according to the information prompted from the caller; establishing that a dispatch is required; checking if an emergency response unit has already been dispatched; and if no emergency response unit has already been dispatched then dispatching unit to emergency (paragraphs [0029] and [0030]-[0031] and [0064]; the rescue application 105 can send location updates to the responder application 135. Beneficially, this can be performed in an automated fashion such that the user requesting rescue does not have to actively update the dispatched responder when his or her location changes, and so that the dispatched responder maintains an up-to-date record of the user's location).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Vendrow’s teaching with a feature of connecting automatic service agent to caller; automatic agent prompting caller for information; categorizing call according to the information prompted from the caller; establishing that a dispatch is required; checking if an emergency response unit has already been dispatched; and if no emergency response unit has already been dispatched then dispatching unit to emergency as taught by MacGabann in order to include a dynamic, menu-based user interface to quickly solicit the emergency information needed for automated triage and dispatch (Abstract, MacGabann).
Regarding claim 19, Rohde teaches a system for providing automatic service-call management, the system comprising: an inbound call screener configured and operable to receive inbound call identifiers, to identify nuisance calls, and to block identified nuisance calls; an automatic call distributer configured and operable to prioritize inbound calls (paragraphs [0028], [0042]; At 406, the call messaging system can determine whether a caller has a matching caller ID. In some embodiments, the call messaging system can use other attributes associated with the call to specify whether to apply filtering rules in handling the call); processing information pertaining to the service required,determining a required action, and executing the required action (Fig. 2 step 430 and paragraph [0042]; If there is no bypass condition, flow 400 continues to 416 at which custom screening and customized screening rules can be applied. If the screening is bypassed at 414, or if the customized screening continues at 416, then the flow continues 420 to notify the called party e.g., the callee. Next, flow 400 continues to 422 at which a determination is made as to whether to screen the call e.g., determine whether in situ screening of an active call is available or activated, whereby "personal screening" is performed at the called device during the active call).
Vendrow does not explicitly teach a call router configured to connect a caller to at least one automatic customer service agent; at least one automatic customer service agent configured to prompt the caller for key information and to store the key information in a memory; and a call processor configured to determine a required course of action for the incoming call.
MacGabann teaches a call router configured to connect a caller to at least one automatic customer service agent; at least one automatic customer service agent configured to prompt the caller for key information and to store the key information in a memory; and a call processor configured to determine a required course of action for the incoming call (paragraphs [0029] and [0030]-[0031] and [0064]; the rescue application 105 can send location updates to the responder application 135. Beneficially, this can be performed in an automated fashion such that the user requesting rescue does not have to actively update the dispatched responder when his or her location changes, and so that the dispatched responder maintains an up-to-date record of the user's location).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Vendrow’s teaching with a feature of a call router configured to connect a caller to at least one automatic customer service agent; at least one automatic customer service agent configured to prompt the caller for key information and to store the key information in a memory; and a call processor configured to determine a required course of action for the incoming call as taught by MacGabann in order to include a dynamic, menu-based user interface to quickly solicit the emergency information needed for automated triage and dispatch (Abstract, MacGabann).
Regarding claim 20, Vendrow teaches the system of claim 1 wherein the required course of action is selected from dispatching emergency units, connecting a human service agent, reassuring a caller and combinations thereof, and communicating with emergency dispatch units (paragraphs [0040]- [0042]; a call messaging system can detect a call generating from device 402 and enable a call originating at device 402 to bypass the custom screening so that emergency officials can quickly connect with a callee at caller device 432 without being impeded by the customized screening).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
AKELAW TESHALE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2694
/AKELAW TESHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694