DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed on August 2, 2024. Claims 1-12 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Px, Wx, 120, 130. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “102” has been used to designate both “battery” and “buoyant float”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: B in Fig 2, Sw1, LC, Sw2, in Fig 3. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapoport et al. (US 10191489; hereinafter Rapoport) in view of Rogers (US 7047114).
In regards to claim 1, Rapoport discloses of an autonomous vessel for transporting a cargo from an origin to a destination utilizing water currents (“The control system can then determine navigation parameters that allow the structure 302 to drift with the strong currents 314 to conserve power used to control the propulsion system of the structure 302.” Column 11 lines 45-49) and “The structure 100 is a free-floating structure located in a body of water and is configured to autonomously navigate currents to certain locations.” (Column 3 lines 64-66), see also Fig 3)… the autonomous vessel comprising:
a hull adapted to navigate a body of water (In some implementations, the cage 102 does not include mesh netting, and is environmentally sealed to protect the cargo 104 from water. (Column 4 lines 19-21), see also Fig 1);
a communication module adapted for wireless communication with local contacts (“the navigation system 110 communicates with a remote server through the sensors and communications system 112 to receive new bearings. For example, the sensors and communications system 112 can transmit position data of the structure 100 to a remote server, which processes the data and transmits a new bearing to the navigation system 110. The navigation system 110 can receive the new bearing, process the data, and generate updated control signals for the propellers 106. In some implementations, the navigation system 110 communicates with a remote server through the sensors and communications system 112 to receive new control signals for the propellers 106.” (Column 5 line 65 – Column 6 line 10));
a propulsion module adapted to propel the hull through the water (“The structure 100 is propelled by propellers 106 located on the back of the cage. In some implementations, the propellers 106 are two offset propellers which allow the structure 100 to be steered, as well as change depth.” (Column 4 lines 30-33));
a navigation module adapted to steer the hull towards a next waypoint (“The navigation system 110 can control the propellers 106 to change a course of the structure 100. For example, if the structure 100 is called into a docking station for maintenance, the navigation system 110 can receive the coordinates of the docking station and can generate control signals for the propellers 106 to change course for the docking station.” (Column 7 lines 18-22));
a location module adapted for find[ing] a current location of the hull on the body of water (“The location output 418 indicates a destination location of the autonomous submersible structure. The location output 418 can include global coordinates, an address, etc. The location output 418 is determined by the navigation system 410, and is used to control the propulsion system 440 to navigate the autonomous submersible structure in the body of water in which the structure 100 is submerged. In some examples, the location output 418 is determined by the navigation system 410 using the sensor input 412. The location output 418 can be the current location of the autonomous submersible structure. “ (Column 15 lines 52-62));
a controller having at least a processor, a volatile memory, and a non-volatile memory, the controller adapted for controlling the modules (“Processors suitable for the execution of a computer program include, by way of example, both general and special purpose microprocessors, and any one or more processors of any kind of digital computer. Generally, a processor will receive instructions and data from a read only memory or a random access memory or both. The essential elements of a computer are a processor for performing instructions and one or more memory devices for storing instructions and data.” (Column 21 lines 6-14)), storing weather models received from the communication module (“The sensor input 412 can include values of certain parameters that indicate weather conditions. For example, the environmental parameters 420 can include data indicating weather conditions such as lightning, hurricanes, tropical storms, tornados, tsunamis, etc. For example, the environmental parameters 420 can include data from local weather stations. In some examples, the navigation system 410 can determine weather conditions from a combination of the sensor input 412 received. For example, the navigation system 410 can use a combination of the sensor input 412 received to determine that a currently active hurricane will cross paths with the autonomous submersible structure on its current trajectory.” (Column 13 line 66 – Column 14 line 11), see also Column 21 lines 6-14, determining a path from the current location to the destination utilizing the water currents (“The control system can then determine navigation parameters that allow the structure 302 to drift with the strong currents 314 to conserve power used to control the propulsion system of the structure 302.” (Column 11 lines 45-49), “In some implementations, the navigation system 110 communicates with a remote server through the sensors and communications system 112 to receive new bearings. For example, the sensors and communications system 112 can transmit position data of the structure 100 to a remote server, which processes the data and transmits a new bearing to the navigation system 110. The navigation system 110 can receive the new bearing, process the data, and generate updated control signals for the propellers 106. In some implementations, the navigation system 110 communicates with a remote server through the sensors and communications system 112 to receive new control signals for the propellers 106.” (Column 5 line 65 – Column 6 line 10) and “In some examples, the control system continually determines new navigation parameters for the structure 302. In some examples, the control system determines whether to update the navigation parameters, and will not change previously determined parameters if the control system determines that no update to the navigation parameters is needed” (Column 12 lines 32-38), see also Fig 3; Rapoport discloses of detecting currents within Column 6 lines 45-54, where the data about the currents can be used to determine the boundaries of the current. In Column 6 line 64 – Column 7 line 10, it is disclosed that “The navigation system 110 can use the data collected by the sensors and communications system 112 to traverse the body of water in which the structure 100 is submerged. For example, the navigation system 110 can receive data from the sensors and communications system 112 indicating that the structure 100 is currently caught in a fast-moving current, but that the boundary between the current and calm water is 5 m below the center of the structure 100's current position. In this example, the navigation system 110 can generate control signals for the propellers 106 to sink the structure 100 below the boundary of the fast-moving current. The navigation system 112 can steer the structure 100 into or out of currents, based on the desired path of the structure 100”, where it is noted that a desired path of the vessel can be determined based on analyzed current based on the desired path of the vessel. In Column 11 lines 36-49, it is disclosed that “The process 300 continues on day 100. In this example, the live fish 304 have grown and are still in an early stage of development. The structure 302 is navigating through the trench 316 and the area of low water temperature 318. In this example, the structure 302 is headed for an area with strong currents 314. The control system can receive readings from sensors indicating that the live fish 304 are healthy, and that water conditions of the area of water into which the structure 302 will be navigating over the next few months are favorable based on the viability profile. The control system can then determine navigation parameters that allow the structure 302 to drift with the strong currents 314 to conserve power used to control the propulsion system of the structure 302.”, where the path was adjusted for the vessel based on the analysis of the current where it will allow the vessel to conserve power by utilizing the current that is heading in the desired direction towards the destination (See Fig 3, where 322 is the destination and 314 are the currents heading towards the destination that the vessel utilizes). It is noted that the currents are used to determine adjustments in a route of the vessel, where the bearings can be determined locally or with a remote server (See Column 5 line 65 - Column 6 line 10). It is noted that Column 12 lines 32-38 discloses of “In some examples, the control system continually determines new navigation parameters for the structure 302. In some examples, the control system determines whether to update the navigation parameters, and will not change previously determined parameters if the control system determines that no update to the navigation parameters is needed”, where the system continuously can update the navigation parameters (including the currents) and is therefore continuously considering is a new path is needed to connect the origin and destination), determining the next waypoint, and navigating towards the next waypoint with the navigation module utilizing the propulsion module when unable to utilize the water currents (“The navigation system 410 uses each input it receives to determine one or more navigation parameters. For example, the navigation system 410 can use the input 412 to determine a depth 414, a bearing 416, and a location 418. In some examples, the sensor input 412 includes data indicating navigation parameters such as the current depth, bearing, and location of the autonomous submersible structure, etc. In some examples, the navigation system 410 determines more parameters. In some examples, the navigation system 410 determines different parameters. For example, the navigation system 410 can determine a speed, a distance to travel, a time period, etc. In some examples, the navigation system 410 determines fewer parameters. For example, the navigation system 410 can determine a bearing 416.” (Column 13 lines 30-43) The control system can then determine navigation parameters that allow the structure 302 to drift with the strong currents 314 to conserve power used to control the propulsion system of the structure 302.” (Column 11 lines 45-49), “In some implementations, the navigation system 110 communicates with a remote server through the sensors and communications system 112 to receive new bearings. For example, the sensors and communications system 112 can transmit position data of the structure 100 to a remote server, which processes the data and transmits a new bearing to the navigation system 110. The navigation system 110 can receive the new bearing, process the data, and generate updated control signals for the propellers 106. In some implementations, the navigation system 110 communicates with a remote server through the sensors and communications system 112 to receive new control signals for the propellers 106.” (Column 5 line 65 – Column 6 line 10) and “In some examples, the control system continually determines new navigation parameters for the structure 302. In some examples, the control system determines whether to update the navigation parameters, and will not change previously determined parameters if the control system determines that no update to the navigation parameters is needed” (Column 12 lines 32-38), See also Fig 3); and
a power source adapted to power the controller and the modules (“the engine 442 can be powered by an external power source of the autonomous submersible structure, such as a battery, a fuel tank, an air tank, etc.” (Column 16 lines 49-52));
whereby the hull navigates to the destination through a series of the waypoints by utilizing the ocean currents when possible and the propulsion module when not(“The navigation system 410 uses each input it receives to determine one or more navigation parameters. For example, the navigation system 410 can use the input 412 to determine a depth 414, a bearing 416, and a location 418. In some examples, the sensor input 412 includes data indicating navigation parameters such as the current depth, bearing, and location of the autonomous submersible structure, etc. In some examples, the navigation system 410 determines more parameters. In some examples, the navigation system 410 determines different parameters. For example, the navigation system 410 can determine a speed, a distance to travel, a time period, etc. In some examples, the navigation system 410 determines fewer parameters. For example, the navigation system 410 can determine a bearing 416.” (Column 13 lines 30-43) The control system can then determine navigation parameters that allow the structure 302 to drift with the strong currents 314 to conserve power used to control the propulsion system of the structure 302.” (Column 11 lines 45-49), “In some implementations, the navigation system 110 communicates with a remote server through the sensors and communications system 112 to receive new bearings. For example, the sensors and communications system 112 can transmit position data of the structure 100 to a remote server, which processes the data and transmits a new bearing to the navigation system 110. The navigation system 110 can receive the new bearing, process the data, and generate updated control signals for the propellers 106. In some implementations, the navigation system 110 communicates with a remote server through the sensors and communications system 112 to receive new control signals for the propellers 106.” (Column 5 line 65 – Column 6 line 10) and “In some examples, the control system continually determines new navigation parameters for the structure 302. In some examples, the control system determines whether to update the navigation parameters, and will not change previously determined parameters if the control system determines that no update to the navigation parameters is needed” (Column 12 lines 32-38), See also Fig 3).
However, Rapoport does not specifically disclose of a satellite location system, and a satellite communication system
a communication module adapted for wireless communication with … the satellite communication system;
a location module adapted for communicating with the satellite location system to find a current location of the hull on the body of water.
Rogers, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of a satellite location system, and a satellite communication system (“Looking to FIG. 2, a block diagram is shown of the basic internal components of the special purpose device 4 that will be installed on-board marine vessels participating in within a given region. The global positioning system (GPS) component 6 of the special device comprises a single modular integrated circuit (IC) 7 similar to the GPS2020 IC manufactured by SyChip or the CXD2931-91GA9 by Sony Corp. The circuit 7 is supported by a complement of IC devices 8 and connections including a serial connection 9 to the intelligent display component 10, a power connection 11 from the power distribution and regulator 12, and to an appropriate GPS antenna 13” (Column 10 lines 22-33));
a communication module adapted for wireless communication with … the satellite communication system (“Looking to FIG. 2, a block diagram is shown of the basic internal components of the special purpose device 4 that will be installed on-board marine vessels participating in within a given region. The global positioning system (GPS) component 6 of the special device comprises a single modular integrated circuit (IC) 7 similar to the GPS2020 IC manufactured by SyChip or the CXD2931-91GA9 by Sony Corp. The circuit 7 is supported by a complement of IC devices 8 and connections including a serial connection 9 to the intelligent display component 10, a power connection 11 from the power distribution and regulator 12, and to an appropriate GPS antenna 13” (Column 10 lines 22-33));
a location module adapted for communicating with the satellite location system to find a current location of the hull on the body of water (“Looking now to FIG. 9, the algorithm continuously cycles and each time it cycles it receives the incoming GPS packet information P(N) from the on-board special purpose devices in the participating vessels. Where N=the identification for the subject vessel information being processed. To begin the cycle, the received packet P(N) is converted, by the Packet Conversion Algorithm, to a form suitable for comparison with setpoint values S. The setpoint values are sequentially loaded into the comparison algorithm from information stored in either the static or dynamic section of the database 34 resident in the fail-safe server 2. (The origin of the data stored in the database 34 will be discussed in a subsequent paragraph later in the invention.) Again looking at FIG. 9, the comparison algorithm that conducts the comparison between the values of M(N) and S contains sufficient intelligence to determine whether the subject vessel's position, heading and speed, or other status information contained in the incoming packet, poses a threat to the vessel.” (Column 13 lines 47-65), see also Fig 9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication module, as taught by Rapoport, to include a satellite location system and a satellite communication system to find a current location of the hull on the body of water, as taught by Rogers, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to determine whether the subject vessel's position, heading and speed, or other status information contained in the incoming packet, poses a threat to the vessel (Rogers Column 13 lines 63-65).
In regards to claim 2, Rapoport in view of Rogers teaches of the autonomous vessel of claim 1 wherein the controller utilizes the communication module to access updated weather models from a weather service accessible through the satellite communication system (“In some implementations, the navigation system 110 communicates with a remote server through the sensors and communications system 112 to receive new bearings. For example, the sensors and communications system 112 can transmit position data of the structure 100 to a remote server, which processes the data and transmits a new bearing to the navigation system 110. The navigation system 110 can receive the new bearing, process the data, and generate updated control signals for the propellers 106. In some implementations, the navigation system 110 communicates with a remote server through the sensors and communications system 112 to receive new control signals for the propellers 106.” (Rapoport Column 5 line 65 – Column 6 line 10) and “The sensor input 412 can include values of certain parameters that indicate weather conditions. For example, the environmental parameters 420 can include data indicating weather conditions such as lightning, hurricanes, tropical storms, tornados, tsunamis, etc. For example, the environmental parameters 420 can include data from local weather stations. In some examples, the navigation system 410 can determine weather conditions from a combination of the sensor input 412 received. For example, the navigation system 410 can use a combination of the sensor input 412 received to determine that a currently active hurricane will cross paths with the autonomous submersible structure on its current trajectory.” (Rapoport Column 13 line 66 – Column 14 line 11) and “The location output 418 indicates a destination location of the autonomous submersible structure. The location output 418 can include global coordinates, an address, etc. The location output 418 is determined by the navigation system 410, and is used to control the propulsion system 440 to navigate the autonomous submersible structure in the body of water in which the structure 100 is submerged. In some examples, the location output 418 is determined by the navigation system 410 using the sensor input 412.” (Rapoport Column 15 lines 52-60), see also Rogers Column 13 lines 47-65).
The motivation of combining Rapoport and Rogers is the same as that recited for claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 3, Rapoport in view of Rogers teaches of the autonomous vessel of claim 2 wherein the controller utilizes the communication module to access a network having the updated weather models, suggested next waypoints, and updated destination location information (“In some implementations, the navigation system 110 communicates with a remote server through the sensors and communications system 112 to receive new bearings. For example, the sensors and communications system 112 can transmit position data of the structure 100 to a remote server, which processes the data and transmits a new bearing to the navigation system 110. The navigation system 110 can receive the new bearing, process the data, and generate updated control signals for the propellers 106. In some implementations, the navigation system 110 communicates with a remote server through the sensors and communications system 112 to receive new control signals for the propellers 106.” (Rapoport Column 5 line 65 – Column 6 line 10) and “The sensor input 412 can include values of certain parameters that indicate weather conditions. For example, the environmental parameters 420 can include data indicating weather conditions such as lightning, hurricanes, tropical storms, tornados, tsunamis, etc. For example, the environmental parameters 420 can include data from local weather stations. In some examples, the navigation system 410 can determine weather conditions from a combination of the sensor input 412 received. For example, the navigation system 410 can use a combination of the sensor input 412 received to determine that a currently active hurricane will cross paths with the autonomous submersible structure on its current trajectory.” (Rapoport Column 13 line 66 – Column 14 line 11) and “The location output 418 indicates a destination location of the autonomous submersible structure. The location output 418 can include global coordinates, an address, etc. The location output 418 is determined by the navigation system 410, and is used to control the propulsion system 440 to navigate the autonomous submersible structure in the body of water in which the structure 100 is submerged. In some examples, the location output 418 is determined by the navigation system 410 using the sensor input 412.” (Rapoport Column 15 lines 52-60) and “The navigation system 110 can use the data collected by the sensors and communications system 112 to traverse the body of water in which the structure 100 is submerged. For example, the navigation system 110 can receive data from the sensors and communications system 112 indicating that the structure 100 is currently caught in a fast-moving current, but that the boundary between the current and calm water is 5 m below the center of the structure 100's current position. In this example, the navigation system 110 can generate control signals for the propellers 106 to sink the structure 100 below the boundary of the fast-moving current. The navigation system 112 can steer the structure 100 into or out of currents, based on the desired path of the structure 100” (Column 6 line 64 – Column 7 line 10), and “The process 300 continues on day 100. In this example, the live fish 304 have grown and are still in an early stage of development. The structure 302 is navigating through the trench 316 and the area of low water temperature 318. In this example, the structure 302 is headed for an area with strong currents 314. The control system can receive readings from sensors indicating that the live fish 304 are healthy, and that water conditions of the area of water into which the structure 302 will be navigating over the next few months are favorable based on the viability profile. The control system can then determine navigation parameters that allow the structure 302 to drift with the strong currents 314 to conserve power used to control the propulsion system of the structure 302.” (Column 11 lines 36-49)).
In regards to claim 4, Rapoport in view of Rogers teaches of the autonomous vessel of claim 3 wherein the controller utilizes the communication module to access a command center connected with the network, the controller adapted to send the command center location information of the hull, module status information, cargo status information, and weather information, and to receive the next waypoint from the command center and begin navigating towards the waypoint with the navigation module utilizing the propulsion module (“In some implementations, the navigation system 110 communicates with a remote server through the sensors and communications system 112 to receive new bearings. For example, the sensors and communications system 112 can transmit position data of the structure 100 to a remote server, which processes the data and transmits a new bearing to the navigation system 110. The navigation system 110 can receive the new bearing, process the data, and generate updated control signals for the propellers 106. In some implementations, the navigation system 110 communicates with a remote server through the sensors and communications system 112 to receive new control signals for the propellers 106.” (Rapoport Column 5 line 65 – Column 6 line 10) and “The sensor input 412 can include values of certain parameters that indicate weather conditions. For example, the environmental parameters 420 can include data indicating weather conditions such as lightning, hurricanes, tropical storms, tornados, tsunamis, etc. For example, the environmental parameters 420 can include data from local weather stations. In some examples, the navigation system 410 can determine weather conditions from a combination of the sensor input 412 received. For example, the navigation system 410 can use a combination of the sensor input 412 received to determine that a currently active hurricane will cross paths with the autonomous submersible structure on its current trajectory.” (Rapoport Column 13 line 66 – Column 14 line 11) and “The location output 418 indicates a destination location of the autonomous submersible structure. The location output 418 can include global coordinates, an address, etc. The location output 418 is determined by the navigation system 410, and is used to control the propulsion system 440 to navigate the autonomous submersible structure in the body of water in which the structure 100 is submerged. In some examples, the location output 418 is determined by the navigation system 410 using the sensor input 412.” (Rapoport Column 15 lines 52-60); see also col. 6, ll. 35-65 reciting the communication between the sensors and the remote server; col. 14, ll. 30-50 reciting the communication of live cargo parameters to the remote server).
In regards to claim 5, Rapoport in view of Rogers teaches of the autonomous vessel of claim 1 wherein the power source includes a solar energy collector (“In some implementations, the power generation system 118 can use a solar power system to generate electric power for the various systems of the structure 100. In some implementations, the power generation system 118 uses other renewable energy systems, such as wind, nuclear, etc. In some implementations, the power generation system 118 can use generators powered by resources such as natural gas. In some implementations, the power generation system 118 can be recharged when the structure 100 is serviced, or when maintenance is performed on the structure 100.” (Rapoport Column 8 lines 14-24)).
In regards to claim 7, Rapoport in view of Rogers teaches of the autonomous vessel of claim 1 wherein the hull is a surface hull adapted for floating on the body of water (“The structure 100 is a free-floating structure located in a body of water and is configured to autonomously navigate currents to certain locations. The structure 100 includes the cage 102 for containing cargo 104.” (Rapoport Column 3 lines 64-67).
In regards to claim 8, Rapoport in view of Rogers teaches of the autonomous vessel of claim 1 wherein the hull is a subsurface-capable hull adapted for either floating on the body of water or navigating under a surface of the body of water (“The structure 100 is a free-floating structure located in a body of water and is configured to autonomously navigate currents to certain locations. The structure 100 includes the cage 102 for containing cargo 104.” (Rapoport Column 3 lines 64-67), “The air tank 446 can be a tank filled with air that is used to blow water out of the autonomous submersible structure. In some examples, the air tank 446 contains compressed air that forces water out of the ballast 448. The air tank 446 pushes water through valves of the autonomous submersible structure to increase the buoyancy of the autonomous submersible structure. In some examples, the air tank 446 can be controlled by the propulsion system 440 based on the one or more navigation parameters determined by the navigation system 410. For example, the air tank 446 can be controlled to force air out of the ballast 448 based on a change in depth that decreases the depth of the autonomous submersible structure. The ballast 448 can be a compartment within the autonomous submersible structure that holds water to provide stability for the submersible structure. In some examples, the ballast 448 is an embodiment of the ballast 118 as described with respect to FIGS. 1-2. In some examples, the ballast 448 can be controlled by the propulsion system 440 based on the one or more navigation parameters determined by the navigation system 410. For example, the ballast 448 can be pumped with water to decrease buoyancy of the autonomous submersible structure if the depth output 414 determined by the navigation system 410 requires an increase in depth of the autonomous submersible structure.” (Rapoport Column 17 lines 18-42).
In regards to claim 9, the claim recites analogous limitations to the combination of claims 1-5, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapoport in view of Rogers as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hsia et al. (US 20090133732; hereinafter Hsia).
In regards to claim 6, Rapoport in view of Rogers teaches of the autonomous vessel of claim 5.
However, Rapoport in view of Rogers does not specifically teach of the solar energy collector includes a buoyant float for maintaining the solar energy collector above the water.
Hsia, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of the solar energy collector includes a buoyant float for maintaining the solar energy collector above the water (“Referring to FIGS. 4 and 5, a floating base 103 consists a floating base plate 126, an upper wall 120, a lower wall 121, many solar power panel supports 116, many optional ribs 115, and at least one float 301 (4 shown). The floating base plate is a plate which has the upper wall and the solar power panel supports protruding from one surface; and the lower wall and the optional ribs protruding from the other surface.” (Para 0037), “The current invention provides means to create watertight enclosures and accessories for solar power panel arrays so that they can float on water surfaces and they do not need lands or special costly supports. This invention introduces ways to create a large solar power station so that meaningful electricity can be generated. This invention also provides means to use the solar power stations so that electricity can be used in cargo transportation.” (Para 0006), see also Fig 25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solar energy collector, as taught by Rapoport in view of Rogers, to include a buoyant float for maintaining the solar energy collector above water, as taught by Hsia, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow the solar energy collectors to not require land or special supports while producing meaningful electricity (Shia Para 0005-0006).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mikalsen et al. (US 20210027225) discloses of determining a path from a current position of a vessel to a destination when accounting for water current levels to determine the fuel required for each path.
O’ Donncha et al. (US 20200225385) discloses of using machine learning to generate a wave model that determines wave conditions and determining a ship routing accordingly.
/KYLE J KINGSLAND/ Examiner, Art Unit 3663