DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Notes
It is to be noted that in device/apparatus claims, such as claims 1-10, only the claimed structure of the final device bears patentable weight, and intended use/functional language is considered to the extent that it further defines the claimed structure of the final device (see MPEP 2114).
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant(s) fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US PG Pub. 2017/0367807), as disclosed in the IDS dated 12/20/2024, hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claims 1, 4, 11 and 14, Chen discloses a composite bolster scaffold (400) and a method of using said composite bolster scaffold, illustrated in Figures 9A and 9B, comprising selecting a tissue scaffold (410), securely coupled to an anchor bolster (455), comprising a non-biologic biocompatible material, the anchor bolster (455) comprising a first surface, a second surface, and a first thickness between the first and second surfaces; positioning the tissue scaffold (410) proximate to an anatomic structure, specifically a chest wall; attaching at least one surgical anchor to the anchor bolster (455); and securing the anchor to the anatomic structure ([0002], Lines 1-4; [0108]; [0109], Line 1-5 & [0117]).
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9-13, 15, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barere et al. (US PG Pub. 2018/0055624), hereinafter Barere.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 11 and 12, Barere discloses a composite bolster scaffold (200/900) and a method of using said composite bolster scaffold (200), illustrated in Figures 8B and 9, comprising selecting a tissue scaffold (TS), specifically an acellular dermal matrix, securely coupled to an anchor bolster (AB/910), wherein the anchor bolster (AB/910) comprises a first surface, a second surface, and a first thickness between the first and second surfaces, illustrated in Figures 8B, 9 and modified figure 8B, below; positioning the tissue scaffold (TS) proximate to an anatomic structure, specifically a chest wall; attaching at least one surgical anchor to the anchor bolster (AB); and securing the anchor to the anatomic structure, illustrated in Figure 8B and modified figure 8B, below ([0026]; [0037], Lines 11-14; [0047]; [0061] & [0072]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Barere discloses the bolster scaffold and method of claims 1 and 11, wherein the tissue scaffold (TS) is a three-dimensional formed acellular tissue matrix scaffold, illustrated in Figure 8B and modified figure 8B, above ([0037], Lines 11-14 & [0047] – it is to be noted that the tissue scaffold has a height, width and depth, and therefore constitutes a three- dimensional scaffold).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Barere discloses the bolster scaffold and method of claims 1 and 11, wherein the anchor bolster comprises at least one anchor fixation point and wherein the at least one surgical anchor/suture (60) is attached to an anchor fixation point of the at least one anchor fixation points, illustrated in Figure 8B.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Barere discloses the bolster scaffold and method of claims 5 and 15, wherein the anchor fixation point is an opening extending through the first surface and the second surface of the anchor bolster, illustrated in Figure 8B.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Barere discloses the bolster scaffold and method of claims 1 and 11, wherein the anchor bolster is shaped as a tab (910), illustrated in Figure 9 ([0062], Lines 1-5).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Barere discloses the bolster scaffold and method of claims 1 and 11, wherein the anchor bolster (AB) is shaped as a ribbon, wherein the ribbon follows a contour of a perimeter of the tissue scaffold (TS), illustrated in Figure 8B and modified figure 8B, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barere as applied to claims 5 and 15 above, and in view of Baxter, III et al. (US PG Pub. 2015/0136832), hereinafter Baxter.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Barere discloses the bolster scaffold and method of claims 5 and 15, but does not specifically disclose the anchor fixation point comprises a second thickness less than the first thickness; however, it is disclosed that the device can include features which would guide or make the placement of sutures/anchors easier ([0061]).
However, Baxter teaches that having weakened portions/thin cross-sections can aid in the penetration of an anchor ([0688], Last 10 Lines & [0874]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the anchor fixation point, of the device and method of Barere, to have a second thickness less than first thickness, i.e. have a thinner cross-section, in order to aid in guiding/making the placement of the anchor easier, as taught by Baxter and Barere.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barere.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Barere discloses the bolster scaffold and method of claims 5 and 15, wherein the anchor fixation point comprises a third thickness greater than the first thickness ([0061], Lines 1-6 – to clarify, it is stated that additional material can be added to the device/scaffold to aid in attachment; thus the additional material would equate to a greater, third, thickness); and though it is not specifically disclosed the additional material is in the form of a rim of the anchor fixation points, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to determine appropriate placement of the additional material in order to aid in attachment, including forming a rim around the openings of the anchor fixation points, in order to reinforce the fixation points.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 of this application is patentably indistinct from claim 1 of Application No. 18/612,604. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Conclusion
/DINAH BARIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774