DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basu Mallick 20230147127 in view of Kim 20190069220.
As to claim 1, Basu Mallick discloses an electronic device [110] comprising:
circuitry [425] configured to receive an indicator of random-access resources [RACH parameters] in essential system information broadcasted [220] from a network [105] (see par. 0034, 0046);
transmit an on-demand system information request to the network [225], wherein the on-demand system information request is transmitted in first random access resource of the indicated random access resources, and the first random access resource includes a random-access preamble [The mobile device 110 may transmit a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) preamble in a specific PRACH resource specific to a System Information Block (SIB) or set of SIBs (called SI message) which the mobile device 110 wants to obtain.] (see par. 0035, 0043, 0046); and
receive a Random-Access Response (RAR) [230] comprising a Random-Access Preamble Identifier (RAPID) corresponding to the transmitted random-access preamble (see par. 0046, claims 3 and 4),
wherein the indicated random access resources in the essential system information are respectively mapped to system information blocks (SIBs) which are not included in the essential system information [The minimum SI indicates whether a specific SIB is periodically broadcasted or provided on-demand.] (see fig. 3A and 3B; par. 0034). The priority document does not explicitly disclose a Random-Access Preamble Identifier. In an analogous art, Kim discloses receive a Random-Access Response (RAR) comprising a Random-Access Preamble Identifier (RAPID) corresponding to the transmitted random-access preamble (see par. 0081). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to include random access response information for one or more UEs with a random-access preamble ID to indicate a UE for which a UL grant, a temporary C-RNTI, and a TAC are valid; thereby, avoiding communication errors (see par. 0081).
As to claim 2, Basu Mallick discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device is a user equipment (UE) configured to communicate with a wireless network (see fig. 1A; par. 0033).
As to claim 3, Basu Mallick discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the network is a wireless network comprising a gNodeB (see fig. 1A; par. 0033).
As to claim 4, Basu Mallick discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the network is a New Radio Access Technology (NR) wireless communication network (first line provisional application 62/519,648).
As to claim 5, Basu Mallick discloses the electronic device of claim 3, wherein the SIBs that are not included in the essential system information are included in on-demand system information [The mobile device 110 may transmit a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) preamble in a specific PRACH resource specific to a System Information Block (SIB) or set of SIBs (called SI message) which the mobile device 110 wants to obtain.] (see par. 0035, 0043, 0046).
As to claims 6-8, Basu Mallick discloses the electronic device of claim 5, wherein the random-access response comprising the Random Access Preamble Identifier (RAPID) indicates that a first SIB corresponding to the first random access resource will be broadcasted; wherein the first SIB is included in the SIBs which are not included in the essential system information; wherein the indicated random access resources in the essential system information are respectively reserved for the SIBs which are not included in the essential system information. [The minimum SI indicates whether a specific SIB is periodically broadcasted or provided on-demand.] (see fig. 3A and 3B; par. 0034-0035, 0043, 0046). The priority document does not explicitly disclose a Random-Access Preamble Identifier. In an analogous art, Kim discloses receive a Random-Access Response (RAR) comprising a Random-Access Preamble Identifier (RAPID) corresponding to the transmitted random-access preamble (see par. 0081). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to include random access response information for one or more UEs with a random-access preamble ID to indicate a UE for which a UL grant, a temporary C-RNTI, and a TAC are valid; thereby, avoiding communication errors (see par. 0081).
Regarding claims 9-16, they are the corresponding gNodeB claims of UE claims 1-8. Thereby, claims 9-16 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Regarding claims 17-18, they are the corresponding method claims of device claims 1 and 9. Thereby, claims 17-18 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Conclusion
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647