DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Note that citations to figures and elements should be understood to also implicitly refer to any pertinent explanatory text in the reference.
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-13, and 15-19, 21 are rejected, claims 1 and 3-5 in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2012/0127323 A1 (Kasuya).
Regarding claim 1, Kasuya teaches a device management system (Abstract; Fig. 1) comprising:
a camera that captures a surrounding image of a surrounding area (Fig. 1 at 4);
an operation detector that detects an operation by a user (Fig. 2 at 14);
circuitry configured to, in response to the operation by the user ([75]), generate a partial image of the surrounding image based on a plurality of predetermined images included in the surrounding image ([36]; Figs. 3, 12); and
a display that displays the partial image (Fig. 1 at 2 OR 6), wherein
the circuitry is further configured to determine an area for the partial image in the surrounding image based on a range defined by the plurality of predetermined images ([36], [43], [48]; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Kasuya teaches wherein the plurality of predetermined images indicate a first end and a second end of the partial image in the surrounding image (Fig. 6), and the circuitry is configured to generate the partial image that includes the plurality of predetermined images ([71]-[72], Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Kasuya teaches wherein the plurality of predetermined images are two-dimensional codes (Fig. 5 at 40, 41; Fig. 6 at 51A-51D).
Regarding claim 5, Kasuya teaches wherein each of the plurality of predetermined images is an image displayed on an object located in the partial image of the surrounding image (Fig. 6 at 51A-51D, Fig. 1 at 2).
Regarding claim 6, Kasuya teaches wherein the operation detector detects an instruction by the user to end generating the partial image of the surrounding image based on the plurality of predetermined images included in the surrounding image ([77]).
Regarding claim 7, Kasuya teaches a device adapted to connect to a terminal including a display (Abstract; Fig. 1), the device comprising
circuitry (Fig. 1 at 5; Fig. 2) configured to:
acquire a surrounding image captured by a camera ([30], [33]; Fig. 1 at 4, 5);
in response to an operation by a user ([75]), generate a partial image of the surrounding image based on a plurality of predetermined images included in the surrounding image ([36]; Figs. 3, 12); and
transmit the partial image to the terminal ([71]), wherein
the circuitry is further configured to determine an area for the partial image in the surrounding image based on a range defined by the plurality of predetermined images ([36], [43], [48]; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Kasuya teaches a method (Abstract; Fig. 1) comprising:
acquiring a surrounding image captured by an image-capturing device ([30], [33]; Fig. 1 at 4, 5);
in response to an operation by a user ([75]), generating a partial image of the surrounding image based on a plurality of predetermined images included in the surrounding image ([36]; Figs. 3, 12); and
transmitting the partial image to a terminal including a display ([71]), wherein
an area for the partial image in the surrounding image is determined based on a range defined by the plurality of predetermined images ([36], [43], [48]; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, Kasuya teaches a non-transitory recording medium storing a plurality of instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform the method according to claim 8 ([34]-[35]; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Kasuya teaches wherein the plurality of predetermined images indicate a first end and a second end of the partial image in the surrounding image (Fig. 6), and the circuitry is configured to generate the partial image that includes the plurality of predetermined images ([71], Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Kasuya teaches wherein the plurality of predetermined images are two-dimensional codes (Fig. 5 at 40, 41; Fig. 6 at 51A-51D).
Regarding claim 13, Kasuya teaches wherein each of the plurality of predetermined images is an image displayed on an object located in the partial image of the surrounding image (Fig. 6 at 51A-51D, Fig. 1 at 2).
Regarding claim 15, Kasuya teaches wherein the operation detector detects an instruction by the user to end generating the partial image of the surrounding image based on the plurality of predetermined images included in the surrounding image ([77]).
Regarding claim 16, Kasuya teaches a device adapted to connect to a terminal including a display (Abstract; Fig. 1), the device comprising:
a camera (Fig. 1 at 4); and
circuitry (Fig. 1 at 3, 4, 5; Fig. 2) configured to:
acquire a surrounding image captured by the camera ([30], [33]; Fig. 1 at 4, 5);
in response to an operation by a user ([75]), clip a part of the surrounding image based on a plurality of predetermined images included in the surrounding image and generate a clipped image ([36]; Figs. 3, 12); and
transmit the clipped image to the terminal ([71]), wherein
the circuitry is further configured to determine the part to be clipped in the surrounding image based on a range defined by the plurality of predetermined images ([36], [43], [48]; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 17, Kasuya teaches wherein the plurality of predetermined images indicate a first end and a second end of the part to be clipped in the surrounding image (Fig. 6), and the circuitry is configured to generate the clipped image by clipping the part that includes the plurality of predetermined images ([71], Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 18, Kasuya teaches wherein the predetermined images are two-dimensional codes (Fig. 5 at 40, 41; Fig. 6 at 51A-51D).
Regarding claim 19, Kasuya teaches wherein each of the plurality of predetermined images is an image displayed on an object located in the part to be clipped in the surrounding image (Fig. 6 at 51A-51D, Fig. 1 at 2).
Regarding claim 21, Kasuya teaches wherein the operation detector detects an instruction by the user to end clipping the part of the surrounding image based on the plurality of predetermined images included in the surrounding image ([77]).
Claims 1, 3-5 and 22 are rejected, claims 1 and 3-5 in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2014010568 A (Ujiie).
Regarding claim 1, Ujiie teaches a device management system comprising:
a camera that captures a surrounding image of a surrounding area ([48]);
an operation detector that detects an operation by a user ([114]);
circuitry configured to, in response to the operation by the user, generate a partial image of the surrounding image based on a plurality of predetermined images included in the surrounding image ([116]-[117]); and
a display that displays the partial image ([118]), wherein
the circuitry is further configured to determine an area for the partial image in the surrounding image based on a range defined by the plurality of predetermined images ([116]-[117]).
Regarding claim 3, Ujiie teaches wherein the plurality of predetermined images indicate a first end and a second end of the partial image in the surrounding image, and the circuitry is configured to generate the partial image that includes the plurality of predetermined images ([116]-[117]).
Regarding claim 4, Ujiie teaches wherein the plurality of predetermined images are two-dimensional codes ([193]).
Regarding claim 5, Ujiie teaches wherein each of the plurality of predetermined images is an image displayed on an object located in the partial image of the surrounding image ([66], [80], [116]-[117]).
Regarding claim 22, Ujiie teaches a terminal including a display (Fig. 2A(A) at 4), the terminal comprising circuitry configured to:
acquire a surrounding image captured by a camera ([48]);
in response to an operation by a user ([114]), clip a part of the surrounding image based on a plurality of predetermined images included in the surrounding image and generate a clipped image ([116]-[117]); and
display the clipped image in the display ([118]), wherein
the circuitry is further configured to determine the part to be clipped in the surrounding image based on a range defined by the plurality of predetermined images ([116]-[117]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0127323 A1 (Kasuya) as applied to claims 5, 13, and 19, respectively, above, and further in view of US 2017/0068321 A1 (Kuo).
Regarding claim 10, Kasuya does not expressly teach wherein the operation by the user is performed with respect to the object. Kuo teaches wherein the operation by the user is performed with respect to the object ([18]). The suggestion to modify the teaching of Kasuya by the teaching of Kuo is present as both Kasuya and Kuo teach a projector and camera system, each with different forms of input. The motivation is to provide additional means of input for a user. The combination would have been unsurprising and had a reasonable expectation of success because both Kasuya and Kuo teach a projector and camera system, each with different forms of input. Thus, before the effective filing date of the current application, the combination of Kasuya and Kuo would have rendered obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, wherein the operation by the user is performed with respect to the object.
Regarding claim 14, Kasuya does not expressly teach wherein the operation by the user is performed with respect to the object. Kuo teaches wherein the operation by the user is performed with respect to the object ([18]). The suggestion to modify the teaching of Kasuya by the teaching of Kuo is present as both Kasuya and Kuo teach a projector and camera system, each with different forms of input. The motivation is to provide additional means of input for a user. The combination would have been unsurprising and had a reasonable expectation of success because both Kasuya and Kuo teach a projector and camera system, each with different forms of input. Thus, before the effective filing date of the current application, the combination of Kasuya and Kuo would have rendered obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, wherein the operation by the user is performed with respect to the object.
Regarding claim 20, Kasuya does not expressly teach wherein the operation by the user is performed with respect to the object. Kuo teaches wherein the operation by the user is performed with respect to the object ([18]). The suggestion to modify the teaching of Kasuya by the teaching of Kuo is present as both Kasuya and Kuo teach a projector and camera system, each with different forms of input. The motivation is to provide additional means of input for a user. The combination would have been unsurprising and had a reasonable expectation of success because both Kasuya and Kuo teach a projector and camera system, each with different forms of input. Thus, before the effective filing date of the current application, the combination of Kasuya and Kuo would have rendered obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, wherein the operation by the user is performed with respect to the object.
Conclusion
/Gene W Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621