DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 and 14 as filed on 08/02/2024 are pending and herewith considered as indicated below. Claim 13 has been cancelled as of 08/02/2024
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-12, 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “water-tight film” in claim 1, line 3, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The phrase “water-tight film” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It appears the phrase water-tight film is intended to recite waterproof film.
In regards to Claim 1, “their inner surfaces” as used in line 15 is deemed unclear. Numerous elements have been previously introduced; it appears “their” is intended to recite “the side parts inner surfaces”.
In regards to Claim 1, “namely” as used in line 15 is deemed unclear. the language “namely” is language that suggests or makes optional the subsequent limitation or limitations. Language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation. See § MPEP 2103 (C). Examiner has interpreted “namely” as not required (i.e. optional)
In regards to Claim 1, “a first and second side part” as recited in line 16 is unclear. The term “side parts” has been previously introduced in line 1-2 of claim 1 and it is unclear if this is the same side parts. It appears a first and second side part is the same as side parts and has been examined as such.
In regards to Claim 1, “a third and optionally further side parts” as recited in line 17 is unclear. The term “side parts” has been previously introduced in line 1-2 of claim 1 and it is unclear if this is the same side parts. It appears a third and optionally further side parts is the same as side parts and has been examined as such.
In regards to Claim 1, “an opening side part” as recited in line 18 is unclear. The term “side parts” has been previously introduced in line 1-2 of claim 1 and it is unclear if this is the same side parts. It appears an opening side part is the same as side parts and has been examined as such.
In regards to Claim 2, “Preferably” as used in line 3 is deemed unclear. The language “preferably” is language that suggests or makes optional the subsequent limitation or limitations. Language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation. See § MPEP 2103 (C). Examiner has interpreted “preferably” as not required.
In regards to Claim 3, “a respective side part” as recited in line 7 is unclear. Side parts has been formally introduced in line 5 and it is unclear if a respective side part is the same as side parts. It appears to indicate the same side part and has been examined as such.
In regards to Claim 4, “the shape-corresponding lining of a room” as recited in lines 2-3 lacks antecedent basis. It appears to “the shape-corresponding lining of a room” is intended to recite “a shape-corresponding lining of a room”.
In regards to Claim 6, “the other” as used in line 4 lacks antecedent basis. The other has not been formally introduced and is unclear due to numerous elements previously introduced. “the other” appears to recite “one of the rim areas on top of the second rim area”.
In regards to Claim 10, “the adjacent sub area” as used in line 4 lacks antecedent basis due to not being formally introduced in independent claim 4. It appears claim 10 is dependent on claim 5, where “adjacent sub area” is introduced (line 3). Examiner has interpreted as such.
The term “basic shape” in claim 12, line 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “basic shape” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It appears the intended phrase is “pre-fabricated rectangular shape”.
In regards to Claim 5, 7-9, 11, and 14, rejected due to dependency on independent claims 1, 3 and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 11-12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murdock et al. (US 20130019552 A1)(Herein Murdock) in view of Kim Hyung Soon (KR 102156640 B1)(Herein Soon).
In regards to Claim 1, Murdock Discloses
A lining unit (500) [Fig 9] comprising a bottom part [Unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comments) and side parts (522, 524, Unnumbered) (see examiners comments) standing upright assigned to the bottom part wherein the bottom part [Unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comments) is formed in one piece [Fig 9, one-piece is not intended to mean monolithic] with at least one side part (522, 524, Unnumbered), wherein the lining unit (500) [Fig 9] is further formed in a pre-fabricated [Fig 9, Shown as Pre-Fabricated] [Additionally, no point in time is claimed] manner for lining a room [Abstract], wherein the bottom part (Unnumbered, Fig 9] is dimensioned according to a surface of a floor [Unnumbered] (see examiners comments) of the room [Abstract], and wherein the at least one side part (522, 524) is dimensioned according to a surface of a wall [502A, 502B] of the room [Abstract], wherein the side parts (522, 524, Unnumbered) (see examiners comments) completely border the bottom part [Unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comments) the bottom part [Unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comments) and the side parts (522, 524, Unnumbered) (see examiners comments) each have an inner and an outer surface [Fig 9, Inner used to connect to tiles, Outer used to connect to walls (502A, 502B)] , wherein the inner surfaces [Fig 9, Inner used to connect to tiles] are further formed with an adherence structure [Fig 10, Showing Butyl Tape, TES and Clear Silicon] [0047, 0055] for an attachment of tiles (132), wherein the side parts (522, 524, Unnumbered) (see examiners comments) further form an angle [Fig 9] with one another in a cross section parallel to the floor [Unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comment) with respect to their inner surfaces [Fig 9, Inner used to connect to tiles] or outer surfaces [Fig 9, Outer used to connect to walls (502A, 502B)] or merge in a rounded manner and have different heights [522, 524, Fig 9, Showing One Height], [Fig 9, Unnumbered, Showing different height], namely at least a first and a second side part (522, 524) of the side parts (522, 524, Unnumbered) (see examiners comments) have a first height [522, 524, Fig 9, Showing One Height] and a third and optionally further side parts (522, 524, Unnumbered) (see examiners comments), including an opening side part (522, 524, Unnumbered) (see examiners comments), have a second height [Unnumbered, Fig 9, Showing One Height] and, wherein the first height [522, 524, Fig 9, Showing One Height] corresponds to a multiple of the second height [Unnumbered, Fig 9, Showing One Height] [Examiner has interpreted “multiple” as claimed to mean a number that can be divided by a smaller number an exact number of times, as used in a mathematical sense].
However, Murdock fails to disclose wherein the bottom part and the side parts are made of a water-tight film.
Furthermore, Soon discloses
wherein the bottom part [Unnumbered, Fig 9, Murdock] (see examiners comments) the side parts (522, 524, Unnumbered, Murdock) (see examiners comments) are made of a water-tight film (121) [Page 15, Figure not Numbered]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lining unit as disclosed by Murdock to include the bottom part and the side parts are made of a water-tight film as disclosed by Soon. When modified, the water-tight film reduces water exiting the lining unit and further providing a redundance factor for water/fluid penetration.
In regards to Claim 2, Murdock discloses the lining unit (500) [Fig 9] according to Claim 1. However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first height exceeds half a dimension of a largest side length of the bottom part and wherein the first height is preferably at least approx. 1.50 m up to 2.50 m.
Additionally, the language “preferably” is language that suggests or makes optional the subsequent limitation or limitations. Language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation. See § MPEP 2103 (C).
However, it would have been obvious as a matter of choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first height of the side wall of Murdock to have a side wall that exceeds half a dimension of a largest side length of the bottom part and wherein the first height is preferably at least approx. 1.50 m up to 2.50 m. in shape in order to facilitate entry/exit from the lining unit. In general, it has been held that a mere change in shape of a component is within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration of the claimed shape is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149. When modified, the change in size allows for entry/exit into the lining unit as intended.
In regards to Claim 7, Murdock as modified discloses the lining unit (500) [Fig 9] according to claim 1. Soon discloses wherein the film (121) [Page 15, Figure not Numbered] is made of polyethylene [See Description of Embodiments, Paragraph 78, “As the non-woven fabric layer 121, not only polyethylene non-woven fabric, polypropylene non-woven fabric, polyester non-woven fabric, PET non-woven fabric, etc. can be used, but also synthetic fibers of various materials such as rayon fiber, nylon fiber, etc. can be carded, heat-sealed, needle punched.”] .
In regards to Claim 8, Murdock as modified discloses the lining unit (500) [Fig 9] according to claim 1. Soon discloses wherein the film (121) [Page 15, Figure not Numbered] is laminated with a non-woven fabric [See Description of Embodiments, Paragraph 78, “As the non-woven fabric layer 121, not only polyethylene non-woven fabric, polypropylene non-woven fabric, polyester non-woven fabric, PET non-woven fabric, etc. can be used, but also synthetic fibers of various materials such as rayon fiber, nylon fiber, etc. can be carded, heat-sealed, needle punched.”] .
In regards to Claim 12, Murdock discloses the (500) [Fig 9] according to claim 1 and the bottom part [Unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comments). However, fails to disclose wherein the bottom part has a pre-fabricated rectangular basic shape with a base surface of 80 cm times 80 cm or 90 cm times 90 cm.
However, it would have been obvious as a matter of choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bottom part of Murdock to have a a pre- fabricated rectangular basic shape with a base surface of 80 cm times 80 cm or 90 cm times 90 cm in shape in order to facilitate ease of installation due to the typical bottom portions are rectangular in shape. In general, it has been held that a mere change in shape of a component is within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration of the claimed shape is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149. When modified, the rectangular shape allows for ease of installation and precure due to the readily available shape.
In regards to Claim 14, Murdock as modified discloses the lining unit (500) [Fig 9] according to claim 1. Soon discloses wherein the film (121) [Page 15, Figure not Numbered] is laminated with a polypropylene non-woven fabric on both sides [See Description of Embodiments, Paragraph 78, “As the non-woven fabric layer 121, not only polyethylene non-woven fabric, polypropylene non-woven fabric, polyester non-woven fabric, PET non-woven fabric, etc. can be used, but also synthetic fibers of various materials such as rayon fiber, nylon fiber, etc. can be carded, heat-sealed, needle punched.”]
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murdock et al. (US 20130019552 A1)(Herein Murdock) in view of Kim Hyung Soon (KR 102156640 B1)(Herein Soon) and O’Connell (US 5205001).
In regards to Claim 3, Murdock discloses
A lining unit (500) [Fig 9], for the shape-corresponding lining of a room [Abstract]
wherein the lining unit (500) [Fig 9], based on a state assembled in the room [Abstract], has a bottom part [Unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comments) and side parts (522, 524, Unnumbered) (see examiners comments) running orthogonally [Fig 9] to the bottom part [Unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comments), wherein the bottom part [Unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comments) transitions seamlessly [Fig 9, Showing Integral] into a respective side part (522, 524) and wherein respective adjacent side parts (522, 524, Unnumbered) (see examiners comments) are connected to one another via a side seam [unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comment), in an area of a corner [Unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comment) of the bottom part [Unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comments).
However, fails to disclose a film of a thermoplastic material and wherein the side seam is formed by means of two rim areas of adjacent side parts, which are placed one on top of the other , wherein one of the rim areas is folded, so that the side seam has a three layers.
Furthermore, Soon discloses comprising a film (121) [Page 15, Figure not Numbered] of a thermoplastic material [Polyethylene is known as a thermoplastic material].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lining unit as disclosed by Murdock to include a film of a thermoplastic material as disclosed by Soon. When modified, the thermoplastic film reduces water exiting the lining unit and further providing a redundance factor for water/fluid penetration.
Furthermore, O’Connell discloses wherein the side seam [unnumbered, Fig 9, Murdock] (see examiners comment) is formed by means of two rim areas (33a, 35a) [Fig 6C] of adjacent side parts (522, 524, Unnumbered, Murdock) (see examiners comments), which are placed one on top of the other [Fig 6B] , wherein one of the rim areas (33a, 35a) [Fig 6C] is folded [Fig 6A], so that the side seam [unnumbered, Fig 9, Murdock] (see examiners comment) has a three layers [Figs 6B and 6C, Showing 3 layers (32, 33A, 35A)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lining unit as disclosed by Murdock to include the side seam is formed by means of two rim areas of adjacent side parts, which are placed one on top of the other , wherein one of the rim areas is folded, so that the side seam has a three layers as disclosed by O’Connell. When modified, the side seam with all limitations recited above allows for an additional securing mechanism against water penetration, the side seam as disclosed by O’Connell is an integral formation with no openings.
In regards to Claim 9, Murdock as modified discloses the lining unit (500) [Fig 9] according to claim 3. Soon discloses wherein the film (121) [Page 15, Figure not Numbered] is made of polyethylene and is laminated with a non-woven fabric [See Description of Embodiments, Paragraph 78, “As the non-woven fabric layer 121, not only polyethylene non-woven fabric, polypropylene non-woven fabric, polyester non-woven fabric, PET non-woven fabric, etc. can be used, but also synthetic fibers of various materials such as rayon fiber, nylon fiber, etc. can be carded, heat-sealed, needle punched.”] .
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murdock et al. (US 20130019552 A1)(Herein Murdock) in view of Kim Hyung Soon (KR 102156640 B1)(Herein Soon) and Van Ravenhorst (US 20130097944 A1)(Herein Ravenhorst).
In regards to Claim 4, Murdock discloses
A lining unit (500) [Fig 9], for the shape-corresponding lining of a room [Abstract],
wherein the lining unit (500) [Fig 9], based on a state assembled in the room [Abstract], has a bottom part [Unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comments) and side parts (522, 524, Unnumbered) (see examiners comments) running orthogonally to the bottom part [Unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comments), wherein the bottom part [Unnumbered, Fig 9] transitions seamlessly into the respective side part (522, 524) and wherein respective adjacent side parts (522, 524, Unnumbered) (see examiners comments) are connected to one another via a side seam [unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comment), in particular in the area of a corner [Unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comment) of the bottom part [Unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comments).
However, fails to disclose comprising a film of a thermoplastic material, wherein the lining unit has an insertion part in a transition area between the bottom part and at least one of the side parts, for forming an outer corner, wherein the insertion part forms a subarea of the bottom part and a subarea of the at least one side part.
Furthermore, Soon discloses comprising a film (121) [Page 15, Figure not Numbered] of a thermoplastic material [Polyethylene is known as a thermoplastic material].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lining unit as disclosed by Murdock to include a film of a thermoplastic material as disclosed by Soon. When modified, the thermoplastic film reduces water exiting the lining unit and further providing a redundance factor for water/fluid penetration.
Furthermore, Ravenhorst discloses wherein the lining unit (500, Murdock) [Fig 9] has an insertion part [Unnumbered, Fig 19] (see examiners comments) in a transition area [Unnumbered, Fig 19] (see examiners comments) between the bottom part [Unnumbered, Fig 9, Murdock] (see examiners comments) and at least one of the side parts (522, 524, Unnumbered, Murdock) (see examiners comments), for forming an outer corner [Unnumbered, Fig 19] (see examiners comments), wherein the insertion part [Unnumbered, Fig 19] (see examiners comments) forms a subarea [Unnumbered, Fig 19] (see examiners comments) of the bottom part [Unnumbered, Fig 9, Murdock] (see examiners comments) and a subarea [Unnumbered, Fig 19] (see examiners comments) of the at least one side part (522, 524, Murdock).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lining unit as disclosed by Murdock to include wherein the lining unit has an insertion part in a transition area between the bottom part and at least one of the side parts, for forming an outer corner, wherein the insertion part forms a subarea of the bottom part and a subarea of the at least one side part as disclosed by Ravenhorst. When modified, the outer corner with all the limitations above allow for more flexibility in installation for different types of room/wet-rooms. The outer corner allows for installation at different parts of the room as desired by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murdock et al. (US 20130019552 A1)(Herein Murdock) in view of Kim Hyung Soon (KR 102156640 B1)(Herein Soon) and Van Ravenhorst (US 20130097944 A1)(Herein Ravenhorst) as applied to claim 4 above, and O’Connell (US 5205001).
In regards to Claim 5, Murdock as modified discloses the lining unit (500) [Fig 9] according to claim 4, wherein the subarea [Unnumbered, Fig 19, Ravenhorst] (see examiners comments) of the bottom part [Unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comments) formed by means of the insertion part [Unnumbered, Fig 19, Ravenhorst] (see examiners comments) is connected to an adjacent subarea [Unnumbered, Fig 19, Ravenhorst] (see examiners comments) of the bottom part [Unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comments).
However, fails to disclose the insertion part is connected to an adjacent subarea of the bottom part via a bottom seam.
Furthermore, O’Connell discloses via a bottom seam [Figs 6B and 6C, Showing 3 layers (32, 33A, 35A)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lining unit as disclosed by Murdock to include the bottom seam as disclosed by O’Connell. When modified, the bottom seam allows for a redundance in containing water, not allowing water penetration.
In regards to Claim 6, Murdock as modified discloses the lining unit (500) [Fig 9] according to Claim 5, wherein the bottom seam [Figs 6B and 6C, Showing 3 layers (32, 33A, 35A), O’Connell] is formed by means of two rim areas [Figs 6B and 6C, Showing 3 layers (32, 33A, 35A), O’Connell] of the adjacent subareas [Unnumbered, Fig 19, Ravenhorst] (see examiners comments) of of the bottom part [Unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comments), which are placed one on top of the other [(32, 33A, 35A), O’Connell].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murdock et al. (US 20130019552 A1)(Herein Murdock) in view of Kim Hyung Soon (KR 102156640 B1)(Herein Soon) and Van Ravenhorst (US 20130097944 A1)(Herein Ravenhorst) and O’Connell (US 5205001).as applied to claim 5 above, and Kenny et al. (US 20040154232)(Herein Kenny).
In regards to Claim 10, Murdock as modified discloses the lining unit (500) [Fig 9] according to claim 4, wherein the side seam [unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comment) formed between adjacent side parts (522, 524, Unnumbered) (see examiners comments) and/or the bottom seam [Unnumbered, Fig 19, Ravenhorst] (see examiners comments) connecting the insertion part [Unnumbered, Fig 19, Ravenhorst] (see examiners comments) to the adjacent subarea [Unnumbered, Fig 19, Ravenhorst] (see examiners comments) of the bottom part [Unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comments). However, fails to disclose the side seam formed between adjacent side parts and/or the bottom seam connecting the insertion part to the adjacent subarea of the bottom part is welded.
Furthermore, Kenny discloses wherein the side seam [unnumbered, Fig 9, Murdock] (see examiners comment) formed between adjacent side parts (522, 524, Unnumbered, , Murdock) (see examiners comments) and/or the bottom seam [Unnumbered, Fig 19, Ravenhorst] (see examiners comments) connecting the insertion part [Unnumbered, Fig 19, Ravenhorst] (see examiners comments) to the adjacent subarea [Unnumbered, Fig 19, Ravenhorst] (see examiners comments) of the bottom part [Unnumbered, Fig 9, Murdock] (see examiners comments) is welded [0050 disclosing “ultrasonic or heat welds” ] [Fig 5].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lining unit as disclosed by Murdock to include the side seam formed between adjacent side parts and/or the bottom seam connecting the insertion part to the adjacent subarea of the bottom part is welded as disclosed by Kenny. When modified the welded seam allows for an additionally containment of water from escaping. The welded portion provides an additional securing mechanism.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murdock et al. (US 20130019552 A1)(Herein Murdock) in view of Kim Hyung Soon (KR 102156640 B1)(Herein Soon) as applied to claim 1 above, and Lavalle (US 5829071)(Herein Lavalle).
In regards to Claim 11, Murdock discloses the lining unit (500) [Fig 9], according to claim1,wherein respective adjacent side parts (522, 524, Unnumbered) (see examiners comments) are connected to one another via a side seam [unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comment), in an area of a corner [Unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comment) of the bottom part [Unnumbered, Fig 9] (see examiners comments). However, fails to disclose wherein the side seam has a depression with depression rim edges , viewed from outside of the lining unit.
Furthermore, Lavalle discloses wherein the side seam [unnumbered, Fig 9, Murdock] (see examiners comment) has a depression (142) [Fig 9] with depression rim edges [Unnumbered, Fig 9, Element 142 edges] ( see examiners comments) , viewed from outside [Fig 9, showing exterior] of the lining unit (500, Murdock) [Fig 9].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lining unit as disclosed by Murdock to include the side seam has a depression with depression rim edges, viewed from outside of the lining unit. When modified, the side seam with the addition of the depression and depression edge rims allows for structural adherence to a wall for further limit movement.
Examiners Comments
Murdock, Figure 9
Ravenhorst, Figure 19
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See PTO 892.
/Z.K.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635