Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 10th, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the mirror" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the mirror” is interpreted as “a mirror”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byeon (KR 20210056864 A, as evidenced by the machine translation) in view of Takii (US 2015/0150448).
Regarding claim 1, Byeon discloses an optical biometer (Figs. 3-5, [0024], “optical coherence tomography device”), comprising:
a light-source module (10) configured to emit an incident-light ([0024], “a light source (10)”);
a light-splitting module (20), disposed corresponding to the light-source module and configured to divide the incident-light ([0024], “a beam splitter (20)”) into a reference light (R) and a sensing light (L, [0024], “The beam splitter (20) splits the measurement light (L) into a reference light (R) and a measurement light (L)”);
a reference arm (examiner interprets the optical path comprising mirror 30 to be the reference arm in Fig. 3), disposed corresponding to the light-splitting module and configured to generate a first reflected-light according to the reference light ([0024], “reference light (R) is reflected from the reference mirror (30) and transmitted back to the beam splitter (20)”);
a sensing arm (50), disposed corresponding to the light-splitting module and configured to emit the sensing light to an eye (5) and receive a second reflected-light from the eye (S, [0024], “The beam splitter (23) also performs the role of overlapping the reference light (R) and the signal light (S)”), wherein in a first mode, the sensing light is emitted to a first position of the eye ([0026], “The first measurement light (L1) is incident on the retina of the eyeball (5) and is reflected from the retina to generate signal light (Sr)”); in a second mode, the sensing light is emitted to a second position of the eye ([0028], “The second measurement light (L2) incident on the cornea of the eye (5) is reflected from the cornea to generate signal light (Sc)”); and
a sensing module (40) configured to generate a sensing result according to the first reflected-light and the second reflected-light ([0024], “The generated signal light (S) and the reference light (R) reflected from the reference mirror (30) are superimposed in the beam splitter (20) to generate interference light (I), and the generated interference light (I) is detected by the photodetector (40)”).
Byeon does not specifically disclose wherein the incident-light emitted by the light-source module is a partial annular light and the sensing result comprises a partial annular image related to the eye.
However Takii, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an optical biometer, teaches wherein the incident-light emitted by the light-source module (Figs. 1 and 6, element 11) is a partial annular light ([0096], “FIG. 6 illustrates an anterior chamber image captured in a state where only a higher half portion of the light source 11 (here, the first ring light source 11a) is turned on”) and the sensing result comprises a partial annular image related to the eye ([0096], “a third Purkinje image Rq1 is an inverted reflected image”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical biometer of Byeon with the wherein the incident-light emitted by the light-source module is a partial annular light and the sensing result comprises a partial annular image related to the eye as taught by Takii, for the purpose of reducing errors formed by the processor ([0096]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Byeon teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above and Byeon further discloses wherein the first position of the eye is retina and the first mode is a retina mode ([0026], “The first measurement light (L1) is incident on the retina of the eyeball (5) and is reflected from the retina to generate signal light (Sr)”).
Regarding claim 3, modified Byeon teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above and Byeon further discloses wherein the second position of the eye is cornea and the second mode is a cornea mode ([0028], “The second measurement light (L2) incident on the cornea of the eye (5) is reflected from the cornea to generate signal light (Sc)”).
Regarding claim 4, modified Byeon teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above and Byeon further discloses wherein the reference arm comprises a movable module (30), when the movable module is moved, an optical path of the first reflected light generated when the reference light is emitted to the movable module and reflected by the movable module changes accordingly ([0024], “As the reference mirror (30) moves away from the beam splitter (20), it increases the optical path length (OPL) of the reference light (R).”).
Regarding claim 7, modified Byeon teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the light-source module comprises: a plurality of first light-emitting unit, coupled to an annular light board and configured to emit the partial annular light; and a plurality of second light-emitting unit, disposed in an outer area and shared with other functional optical modules and configured to emit lights which is reflected by the mirror to an equivalent position.
However Takii, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an optical biometer, teaches wherein the light-source module (Figs. 1 and 6, element 11) comprises: a plurality of first light-emitting unit (11a), coupled to an annular light board ([0021], “the light source 11 includes a first ring light source 11a”) and configured to emit the partial annular light ([0096], “FIG. 6 illustrates an anterior chamber image captured in a state where only a higher half portion of the light source 11 (here, the first ring light source 11a) is turned on”); and a plurality of second light-emitting unit (11b), disposed in an outer area (11b is disposed outside of 31) and shared with other functional optical modules (31) and configured to emit lights which is reflected by a mirror to an equivalent position (23, as shown in Fig. 1, 23 reflects light 11b returning from the eye to an equivalent position as light 11a reflected by the eye).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical biometer of Byeon in view of Takii with the wherein the light-source module comprises: a plurality of first light-emitting unit, coupled to an annular light board and configured to emit the partial annular light; and a plurality of second light-emitting unit, disposed in an outer area and shared with other functional optical modules and configured to emit lights which is reflected by the mirror to an equivalent position as taught by Takii, for the purpose of reducing errors formed by the processor ([0096]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Byeon teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above and Byeon further discloses wherein the optical biometer is an optical coherence tomography (OCT) biometer ([0024], “As illustrated in FIG. 3, the optical coherence tomography device according to the present invention has a structure substantially identical to that of a conventional optical coherence tomography device”) and the optical biometer operates in spectral domain ([0024], “The measurement light (L) used in optical coherence tomography (OCT) is typically a broadband low-coherence light with a short coherence distance, and, for example, is near infrared light with a wavelength of 750 nm to 1500 nm.”).
Regarding claim 10, modified Byeon teaches as is set forth in claim 9 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the reference arm comprises a movable reflector, a fixed reflector and a baffle; when the baffle operates in a first state, the reference light is only emitted to the fixed reflector; when the baffle operates in a second state, the reference light is only emitted to the movable reflector; when the baffle operates in a third state, the reference light is emitted to the fixed reflector and the movable reflector.
However Byeon, in a separate embodiment, teaches wherein the reference arm (Fig. 6, 60) comprises a movable reflector (30, [0038], “reference mirror (30) for changing the optical path length (OPL) of a reference light (R)”), a fixed reflector (64) and a baffle (62); when the baffle operates in a first state (R2), the reference light is only emitted to the fixed reflector (as shown in Fig. 6, R2 is directed to fixed mirror 64); when the baffle operates in a second state (R1), the reference light is only emitted to the movable reflector (baffle 62 directs R1 to 30); when the baffle operates in a third state, the reference light is emitted to the fixed reflector and the movable reflector ([0040], “reference light reflected from the reference mirror (30) includes a first reference light (R1) with a short optical path length (OPL) and a second reference light (R2) with a long optical path length (OPL)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical biometer of Byeon in view of Takii with the wherein the reference arm comprises a movable reflector, a fixed reflector and a baffle; when the baffle operates in a first state, the reference light is only emitted to the fixed reflector; when the baffle operates in a second state, the reference light is only emitted to the movable reflector; when the baffle operates in a third state, the reference light is emitted to the fixed reflector and the movable reflector as taught by Byeon, for the purpose of detecting both retinal and corneal signal light ([0038]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byeon (KR 20210056864 A, as evidenced by the machine translation) in view of Takii (US 2015/0150448), further in view of Cable (US 2014/0028997).
Regarding claim 5, modified Byeon teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the light-splitting module is replaced by a switchable module.
However Cable, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an optical biometer, teaches wherein the light-splitting module (Fig. 37, element 3740) is replaced by a switchable module ([0166], “an optical switch 3740 selects the active path from the multiple paths that are available”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical biometer of Byeon in view of Takii with the wherein the light-splitting module is replaced by a switchable module as taught by Cable, for the purpose of switching between different path lengths ([0166]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byeon (KR 20210056864 A, as evidenced by the machine translation) in view of Takii (US 2015/0150448), further in view of Nomura (US 2015/0173952).
Regarding claim 6, modified Byeon teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the light-source module comprises a partial annular light source disposed in front of a camera lens.
However Nomura, in the same field of endeavor because both teach an optical biometer, teaches wherein the light-source module (Fig. 2, element 11) comprises a partial annular light source (Fig. 3K, Fig. 5 element A7) disposed in front of a camera lens (12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the optical biometer of Byeon in view of Takii with the wherein the light-source module comprises a partial annular light source disposed in front of a camera lens as taught by Nomura, for the purpose of converging the preset illumination ([0055]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to the allowable subject matter, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach of the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103.
Specifically, regarding claim 8, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or suggest wherein the light source module comprises an annular light source, a lens module, an annular reflecting surface and a conical reflector; the conical reflector is disposed on the annular reflecting surface and the lens module is disposed between the annular light source and the conical reflector, an annular light emitted by the annular light source passes through the lens module and is reflected by the conical reflector to emit the incident light.
Specifically, regarding claim 11, none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or suggest wherein in the first state, the baffle is moved to a first position corresponding to the movable reflector; in the second state, the baffle is moved to a second position corresponding to the fixed reflector; in the third state, the baffle is moved to a third position different from the first position and the second position.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Oggenfuss (US 11,896,308), Mino (US 2024/0000310), Tatara (US 2019/0298168), Tsukada (US 2007/0222945), Kahn (US 2013/0301004), Chong (US 11,213,200), teach an optical biometer, comprising: a light-source module; a light-splitting module, configured to divide the incident-light into a reference light and a sensing light; a reference arm, disposed corresponding to the light-splitting module and configured to generate a first reflected-light according to the reference light; a sensing arm, disposed corresponding to the light-splitting module and configured to emit the sensing light to an eye and receive a second reflected-light from the eye; and a sensing module .
/MATTHEW Y LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 1 September 2026