DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant has not traverse the examiner’s assertion of official notice in the response filed 6/3/2026 and the well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art (see MPEP 2144.03).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-10, 12, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawasawa et al. (JP H09260201 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kawasawa et al. disclose a multilayer ceramic capacitor comprising:
a multilayer body including internal electrode layers (23) and dielectric layers (21) that are alternately laminated; and external electrodes (22a, 22b) on at least a pair of opposite outer surfaces (left-right – Fig. 1, 6) from among outer surfaces of the multilayer body and extending in a lamination direction (top-bottom Fig. 1, 5);
each internal electrode layer (23) including a counter portion (23a) and a lead-out portion (23b) that extends from the counter portion (23a) to the external electrode (22a, 22b), the counter portion (23a) of one of a pair of the internal electrode layers adjacent to each other in the lamination direction overlaps with the counter portion (23a) of each of a remainder of the internal electrode layers (23);
the counter portion (23a) including on edges thereof, a convex-concave portion [0017] that includes a convexity and a concavity alternating with each other, the convexity bending toward a corresponding one of the outer surfaces adjacent to the corresponding edge, the concavity bending away from the corresponding outer surface adjacent to the corresponding edge (See Fig. 5-6); and
the lead-out portions (23b) of the internal electrode layers (23) being substantially free of the convex-concave portion.
Regarding claim 2, Kawasawa et al. disclose the pair of opposite outer surfaces include end surfaces (left-right) situated at both ends of the multilayer body in a length direction (left-right) that intersects with the lamination direction (top-bottom);
the external electrodes (22a, 22b) include end-surface external electrodes on the end surfaces (left, right), respectively; and the internal electrode layers (23) include an end-surface-connection internal electrode layer
including an end-surface-connection lead-out portion as the lead-out portion, the end-surface-connection lead-out portion extending to the end-surface external electrode (22a, 22b).
Regarding claim 4, Kawasawa et al. disclose the edges include an edge extending in a length direction (left-right) that intersects with the lamination direction (top-bottom), and the convex-concave portion on the edge extending in the length direction (top-bottom) includes two or more consecutive sets of the convexity and the concavity (see Fig. 5-6).
Regarding claim 7, Kawasawa et al. disclose in a cross section that extends in the lamination direction (top-bottom) and a length direction (left-right) intersecting with the lamination direction and that is spaced farther apart than an outermost point of the convexity and less farther apart than an innermost point of the concavity from one of side surfaces on both sides of the multilayer body (Fig. 5) in a width direction intersecting with the lamination direction;
regions where the internal electrode layers are exposed and are arranged one above the other in the lamination direction alternate with regions where the internal electrode layers are not exposed and are arranged one above the other in the lamination direction (top-bottom – Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, Kawasawa et al. disclose each of the edges includes five convexities and four concavities between adjacent ones of the convexities (see Fig. 5-6).
Regarding claim 9, Kawasawa et al. disclose the convex-concave portion includes two or more consecutive sets of one of the convexities and one of the concavities (see Fig. 5-6).
Regarding claim 10, Kawasawa et al. disclose the convex-concave portion includes four consecutive sets of one of the convexities and one of the concavities (see Fig. 5-6).
Regarding claim 12, Kawasawa et al. disclose each of the external electrodes (22a, 22b) includes a base electrode layer [0023] and a plated layer [0023].
Regarding claim 16, Kawasawa et al. disclose the convex-concave portion has a sawtooth wave shape (Fig. 5-6).
Regarding claim 17 Kawasawa et al. disclose the convex-concave portion has a triangular wave shape (Fig. 5-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawasawa et al. (JP H09260201 A) in view of Chang et al. (US 2012/0127626).
Regarding claim 5, Kawasawa et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the convex-concave portion on at least one of the edges includes a location at which, for the convexity and the concavity adjacent to each other, a difference between a distance from an outermost point of the convexity to the outer surface and a distance from an innermost point of the concavity to the outer surface is about 3 µm or more.
Chang et al. disclose each internal electrode layer (120a, 120b) includes a counter portion (middle area) and a lead-out portion (@120a, @120b) that extends from the counter portion to an external electrode (130a, 130b), the counter portion of one of a pair of the internal electrode layers (120a, 120b) adjacent to each other in the lamination direction overlaps with the counter portion of each of a remainder of the internal electrode layers (120a, 120b); the counter portion including on edges thereof (Fig. 3), a convex-concave portion that includes a convexity and a concavity alternating with each other, the convexity bending toward the outer surface (Fig. 3) adjacent to the edge, the concavity bending away from the outer surface adjacent to the edge (Fig. 3); wherein the convex-concave portion on at least one of the edges includes a location at which, for the convexity and the concavity adjacent to each other, a difference (b) between a distance from an outermost point of the convexity to the outer surface and a distance from an innermost point of the concavity to the outer surface is about 3 µm or more (table 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the capacitor of Kawasawa et al. so that the convex-concave portion on at least one of the edges includes a location at which, for the convexity and the concavity adjacent to each other, a difference (b) between a distance from an outermost point of the convexity to the outer surface and a distance from an innermost point of the concavity to the outer surface is about 3 µm or more (table 1), since such a modification would form a ceramic capacitor having thermal shock reliability.
Regarding claim 11, Kawasawa et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the convex-concave portion on all of the edges includes a location at which, for the convexity and the concavity adjacent to each other, a difference (a) between a distance from an outermost point of the convexity to the outer surface and a distance from an innermost point of the concavity to the outer surface is about 3 µm or more.
Chang et al. disclose the convex-concave portion (see Fig. 4) on all of the edges includes a location at which, for the convexity and the concavity adjacent to each other, a difference (a) between a distance from an outermost point of the convexity to the outer surface and a distance from an innermost point of the concavity to the outer surface is about 3 µm or more (table 1 – Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the device of Kawasawa et al. so that the convex-concave portion on all of the edges includes a location at which, for the convexity and the concavity adjacent to each other, a difference (a) between a distance from an outermost point of the convexity to the outer surface and a distance from an innermost point of the concavity to the outer surface is about 3 µm or more, since such a modification would form a multilayer ceramic capacitor having thermal shock reliability.
Regarding claim 14, Kawasawa et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the convex-concave portion has a sine wave shape.
Chang et al. disclose a convex-concave portion having a sine wave shape (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the internal electrodes of Kawasawa et al. having a sine wave shape convex-concave portion, since such a modification would form a ceramic capacitor having thermal shock reliability.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawasawa et al. (JP H09260201 A) in view of Nakamura et al. (JP 2005-327999).
Regarding claim 6, Kawasawa et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the internal electrode layers included in the multilayer body are viewed from one of main surfaces on both sides of the multilayer body in the lamination direction, a positional deviation between an outermost point of the convexity of one of the internal electrode layers and an outermost point of the convexity of another of the internal electrode layers is about 250 µm or less in a length direction intersecting with the lamination direction.
Nakamura et al. disclose when internal electrode layers included in a multilayer body (1) are viewed from one of main surfaces (Fig. 2) on both sides of the multilayer body (1) in the lamination direction (top-bottom - Fig. 1), a positional deviation (see Fig. 1a) between an outermost point of the convexity of one of the internal electrode layers (2a) and an outermost point of the convexity of another of the internal electrode layers is about 250 µm or less (aligned - see Fig. 2a) in a length direction (left - right - Fig. 2) intersecting with the lamination direction (top-bottom - Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the capacitor of Kawasawa et al. so that the internal electrode layers included in the multilayer body are viewed from one of main surfaces on both sides of the multilayer body in the lamination direction, a positional deviation between an outermost point of the convexity of one of the internal electrode layers and an outermost point of the convexity of another of the internal electrode layers is about 250 µm or less in a length direction intersecting with the lamination direction, since such a modification would maximize the capacitance of the internal electrodes.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawasawa et al. (JP H09260201 A) in view of Yamaguchi et al. (US 2017/0316883).
Regarding claim 13, Kawasawa et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the plated layer includes a nickel-plated layer and a tin-plated layer.
Yamaguchi et al. disclose a multilayer ceramic capacitor comprising external electrodes (14, 14), wherein the external electrodes include a base electrode layer, a nickel-plated layer and a tin-plated layer [0050]-[0055].
Lacking unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the device of Chang et al. so that each of the external electrodes includes a base electrode layer, a nickel plated layer, and a tin plated layer, since, external electrode materials are selected based on design considerations and tradeoffs between cost, mechanical properties, and electrical properties.
It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawasawa et al. (JP H09260201 A).
Kawasawa et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the convex-concave portion has a rectangular wave shape.
A rectangular wave shape is a well-known convex-concave shape.
Lacking unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the convex-concave portion of Nakamura et al. having a sawtooth shape, since such a modification would form a shape having desired reliability / desired electrical characteristics.
Where the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular shape, a change of shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Span-Deck Inc. V. FabCon, Inc., 215 USPQ 835.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In combination with the other claim limitations, the prior art does not teach or suggest a multilayer ceramic capacitor wherein the external electrodes include side-surface external electrodes on the side surfaces, respectively; and the internal electrode layers include a side-surface-connection internal electrode layer including a side-surface-connection lead-out portion as the lead-out portion, the side-surface- connection lead-out portion extending to the side-surface external electrode (claim 3).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC W THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847
ERIC THOMAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847