DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim appears to contain a typographical error, reciting “polyester resin (10)” where “polyester resin (1)” is likely meant. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okazaki et al (US PGP 2023/0288824).
Okazaki teaches a photoreceptor including at least a conductive substrate and a photosensitive layer, wherein the photosensitive layer comprises a charge generation layer and a charge transport layer (Abstract). The charge transport layer comprises a charge transport material and a polyester resin.
The polyester resin has at least a dicarboxylic acid unit (A) and a diol unit (B) ([0115]). One example of a dicarboxylic acid unit pointed out by Okazaki is a unit according to a formula (A2-3) ([0153]), which is the same as instant dicarboxylic acid unit (A2-3), and which reads on instant formula (A). One example of a diol unit pointed out by Okazaki is a unit according to a formula (B1-4) ([0236]), which is the same as instant diol unit (B1-4), and which reads on instant formula (B).
Okazaki teaches that the polyester of the charge transport layer preferably has a weight-average molecular weight (Mw) of 70,000 – 400,000 ([0064]), overlapping the range stated in Claim 1. The polyester resin possesses a structure represented by a Formula (1) at the terminal ([0091]), which may be introduced to the chain during production of the polyester as a molecular weight adjusting agent ([0103]). Examples of monohydric alcohol terminal sealing agents are given, including 2,3,5-trimethylphenol ([0105]). Okazaki teaches that the terminal sealing ratio is preferably 60% by mole or greater, which improves abrasion resistance of the photosensitive layer ([0110]).
While Okazaki does not appear to teach a preferred value for the ratio Mw/Mn (where Mw is the weight-average molecular weight of the polyester, and Mn is the number-average molecular weight of the polyester), one of ordinary skill in the art, in preparing the photoreceptor of Okazaki, would have been motivated to vary the terminal sealing ratio of the polyester of the charge transport layer with the aim of improving the abrasion resistance of the photosensitive layer. Where the number-average molecular weight (Mn) of the polyester is affected by the amount of terminal sealing agent introduced in the production of polyester, the value of Mn of the polyester would vary concomitantly with the terminal sealing ratio. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to prepare the photoreceptor taught by Okazaki, and to vary the terminal sealing ratio, resulting in variation in the value of Mn such that the value of the ratio Mw/Mn lies in the range stated in Claim 1.
As discussed above, in varying the terminal sealing ratio of the polyester resin, the value of Mn of the polyester resin taught by Okazaki would vary such that the value of the ratio Mw/Mn would lie in the ranges stated in Claim 2 and Claim 3.
As discussed above, Okazaki teaches that the polyester of the charge transport layer preferably has a weight-average molecular weight (Mw) of 70,000 – 400,000, encompassing the range stated in Claim 4.
Okazaki teaches that the value of the ratio M1/M2 (where M1 is the mass of charge transport material contained in the charge transport layer, and M2 is the mass of the whole charge transport layer) may lie in the range 0.28 – 0.55 ([0070]), which helps to retain the electrical properties and abrasion resistance of the photosensitive layer ([0072], [0073]). Where the value of Mw/Mn of the polyester in the charge transport layer of Okazaki may be in the range of roughly 4 – 5 (see above), the value of (Mw/Mn) x (M1/M2) may lie in the range of roughly 1.12 – 2.75, overlapping the range stated in Claim 5.
4
*
0.28
=
1.12
5
*
0.55
=
2.75
As mentioned above, Okazaki teaches an example dicarboxylic acid unit (A2-3), reading on instant formula (A2) and satisfying Claim 6 and Claim 7.
As mentioned above, Okazaki teaches an example diol unit (B1-4), reading on instant formula (B1) and satisfying Claim 8 and Claim 9.
Okazaki teaches that the photoreceptor may also have a single layer type photosensitive layer ([0029], [0351]). The single layer photosensitive layer contains the same polyester described above ([0352]), satisfying Claim 10.
As discussed above, in varying the terminal sealing ratio of the polyester resin, the value of Mn of the polyester resin taught by Okazaki would vary such that the value of the ratio Mw/Mn would lie in the ranges stated in Claim 11 and Claim 12.
As discussed above, Okazaki teaches that the polyester of the charge transport layer preferably has a weight-average molecular weight (Mw) of 70,000 – 400,000, encompassing the range stated in Claim 13.
As discussed above, where Okazaki teaches a preferred range for M1/M2 of 0.28 – 0.55, and where the value of Mw/Mn of the polyester taught by Okazaki may lie roughly in the range of 4 - 5, the value of (Mw/Mn) x (M1/M2) may lie in the range of roughly 1.12 – 2.75, overlapping the range stated in Claim 14.
As mentioned above, Okazaki teaches an example dicarboxylic acid unit (A2-3), reading on instant formula (A2) and satisfying Claim 15 and Claim 16.
As mentioned above, Okazaki teaches an example diol unit (B1-4), reading on instant formula (B1) and satisfying Claim 17 and Claim 18.
Okazaki teaches a process cartridge including at least the photoreceptor described above, and which is attachable to and detachable from an image forming apparatus, satisfying Claim 19.
Okazaki teaches an image forming apparatus including at least the photoreceptor described above; a charging unit; an image forming unit; a developing unit; and a transfer unit, satisfying Claim 20.
Conclusion
/GRANT STEVEN SEILER/Examiner, Art Unit 1734
/PETER L VAJDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 09/15/2026