Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5 are objected to because of the following informalities: (i) since claim 1 recites “a second part that extends from the first part in the first direction”, the recitation in claim 4 of “the second part of the at least one arm extends in the first direction” is objected to for failing to further limiting. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10: since claim 1 recites the at least one arm including a first part disposed on the first surface of the first plate or the second surface of the second plate, the recitation in claim 10 of the at least one arm includes “a first arm provided on the first surface of the first plate and a second arm provided on the second surface of the second plate” renders the claim indefinite for failing to clearly define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention, since it is not clear whether the first and second arms are the same or different from the first and second parts of claim 1. For the purpose of this examination, the claim will be examined as best understood or so far as definite.
Claim 11: since claim 1 recites the at least one arm including a second part that extends from the first part in the first direction, the recitation in claim 11 of “a first shoulder bent from the first arm and a second shoulder bent from the second arm” renders the claim indefinite for failing to clearly define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention, since it is not clear whether the first and second shoulders are the same or different from the second part of claim 1. For the purpose of this examination, the claim will be examined as best understood or so far as definite.
Claim 12 is rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10-11, 13-16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2012/0104923 to Jung et al (hereinafter Jung ‘923).
Jung ‘923 discloses (Claim 1). A vacuum adiabatic body comprising: a first plate 110 including a first surface configured to provide at least a portion of a wall for a first space; a second plate 120 including a second surface configured to provide at least a portion of a wall for a second space, the second plate 120 being spaced apart from the first plate 110 in a first direction; a vacuum space 130 provided between the first plate 110 and the second plate 120; a support 140 provided to reduce deformation of the vacuum space 130 and including at least one of a bar 140 having a portion extending in the first direction; a cover adiabatic material 170 disposed to shield an edge of the vacuum space 130, and at least one arm 211,212 including a first part 211a,212a disposed on the first surface of the first plate 110 or the second surface of the second plate 120, and a second part 211c,212c that extends from the first part 211a,21a in the first direction and is disposed between an end of at least one of the first plate 110 or the second plate 120 and the cover adiabatic material 170; (Claim 2). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 1, wherein the cover adiabatic material 170 comprises a portion to define an edge of the vacuum adiabatic body; (Claim 3). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 1, further comprising a sheet 220,230 to reduce heat conduction between the first and second plates, the sheet being disposed to be connected with the first plate 110 and the second plate 120, wherein the cover adiabatic material 170 comprises a first portion to face the sheet and a second portion to define an edge of the vacuum adiabatic body (such as shown in Fig. 5); (Claim 4). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 1, wherein the first part 211a,212a of the at least one arm extends in a second direction different from the first direction, and the second part 211c,212c of the at least one arm extends in the first direction; (Claim 5). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 4, wherein the second part 211c,212c is bent from the first part and is coupled to the cover adiabatic material 170; (Claim 8). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 1, further comprising a sheet 211b,212b,213 to reduce heat conduction between the first and second plates, the sheet being disposed to be connected with the first plate 110 and the second plate 120; wherein a width of the cover adiabatic material 170 in the second direction is greater than a width of the sheet in the second direction, the second direction being perpendicular to the first direction; (Claim 10). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 1, wherein the at least one arm 210 includes a first arm 221a provided on the first surface of the first plate 110 and a second arm 212a provided on the second surface of the second plate 120, and wherein the first and second arms 211a,212a are spaced apart from each other by the cover adiabatic material 170; (Claim 11). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 10, further comprising a first shoulder 211c bent from the first arm 211a and a second shoulder 212c bent from the second arm 212a, the second shoulder 212c being spaced apart from the first shoulder 211c in the first direction, wherein a distance from the first shoulder 211c to the second shoulder 212c in the first direction is less than a width of the cover adiabatic material 170 in the first direction; (Claim 13). A vacuum adiabatic body comprising: a first plate 110; a second plate 120; a vacuum space 130 provided between the first plate 110 and the second plate 120; and a cover assembly comprising a first cover 211a provided on the first plate 110 and a second cover 212a provided on the second plate 120, wherein a thickness of the first cover 211a is less than a thickness of the first plate 110, and a thickness of the second cover 212a is less than a thickness of the second plate 120; (Claim 14). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 13, further comprising: a sheet 220,230 to reduce heat conduction between the first and second plates, the sheet being disposed to be connected with the first plate 110; and a third cover 170 including a portion disposed at edges of the first plate 110 and the second plate 120 and configured to shield the sheet, wherein the third cover connects the first cover to the second cover; (Claim 15). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 14, wherein the first cover includes an inner cover 211a at an inner side of the vacuum adiabatic body, and the second cover includes an outer cover 211a at an outer side of the vacuum adiabatic body, and wherein the third cover 170 is disposed between the first cover and the second cover; (Claim 16). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 14, wherein the portion of the third cover includes a cover adiabatic material 170, and wherein the cover adiabatic material 170 has a thickness greater than a thickness of each of the first plate 110 and the second plate 120; (Claim 18). A vacuum adiabatic body comprising: a first plate 110; a second plate 120; a vacuum space 130 provided between the first plate 110 and the second plate 120; a first arm 211a that extends along the first plate 110; a second arm 212a that extends along the second plate 120; and a cover adiabatic material 170 disposed at edges of the first and second arms, wherein the cover adiabatic material 170 includes a portion that forms an edge of the vacuum adiabatic body and is exposed to an outside of the vacuum adiabatic body; (Claim 19). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 18, further comprising a shoulder 211c,212c that is bent from at least one of the first arm 211a or the second arm 212a and is coupled to the cover adiabatic material 170; (Claim 20). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 18, further comprising; a sheet 211b,212b,213 to reduce heat conduction between the first and second plates, the sheet being disposed to be connected with the first plate; and a shoulder 211c,212c that is bent from at least one of the first arm 211a or the second arm 212a and is disposed between the sheet and the cover adiabatic material 170 (such as shown in Fig. 6).
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2017/023088 to Jung et al (hereinafter Jung ‘088).
Jung ‘088 discloses (Claim 1). A vacuum adiabatic body comprising (such as shown in Figs. 4(a) & 11): a first plate 10 including a first surface configured to provide at least a portion of a wall for a first space; a second plate 35,70 including a second surface configured to provide at least a portion of a wall for a second space, the second plate 35,70 being spaced apart from the first plate 10 in a first direction; a vacuum space 50 provided between the first plate 10 and the second plate 35,70; a support 30 provided to reduce deformation of the vacuum space 50 and including at least one of a bar 31 having a portion extending in the first direction; a cover adiabatic material 90 disposed to shield an edge of the vacuum space 50, and at least one arm 91 including a first part disposed on the first surface of the first plate 10 or the second surface of the second plate 35,70, and a second part that extends from the first part in the first direction and is disposed between an end of at least one of the first plate 10 or the second plate 35,70 and the cover adiabatic material 90; (Claim 2). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 1, wherein the cover adiabatic material 90 comprises a portion to define an edge of the vacuum adiabatic body; (Claim 3). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 1, further comprising a sheet 60 to reduce heat conduction between the first and second plates, the sheet 60 being disposed to be connected with the first plate 10 and the second plate 35,70, wherein the cover adiabatic material 90 comprises a first portion to face the sheet 60 and a second portion to define an edge of the vacuum adiabatic body (such as shown in Fig. 11); (Claim 4). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 1, wherein the first part of the at least one arm extends in a second direction different from the first direction, and the second part of the at least one arm extends in the first direction; (Claim 5). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 4, wherein the second part is bent from the first part and is coupled to the cover adiabatic material 90; (Claim 7). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 1, wherein the first part extends along the first surface of one of the first plate 10, and wherein the second part is bent from the first part and includes a portion inserted into the cover adiabatic material 90;
(Claim 8). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 1, further comprising a sheet 60 to reduce heat conduction between the first and second plates, the sheet 60 being disposed to be connected with the first plate 10 and the second plate 35,70; wherein a width of the cover adiabatic material 90 in the second direction is greater than a width of the sheet 60 in the second direction, the second direction being perpendicular to the first direction; (Claim 9). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 1, further comprising a sheet 60 to reduce heat conduction between the first and second plates, the sheet 60 being disposed to be connected with the first plate 10 and the second plate 35,70; wherein the cover adiabatic material 90 is made of a resin material ([80], “foaming urethane or Styrofoam”), and the sheet 60 is made of a metal material ([54], “thin foil”, “stainless material”); (Claim 10). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 1, wherein the at least one arm includes a first arm 85 provided on the first surface of the first plate 10 and a second arm 20 provided on the second surface of the second plate 35,70, and wherein the first and second arms are spaced apart from each other by the cover adiabatic material 90; (Claim 11). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 10, further comprising a first shoulder bent from the first arm and a second shoulder bent from the second arm 20, the second shoulder being spaced apart from the first shoulder in the first direction, wherein a distance from the first shoulder to the second shoulder in the first direction is less than a width of the cover adiabatic material 90 in the first direction; (Claim 12). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 11, further comprising a first coupler bent from the first shoulder and a second coupler bent from the second shoulder, wherein the first coupler is inserted into the cover adiabatic material 90;
(Claim 18). A vacuum adiabatic body comprising: a first plate 10; a second plate 35,70; a vacuum space 50 provided between the first plate 10 and the second plate 35,70; a first arm 91 that extends along the first plate 10; a second arm 20 that extends along the second plate 35,70; and a cover adiabatic material 90 disposed at edges of the first and second arms, wherein the cover adiabatic material 90 includes a portion that forms an edge of the vacuum adiabatic body and is exposed to an outside of the vacuum adiabatic body; (Claim 19). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 18, further comprising a shoulder that is bent from at least one of the first arm 91 or the second arm 20 and is coupled to the cover adiabatic material 90; (Claim 20). The vacuum adiabatic body according to claim 18, further comprising; a sheet 60 to reduce heat conduction between the first and second plates, the sheet 60 being disposed to be connected with the first plate 10; and a shoulder that is bent from the first arm 91 and is disposed between the sheet 60 and the cover adiabatic material 90 (such as shown in Fig. 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung ‘923 in view of Jung ‘088.
Jung ‘923 discloses all the elements as discussed above including the limitations in claim 17 of wherein each of the first plate and the second plate is made of a metal material ([0088]). The difference being that Jung ‘923 fails to clearly disclose the limitations in claim 17 of wherein the cover adiabatic material is made of a non-metal material.
However, Jung ‘088 discloses a vacuum adiabatic body comprising: a first plate 10; a second plate 35,70; a vacuum space 50 provided between the first plate 10 and the second plate 35,70; and a cover assembly comprising a first cover provided on the first plate and a second cover provided on the second plate, a cover adiabatic material 90 disposed at edges of the first and second plates, wherein each of the first plate and the second plate is made of a metal material ([0088]), and wherein the cover adiabatic material is made of a non-metal material ([80], “foaming urethane or Styrofoam”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Jung ‘088, to modify Jung ‘923 to include the limitations in claim 17 of wherein the cover adiabatic material is made of a non-metal material with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the vacuum adiabatic body.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s arguments on pages 12-13 regarding Fig. 11 of Jung, the examiner respectfully take the position that, as stated in the above rejection to claim 1 in paragraph #12, the conductive resistance adiabatic material 91 meets the limitations in claim 1 of “at least one arm 91 including a first part disposed on the first surface of the first plate 10 or the second surface of the second plate 35,70, and a second part that extends from the first part in the first direction and is disposed between an end of at least one of the first plate 10 or the second plate 35,70 and the cover adiabatic material 90”.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Okazaki, Allard, and Yoo have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 13 in view of Jung, Okazaki, Allard, and Yoo have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to applicant’s arguments on pages 17-18 regarding Fig. 11 of Jung, the examiner respectfully take the position that, as stated in the above rejection to claim 18 in paragraph #12, the conductive resistance adiabatic material 91 meets the limitations in claim 18 of “a cover adiabatic material 90 disposed at edges of the first and second arms, wherein the cover adiabatic material 90 includes a portion that forms an edge of the vacuum adiabatic body and is exposed to an outside of the vacuum adiabatic body”.
Conclusion
HVT
September 2, 2026
/HANH V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637