DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada’145 (US 2006/0095145), and further in view of Kimura’977 (US 2024/0045977).
With respect to claim 1, Yamada’145 teaches a printing device (Fig.1, item 10) comprising:
a first communication interface (Fig.1, item 30);
a memory (Fig.1, items 14, 16, 18 and 20); and
a computer (Fig.1, item 12).
Yamada’145 does not teach wherein the computer is configured to perform: on a first condition including: a condition that a printer job language (PJL) command is received via the first communication interface that is a local area network (LAN) interface according to a first protocol; and a condition that the PJL command is a value-change command to change a setting value stored in the memory for use in an operation with the computer, changing the setting value stored in the memory according to the PJL command; and on a second condition including: a condition that the PJL command is received via the first communication interface that is the LAN interface according to a second protocol different from the first protocol; and a condition that the PJL command is the value-change command, prohibiting execution of the changing the setting value according to the PJL command.
Kimura’977 teaches that according to the security policy, the LAN is being enable to accept communication while prohibit the wireless LAN communication (paragraph 65). In addition, a setting item for selecting whether to limit access to a PJL command is also can be configured (paragraph 52). Furthermore, the communication protocols in the printer can be configured to allow or to restrict to be used for communicating with other devices (Fig.6B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yamada’145 according to the teaching of Kimura’977 to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the LAN and to configure a setting not to limit the PJL command accessing through the LAN communication with a desired protocol (wherein the computer is configured to perform: on a first condition including: a condition that a printer job language (PJL) command is received via the first communication interface that is a local area network (LAN) interface according to a first protocol) because this will enhance the security between the communication between the printer and the host computer.
The combination Yamada’145 and Kimura’977 does not teach a condition that the PJL command is a value-change command to change a setting value stored in the memory for use in an operation with the computer, changing the setting value stored in the memory according to the PJL command; and on a second condition including: a condition that the PJL command is received via the first communication interface that is the LAN interface according to a second protocol different from the first protocol; and a condition that the PJL command is the value-change command, prohibiting execution of the changing the setting value according to the PJL command.
Since Yamada’145 teaches that the host computer transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.5B), therefore, when the multi-function machine changes its resolution, the setting resolution stored in a memory of the multi-function machine is considered being changed and Kimura’977 teaches that according to the security policy, the LAN is being enable to accept communication while prohibit the wireless LAN communication (paragraph 65), and in addition, a setting item for selecting whether to limit access to a PJL command is also can be configured (paragraph 52) and furthermore, the communication protocols in the printer can be configured to allow or to restrict to be used for communicating with other device (Fig.6B), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the LAN via a desired protocol (a first protocol) and to configure a setting not to limit the PJL command accessing through the LAN communication via a desired protocol (a first protocol) such that the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) and the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) changed its stored resolution value according to the received PJL command (a condition that the PJL command is a value-change command to change a setting value stored in the memory for use in an operation with the computer, changing the setting value stored in the memory according to the PJL command) because this will enhance the security between the communication between the printer and the host computer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination Yamada’145 and Kimura’977 to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the LAN via a desired protocol (a first protocol) and to configure a setting not to limit the PJL command accessing through the LAN communication via a desired protocol (a first protocol) such that the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) and the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) changed its stored resolution value according to the received PJL command (a condition that the PJL command is a value-change command to change a setting value stored in the memory for use in an operation with the computer, changing the setting value stored in the memory according to the PJL command) because this will enhance the security between the communication between the printer and the host computer.
In addition, since Yamada’145 teaches that the host computer transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.5B), therefore, when the multi-function machine changes its resolution, the setting resolution stored in a memory of the multi-function machine is considered being changed and Kimura’977 teaches that according to the security policy, the LAN is being enable to accept communication while prohibit the wireless LAN communication (paragraph 65), and in addition, a setting item for selecting whether to limit access to a PJL command is also can be configured (paragraph 52) and furthermore, the communication protocols in the printer can be configured to allow or to restrict to be used for communicating with other device (Fig.6B), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the LAN communication via an another protocol (a second protocol) and to configure a setting to limit the PJL command accessing through the LAN via the said another protocol (a second protocol) such that the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) and the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) is not able to access to the PJL command to change its stored resolution value according to the received PJL command (on a second condition including: a condition that the PJL command is received via the first communication interface that is the LAN interface according to a second protocol different from the first protocol; and a condition that the PJL command is the value-change command, prohibiting execution of the changing the setting value according to the PJL command) because this will enhance the security between the communication between the printer and the host computer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination Yamada’145 and Kimura’977 to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the LAN communication via an another protocol (a second protocol) and to configure a setting to limit the PJL command accessing through the LAN via the said another protocol (a second protocol) such that the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) and the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) is not able to access to the PJL command to change its stored resolution value according to the received PJL command (on a second condition including: a condition that the PJL command is received via the first communication interface that is the LAN interface according to a second protocol different from the first protocol; and a condition that the PJL command is the value-change command, prohibiting execution of the changing the setting value according to the PJL command) because this will enhance the security between the communication between the printer and the host computer.
With respect to claim 3, which further limits claim 1, the combination Yamada’145 and Kimura’977 does not teach a second communication interface, wherein the computer is configured to further perform: on a third condition including: a condition that the PJL command is received via the second communication interface different from the LAN interface; and a condition that the PJL command is the value-change command, changing the setting value stored in the memory according to the PJL command.
Since Yamada’145 teaches that the host computer transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.5B), therefore, when the multi-function machine changes its resolution, the setting resolution stored in a memory of the multi-function machine is considered being changed and Kimura’977 teaches that the USB is one of the communication interface to enable the printer to communication with other devices when the USB is not being restricted (Fig.6B), and in addition, a setting item for selecting whether to limit access to a PJL command is also can be configured (paragraph 52) and furthermore, the communication protocols in the printer can be configured to allow or to restrict to be used for communicating with other device (Fig.6B), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the USB communication and to configure a setting not to limit the PJL command accessing through the USB communication such that the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) and the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) is able to access to the PJL command to change its stored resolution value according to the received PJL command (a second communication interface, wherein the computer is configured to further perform: on a third condition including: a condition that the PJL command is received via the second communication interface different from the LAN interface; and a condition that the PJL command is the value-change command, changing the setting value stored in the memory according to the PJL command) because this will enhance the security between the communication between the printer and the host computer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination Yamada’145 and Kimura’977 to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the USB communication and to configure a setting not to limit the PJL command accessing through the USB communication such that the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) and the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) is able to access to the PJL command to change its stored resolution value according to the received PJL command (a second communication interface, wherein the computer is configured to further perform: on a third condition including: a condition that the PJL command is received via the second communication interface different from the LAN interface; and a condition that the PJL command is the value-change command, changing the setting value stored in the memory according to the PJL command) because this will enhance the security between the communication between the printer and the host computer.
With respect to claim 4, which further limits claim 1, the combination Yamada’145 and Kimura’977 does not teach a Universal Serial Bus (USB) interface, wherein the computer is configured to further perform: on a third condition including: a condition that the PJL command is received via the USB interface; and a condition that the PJL command is the value-change command, changing the setting value stored in the memory according to the PJL command.
Since Yamada’145 teaches that the host computer transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.5B), therefore, when the multi-function machine changes its resolution, the setting resolution stored in a memory of the multi-function machine is considered being changed and Kimura’977 teaches that the USB is one of the communication interface to enable the printer to communication with other devices when the USB is not being restricted (Fig.6B), and in addition, a setting item for selecting whether to limit access to a PJL command is also can be configured (paragraph 52) and furthermore, the communication protocols in the printer can be configured to allow or to restrict to be used for communicating with other device (Fig.6B), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the USB communication and to configure a setting not to limit the PJL command accessing through the USB communication such that the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) and the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) is able to access to the PJL command to change its stored resolution value according to the received PJL command (a Universal Serial Bus (USB) interface, wherein the computer is configured to further perform: on a third condition including: a condition that the PJL command is received via the USB interface; and a condition that the PJL command is the value-change command, changing the setting value stored in the memory according to the PJL command) because this will enhance the security between the communication between the printer and the host computer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination Yamada’145 and Kimura’977 to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the USB communication and to configure a setting not to limit the PJL command accessing through the USB communication such that the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) and the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) is able to access to the PJL command to change its stored resolution value according to the received PJL command (a Universal Serial Bus (USB) interface, wherein the computer is configured to further perform: on a third condition including: a condition that the PJL command is received via the USB interface; and a condition that the PJL command is the value-change command, changing the setting value stored in the memory according to the PJL command) because this will enhance the security between the communication between the printer and the host computer.
With respect to claim 5, Yamada’145 teaches a printing device (Fig.1, item 10) comprising:
a first communication interface (Fig.1, item 30);
a memory (Fig.1, items 14, 16, 18 and 20); and
a computer (Fig.1, item 12).
Yamada’145 does not wherein the computer is configured to perform: on a first condition including: a condition that a printer job language (PJL) command is received via the first communication interface that is a local area network (LAN) interface according to a first protocol; and a condition that the PJL command is an initialization command to initialize a setting value stored in the memory for use in an operation with the computer, initializing the setting value stored in the memory according to the PJL command; and on a second condition including: a condition that the PJL command is received via the first communication interface that is the LAN interface according to a second protocol different from the first protocol; and a condition that the PJL command is the initialization command, prohibiting execution of the initializing the setting value according to the PJL command.
Kimura’977 teaches that according to the security policy, the LAN is being enable to accept communication while prohibit the wireless LAN communication (paragraph 65). In addition, a setting item for selecting whether to limit access to a PJL command is also can be configured (paragraph 52). Furthermore, the communication protocols in the printer can be configured to allow or to restrict to be used for communicating with other devices (Fig.6B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yamada’145 according to the teaching of Kimura’977 to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the LAN and to configure a setting not to limit the PJL command accessing through the LAN communication with a desired protocol (wherein the computer is configured to perform: on a first condition including: a condition that a printer job language (PJL) command is received via the first communication interface that is a local area network (LAN) interface according to a first protocol) because this will enhance the security between the communication between the printer and the host computer.
The combination Yamada’145 and Kimura’977 does not teach a condition that the PJL command is an initialization command to initialize a setting value stored in the memory for use in an operation with the computer, initializing the setting value stored in the memory according to the PJL command; and on a second condition including: a condition that the PJL command is received via the first communication interface that is the LAN interface according to a second protocol different from the first protocol; and a condition that the PJL command is the initialization command, prohibiting execution of the initializing the setting value according to the PJL command.
Since Yamada’145 teaches that the host computer transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.5B), therefore, when the multi-function machine changes its resolution, the setting resolution stored in a memory of the multi-function machine is considered being changed and Kimura’977 teaches that according to the security policy, the LAN is being enable to accept communication while prohibit the wireless LAN communication (paragraph 65), and in addition, a setting item for selecting whether to limit access to a PJL command is also can be configured (paragraph 52) and furthermore, the communication protocols in the printer can be configured to allow or to restrict to be used for communicating with other device (Fig.6B), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the LAN via a desired protocol (a first protocol) and to configure a setting not to limit the PJL command accessing through the LAN communication via a desired protocol (a first protocol) such that the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) and the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) changed its stored resolution value according to the received PJL command (a condition that the PJL command is an initialization command to initialize a setting value stored in the memory for use in an operation with the computer, initializing the setting value stored in the memory according to the PJL command) because this will enhance the security between the communication between the printer and the host computer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination Yamada’145 and Kimura’977 to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the LAN via a desired protocol (a first protocol) and to configure a setting not to limit the PJL command accessing through the LAN communication via a desired protocol (a first protocol) such that the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) and the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) changed its stored resolution value according to the received PJL command (a condition that the PJL command is an initialization command to initialize a setting value stored in the memory for use in an operation with the computer, initializing the setting value stored in the memory according to the PJL command) because this will enhance the security between the communication between the printer and the host computer.
In addition, since Yamada’145 teaches that the host computer transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.5B), therefore, when the multi-function machine changes its resolution, the setting resolution stored in a memory of the multi-function machine is considered being changed and Kimura’977 teaches that according to the security policy, the LAN is being enable to accept communication while prohibit the wireless LAN communication (paragraph 65), and in addition, a setting item for selecting whether to limit access to a PJL command is also can be configured (paragraph 52) and furthermore, the communication protocols in the printer can be configured to allow or to restrict to be used for communicating with other device (Fig.6B), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the LAN communication via an another protocol (a second protocol) and to configure a setting to limit the PJL command accessing through the LAN via the said another protocol (a second protocol) such that the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) and the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) is not able to access to the PJL command to change its stored resolution value according to the received PJL command (on a second condition including: a condition that the PJL command is received via the first communication interface that is the LAN interface according to a second protocol different from the first protocol; and a condition that the PJL command is the initialization command, prohibiting execution of the initializing the setting value according to the PJL command) because this will enhance the security between the communication between the printer and the host computer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination Yamada’145 and Kimura’977 to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the LAN communication via an another protocol (a second protocol) and to configure a setting to limit the PJL command accessing through the LAN via the said another protocol (a second protocol) such that the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) and the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) is not able to access to the PJL command to change its stored resolution value according to the received PJL command (on a second condition including: a condition that the PJL command is received via the first communication interface that is the LAN interface according to a second protocol different from the first protocol; and a condition that the PJL command is the initialization command, prohibiting execution of the initializing the setting value according to the PJL command) because this will enhance the security between the communication between the printer and the host computer.
With respect to claim 7, which further limits claim 5, the combination Yamada’145 and Kimura’977 does not teach a second communication interface, wherein the computer is configured to further perform: on a third condition including: a condition that the PJL command is received via the second communication interface different from the LAN interface; and a condition that the PJL command is the initialization command, initializing the setting value stored in the memory according to the PJL command.
Since Yamada’145 teaches that the host computer transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.5B), therefore, when the multi-function machine changes its resolution, the setting resolution stored in a memory of the multi-function machine is considered being changed and Kimura’977 teaches that the USB is one of the communication interface to enable the printer to communication with other devices when the USB is not being restricted (Fig.6B), and in addition, a setting item for selecting whether to limit access to a PJL command is also can be configured (paragraph 52) and furthermore, the communication protocols in the printer can be configured to allow or to restrict to be used for communicating with other device (Fig.6B), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the USB communication and to configure a setting not to limit the PJL command accessing through the USB communication such that the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) and the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) is able to access to the PJL command to change its stored resolution value according to the received PJL command (a second communication interface, wherein the computer is configured to further perform: on a third condition including: a condition that the PJL command is received via the second communication interface different from the LAN interface; and a condition that the PJL command is the value-change command, changing the setting value stored in the memory according to the PJL command) because this will enhance the security between the communication between the printer and the host computer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination Yamada’145 and Kimura’977 to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the USB communication and to configure a setting not to limit the PJL command accessing through the USB communication such that the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) and the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) is able to access to the PJL command to change its stored resolution value according to the received PJL command (a second communication interface, wherein the computer is configured to further perform: on a third condition including: a condition that the PJL command is received via the second communication interface different from the LAN interface; and a condition that the PJL command is the value-change command, changing the setting value stored in the memory according to the PJL command) because this will enhance the security between the communication between the printer and the host computer.
With respect to claim 8, which further limits claim 5, the combination Yamada’145 and Kimura’977 does not teach Universal Serial Bus (USB) interface, wherein the computer is configured to further perform: on a third condition including: a condition that the PJL command is received via the USB interface; and a condition that the PJL command is the initialization command, initializing the setting value stored in the memory according to the PJL command.
Since Yamada’145 teaches that the host computer transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.5B), therefore, when the multi-function machine changes its resolution, the setting resolution stored in a memory of the multi-function machine is considered being changed and Kimura’977 teaches that the USB is one of the communication interface to enable the printer to communication with other devices when the USB is not being restricted (Fig.6B), and in addition, a setting item for selecting whether to limit access to a PJL command is also can be configured (paragraph 52) and furthermore, the communication protocols in the printer can be configured to allow or to restrict to be used for communicating with other device (Fig.6B), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the USB communication and to configure a setting not to limit the PJL command accessing through the USB communication such that the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) and the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) is not able to access to the PJL command to change its stored resolution value according to the received PJL command (a Universal Serial Bus (USB) interface, wherein the computer is configured to further perform: on a third condition including: a condition that the PJL command is received via the USB interface; and a condition that the PJL command is the value-change command, changing the setting value stored in the memory according to the PJL command) because this will enhance the security between the communication between the printer and the host computer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination Yamada’145 and Kimura’977 to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the USB communication and to configure a setting not to limit the PJL command accessing through the USB communication such that the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) and the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) is not able to access to the PJL command to change its stored resolution value according to the received PJL command (a Universal Serial Bus (USB) interface, wherein the computer is configured to further perform: on a third condition including: a condition that the PJL command is received via the USB interface; and a condition that the PJL command is the value-change command, changing the setting value stored in the memory according to the PJL command) because this will enhance the security between the communication between the printer and the host computer.
Claims 9, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada’145 (US 2006/0095145), and further in view of Tomita’121 (US 2009/0317121) and Kimura’977 (US 2024/0045977),
With respect to claim 9, Yamada’145 teaches a printing device (Fig.1, item 10) comprising:
a first communication interface (Fig.1, item 30);
a memory (Fig.1, items 14, 16, 18 and 20); and
a computer (Fig.1, item 12).
Yamada’145 does not teach wherein the computer is configured to perform: on a first condition including that a printer job language (PJL) command that instructs the printing device to be taken offline is received via the first communication interface that is a local area network (LAN) interface according to a first protocol, an offline process to take the printing device offline according to the PJL command; and on a second condition including that the PJL command is received via the first communication interface that is the LAN interface according to a second protocol different from the first protocol, prohibiting execution of the offline process.
Tomita’121 teaches wherein the computer is configured to perform: on a first condition including that a printer job language (PJL) command that instructs the printing device to be taken offline is received via the first communication interface that is a local area network (LAN) interface according to a first protocol, an offline process to take the printing device offline according to the PJL command [the terminal apparatuses and the image forming apparatus are communicating using the LAN (paragraph 27). When the command “@PJL SET SLEEP=ON” (paragraph 63) is being received in the image forming apparatus, the image forming apparatus is considered being entered into sleep mode (paragraphs 66 and 87). Therefore, when the image forming apparatus is entered into the sleep mode after receiving the command “@PJL SET SLEEP=ON” from the terminal apparatuses through the LAN in a protocol (a first protocol), the image forming apparatus is considered being in the offline.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yamada’145 according to the teaching of Tomita’121 to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the LAN and to switch the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to the sleep mode according to the PJL command received from the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) because this will allow the multi-function machine to switch between the normal mode and the sleep mode more effectively.
The combination of Yamada’145 and Tomita’121 does not teach on a second condition including that the PJL command is received via the first communication interface that is the LAN interface according to a second protocol different from the first protocol, prohibiting execution of the offline process.
Kimura’977 teaches a setting item for selecting whether to limit access to a PJL command is also can be configured (paragraph 52). Furthermore, the communication protocols in the printer can be configured to allow or to restrict to be used for communicating with other devices (Fig.6B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yamada’145 and Tomita’121 according to the teaching of Kimura’977 to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the LAN communication via an another protocol (a second protocol) and to configure a setting to limit the PJL command accessing through the LAN via the said another protocol (a second protocol) such that the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) transmits the PJL command to switch the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) into a sleep mode and the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) is not able to access to the PJL command to switch into a sleep mode according to the received PJL command (on a second condition including that the PJL command is received via the first communication interface that is the LAN interface according to a second protocol different from the first protocol, prohibiting execution of the offline process) because this will enhance the security between the communication between the printer and the host computer.
With respect to claim 11, which further limits claim 9, the combination Yamada’145, Tomita’121 and Kimura’977 does not teach a second communication interface, wherein the computer is configured to further perform: on a third condition including a condition that the PJL command is received via the second communication interface different from the LAN interface, the offline process to take the printing device offline according to the PJL command.
Since Yamada’145 teaches that the host computer transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.5B), therefore, when the multi-function machine changes its resolution, the setting resolution stored in a memory of the multi-function machine is considered being changed, Tomita’121 teaches when the command “@PJL SET SLEEP=ON” (paragraph 63) is being received in the image forming apparatus, the image forming apparatus is considered being entered into sleep mode (paragraphs 66 and 87) and Kimura’977 teaches that the USB is one of the communication interface to enable the printer to communication with other devices when the USB is not being restricted (Fig.6B), and in addition, a setting item for selecting whether to limit access to a PJL command is also can be configured (paragraph 52) and furthermore, the communication protocols in the printer can be configured to allow or to restrict to be used for communicating with other device (Fig.6B), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the USB communication and to configure a setting not to limit the PJL command accessing through the USB communication such that the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) transmits the PJL command to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to be in a sleep mode and the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) is able to access to the PJL command to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) into sleep mode (a second communication interface, wherein the computer is configured to further perform: on a third condition including a condition that the PJL command is received via the second communication interface different from the LAN interface, the offline process to take the printing device offline according to the PJL command) because this will enhance the security between the communication between the printer and the host computer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination Yamada’145, Tomita’121 and Kimura’977 to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the USB communication and to configure a setting not to limit the PJL command accessing through the USB communication such that the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) transmits the PJL command to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to be in a sleep mode and the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) is able to access to the PJL command to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) into sleep mode (a second communication interface, wherein the computer is configured to further perform: on a third condition including a condition that the PJL command is received via the second communication interface different from the LAN interface, the offline process to take the printing device offline according to the PJL command) because this will enhance the security between the communication between the printer and the host computer.
With respect to claim 12, which further limits claim 9, the combination Yamada’145, Tomita’121 and Kimura’977 does not teach a Universal Serial Bus (USB) interface, wherein the computer is configured to further perform: on a third condition including a condition that the PJL command is received via the USB interface, the offline process to take the printing device offline according to the PJL command.
Since Yamada’145 teaches that the host computer transmits the resolution change PJL command to the multi-function machine (Fig.5B), therefore, when the multi-function machine changes its resolution, the setting resolution stored in a memory of the multi-function machine is considered being changed, Tomita’121 teaches when the command “@PJL SET SLEEP=ON” (paragraph 63) is being received in the image forming apparatus, the image forming apparatus is considered being entered into sleep mode (paragraphs 66 and 87) and Kimura’977 teaches that the USB is one of the communication interface to enable the printer to communication with other devices when the USB is not being restricted (Fig.6B), and in addition, a setting item for selecting whether to limit access to a PJL command is also can be configured (paragraph 52) and furthermore, the communication protocols in the printer can be configured to allow or to restrict to be used for communicating with other device (Fig.6B), therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the USB communication and to configure a setting not to limit the PJL command accessing through the USB communication such that the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) transmits the PJL command to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to be in a sleep mode and the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) is able to access to the PJL command to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) into sleep mode (a Universal Serial Bus (USB) interface, wherein the computer is configured to further perform: on a third condition including a condition that the PJL command is received via the USB interface, the offline process to take the printing device offline according to the PJL command) because this will enhance the security between the communication between the printer and the host computer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination Yamada’145, Tomita’121 and Kimura’977 to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to communicate with the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) using the USB communication and to configure a setting not to limit the PJL command accessing through the USB communication such that the host computer (Fig.1, item 50 in Yamada’145) transmits the PJL command to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) to be in a sleep mode and the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) is able to access to the PJL command to enable the multi-function machine (Fig.1, item 10 in Yamada’145) into sleep mode (a Universal Serial Bus (USB) interface, wherein the computer is configured to further perform: on a third condition including a condition that the PJL command is received via the USB interface, the offline process to take the printing device offline according to the PJL command) because this will enhance the security between the communication between the printer and the host computer.
Claim objection
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1 because the prior art of record does not teach “wherein the computer is configured to further perform: on a third condition including: a condition that the PJL command is received via the first communication interface according to the second protocol; a condition that the PJL command is the value-change command; and a condition that the setting value stored in the memory indicates that a security mode is disabled, changing the setting value stored in the memory according to the PJL command, wherein the computer is configured to perform, on the second condition that further includes a condition that the setting value stored in the memory indicates that the security mode is enabled, prohibiting execution of the changing the setting value according to the PJL command.” Claim 2 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 5 because the prior art of record does not teach “wherein the computer is configured to further perform: on a third condition including: a condition that the PJL command is received via the first communication interface according to the second protocol; a condition that the PJL command is the initialization command; and a condition that the setting value stored in the memory indicates that a security mode is disabled, initializing the setting value according to the PJL command , wherein the computer is configured to perform, on the second condition that further includes a condition that the setting value stored in the memory indicates that the security mode is enabled, prohibiting execution of the initializing the setting value according to the PJL command.” Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 9 because the prior art of record does not teach “wherein the computer is configured to further perform: on a third condition including: a condition that the PJL command is received via the first communication interface according to the second protocol; and a condition that a setting value stored in the memory indicates that a security mode is disabled, the offline process to take the printing device offline according to the PJL command, wherein the computer is configured to perform, on the second condition that further includes a condition that the setting value stored in the memory indicates that the security mode is enabled, prohibiting execution of the offline process.” Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HUO LONG CHEN whose telephone number is (571)270-3759. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9am - 5pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tieu, Benny can be reached on (571) 272-7490. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUO LONG CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682