DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 10-11, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Achard (US 20230011707 A1) in view of Nakamura (US 20240253752 A1) in further view of Przybyl (US 11260946 B1)
Regarding Claim 1, Achard teaches A watercraft comprising: ([0002] The present disclosure generally relate to the field of watercraft, such as personal watercraft and other types of watercraft having outboard motors.)
a hull; (Fig. 1A hull 14)
a propulsion device to generate a propulsive force to propel the hull; (Fig. 1B 11 propulsion system)
a trim adjuster to change a trim of the hull; ([0033] The up and down positioning of the nozzle 11C is referred to herein as “nozzle trim”, which may also be controlled via a trim actuator connected to the steering nozzle 11C, for example.)
a mode setter operable by a user to selectively set a watercraft movement characteristic mode; and ([0057] a dedicated user input is provided on the user interface 40, for example in the form of a button, a lever, a switch or a selectable input on a touch screen of a display, for the rider to manually activate the control mode. In some embodiments, a single user input is used to enter or remain in the mode, such that upon receipt of the command, the controller 32 is configured to determine whether or not the watercraft is currently operating in the range-efficient operating regime. Alternatively, separate user inputs are used, whereby a first dedicated input is associated with a command to enter the range-efficient operating regime and a second dedicated input is associated with a command to remain in the range-efficient operating regime)
a controller configured or programmed to control the propulsion device according to a propulsive force control characteristic defined for the mode set by the mode setter ([0058] At step 610, control of the watercraft 10 is effected in response to the command received at step 608) and to control the trim adjuster according to a trim control characteristic defined for the mode set by the mode setter; ([0058] The controller 32 may also change the position of the nozzle 11C to reach the optimal nozzle trim angle associated with the range-efficient operating regime. )
the trim control characteristic defined for the economy mode includes the trim of the hull being changeable according to a state of the watercraft; and ([0033] The up and down positioning of the nozzle 11C is referred to herein as “nozzle trim”, which may also be controlled via a trim actuator connected to the steering nozzle 11C, for example. [0043] The positioning of the watercraft nozzle 11C to define a nozzle attitude or angle (i.e. nozzle trim) will affect the balance of lifting and resistance forces acting on the watercraft 10 and thus plays a role in having the watercraft 10 operate in the range efficient operating regime 210. An optimal nozzle trim angle will minimize resistance forces on the watercraft 10 and allow the lifting forces to dominate. Moving the nozzle 11C away from the optimal trim angle will increase the resistance forces on the watercraft 10 and reduce the impact of the lifting forces, thus causing an increased amount of power to be needed to maintain the watercraft speed. To maximize range efficiency, it is desirable to have the watercraft nozzle trim angle be positioned near or at its optimal trim angle where the minimum amount of power is required to maintain the watercraft lift for a given watercraft speed.)
Achard does not expressly disclose but Nakamura discloses the propulsive force control characteristic includes an upper limit watercraft speed; ([0059] a first set speed Va that is the maximum speed set for the normal mode.)
the watercraft movement characteristic modes include an economy mode in which the propulsive force control characteristic includes the upper limit watercraft speed set to a first value, and a towing mode in which the propulsive force control characteristic includes the upper limit watercraft speed set to a second value that is smaller than the first value; ([0059] As shown in FIG. 6 , an increase rate of the water vehicle speed with respect to the same requested value, i.e., the acceleration of the water vehicle is the same between the normal mode and the towing mode. However, the maximum speed of the water vehicle is different between the normal mode and the towing mode. A second set speed Vb that is the maximum speed set for the towing mode is lower than a first set speed Va that is the maximum speed set for the normal mode.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Achard with the teachings of Nakamura with a reasonable expectation of success by changing the water vehicle speed in the normal mode and in the towing mode as taught by Nakamura ([0057]).
Achard does not expressly disclose but Przybyl discloses the trim control characteristic defined for the towing mode includes the trim of the hull being maintained constant irrespective of the state of the watercraft (the trim position at time T3-T4 in Fig. 8 and Col 12 Lines 6-14 The target trim position held by the controller is represented at line 172. The target trim position is maintained at the tucked position, such as full tuck, until time T3. At time T3 the target trim position is adjusted to be the predetermined target trim position most appropriate for generating a wave for wake boarding behind the marine vessel.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Achard with the teachings of Przybyl with a reasonable expectation of success by optimizing wake surfing behind a vessel as taught by (Col 12 line 13-14).
Regarding Claim 2, Achard does not expressly disclose but Nakamura discloses The watercraft according to claim 1, wherein the propulsive force control characteristic further includes an upper limit watercraft acceleration rate. ([0040] The accelerator sensor 41 detects an acceleration requested amount requested by the rider 3 a of the PWC 1. Specifically, the accelerator sensor 41 detects an operation amount of the accelerator lever 32 [0057] Specifically, FIG. 6 shows a relation between an elapsed time and the water vehicle speed when the rider 3 a operates the accelerator lever 32 to, for example, an upper limit with the PWC 1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Achard with the teachings of Nakamura with a reasonable expectation of success by changing the water vehicle speed in the normal mode and in the towing mode as taught by Nakamura ([0057]).
Regarding Claim 10, Achard teaches The watercraft according to claim 1, wherein the propulsion device is a waterjet propulsion device. ([0033] The accelerated water jet is ejected from the venturi 11B via a pivoting steering nozzle 11C which is directionally controlled (side to side) by the driver with a steering mechanism 19 to provide a directionally controlled jet of water to propel and steer the watercraft 10)
Regarding Claim 11, Achard teaches The watercraft according to claim 10, wherein the trim control characteristic defined for the towing mode includes the trim of the hull being fixed to direct a waterjet jetted from the waterjet propulsion device downward with respect to a water surface. ([0033] The up and down positioning of the nozzle 11C is referred to herein as “nozzle trim”, which may also be controlled via a trim actuator connected to the steering nozzle 11C, for example.)
Regarding Claim 15, Achard teaches The watercraft according to claim 1, further comprising a display to display watercraft maneuvering information ([0035] A user interface 40 may be provided, for example on the steering mechanism 19, and coupled to the controller 32. The user interface 40 may include rotary switches, toggle switches, push buttons, knobs, dials, etc. as well as a display screen for displaying various information to the driver and/or receiving input from the driver in the case of a touch-sensitive display screen. In some embodiments, the display screen of the user interface 40 may include a liquid crystal display (LCD) screen, thin-film-transistor (TFT) LCD screen, light-emitting diode (LED) or other suitable display device operatively connected to the controller 32.) and change a display color of a predetermined display area thereof according to the mode set by the mode setter. ([0047] For example, the background of the display 404 may change to a different color or change in intensity when the watercraft is operating in the range-efficient operating regime.)
Regarding Claim 16, Achard teaches The watercraft according to claim 1, wherein the watercraft is a planing watercraft. ([0031] The watercraft has a hull designed so as to allow the watercraft to operate in a displacement state, a planing state, and a semi-displacement or semi-planing state (i.e. transition from displacement state to planing state) as will be described in more detail below. Examples of suitable electric watercraft include personal watercraft (PWCs) having a straddle seat for accommodating an operator and optionally one or more passengers. Other watercraft, such as those equipped with an outboard motor, are also applicable.)
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Achard (US 20230011707 A1) in view of Nakamura (US 20240253752 A1) in further view of Przybyl (US 11260946 B1) in further view of Takashima (US 6032605 A).
Regarding Claim 12, Achard does not expressly disclose but Takashima discloses The watercraft according to claim 1, further comprising:
a movable sponson attached to the hull; and (Fig. 1 watercraft 10, hull 14, sponson 12)
a sponson actuator to move the sponson; wherein (Col 2 Line 15-16 At least one actuator is coupled to each sponson to move the sponson relative to the respective hull section.)
the controller is configured or programmed to control the sponson actuator according to a sponson control characteristic for the mode set by the mode setter. (Col 2 Line 16-19 And at least one operator is coupled to the actuator to control the movement of at least one of the sponsons relative to the respective hull section.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Achard with computerized actuating sponson as taught by Takashima with a reasonable expectation of success to accommodate different riding conditions. The modification yields predictable result of computerized adjustment of the watercraft responsiveness and stability based on different riding styles and operating modes. (Col 1 Line 46-55)
Regarding Claim 13, Achard does not expressly disclose but Takashima discloses The watercraft according to claim 12, wherein the watercraft movement characteristic mode to be selectively set by the mode setter includes a sponson-fixed mode in which the sponson control characteristic includes the sponson being maintained at a fixed position when the watercraft is driven in the sponson-fixed mode. (Col 8 Line 5-14 The electronic control unit 104 receives the control instructions from the operator control element 106 and operates the actuator 84 to impart the desired movement to the sponson 12. The duration of actuation of the operator control element 106 desirably corresponds to the degree of movement of the sponson 12 relative to the side wall 58 such that the sponson 12 can be incrementally adjusted.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Achard with computerized actuating sponson as taught by Takashima with a reasonable expectation of success to accommodate different riding conditions. The modification yields predictable result of computerized adjustment of the watercraft responsiveness and stability based on different riding styles and operating modes. (Col 1 Line 46-55)
Regarding Claim 14, Achard does not expressly disclose but Takashima discloses The watercraft according to claim 12, wherein the watercraft movement characteristic mode to be selectively set by the mode setter includes a sponson-moving mode in which the sponson control characteristic includes a position of the sponson being changeable when the watercraft Page 5 of 10 is driven in the eleventh sponson-moving mode. (Col 11 Line 17-23 A rotatable actuator 164 drives the rotatable shaft 162 to rotate the sponson 62 between a raised position and a lowered position. In the illustrated embodiment, the rotatable actuator 164 includes an electric motor (e.g., the stepper motor) which responds to control signals sent from a remote operator via the electronic control system, in the manner described above.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Achard with computerized actuating sponson as taught by Takashima with a reasonable expectation of success to accommodate different riding conditions. The modification yields predictable result of computerized adjustment of the watercraft responsiveness and stability based on different riding styles and operating modes. (Col 1 Line 46-55)
Claims 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Achard (US 20230011707 A1) in view of Nakamura (US 20240253752 A1) in further view of Przybyl (US 11260946 B1) in further view of Inoue (US 20210086876 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Achard does not expressly disclose but Inoue discloses The watercraft according to claim 16, wherein the trim control characteristic defined for the economy mode includes the trim of the hull being set to a first trim when a speed of the watercraft falls within a non-planing speed range, and the trim of the hull being set to a second trim that is greater than the first trim when the speed of the watercraft falls within a planing speed range. ([0046] when the planing mode is applied, the process proceeds to step S108, in which the CPU 31 determines whether or not the hull 13 is in the critical state between the planing state and the non-planing state. Namely, the CPU 31 determines whether or not the hull 13 has shifted from the planing state to the critical state. Here, whether or not the hull 13 is in the critical state is determined based on the vessel speed V and the pitch angle P. Specifically, when the pitch angle P is greater than the minimum pitch angle P2 and equal to or smaller than the maximum pitch angle P1 (P2<P≤P1) in a state where the vessel speed V is higher than the speed V0 (V0<V), it is determined that the hull 13 is in the critical state.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Achard with the teachings of Inoue with a reasonable expectation of success by controlling the vessel speed by using the critical maximum speed as a target value and the planing state can be maintained at a relatively low speed as taught by Inoue ([0052]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4-5 allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments filed 7/29/2026 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant argues that the 35 USC 103 rejections to the claims should not be maintained in view of “However, the fact that Achard discloses that both the speed and nozzle trim "may be" modified dynamically does not necessarily mean that Achard does, in fact, disclose an operating mode in which the trim control characteristic is maintained constant irrespective of any other state of the watercraft. The fact that a certain result or characteristic may occur or be present in the prior art is not sufficient to establish the inherency of that result or characteristic. Achard discloses a range-efficient operating regime in which the speed of the watercraft is maintained between Smin and Smax. Achard does not disclose any specific operating mode in which an upper limit speed of the watercraft is smaller than Smin (e.g., a towing mode), let alone that the trim control characteristic is maintained constant irrespective of any other state of the watercraft during this mode”. However, in view of the amendment a new ground of rejection is above.
Applicant argues “Achard in view of Gonring fails to teach or suggest the features of "a controller configured or programmed to control the propulsion device according to a propulsive force control characteristic defined for the mode set by the mode setter and to control the trim adjuster according to a trim control characteristic defined for the mode set by the mode setter," "the watercraft movement characteristic modes include an economy mode in which the propulsive force control characteristic includes the upper limit watercraft speed set to a first value, and a towing mode in which the propulsive force control characteristic includes the upper limit watercraft speed set to a second value that is smaller than the first value," and "the trim control characteristic defined for the towing mode includes the trim of the hull being maintained constant irrespective of the state of the watercraft," as recited in Applicant's claim 1” However, in view of the amendment a new ground of rejection is above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656