DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over German (20230326434).
Regarding claim 1, German discloses the use of a musical instrument configured to receive strings and a bridge (128(, the instrument comprising: a first (body)subassembly comprising the instrument's back (122), top (120), and a second (neck) subassembly comprising the instrument's heel (108), neck (104), tuning pegs (118), and fingerboard (110), wherein the first subassembly further comprises a screw(300. 304. 306, that engages with a nut (308) of the second subassembly to interconnect the first and second subassemblies.
German does not disclose the use of a scroll, rib structure, or a soundpost.
Christy discloses the use of a musical instrument with a sound post (column 1, lines 7 and 8) and a rib structure (column 1, lines 25-28) on a first subassembly (body).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed in German to include the sound post since the use of sounds posts in musical instruments is conventional and well known in the art.
Regarding claim 2, German discloses wherein the screw is rotatable to achieve different string heights in the instrument (paragraph 0032, line 11).
Regarding claim 3, German discloses wherein the screw is rotatable to disassemble the instrument into the first and second subassemblies (paragraph 0059, line 10).
Regarding claim 7, German discloses comprising an inherently straight bass bar (2)(column 1, line 6) mounted onto an inner surface of the top.
Regarding claim 8, German does not disclose wherein the bridge has inherently collinear bottoms.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the device as disclosed in German since the use of colinear bottoms on string instrument bridges is conventional and well known in the art.
Regarding claim 9, German further discloses the strings (9).
Regarding claim 10, German does not disclose wherein tension in the strings induces an inward pulling force on the rib structure where the top meets the rib structure.
However, since the use tension in the strings inducing am inward pulling force on the rib is well known on the art.
Regarding claim 11, German further discloses wherein the neck has a nut (112) opening configured to receive any one of a number of different top nuts of different sizes to achieve different string heights for the instrument.
Regarding claim 12, German further discloses wherein the instrument is a cello (column 1, line 2).
Claims 4-6 and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/KIMBERLY R LOCKETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837