DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “…a width of each of the plurality of recessed portions is increased with increase in a distance from a center of the first transmission path to each of the plurality of recessed portions.” The limitation is indefinite because it is unclear how the increase in distance from a center of the first transmission path to each of the plurality of recessed portions requirement is met for an arrangement of recessed portions spaced around the opening of the transmission path. For example, it is unclear which recessed portions are increased around the opening and how they are increased relative to the width of the recessed portions. A skilled artisan would not appropriately be able to determine the ‘metes and bounds’ of the limitation.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the opening". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takemoto (US 20230187803 A1).
Claim 1: Takemoto teaches a transmission device for transmitting an electromagnetic wave, comprising: a first transmission member (e.g., see 20 in FIG. 1) having a first transmission path (e.g., through 21); and a second transmission member (e.g., see 10) having a second transmission path (e.g., through 11), wherein the first transmission path is a passage that has an opening on one surface of the first transmission member (e.g., see 20a), the first transmission member and the second transmission member are disposed in such a manner that the second transmission path faces the one surface of the first transmission member with a gap (e.g., see gap g in FIG. 4) between the second transmission member and the one surface of the first transmission member (e.g., as shown), and the first transmission member has at least one recessed portion (e.g., see 25 and/or 25a-25d in FIGS 1-4) that has an opening at a location away from the first transmission path on the one surface (e.g., as shown).
Claim 2: Takemoto teaches the transmission device according to claim 1, wherein the first transmission path is configured to transmit the electromagnetic wave in a fundamental mode.
Claim 3: Takemoto teaches the transmission device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one recessed portion has a shape extending along equiphase surfaces of an electric field spreading from the first transmission path as a center (e.g., see Para. 44, 57-59).
Claim 4: Takemoto teaches the transmission device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one recessed portion includes two recessed portions (e.g., see 25a-25b in FIGS. 3A-3B or 25c-25d in FIG. 3B) respectively disposed on both sides with respect to the first transmission path.
Claim 5: Takemoto teaches the transmission device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one recessed portion includes a plurality of recessed portions disposed on one side with respect to the first transmission path (e.g. see 25a-25d including three on each side of the opening 21 relative to a half of 21 dividing 21 into two sides), and a width of each of the plurality of recessed portions is increased with increase in a distance from a center of the first transmission path to each of the plurality of recessed portions (the width of the recessed portions 25, 25a-d expanding outward as best understood).
Claim 6: Takemoto teaches the transmission device according to claim 1, wherein the opening of the at least one recessed portion has a predetermined width on the one surface (e.g., wherein the opening of 25, 25a-d is a predetermined width).
Claim 7: Takemoto teaches the transmission device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one recessed portion has a predetermined depth in a normal direction of the one surface (e.g., see depth of 25c, 25d shown in FIG. 4 being a quarter wavelength).
Claim 8: Takemoto teaches the transmission device according to claim 1, wherein a depth of the at least one recessed portion is set to be equal to or greater than λ/4+N·λ/2 and equal to or less than (N+1)λ/2, where λ is a wavelength of the electromagnetic wave transmitted by the first transmission path, and N is an integer equal to or greater than 0 (e.g., wherein Takemoto teaches 25, 25a-d is in a range of 0.2 to 0.3 wavelength, see Para. 42, which falls within the range of 0.25 to 0.5 wavelength for N=0).
Claim 9: Takemoto teaches the transmission device according to claim 8, wherein the depth of the at least one recessed portion is set to λ/4+N·λ/2 (e.g., wherein Takemoto teaches the depth of 25, 25a-d, is .25 wavelength for N=0).
Claim 10: Takemoto teaches the transmission device according to claim 1, wherein the opening of the first transmission path has a shape having a longitudinal direction and a lateral direction that are perpendicular to each other (e.g., see FIG. 3A), and the opening of the at least one recessed portion (e.g., see 25a, 25b) has a shape that is symmetrical with respect to a straight line that passes through a center of the opening of the first transmission path and is parallel to the lateral direction (e.g., as shown).
Claim 11: Takemoto teaches the transmission device according to claim 1, wherein the opening of the at least one recessed portion is shaped as an arc (e.g., see arc shape of 25, 25a-d).
Claim 12: Takemoto teaches the transmission device according to claim 11, wherein the opening of the first transmission path has a shape having a longitudinal direction and a lateral direction that are perpendicular to each other (e.g., as shown in FIG. 3A), and the arc that forms the opening of the at least one recessed portion (e.g., see 25a, 25b) has a center on a straight line that passes through a center of the opening of the first transmission path and is parallel to the lateral direction (e.g., as shown).
Claim 13: Takemoto teaches the transmission device according to claim 12, wherein the center of the arc that forms the opening of the at least one recessed portion is located at a position different from the center of the opening of the first transmission path (e.g., as shown in FIG. 3A).
Conclusion
/AMAL PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845