DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office action is in response to the amended claims filed on 12/28/2025.
Claims 1-7, 9 and 10 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Katoh (US 2017/0057498).
As to claim 1 Katoh discloses a method for operating a vehicle with a defect (what is a defect? It has no effect on the claim limitations as it is not even defined. The defect of the actuator could be as simple as a paint defect of the wheel actuator.) of a first single wheel steering actuator (This limitation needs to be further defined if it is intended to be system with individual wheel steering each wheel with its own steering actuator the claim limitations need to define such. Broadly interpreted it can be a common steering system with single wheels on each side as such the current art meets the limitation of a steering system for a system with single wheels on each side that has an malfunction.), comprising:
determining, with a control device of the vehicle (figure 1), an avoidance direction (figure 2) for a steering intervention to avoid a collision (figure 4 #S17) as a function of a speed (figure 4 #S18) of the vehicle and a first side of the vehicle on which a wheel associated with the first single wheel steering actuator is located (seen in figure 2 to avoid a collision with the obstacle the vehicle has a avoidance trajectory associated with steering the single front wheel actuator): and
automatically controlling a second single wheel steering actuator (figure 1 #S17) associated with a wheel on a second side opposite the first side based upon the determined avoidance direction (shown in figure 3).
As to claim 2 Katoh discloses the method according to Claim 1 in which the avoidance direction is further determined as a function of a distance to a collision object (paragraph 0037).
As to claim 3 Katoh discloses the method according to Claim 1, further comprising:
determining that the speed of the vehicle is less than a threshold value (figure 4 #S18), wherein determining the avoidance direction for the steering intervention comprises:
determining the avoidance direction to be away from the first side in response to the determining that the speed of the vehicle is less than the threshold value (figure 2).
As to claim 4 Katoh discloses the method according to Claim 1, further comprising:
determining that the speed of the vehicle is greater than a threshold value (paragraph 0099), wherein determining the avoidance direction for the steering intervention comprises:
determining the avoidance direction to be toward the first side of the defect in response to the determining that the speed of the vehicle is greater than the threshold value (paragraph 0100).
As to claim 5 Katoh discloses the method according to Claim 1, in which the steering intervention is classified as unsuitable if a needed avoidance space in the determined avoidance direction is occupied (paragraph 0079 due to speed there is unsuitable avoidance space).
As to claim 6 Katoh discloses the method according to Claim 1, in which an intervention distance for a braking intervention to avoid the collision is set as a function of the speed, an available avoidance space and the first side of the defect. (paragraph 0074)
As to claim 9 Katoh discloses a computer program product which is configured to direct a processor to execute, when executed by the control device, implement and/or control the method according to one of Claim 1 when said computer program product is executed (figure 1 and paragraph 0035).
As to claim 10 Katoh discloses a machine-readable storage medium on which the computer program product according to Claim 9 is stored (figure 1 and paragraph 0035).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katoh (US 2017/0057498) in further view of Newman et al. (US 2019/0315345).
As to claim 7 Katoh discloses the method according to Claim 6. However is silent to the intervention distance is increased when the available avoidance space is occupied.
Discloses in paragraph 0043 adding distance when the rear avoidance space is not available. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the system of Newman to add intervention distance to the system of Katoh as both art designed for collision avoidance and Newman discloses in paragraph 0006 that it can be integrated with hazard avoidance systems.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SHERMAN D. MANLEY
Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/SHERMAN D MANLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LOGAN M KRAFT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747