DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-10, 12-15, 17-19, 21-23, and 25 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over JP 3568421 B2 in view of Bissonnette et al. (US 2003/0199335) and Jackson (The Modern Guide to Golf Clubmaking).
Regarding claim 1, JP 3568421 B2 discloses an iron-type club head having a heel portion, toe portion, sole portion, top-line portion, striking face, and rear portion opposite the striking face. The striking face has a flat forward facing ball striking surface having a loft angle, a face center, and a rearward facing surface. The striking face also has a support region and an unsupported region. JP 3568421 B2 notes that the thickness of the unsupported region can vary in order to obtain the desired stiffness (See Paragraph 0017, 0019, and Figure 6). JP 3568421 B2 does not disclose the face stiffness ratio of the toe region to the heel region or the loft angle. Bissonette et al. discloses a club head having a striking face with a stiffness ratio. Figure 21 shows a heel and toe region having different stiffnesses. Paragraph 0147 and 0148 discloses that the stiffness of the toe is twice the stiffness of the heel, which implies that the stiffness ratio of the toe region to the heel region being 2. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the above stiffness ratio, as taught by Bissonette et al. With respect to the relative coefficient of restitution, the value would be met by Bissonette et al. being that the stiffness ratio is met. Jackson discloses that a loft range of 16 to 62 degrees is typical for an iron-type club head (See Page 237). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have a loft range of 18-64 degrees, as taught by Jackson, because it is common within the art.
Regarding claim 2, see the above regarding claim 1 with respect to the stiffness ratio. JP 3568421 B2 discloses the face thickness being 3mm or less (See Paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 3, see the above regarding claim 1 with respect to the stiffness ratio.
Regarding claim 4, see the above regarding claim 1, with respect to the stiffness ratio.
Regarding claim 5, Figure 23 of Bissonette et al. shows a circular hitting region in an unsupported region of the striking face (See Paragraph 0151). As noted above, Bissonette et al. notes that the stiffness is calculated E*t3 in which inherently would require the heel region and the toe region to be calculated using the formula (See Paragraph 0148). The applicant’s Dvw is merely an arbitrary number added to the inequality. Based on the above and claim 1, the inequality claimed by the applicant is met since Dvw is merely the ratio.
Regarding claim 6, Figure 23 of Bissonette et al. shows a circular hitting region in an unsupported region of the striking face (See Paragraph 0151). As noted above, Bissonette et al. notes that the stiffness is calculated E*t3 in which inherently would require the heel region and the toe region to be calculated using the formula (See Paragraph 0148). Based on the above and claim 1, the inequality claimed by the applicant is met since Dcw is merely the ratio.
Regarding claim 7, see the above regarding claims 5 and 6.
Regarding claim 8, see the above regarding claims 5 and 6.
Regarding claim 9, see the above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, see the above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, see the above regarding claims 1 and 5.
Regarding claim 13, see the above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, see the above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, see the above regarding claims 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 17, see the above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, see the above regarding claims 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 19, see the above regarding claims 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 21, limitation is directed to a product by process. Being that JP 3568421 discloses the same structure, the process is met.
Regarding claim 22, see the above regarding claim 2.
Regarding claim 23, limitation is directed to a product by process. Being that JP 3568421 discloses the same structure, the process is met.
Regarding claim 25, see the above regarding claim 2.
Claims 11 and 16 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over the prior art applied to claims 6 and 15 above in view of Jenson et al. (USPN 5584770).
Regarding claim 16, the prior art applied to claims 6 and 15 above does not disclose a tungsten weighting element. Jenson et al. discloses a cavity back iron-type club head having a tungsten weighted element within the frame (See Abstract). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have a tungsten weighting element, as taught by Jenson et al., in order to move the weight of the club head to the perimeter.
Claims 20, 24, 26, and 27 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over the prior art applied to claim 14 above in view of Wahl et al. (US 2011/0028240).
Regarding claim 20, the prior art applied to claim 14 above does not disclose the topline thickness. Wahl et al. discloses an iron-type club had having a topline with a thickness of 9mm or less (See Paragraph 0050). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have a topline with a thickness of less than 9mm, as taught by Wahl et al., in order to improve durability of the club head.
Regarding claim 24, the prior art applied to claim 1 above does not disclose the sole thickness. Wahl et al. discloses an iron-type club had having a sole with a thickness of 2mm or less (See Paragraph 0043). One having ordain skill in the art would have found it obvious to have a sole with a thickness of less than 2mm, as taught by Wahl et al., in order to improve durability of the club head.
Regarding claim 26, Wahl et al. discloses a cavity back iron having a badge coupled to the rear of the club head. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have a badge, as taught by Wahl et al., in order to close the cavity of the club head.
Regarding claim 27, see the above regarding claims 1, 5, 20, and 24.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-12, 14, 17, and 18-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12102894 in view of Jackson (The Modern Guide to Golf Clubmaking). US 12012894 claims the same subject matter except for the loft angle. Jackson discloses that a loft range of 16 to 62 degrees is typical for an iron-type club head (See Page 237). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have a loft range of 18-64 degrees, as taught by Jackson, because it is common within the art.
Conclusion
/ALVIN A HUNTER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711