DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. This action is responsive to an amendment filed on 7/14/2026. Claims 1-18 are pending.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicants arguments filed in the 07/14/2026 remarks have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection which is deemed appropriate to address all of the needs at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
4. Claim 1 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shneidman (US 2006/0038794) in view of Svendsen (US 2007/0244986).
Regarding claim 1, Shneidman teaches a personal audio assistant comprising: a speaker; a microphone; a display; a memory that stores instructions (see fig. 2, 4, 16, ¶ 0049, 0051, 0096, 0098, 0126. The handset can perform the functions of a computerized personal assistant. This device is having speaker, microphone, display, memory thereon.); receiving a request from a user for audio content (see fig. 2, 4, 16, ¶ 0049, 0051, 0096, 0098, 0119, 0126. The user can request on demand music to be delivered to the handset unit. Outside servers of music can deliver the music or audio content to the device.).
Shneidman discloses a personal assistant device that enables a user to request audio content from a server, which will provide the content to be displayed on the device. The system is able to retrieve and store the requested content on the device. The display will be able to provide content listing and playback commands for content.
Shneidman does not disclose a logic circuit operatively coupled to the memory, wherein the logic circuit is structured to execute the instructions such that portions of the logic circuit are activated to perform operations comprising: receiving a request from a user for audio content: retrieving a listening history envelope of the user, wherein the listening history envelope comprises data indicating audio content that was skipped, deleted, played multiple times, or saved to a wish list, and a time stamp of content being auditioned by the user; sending the listening history envelope to a remote server; retrieving a set of personalized playlist content from the remote server using the listening history envelop as a filter, wherein the remote server filters the set of personalized playlist content based on the listening history envelope; and sending a list of the set of personalized playlist content to the display.
Svendsen teaches a logic circuit operatively coupled to the memory, wherein the logic circuit is structured to execute the instructions such that portions of the logic circuit are activated to perform operations comprising: receiving a request from a user for audio content: retrieving a listening history envelope of the user; retrieving a set of personalized playlist content from the remote server using the listening history envelop as a filter, sending the listening history envelope to a remote server; wherein the remote server filters the set of personalized playlist content based on the listening history envelope; and sending a list of the set of personalized playlist content to the display (see fig. 3-6, ¶ 0059-0060,0062-0068.The request, the central system 16, and more specifically the prediction engine 54, selects a number of media files from the user's media collection to be previewed based on the play history of the portable media player 12, the play history of the user system 14, the user profile of the user, or any combination thereof (step 226). Note that by providing the media selections to the central system 16 and storing the identifiers of media files previously previewed, the prediction engine 54 may ensure that media files already previewed and/or selected are not repeatedly selected for preview. The server 46 then provides identifiers of the media files selected for preview, such as the GUIDs identifying the media content of the media files, to the user system 14 (step 228). The user system 14 then generates previews of the media files selected for preview .); wherein the listening history envelope comprises data indicating audio content that was skipped, deleted, played multiple times, or saved to a wish list, and a time stamp of content being auditioned by the user (see ¶ 0026-0028, 0031-0032. Play history database 24 operates to store a play history of the portable media player 12. For each media file played by the portable media player 12, the play history includes an identifier and a time stamp identifying a time and date at which the media file was played. The GUID of a song file identifies the song. Note that if a media file is played multiple times, the play history may include a separate entry for each playing of the media file or multiple time stamps stored in association with the identifier of the media file.).
The combination of Svendsen to Shneidman will provide accessing a media playlist from a server via the user device and provide the content of the media files on the display for the user.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the combination of Shneidman to incorporate the concepts of Svendsen for obtaining media files (playlist) for display on the user device from a server. The modification provides for obtaining media files from a server to be displayed on the user device.
5. Claims 2, 3 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shneidman (US 2006/0038794) in view of Svendsen (US 2007/0244986) further in view of Komano et al. (US 2006/0171682).
Regarding claim 2, Shneidman and Svendsen do not teach the personal audio assistant of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving from the user a selection of a first audio content from the set of personalized playlist content; sending the first audio content to the speaker.
Komano teaches wherein the operations further comprise: receiving from the user a selection of a first audio content from the set of personalized playlist content; sending the first audio content to the speaker (see fig. 2, ¶ 0047, 0059. The user is able to select content from a playlist and it will produce the selected content via speakers.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the combination of Shneidman and Svendsen to incorporate the concepts of Komano for selecting an audio file from a playlist for playback. The modification provides a user for selecting an audio file for audio playback.
Regarding claim 3, Shneidman teaches the personal audio assistant according to claim 2, wherein the selection is chosen from touching the display (see ¶ 0096-0097. A user can make a selection on a touch screen display.).
6. Claims 4, 10, 11 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shneidman (US 2006/0038794) in view of Svendsen (US 2007/0244986) further in view of Komano et al. (US 2006/0171682) in further view of Yoon et al. (US 2002/0059313).
Regarding claim 4, Shneidman, Svendsen and Komano do not teach the personal audio assistant of claim 2, wherein the listening history envelope includes at least two of, when the user auditions content, or a time stamp of content being auditioned, or content which is skipped, or content which is deleted, or content which is played multiple times, or content saved in a Wish List, or a combination thereof.
Yoon teaches wherein the listening history envelope includes at least two of, when the user auditions content, or a time stamp of content being auditioned, or content which is skipped, or content which is deleted, or content which is played multiple times, or content saved in a Wish List, or a combination thereof (see abstract, ¶ 0078. The user history provides skip history and replay data history of the user.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the combination of Shneidman, Svendsen and Komano to incorporate the concepts of Yoon for providing user history. The modification provides a user history for replay and skipping content.
Regarding claim 10, Shneidman, Svendsen and Komano do not teach the personal audio assistant of claim 2, personal audio assistant of claim 2, wherein the listening history envelope includes content which is skipped.
Yoon teaches personal audio assistant of claim 2, wherein the listening history envelope includes content which is skipped (see abstract, ¶ 0078. The user history provides skip history and replay data history of the user.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the combination of Shneidman, Svendsen and Komano to incorporate the concepts of Yoon for providing user history. The modification provides a user history for replay and skipping content.
Regarding claim 11, Shneidman, Svendsen and Komano do not teach the personal audio assistant of claim 2, wherein the listening history envelope includes content which is played multiple times.
Yoon teaches wherein the listening history envelope includes content which is played multiple times (see abstract, ¶ 0078. The user history provides skip history and replay data history of the user.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the combination of Shneidman, Svendsen and Komano to incorporate the concepts of Yoon for providing user history. The modification provides a user history for replay and skipping content.
7. Claims 5, 6, 7, 8 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shneidman (US 2006/0038794) in view of Svendsen (US 2007/0244986)
Regarding claim 5, Shneidman teaches the personal audio assistant of claim 1, wherein the request from the user is a vocal request (see ¶ 0097. The device allows for voice commands, thus allowing the user to voice their selections.).
Regarding claim 6, Shneidman teaches the personal audio assistant of claim 1, wherein the personal audio assistant if part of a wearable (see fig. 2, 4, 16, ¶ 0047-0051. The handset can perform the functions of a computerized personal assistant. This device is having speaker, microphone, display, memory thereon.).
Regarding claim 7, Shneidman teaches the personal audio assistant of claim 6, wherein the wearable is a phone (see fig. 2, 4, 16, ¶ 0047-0051. The handset can perform the functions of a computerized personal assistant. This device is having speaker, microphone, display, memory thereon.).
Regarding claim 8, Shneidman teaches the personal audio assistant of claim 6, wherein the wearable is a tablet (see fig. 2, 4, 16, ¶ 0047-0051. The handset can perform the functions of a computerized personal assistant. This device is having speaker, microphone, display, memory thereon. This can be a cellular phone, phone, a personal computer with internet access, a tablet notebook computer, etc…).
8. Claim 9 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shneidman (US 2006/0038794) in view of Svendsen (US 2007/0244986) further in view of Seshadri et al. (US 7,558,529).
Regarding claim 9, Shneidman and Svendsen do not teach the personal audio assistant of claim 6, wherein the wearable is an earphone.
Seshadri teaches wherein the wearable is an earphone (see fig. 1, col. 4, lines 7-42. The device can be an earpiece.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the combination of Shneidman and Svendsen to incorporate the a device being an earpiece. The modification provides a user with a device to be used as an earpiece.
9. Claims 12, 13, 14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shneidman (US 2006/0038794) in view of Svendsen (US 2007/0244986) further in view of Takmine et al. (US 2004/0183896).
Regarding claim 12, Shneidman and Svendsen do not teach the personal audio assistant of claim 1 wherein the operations further comprise: sending information to a second user's device.
Takmine teaches wherein the operations further comprise: sending information to a second user's device (see fig. 1, ¶ 0005, 0008. Sharing information (text, image or music data) over the network to other devices).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the combination of Shneidman and Svendsen to incorporate sending information data (music or image or text data) to other devices in the network. The modification provides sharing information with other users and user devices.
Regarding claim 13, Shneidman and Svendsen do not teach the personal audio assistant according to claim 12 wherein the information includes at least one of a song, or a video, or a picture, or a text or a combination thereof.
Takmine teaches wherein the information includes at least one of a song, or a video, or a picture, or a text or a combination thereof (see fig. 1, ¶ 0005, 0008. Sharing information (text, image or music data) over the network to other devices).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the combination of Shneidman and Svendsen to incorporate sending information data (music or image or text data) to other devices in the network. The modification provides sharing information with other users and user devices.
Regarding claim 14, Shneidman and Svendsen do not teach the personal audio assistant according to claim 12, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a signal from the user selecting the information.
Takmine teaches wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a signal from the user selecting the information (see fig. 1, ¶ 0005, 0008. Sharing information (text, image or music data) over the network to other devices. The sharing of a text, or image or music data, will be a selection from a user, which upon will trigger the system to share with other devices based on user selection. This will be obvious if not inherent during a conference session.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the combination of Shneidman and Svendsen to incorporate sending information data (music or image or text data) to other devices in the network in regards to a selection. The modification provides sharing information with other users and user devices.
10. Claim 15, 16, 18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shneidman (US 2006/0038794) in view of Svendsen (US 2007/0244986) further in view of Sudai et al. (US 5,950,200).
Regarding claim 15, Shneidman and Svendsen do not teach the personal audio assistant according to claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: locating a second user matches at least one common interest with the user.
Sudai teaches wherein the operations further comprise: locating a second user matches at least one common interest with the user (see fig. 8A-8B, col 1, line 45-60. A system program can match participants together based on matching interest.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the combination of Shneidman and Svendsen to incorporate matching participants based on interests. The modification provides locating participants that have the same or similar interests.
Regarding claim 16, Shneidman and Svendsen do not teach the personal audio assistant according to claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: sending a notification to the user when a match occurs.
Sudai teaches wherein the operations further comprise: sending a notification to the user when a match occurs (see fig. 8A-8B, col 1, line 45-60, col. 6, line 62-col. 7, line 5. A system program can match participants together based on matching interest and based on the matching occurring, providing notification to the participants.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the combination of Shneidman and Svendsen to incorporate matching participants based on interests provide notifications. The modification provides locating participants that have the same or similar interests.
Regarding claim 18, Shneidman and Svendsen do not teach the personal audio assistant according to claim 16, wherein the notification is a visual notification.
Sudai teaches wherein the notification is a visual notification (see fig. 8A-8B, col 1, line 45-60, col. 6, line 62-col. 7, line 5. A system program can match participants together based on matching interest and based on the matching occurring, providing notification to the participants. The notification will be an email notification which is visual to the users.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the combination of Shneidman and Svendsen to incorporate matching participants based on interests provide notifications. The modification provides locating participants that have the same or similar interests.
11. Claim 17 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shneidman (US 2006/0038794) in view of Svendsen (US 2007/0244986) further in view of Sudai et al. (US 5,950,200) in further view of Fratti (US 2007/0073848).
Regarding claim 17, Shneidman, Svendsen and Sudai do not teach the personal audio assistant according to claim 16, wherein the notification is an audible notification.
Fratti teaches wherein the notification is an audible notification (see ¶ 0006, 0017. The email notification produces an notification sound to the recipient.).
The combination of Fratti to Sudai teaches when an match has occurred, Sudai provides a notification which is in email form and is visual. With the added feature of an sound alert, the user will be able to hear when receiving an email and can retrieve the email to read it.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the combination of Shneidman, Svendsen and Sudai to incorporate email sound notification being alerted to the user. The modification provides sound notification when an email is received.
Conclusion
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASSAD MOHAMMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691