DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made that claims 1, 8-9, 12, 15 and 17-18 are amended. Claims 1-19 are pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on 2/9/2026 have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1, 12 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go et al. (US 2023/0095760), hereinafter Go in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 2022/0239528), hereinafter Yamamoto.
Claim 1 has been amended with the following features:
“wherein at least one server data packet of the one or more server data packets comprises a number sequence of end node data packets that are usable within the in-vehicle network, and wherein the end node data packets are of an end node packet size smaller than a server data packet payload and corresponding to a payload size constraint of the in-vehicle network; and
forward the number sequence of end node data packets to the in-vehicle network without processing by the relay.” (Emphasis added)
Claim 12 has been amended with similar features.
On page 8 of the Remarks, Applicant argues prior art of record fails to teach the amended features recited in the independent claims. Applicant’s argument is persuasive, therefore, a new ground of rejection is made in light of the amendment.
Dependent claims
Applicant argues these claims conditionally based on the argument presented to their parent claim. Applicant’s argument is persuasive, therefore, a new ground of rejection is made in light of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-12 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go et al. (US 2023/0095760), hereinafter Go in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 2022/0239528), hereinafter Yamamoto further in view of Fang et al. (US 2021/0092018), hereinafter Fang.
As for claim 1, Go teaches a relay (Fig. 2, On-Vehicle Communication Device 2; paragraph [0012] describes an on-vehicle relay device), comprising:
one or more memories (paragraph [0038] describes a storage which composes of memory devices); and
one or more processors (paragraph [0037] describes a CPU), coupled to the one or more memories (paragraph [0037] describes the CPU reads and executes programs and data stored in the storage), configured to:
receive, from a server participating in a server network type, one or more server data packets (paragraph [0030] describes the on-vehicle relay device receives data (e.g. an update program) from the external server),
wherein the relay is configured to be coupled to the server (Fig. 1; paragraph [0028] describes the on-vehicle relay device communicates with an external server),
wherein the relay is configured to be coupled to an in-vehicle network of an in-vehicle network type different from the server network type (Fig. 1; paragraph [0028] describes the on-vehicle relay device is mounted on a vehicle; paragraph [0032] describes the on-vehicle relay device is communicably connected to the on-vehicle ECUs through communication lines in compliance with a communication protocol and an in-vehicle LAN),
Go fails to teach
wherein at least one server data packet of the one or more server data packets comprises a sequence of end node data packets that are usable within the in-vehicle network; and
wherein an end node data packets are of an end node packet size smaller than a server data packet payload and corresponding to a payload size constraint of the in-vehicle network; and
forward the sequence of end node data packets to the in-vehicle network without processing by the relay.
Yamamoto discloses
wherein the end node data packets are of an end node packet size smaller than a server data packet payload (paragraphs [0086] and [0089] describe a TCU being an example of the in-vehicle ECU 111, 112 and when the TCU receives the radio signal including the IP packet from a server, the TCU acquires the IP packet, stores the acquired IP packet into an Ethernet frame, and transmits the Ethernet frame to a relay device; paragraphs [0197]-[0201] and [0297] describes the relay device changes the size (4 byte value) of an element E2 of the function unit information F2 to a data size (1 byte value) of an element E1 being an element of the function unit information F1); and
forward the number of end node data packets to the in-vehicle network (paragraphs [0273]-[0275] describe the relay device generates configuration information of a new network on the basis of each piece of function unit information F1 and each piece of function unit information F2 that are registered in a database and notifies another relay device and other in-vehicle ECUs of the setting contents).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Yamamoto for reducing the size of data packet. The teachings of Yamamoto, when implemented in the Go system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art reduce the amount of bandwidth a vehicle uses to process data packets transmitted from a server. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Yamamoto in the Go system in order to enable in-vehicle components to process server data faster and consume less network resources to process the server data.
The combined system of Go and Yamamoto fails to teach
wherein at least one server data packet of the one or more server data packets comprises a sequence of end node data packets that are usable within the in-vehicle network; and
wherein an end node data packets are of an end node packet size corresponding to a payload size constraint of the in-vehicle network; and
wherein the sequence of end node data packets are forwarded without processing by the relay.
Fang discloses
wherein at least one server data packet of the one or more server data packets comprises a sequence of end node data packets that are usable within the in-vehicle network (paragraph [0153] describes a message sequence is received and a down-sampling operation is performed to match a receiving end point data rate, to manage bandwidth on a network of a vehicle and for extra vehicle communications); and
wherein an end node data packets are of an end node packet size corresponding to a payload size constraint of the in-vehicle network (Fig. 4, paragraph [0105] describes a converged network device (CND) interposing between a first network and a second network and including embodiments wherein the CND passes communications between the networks; paragraph [0126] describes the CND having a first network gateway device and a second network gateway device; paragraph [0153] describes an operation to down-sample a sequence of messages, the down-sampling operation is performed to match a receiving end point data rate, to provide the data represented by the messages at a scheduled rate, to manage bandwidth on a network of the vehicle); and
wherein the sequence of end node data packets are forwarded without processing by the relay (paragraphs [0153] and [0156] describe a down-sampled sequence of messages are sent and the messages may be removed, deleted from a cache and translation of the messages is additional operation and the down-sampling is performed before translation operations).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Fang for down-sampling a sequence of data packets. The teachings of Fang, when implemented in the Go and Yamamoto system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to reduce in network utilization while providing sufficient data for devices and procedures to perform the intended functions. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Fang in the Go and Yamamoto system in order to allow for a progressive updating of communication aspects (e.g., components, devices, procedures, and operations each communicatively interacting with a network and other components, devices, procedures and operations) of a mobile application having a mixed network configuration and a mix of legacy communication aspects with updated communication aspects (Fang: paragraph [0156]).
As for claim 9, the combined system of Go, Yamamoto and Fang teaches wherein a sequence of end node data packets are forwarded to an end node that is within the in-vehicle network (Fang: paragraph [0153] describes the communication of a down-sampled sequence of messages to a different network of the vehicle).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Fang for forwarding a sequence of data packets. The teachings of Fang, when implemented in the Go and Yamamoto system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to reduce in network utilization while providing sufficient data for devices and procedures to perform the intended functions. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Fang in the Go and Yamamoto system in order to allow for a progressive updating of communication aspects (e.g., components, devices, procedures, and operations each communicatively interacting with a network and other components, devices, procedures and operations) of a mobile application having a mixed network configuration and a mix of legacy communication aspects with updated communication aspects (Fang: paragraph [0156]).
As for claim 10, the combined system of Go, Yamamoto, Fang teaches wherein the relay and the end node are located within a vehicle (Fang: Fig. 12; paragraph [0145] describes the CDN and endpoints located in a vehicle).
ne of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Fang for forwarding a sequence of data packets. The teachings of Fang, when implemented in the Go and Yamamoto system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to reduce in network utilization while providing sufficient data for devices and procedures to perform the intended functions. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Fang in the Go and Yamamoto system in order to allow for a progressive updating of communication aspects (e.g., components, devices, procedures, and operations each communicatively interacting with a network and other components, devices, procedures and operations) of a mobile application having a mixed network configuration and a mix of legacy communication aspects with updated communication aspects (Fang: paragraph [0156]).
As for claim 11, the combined system of Go, Yamamoto and Fang teaches wherein the server is located outside of the vehicle and in communication with a plurality of vehicles (Go: paragraph [0167] describes the server is outside the vehicle).
As for claim 12, Go teaches a method, comprising:
coupling, by a relay, to a server network (Fig. 1; paragraph [0028] describes the on-vehicle relay device communicates with an external server);
coupling, by the relay, to an in-vehicle network (Fig. 1; paragraph [0028] describes the on-vehicle relay device is mounted on a vehicle; paragraph [0032] describes the on-vehicle relay device is communicably connected to the on-vehicle ECUs through communication lines in compliance with a communication protocol and an in-vehicle LAN;
receiving, by the relay, one or more server data packets (paragraph [0030] describes the on-vehicle relay device receives data (e.g. an update program) from the external server),
wherein at least one server data packet of the one or more server data packets comprises a number of end node data packets that are usable within the in-vehicle network (paragraph [0044] describes a control program is a program executed in a state where an update processing program is not executed a performs relaying of communications between the external server and the on-vehicle ECU 3).
Go fails to teach
wherein an end node data packet of the number of end node data packets is an end node packet size smaller than a server data packet payload and corresponding to a payload size constraint of the in-vehicle network; and
forwarding, by the relay, the end node data packets to the in-vehicle network without processing.
Yamamoto discloses
wherein an end node data packet of the number of end node data packets is an end node packet size smaller than a server data packet payload (paragraphs [0086] and [0089] describe a TCU being an example of the in-vehicle ECU 111, 112 and when the TCU receives the radio signal including the IP packet from a server, the TCU acquires the IP packet, stores the acquired IP packet into an Ethernet frame, and transmits the Ethernet frame to a relay device; paragraphs [0197]-[0201] and [0297] describes the relay device changes the size (4 byte value) of an element E2 of the function unit information F2 to a data size (1 byte value) of an element E1 being an element of the function unit information F1); and
forwarding, by the relay, the end node data packet to the in-vehicle network ((paragraphs [0273]-[0275] describe the relay device generates configuration information of a new network on the basis of each piece of function unit information F1 and each piece of function unit information F2 that are registered in a database and notifies another relay device and other in-vehicle ECUs of the setting contents).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Yamamoto for reducing the size of data packet. The teachings of Yamamoto, when implemented in the Go system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art reduce the amount of bandwidth a vehicle uses to process data packets transmitted from a server. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Yamamoto in the Go system in order to enable in-vehicle components to process server data faster and consume less network resources to process the server data).
The combined system of Go and Yamamoto fails to teach
wherein at least one server data packet of the one or more server data packets comprises a sequence of end node data packets that are usable within the in-vehicle network; and
wherein an end node data packets are of an end node packet size corresponding to a payload size constraint of the in-vehicle network; and
wherein the sequence of end node data packets are forwarded without processing.
Fang discloses
wherein at least one server data packet of the one or more server data packets comprises a sequence of end node data packets that are usable within the in-vehicle network (paragraph [0153] describes a message sequence is received and a down-sampling operation is performed to match a receiving end point data rate, to manage bandwidth on a network of a vehicle and for extra vehicle communications); and
wherein an end node data packets are of an end node packet size corresponding to a payload size constraint of the in-vehicle network (Fig. 4, paragraph [0105] describes a converged network device (CND) interposing between a first network and a second network and including embodiments wherein the CND passes communications between the networks; paragraph [0126] describes the CND having a first network gateway device and a second network gateway device; paragraph [0153] describes an operation to down-sample a sequence of messages, the down-sampling operation is performed to match a receiving end point data rate, to provide the data represented by the messages at a scheduled rate, to manage bandwidth on a network of the vehicle); and
wherein the sequence of end node data packets are forwarded without processing (paragraphs [0153] and [0156] describe a down-sampled sequence of messages are sent and the messages may be removed, deleted from a cache and translation of the messages is additional operation and the down-sampling is performed before translation operations).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Fang for down-sampling a sequence of data packets. The teachings of Fang, when implemented in the Go and Yamamoto system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to reduce in network utilization while providing sufficient data for devices and procedures to perform the intended functions. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Fang in the Go and Yamamoto system in order to allow for a progressive updating of communication aspects (e.g., components, devices, procedures, and operations each communicatively interacting with a network and other components, devices, procedures and operations) of a mobile application having a mixed network configuration and a mix of legacy communication aspects with updated communication aspects (Fang: paragraph [0156]).
As for claim 18, the combined system of Go, Yamamoto and Fang teaches wherein the sequence of end node data packets is forwarded to an end node that is within the in-vehicle network (Fang: paragraph [0158] describes the sequence of messages is communicated, to a different network of the vehicle from which the first sequence of messages is received).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Fang for down-sampling a sequence of data packets. The teachings of Fang, when implemented in the Go and Yamamoto system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to reduce in network utilization while providing sufficient data for devices and procedures to perform the intended functions. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Fang in the Go and Yamamoto system in order to allow for a progressive updating of communication aspects (e.g., components, devices, procedures, and operations each communicatively interacting with a network and other components, devices, procedures and operations) of a mobile application having a mixed network configuration and a mix of legacy communication aspects with updated communication aspects (Fang: paragraph [0156]).
As for claim 19, the combined system of Go, Yamamoto and Fang teaches wherein the relay and the end node are located within a vehicle (Go: paragraph [0034] describes the relay device relays packets between function units mounted on a vehicle).
As for claim 20, the combined system of Go, Yamamoto and Fang teaches wherein the one or more server data packets are received from a server that is within the server network and that is located outside of the vehicle (Yamamoto: Fig. 1, Server 180; paragraphs [0088]-[0089] describe the in-vehicle TCU receives IP packet from the server).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Yamamoto for reducing the size of data packet. The teachings of Yamamoto, when implemented in the Go and Fang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art reduce the amount of bandwidth a vehicle uses to process data packets transmitted from a server. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Yamamoto in the Go and Fang system in order to enable in-vehicle components to process server data faster and consume less network resources to process the server data).
Claims 2-4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go (US 2023/0095760) in view of Yamamoto (US 2022/0239528) and Fang (US 2021/0092018) further in view of Dubin et al. (US 11,741,760), hereinafter Dubin.
As for claim 2, the combined system of Go, Yamamoto and Fang teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive one or more node data packets from the in-vehicle network (Yamamoto: paragraph [0086] and [0091] describe a TCU as representation of the in-vehicle ECUs communicates with the server by using an IP packet).
The combined system of Go, Yamamoto and Fang fails to teach
group one or more node data packets into individual server data packets; and
forward the individual server data packets to a server network type.
Dubin discloses
group one or more node data packets into individual server data packets (Fig. 4A; col. 21, lines 33-40 describe a vehicle gateway receives raw vehicle data using a particular protocol; col. 21, lines 64 and col. 22, lines 1-6 describe the vehicle gateway decodes the raw data in a particular data format; col.23, lines 17-21, col. 23, lines 50-53 and col. 24, lines 25-30 describe a vehicle gateway buckets vehicle metric data into category of bucket, each bucket is for a particular metric; col. 24, lines 31-35 describe the vehicle gateway aggregates the vehicle metrics into the corresponding vehicle metric buckets to generate aggregated bucketed vehicle metric data; col. 25, lines 65 describe the vehicle gateway transmits the aggregated bucketed vehicle metric data to a server); and
forward the individual server data packets to a server network type (col. 26, lines 1-9 describe the vehicle gateway transmits any of the aggregated bucketed data relating to the different types of metric data (e.g. cruise control use, coasting, accelerator pedal use, battery state etc.,) to the server).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Dubin for aggregating vehicle metric data. The teachings of Dubin, when implemented in the Go, Yamamoto and Fang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to provide vehicle metric data to a server. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Dubin in the Go, Yamamoto and Fang system in order to enable a server to determine temporal characteristics of a plurality of physical assets (e.g. malfunction of a sensor) based on the sensor data.
As for claim 3, the combined system of Go, Yamamoto, Fang and Dubin teaches wherein the one or more node data packets are grouped into the individual server data packets such that the one or more node data packets within the individual server data packets are for forwarding to the server (Dubin: col. 23, lines 9-21, col. 23, lines 50-53 and col. 24, lines 25-30 describe a vehicle gateway buckets vehicle metric data into category of bucket, each bucket is for a particular metric; col. 24, lines 31-35 describe the vehicle gateway aggregates the vehicle metrics into the corresponding vehicle metric buckets to generate aggregated bucketed vehicle metric data. The aggregated bucketed vehicle metric data is transmitted to the server).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Dubin for aggregating vehicle metric data. The teachings of Dubin, when implemented in the Go, Yamamoto and Fang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to provide vehicle metric data to a server. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Dubin in the Go, Yamamoto and Fang system in order to enable a server to determine temporal characteristics of a plurality of physical assets (e.g. malfunction of a sensor) based on the sensor data.
As for claim 4, the combined system of Go, Yamamoto, Fang and Dubin teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to (Fig. 3; Processor(s) 322; col. 19, lines 28-34 describe the vehicle gateway includes processors that execute instructions to perform functions):
recognize a node error message or a node control message within the one or more node data packets (Dubin: col. 23, lines 60 and col. 24, lines 1-4 describe buckets for coasting can include a coasting true bucket and a coasting false bucket. The vehicle gateway determines whether coasting is true or false based on a number of vehicle parameters, such as engine torque, vehicle speed, brake pedal engagement); and
recognize a server error message or a server control message within the individual server data packets (Dubin: col. 24, lines 7-18 describe buckets can characterize the state of a vehicle over a period of times at respective timestamps of the vehicle. For example, buckets for idling can include a first bucket for idling true, and a second bucket for idling false; col. 26, lines 1-9 describe the vehicle gateway transmits any of the aggregated bucketed data relating to idling, battery state, anticipation etc., to the vehicle).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Dubin for aggregating vehicle metric data. The teachings of Dubin, when implemented in the Go, Yamamoto and Fang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to provide vehicle metric data to a server. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Dubin in the Go, Yamamoto and Fang system in order to enable a server to determine temporal characteristics of a plurality of physical assets (e.g. malfunction of a sensor) based on the sensor data.
As for claim 13, the claim recites the same limitations as claim 2 but in a method claim. Therefore, the rejection of claim 2 is equally applied to claim 13.
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go et al. (US 2023/0095760), hereinafter Go in view of Yamamoto (US 2022/0239528) and Fang (US 2021/0092018) further in view of Carofiglio et al. (US 2024/0283564), hereinafter Carofiglio.
As for claim 5, the combined system of Go, Yamamoto and Fang fails to teach wherein one or more processors are further configured to:
recognize a node error message, indicating an error with at least one faulty end node data package, within the in-vehicle network; and
transmit a server resend request, including the node error message, to the server network type.
Carofiglio discloses
wherein one or more processors are further configured to (paragraph [0014] describes processors that execute instructions to perform functions):
recognize a node error message (paragraph [0028] describes an edge relay device checks on sequence numbers of the received data packets to determine whether any data packets were lost on a second hop), indicating an error with at least one faulty end node data package, within the in-vehicle network (paragraph [0021] describes client devices include IoT devices that belong to vehicles; paragraph [0028] describes the edge relay device reports the packet loss measured on the second hop to a client device); and
transmit a server resend request, including the node error message, to the server network type (paragraph [0031] describes the edge relay device sends a retransmission request it received from the client device to a server).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Carofiglio for retransmitting data packets. The teachings of Carofiglio, when implemented in the Go, Yamamoto and Fang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to recover lost data packets. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Carofiglio in the Go, Yamamoto and Fang system in order to increase the reliability of packets transmission between client devices and a server.
As for claim 8, the combined system of Go, Yamamoto and Fang fails to teach wherein one or more processors are further configured to:
identify an individual server data packet as a server resend delivery; and
resume forwarding end node packets within the individual server data packets.
Carofiglio discloses
wherein one or more processors are further configured to (paragraph [0014] describes processors that execute instructions to perform functions):
identify an individual server data packet as a server resend delivery (paragraph [0011] describes an edge relay device determines an error correction procedure, the relay device transmits stored data packets to a client device); and
resume forwarding end node packets within the individual server data packet (paragraph [0011] describes the relay device transmits stored data packets to a client device upon receiving a retransmission request from the client device).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Carofiglio for retransmitting data packets. The teachings of Carofiglio, when implemented in the Go, Yamamoto and Fang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to recover lost data packets. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Carofiglio in the Go, Yamamoto and Fang system in order to increase the reliability of packets transmission between client devices and a server.
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go (US 2023/0095760) in view of Yamamoto (US 2022/0239528) and Fang (US 2021/0092018) further in view of Stammers (US 2022/0159538).
As for claim 6, the combined system of Go, Yamamoto and Fang fails to teach wherein one or more processors are further configured to (paragraphs [0064] and [0066] describe IoT gateway includes data stream builder logic):
pause forwarding a number of in-vehicle network packets to the in-vehicle network in response to receiving an end node error message or an end node control message.
Stammers discloses
wherein one or more processors are further configured to:
pause forwarding a number of in-vehicle network packets to the in-vehicle network in response to receiving an end node error message or an end node control message (paragraph [0021] describes IoT devices that transmit source data streams in a vehicle; paragraph [0044] describes a remediation action is performed which causes an IoT gateway to stop transmitting an output data stream to Thing Builder).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Stammers for stopping the transmission of data streams received from IoT devices. The teachings of Stammers, when implemented in the Go, Yamamoto and Fang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to implement a remediation action by IoT gateway. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Stammers in the Go, Yamamoto and Fang system in order to enforce data routing/entitlement intent for a system (Stammers: paragraph [0090]).
As for claim 14, the combined system of Go, Yamamoto and Fang fails to teach recognizing a server error message or a server control message; or recognizing an end node error message or an end node control message; and
pausing forwarding end node data packets to the in-vehicle network.
Stammers discloses
recognizing a server error message or a server control message; or recognizing an end node error message or an end node control message (paragraph [0044] describes when a cabled connectivity between a controller and an IoT gateway fails, a data stream policy is configured to cause a remediation action that involves stopping the Thing Builder output data stream); and
pausing forwarding end node data packets to the in-vehicle network (paragraph [0021] describes IoT devices that transmit source data streams in a vehicle; paragraph [0044] describes a remediation action is performed which causes an IoT gateway to stop transmitting an output data stream to Thing Builder).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Stammers for stopping the transmission of data streams received from IoT devices. The teachings of Stammers, when implemented in the Go, Yamamoto and Fang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to implement a remediation action by IoT gateway. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Stammers in the Go, Yamamoto and Fang system in order to enforce data routing/entitlement intent for a system (Stammers: paragraph [0090]).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go (US 2023/0095760) in view of Yamamoto (US 2022/0239528) and Fang (US 2021/0092018) further in view of Ujiie et al. (US 2023/0214483), hereinafter Ujiie.
As for claim 7, the combined system of Go, Yamamoto and Fang fails to teach wherein one or more processors are further configured to:
pause forwarding a number of in-vehicle network packets to an in-vehicle network in response to receiving a server error message or a server control message.
Ujiie discloses
wherein one or more processors are further configured to:
pause forwarding a number of in-vehicle network packets to an in-vehicle network in response to receiving a server error message or a server control message (paragraphs [0109]-[0110] describe a gateway transmits and receives frames to and from each of the plurality of buses; paragraph [0114] describes the gateway does not forward an error frame received from one bus to the other buses; paragraph [0157] describes a gateway, after receiving an error frame, stops receiving the frame that the malicious ECU had been transmitting).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Ujiie for stopping receiving error frames. The teachings of Ujiie, when implemented in the Go, Yamamoto and Fang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to prevent forwarding malicious messages within a vehicle network. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Ujiie in the Go, Yamamoto and Fang system in order to prevent the vehicle from being controlled inappropriately due to a situation such as a malicious ECU being connected to the bus and transmitting a malicious frame that does not conform to rules.
As for claim 15, the combined system Go, Yamamoto and Fang fails to teach pausing forwarding of the one or more server data packets to the server network in response to:
recognizing a server error message or a server control message; or recognizing an end node error message or an end node control message.
Ujiie discloses
pausing forwarding of the one or more server data packets to the server network in response to:
recognizing a server error message or a server control message; or recognizing an end node error message or an end node control message (paragraphs [0109]-[0110] describe a gateway transmits and receives frames to and from each of the plurality of buses; paragraph [0114] describes the gateway does not forward an error frame received from one bus to the other buses; paragraph [0157] describes a gateway, after receiving an error frame, stops receiving the frame that the malicious ECU had been transmitting).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Ujiie for stopping receiving error frames. The teachings of Ujiie, when implemented in the Go, Yamamoto and Fang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to prevent forwarding malicious messages within a vehicle network. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Ujiie in the Go, Yamamoto and Fang system in order to prevent the vehicle from being controlled inappropriately due to a situation such as a malicious ECU being connected to the bus and transmitting a malicious frame that does not conform to rules.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go (US 2023/0095760) and Yamamoto (US 2022/0239528) and Fang (US 2021/0092018) in view of Ujiie et al. (US 2023/0214483), hereinafter Ujiie further in view of Carofiglio (US 2024/0283564).
As for claim 16, the combined system of Go, Yamamoto, Fang and Ujiie fails to teach wherein one or more processors are further configured to:
recognize a node error message, indicating an error with at least one faulty end node data package, within the in-vehicle network; and
transmit a server resend request, including the node error message, to the server network type.
Carofiglio discloses
transmitting a server resend request including one or more of the end node error message or the end node control message (paragraph [0031] describes the edge relay device sends a retransmission request it received from the client device to a server).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Carofiglio for retransmitting data packets. The teachings of Carofiglio, when implemented in the Go, Yamamoto, Fang and Ujiie system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to recover lost data packets. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Carofiglio in the Go, Yamamoto , Fang and Ujiie system in order to increase the reliability of packets transmission between client devices and a server.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go (US 2023/0095760) and Yamamoto (US 2022/0239528) and Fang (US 2021/0092018) in view of Tang et al. (US 2024/0014958), hereinafter Tang.
As for claim 17, the combined system of Go, Yamamoto and Fang fails to teach end node data packets (Go: paragraphs [0119] and [0153] describe a message sequence comprising a series of five communication, is received and the down-sampling operation is performed to match a receiving end) and wherein a relay is a receive end device (Go: paragraph [0105] describes a converged network device (CDN) interposed between the first network and the second network, and structured to facilitate communications between the first network and the second network), wherein the sequence of data packet is transmitted to the in-vehicle network (Go: paragraph [0153] describes a down-sampled sequence of messages is communicated to a different network of the vehicle from which the first sequence of messages is received).
The combined system of Go, Yamamoto and Fang fails to teach
wherein forwarding a sequence of data packets comprises:
unpacking the sequence of data packets from one or more server data packets; and
transmitting the sequence of data packets without repacking or resizing by a receive end device.
Tang discloses
wherein forwarding the sequence of the data packets comprises:
unpacking the sequence of data packets from the one or more server data packets (paragraphs [0203] and [0207] describe a transmit end device transmits a sequence of data packets and a receive end device performs unpacking processing on the received pieces of encapsulated packet data, to obtain the plurality of pieces of packet data and packet sequence numbers of the plurality of pieces of packet data); and
transmitting the sequence of data packets to the in-vehicle network without repacking or resizing by the receive end device (paragraph [0214] describes the receive end device sends the plurality of pieces of packet data in the transmission sequence).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings Tang for unpacking a sequence of data packets. The teachings of Tang, when implemented in the Go . Yamamoto and Fang system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the transmission sequence of the pieces of packet data. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Tang in the Go, Yamamoto and Fang system in order to enable an receive end device to send the plurality of pieces of packet data in a transmission sequence.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gelvin et al. (US 7,891,004) teach method for vehicle internetworks
Stein et al. (US 2022/0159098) teach method for compressing controller area network (CAN) messages
Zeh et al. (US 2020/0244442) teach selective real-time cryptography in a vehicle communication network.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.T.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2459 /SCHQUITA D GOODWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459