DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 6, 9, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshii (US 20170256989) in view of Tanaka (US 20090058190)
Re Claim 1; Yoshii discloses a wireless power receiving device (100) comprising:
a power receiving circuit (100, Fig. 2);
a load circuit (71) electrically connected to the power receiving circuit; and
a power receiving coil (10) electrically connected to the power receiving circuit,
wherein the power receiving circuit includes an impedance adjusting circuit (40) configured to adjust input impedance looking from the power receiving coil into a load circuit side, (Par 0060)
a rectifying circuit (20) configured to rectify an alternating-current current flowing through the power receiving coil, (Fig. 3)
a smoothing circuit (30) electrically connected to the rectifying circuit, (Fig. 3) and
a receiving power shut-off circuit (60) configured to switch between executing and stopping a rectifying operation of the rectifying circuit using a result of comparison between a smoothed voltage of the smoothing circuit and a predetermined first voltage, (Par 0064, 0117)
the power receiving coil, the impedance adjusting circuit, and the rectifying circuit configure a power receiving alternating-current circuit, (Fig. 3)
the smoothing circuit and the load circuit configure a power receiving direct-current circuit, (Fig. 3)
the first voltage is set on a basis of size of an external magnetic field that acts on the power receiving coil and size of power of the load circuit, (In essence, the claim indicates that the voltage received by the power receiving coil is not a fixed value but is influenced by the strength of the external magnetic field (determined by the transmitter and the coil's position within it) and the power requirements of the device connected to the receiving coil. As shown in par 0117, the voltage is maxed to 3V regardless of the input voltage taking into consideration the variable nature of the transmitter based on external factors which includes and not limited to distance, try of coil etc.)
the impedance adjusting circuit (40) is configured to suppress an increase in a voltage between two ends of the power receiving coil, (Fig. 3, Par 0060)
the receiving power shut-off circuit (60) is configured to cause the rectifying circuit to execute the rectifying operation when the smoothed voltage is less than the first voltage, (Par 0117) and
cause the rectifying circuit to stop the rectifying operation when the smoothed voltage is greater than or equal to the first voltage, (Par 0117) and
the impedance adjusting circuit and the receiving power shut-off circuit protect the power receiving alternating-current circuit and the power receiving direct-current circuit from overvoltage. (Par 0117).
the receiving power shut-off circuit (60) is connected to the rectifying circuit (20a) Fig. 3, a power receiving resonant circuit including the power receiving coil (10) and a first resonant capacitor (C2) is connected in parallel to the power receiving coil (Fig. 3), and the impedance adjusting circuit (40) is connected to the power receiving resonant circuit (10) (Fig. 3 ).
Yoshii does not disclose the power receiving resonant circuit includes a second resonant capacitor connected in series to the power receiving coil, the impedance adjusting circuit is connected closer to the power receiving coil than the second resonant capacitor, and the impedance adjusting circuit includes a resistive element.
However, Tanaka discloses the power receiving resonant circuit includes a second resonant capacitor connected in series to the power receiving coil, the impedance adjusting circuit is connected closer to the power receiving coil than the second resonant capacitor, and the impedance adjusting circuit includes a resistive element. (Fig. 13)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have added the second resonant capacitor connected in series to the power receiving coil, the impedance adjusting circuit is connected closer to the power receiving coil than the second resonant capacitor, and the impedance adjusting circuit includes a resistive element to the device of Yoshii in order to maximize the power transferred to the load since the impedance is matched relative to the load.
Re Claim 2; Yoshii discloses wherein the receiving power shut-off circuit is configured to protect the power receiving direct-current circuit from overvoltage by stopping the rectifying operation of the rectifying circuit, (Par 0117)
the impedance adjusting circuit (40) is configured to suppress the increase in the voltage between two ends of the power receiving coil and further protect the power receiving alternating-current circuit from overvoltage at time of both executing and stopping the rectifying operation caused by the receiving power shut-off circuit, and regardless of the executing or stopping the rectifying operation caused by the receiving power shut-off circuit, both the power receiving alternating-current circuit and the power receiving direct-current circuit are protected. (Par 0060)
Re Claim 3; Yoshii discloses wherein the first voltage is set at an upper limit voltage, the upper limit voltage being a voltage up to which the power receiving direct-current circuit in a state where the impedance adjusting circuit is connected thereto is protectable by shutting off power receiving using the receiving power shut-off circuit. (Par 0117)
Re Claims 4 and 17; Yoshii discloses further comprising: a communication circuit (73); and a communication antenna electrically connected to the communication circuit,
Yoshii does not disclose wherein the communication antenna and the power receiving coil are a same coil.
However, a coil capable of receiving power can be configured to communicate as well and it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have used a single coil for both power and data communication in order to save cost on acquiring additional parts.
Re Claim 5; Yoshii discloses further comprising: a communication circuit (73); and a communication antenna electrically connected to the communication circuit, wherein the communication antenna includes a coil that is different from the power receiving coil. (Par 0052-3)
Re Claim 6; Yoshii discloses wherein the impedance adjusting circuit includes a resistive element. (Par 0060)
Re Claim 9; Yoshii discloses wherein the receiving power shut-off circuit includes a switching element connected in parallel to a rectifying element of the rectifying circuit. (Fig. 3)
Re Claim 15 and 16; Yoshii discloses wherein a frequency of the external magnetic field.
Yoshii does not disclose is wherein a frequency of the external magnetic field is 6.78 MHz. and 13.56 MHz.
However, it has held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Re Claim 18; Yoshii discloses further comprising: a communication circuit; and a communication antenna electrically connected to the communication circuit, wherein the communication antenna includes a coil that is different from the power receiving coil. (Par 0052-3)
Claim(s) 7, 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshii (US 20170256989) and in view of Tanaka and further in view of Tamura et al. (US 20080108865)
Re Claims 7, 8 and 20; Yoshii discloses wherein the impedance adjusting circuit
Yoshii does not disclose includes a zener diode and includes two zener diodes that are connected in series in mutually opposite directions.
However, Tamura discloses wherein the impedance adjusting circuit
Yoshii does not disclose includes a zener diode and includes two zener diodes that are connected in series in mutually opposite directions. (Par 0055).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective to have added the Zener diode to the impedance adjusting circuit in order to operates as the electrostatic protection element when an excess voltage due to static electricity is applied through each of the receiving coil.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshii (US 20170256989) and in view of Tanaka and further in view of Hosokawa (US 20210305900)
Re Claim 10; Yoshii discloses overvoltage voltage protection circuit (Par 0117).
Yoshii does not disclose further comprising: an overvoltage protection circuit connected between the smoothing circuit and the load circuit, wherein the overvoltage protection circuit includes a zener diode connected in parallel to the smoothing circuit, the zener diode being configured to operate at a voltage lower than the first voltage.
However, Tamura discloses an overvoltage protection circuit connected between the smoothing circuit and the load circuit, wherein the overvoltage protection circuit includes a zener diode connected in parallel to the smoothing circuit, the zener diode being configured to operate at a voltage lower than the first voltage. (Par 0094)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have added an overvoltage protection circuit to the device of Yoshii in order to provide protection to the circuit.
Re Claim 11; Yoshii discloses wherein the receiving power shut-off circuit (60) is configured to operate based on a voltage of the overvoltage protection circuit. (Par 0117)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6 and 7, filed 02/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 12 ,18 and 19 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tanaka.
Conclusion
/DANIEL KESSIE/
09/02/2026
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836