DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-24 are pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) were submitted on 11/15/2024 and 08/02/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
Semiconductor-based switching elements of claims 1, 4-5, 7 and 18-21
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 lines 1-2, “the circuit breaker” should be –said circuit breaker--. Use either “the” or “said” consistently. Similar corrections are required in all other claims, for other components as well.
Claim 1 line 4, “said grid-side connections” should be –said at least two grid-side connections--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 12-13, 15-19, 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tannhauser (WO 2022136443 A1), and further in view of Zhou (US 20150372478 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tannhauser teaches a circuit breaker for protecting an electrical low-voltage circuit (abstract, a circuit breaker device (for a low-voltage electric circuit)), said circuit breaker comprising:
a housing (i.e. housing GEH, figs.1, 3) having at least two grid-side connections (i.e. first connections L1, N1, figs.1, 3) and at least one load-side connection (i.e. second connections L2, N2, figs.1, 3), said at least two grid-side connections and said at least one load-side connection each have connection terminals for connecting external conductors of the electrical low-voltage circuit to be protected to the circuit breaker (e.g. terminals represented by L1, N1, L2, N2 on GEH, fig.1);
an electronic interruption unit (i.e. electronic interruption unit EU, figs.1 and 3);
a mechanical isolating contact unit (i.e. mechanical isolating contact unit MK, figs.1, 3) connected in series with said electronic interruption unit and defining a series circuit (page 2, the mechanical
isolating contact system being connected in series with the electronic interruption unit), wherein said series circuit is connected at a first end to one of said at least two grid-side connections (e.g. connection of EU to L1, N1, figs.1, 3), and at a second end to said at least one load-side connection (e.g. connection of MK to L2, N2, figs.1, 3), said mechanical isolating contact unit having at least one contact being switched to prevent a flow of current by opening said at least one contact, or to allow the flow of the current in the electrical low-voltage circuit by closing said at least one contact (page 7, a mechanical isolating contact unit MK, which can be switched by opening contacts to prevent current flow or closing the contacts for current flow in the low-voltage circuit);
said electronic interruption unit having semiconductor-based switching elements (page 7, an electronic interruption unit EU, which uses semiconductor-based switching elements) and said electronic interruption unit being switched by said semiconductor-based switching elements to a high-impedance state of said semiconductor-based switching elements to prevent the flow of the current, or to a low-impedance state of said semiconductor-based switching elements to allow the flow of the current in the electrical low-voltage circuit (page 7, the electronic interruption unit EU switches from the low-impedance state to the high impedance state --> State switched to break the low voltage circuit);
a current sensor (i.e. current sensor unit SI, figs.1, 3) for determining a level of the current in the electrical low-voltage circuit (page 7, for determining the magnitude of the current in the low-voltage circuit);
a controller (i.e. control unit SE, figs.1, 3) connected to said current sensor, said mechanical isolating contact unit and said electronic interruption unit (page 7, which is connected to the Voltage sensor unit SU, the current sensor unit SI, the mechanical isolating contact unit MK and the electronic interruption unit EU is connected), wherein when a determined level of the current exceeds current and/or current/time limit-values, a process for preventing the flow of the current in the electrical low-voltage circuit is initiated (page 7, if at least one current threshold value is exceeded, which is generally caused by a short circuit, in particular on the load side (ES), the electronic interruption unit EU switches from the low-impedance state to the high impedance state);
at least one temperature sensor (i.e. temperature sensor unit TEMP, fig.3) connected to said controller (page 9, The temperature sensor unit TEMP is connected to the control unit SE) and determining a level of a temperature (page 9, level of the temperature, which was determined by the temperature sensor unit TEMP), said at least one temperature sensor is disposed at, or in a region of, one of said connection terminals (e.g. TEMP is in region of L1, N1, fig.3); and
the circuit breaker is embodied such that, said electronic interruption unit is switched to the high-impedance state of said semiconductor-based switching elements for preventing the flow of the current to prevent overheating of said one connection terminal (page 9, emits the first interruption signal TRIP for semiconductor-based interruption or high-impedance interruption to the electronic interruption unit EU) (page 13, significant protection against thermal overload).
Tannhauser does not teach, when the level of the temperature exceeds a first temperature threshold value.
Zhou teaches in a similar field of endeavor of circuit interrupters, when the level of the temperature exceeds a first temperature threshold value (abstract, sense a temperature of the busbar, and a thermal trip circuit structured to output a trip signal based on the sensed temperature).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the level of the temperature exceeds a first temperature threshold value in Tannhauser, as taught by Zhou, as it provides the advantage of additional protection of circuit breaker from temperature variations.
Regarding claim 2, Tannhauser and Zhou teach the circuit breaker according to claim 1, wherein: said mechanical isolating contact unit is assigned to said at least one load-side connection (Tannhauser, e.g. MK is on L2, N2 side, figs.1, 3); and said electronic interruption unit is assigned to said at least two grid-side connections (Tannhauser, e.g. EU is on L1, N1 side, figs.1, 3).
Regarding claim 3, Tannhauser and Zhou teach the circuit breaker according to claim 1, wherein said at least one load-side connection is one of two load-side connections (Tannhauser, e.g. L2, N2, figs.1, 3) and said at least two grid-side connections is two grid-side connections (Tannhauser, e.g. L1, N1, figs.1, 3).
Regarding claim 4, Tannhauser and Zhou teach the circuit breaker according to claim 1, wherein said at least one contact of said mechanical isolating contact unit is opened in a case of an initiated high-impedance state of said semiconductor-based switching elements of said electronic interruption unit for preventing overheating and when a higher second temperature threshold value is exceeded (Tannhauser, page 2, A bimetallic protective element or bimetallic element is usually used for tripping (interruption) in the event of prolonged overcurrent (overcurrent protection) or thermal overload (overload protection)).
Regarding claim 8, Tannhauser and Zhou teach the circuit breaker according to claim 1, wherein said at least one contact of said mechanical isolating contact unit is opened in an event of a change to the high-impedance state for preventing overheating, said change exceeding a first number, within a first time frame (Tannhauser, page 6, avoidance of the current flow is primarily initiated by the electronic interruption unit. In addition, or if other criteria are present, a galvanic interruption can be initiated by the mechanical isolating contact system).
Regarding claim 9, Tannhauser and Zhou teach the circuit breaker according to claim 1, further comprising a communication unit connected to said controller (Tannhauser, page 8, contact position display of the contacts).
Regarding claim 12, Tannhauser and Zhou teach the circuit breaker according to claim 1, wherein said at least one contact of said mechanical isolating contact unit can be opened, but not closed, by said controller (Tannhauser, page 2, safety element that cannot be reset automatically).
Regarding claim 13, Tannhauser and Zhou teach the circuit breaker according to claim 1, further comprising a mechanical handle, said mechanical isolating contact unit being operated by said mechanical handle to switch an opening of said at least contact or a closing of said at least one contact (Tannhauser, page 8, opening of the mechanical isolating contact system is always possible (no blocking of the isolating contact system by the handle)).
Regarding claim 15, Tannhauser and Zhou teach the circuit breaker according to claim 1, further comprising at least one grid-side temperature sensor for said at least two grid-side connection terminals for determining of a level of a temperature of said at least two grid-side connection terminals (Tannhauser, e.g. TEMP near L1, fig.3).
Regarding claim 16, Tannhauser and Zhou teach the circuit breaker according to claim 1, further comprising at least one load-side temperature sensor for said at least one load-side connection terminal for determining of a level of temperature of said at least one load-side connection terminal (Zhou, [0029], A thermal trip assembly 20 included in the electronic trip unit 12 is structured to sense the temperature of a conductor (e.g., without limitation, a busbar, such as the example busbars 60,60′ of respective FIGS. 5 and 6) electrically connected between the first and second terminals 2,4, and to initiate a trip based on the sensed temperature).
Regarding claim 17, Tannhauser and Zhou teach the circuit breaker according to claim 1, wherein said at least one temperature sensor is one of a plurality of temperature sensors, one of said temperature sensors associated with each of said connection terminals for the external conductors of the electrical low-voltage circuit being current carrying conductors, for determining the level of the temperature of each of said connection terminals (Tannhauser, page 9, a temperature sensor unit TEMP, which has one or more temperature sensors. Further temperature sensor units can also be provided in other units or in the protective switching device).
Regarding claim 18, the method is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, the method is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 4.
Regarding claim 22, the method is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 8.
Regarding claim 24, Tannhauser and Zhou teach the method according to claim 18, which further comprises outputting the level of the temperature or an equivalent (Tannhauser, page 9, determination or calculation of the instantaneous current threshold values SWI, specifically as a function of the level of the temperature, which was determined by the temperature sensor unit TEMP).
Claims 7 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tannhauser (WO 2022136443 A1) and Zhou (US 20150372478 A1), and further in view of Tannhauser2 (WO 2023051893 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Tannhauser and Zhou teach the circuit breaker according to claim 1.
Tannhauser and Zhou do not teach, wherein said electronic interruption unit is switched to the low-impedance state in a case of the high-impedance state of said semiconductor-based switching elements for preventing overheating, and when a first time period has elapsed since a start of the high-impedance state of said semiconductor-based switching elements for preventing overheating.
Tannhauser2 teaches in a similar field of low-voltage circuit breakers, wherein said electronic interruption unit is switched to the low-impedance state in a case of the high-impedance state of said semiconductor-based switching elements for preventing overheating, and when a first time period has elapsed since a start of the high-impedance state of said semiconductor-based switching elements for preventing overheating (page 12, the electronic interruption unit automatically becomes low-impedance, for example after a (parameter-dependent) period of time has elapsed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the electronic interruption unit is switched to the low-impedance state in a case of the high-impedance state of said semiconductor-based switching elements for preventing overheating, and when a first time period has elapsed since a start of the high-impedance state of said semiconductor-based switching elements for preventing overheating in Tannhauser and Zhou, as taught by Tannhauser, as it provides the advantage of reducing time in tripped state and maintenance personnel requirements.
Regarding claim 21, the method is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 7.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tannhauser (WO 2022136443 A1) and Zhou (US 20150372478 A1), and further in view of Tannhauser3 (DE 102021210816 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Tannhauser and Zhou teach the circuit breaker according to claim 13.
Tannhauser and Zhou do not teach, wherein said at least one contact of said mechanical isolating contact unit has a release functionality such that said at least one contact is opened by way of said controller, even if said mechanical handle is blocked.
Tannhauser3 teaches in a similar field of low-voltage circuit breakers, wherein said at least one contact of said mechanical isolating contact unit has a release functionality such that said at least one contact is opened by way of said controller, even if said mechanical handle is blocked (page 4, Specifically, the contacts can be opened even if the handle is blocked).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the at least one contact of said mechanical isolating contact unit has a release functionality such that said at least one contact is opened by way of said controller, even if said mechanical handle is blocked in Tannhauser and Zhou, as taught by Tannhauser3, as it provides the advantage of additional circuit protection in cases of mechanical handle failure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 10-11, 20 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter
Regarding claim 5, Tannhauser (WO 2022136443 A1) and Zhou (US 20150372478 A1) teach the circuit breaker according to claim 1.
Tannhauser and Zhou do not teach, wherein said electronic interruption unit is switched to the low-impedance state in a case of the high-impedance state of said semiconductor-based switching elements of said electronic interruption unit for preventing overheating and if a third temperature threshold value is undershot.
Prior art Larranaga (US 6466424 B1), Eum (KR 20160047883 A) and Yang (KR 100883042 B1) have been found to be the closest prior art.
However, none of the prior art, taken singly or in combination, teach “wherein said electronic interruption unit is switched to the low-impedance state in a case of the high-impedance state of said semiconductor-based switching elements of said electronic interruption unit for preventing overheating and if a third temperature threshold value is undershot.”
Claim 6 is indicated as allowable, as it depends on allowable claim 5.
Regarding claim 10, Tannhauser (WO 2022136443 A1) and Zhou (US 20150372478 A1) teach the circuit breaker according to claim 9.
Tannhauser and Zhou do not teach, wherein said communication unit issues a warning when a fourth temperature threshold value is exceeded.
Prior art Larranaga (US 6466424 B1), Eum (KR 20160047883 A) and Yang (KR 100883042 B1) have been found to be the closest prior art.
However, none of the prior art, taken singly or in combination, teach “wherein said communication unit issues a warning when a fourth temperature threshold value is exceeded.”
Claim 11 is indicated as allowable, as it depends on allowable claim 10.
Regarding claim 20, the method is indicated as allowable for the same reasons as stated above for claim 5.
Regarding claim 23, the method is indicated as allowable for the same reasons as stated above for claim 10.
Conclusion
/SREEYA SREEVATSA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 06/25/2026