DETAILED ACTION
Applicants’ response and amendments filed on 06/26/2026 are acknowledged and have been entered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant has previously elected with traverse Group I, drawn to a method of engrafting airway basal cells
into the respiratory tract of a subject in need thereof, the method comprising removing epithelial cells from the
respiratory tract and administering airway basal cells to the respiratory tract. Claims 1-6, 8-20, 22-29, and 31-33 were pending and under consideration. Claim 9 is currently amended. Claims 1-6, 8-20, 22-29, and 31-33 are under examination in the instant application.
Status of Prior Rejections/Response to Arguments
RE: Rejection of claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph:
Applicants have amended claim 9 to depend from claim 2, such that there is sufficient antecedent basis for for the limitation “the chemical agent” in the claim. The rejection is therefore withdrawn.
RE: Rejection of claims 1, 8-13, 15-18, 22-32 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma et al.:
Applicants have traversed the rejection asserting that Ma does not teach that steps (a) and (b) of independent claims 1, 28 and 29 are performed on the same subject. Applicants argue that Ma et al. discloses brushing off epithelial cells from human lungs, while the airway basal cells are transplanted into mouse lung parenchyma. This is not persuasive because Ma et al. does also clearly teach in the Abstract showing that a rare population of SOX9+ basal cells (BCs) located at airway epithelium rugae can regenerate adult human lung. Human SOX9+ BCs can be readily isolated by bronchoscopic brushing and indefinitely expanded in feeder-free condition to regenerate adult human lung. Ma et al. further discloses “Most importantly, for the first time we explored the clinical feasibility of autologous SOX9+ BC transplantation to treat two patients with chronic lung diseases.”, which is highly consistent with the observation on the mouse model (page 268, column 1, last paragraph).
Applicants further argue that the tissue disruption of Ma is in the trachea, e.g., the epithelial cell removed are not in at least one bronchus and/or at least one bronchiole, as instantly claimed. This is not persuasive, because Ma et al. does clearly teach in the Abstract brushing the bronchiolar epithelium.
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection is therefore maintained.
RE: Rejection of claims 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al., in view of Farrow et al.:
Applicants have traversed the rejection asserting that Farrow does nothing to relieve the deficiencies of Ma
Applicants have not addressed the teachings of Farrow et al. for the reasons it was cited for. The rejection is therefore maintained.
RE: Rejection of claims1, 14, 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al., in view of HAWKINS et al.:
Applicants have traversed the rejection asserting that HAWKINS does nothing to relieve the deficiencies of Ma et al.
Applicants have not addressed the teachings of HAWKINS et al. for the reasons it was cited for. The rejection is therefore maintained.
RE: Rejection of claim 33 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al., in view of Dimmer et al. (US9662171B2):
Applicants have traversed the rejection asserting that Dimmer et al. does nothing to relieve the deficiencies of Ma et al.
Applicants have not addressed the teachings of Dimmer et al. for the reasons it was cited for. The rejection is therefore maintained.
New/Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-13, 15-18, 22-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma et al. (Ma et al., "Regeneration of functional alveoli by adult human SOX9+ airway basal cell transplantation". Protein & Cell, Volume 9, Issue 3, March 2018, Pages 267–282).
Regarding claim 1, Ma et al. teaches a method of engrafting airway basal cells into the respiratory tract of a subject in need thereof (Abstract and page 271, column 2, paragraph 1 and page 277, column 1, paragraph 3, Methods), the method comprising:(a) removing epithelial cells from the respiratory tract of the subject (Abstract and page 268, column 2, paragraph 1, lines 1-5), wherein the epithelial cells are removed in at least one bronchus and/or at least one bronchiole of the respiratory tract (page 268, column 2, paragraph 1, lines 4-7); and (b) then administering airway basal cells to the respiratory tract of the subject (Abstract and page 271, column 1, paragraph 2, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 8: Following discussion of claim 1 above, Ma et al. teaches the airway basal cells are administered to at least one bronchiole of the respiratory tract (Abstract and page 271, column 1, paragraph 2, lines 29-32).
Regarding claim 9: Following discussion of claim 1 above, Ma et al. teaches that the airway basal cells are administered using a bronchoscope (page 277, column 1, paragraph 3, Methods).
Regarding claim 10: Following discussion of claim 1 above, Ma et al. teaches that the cells are obtained from a biopsy (paragraphs 0114 and 0314). This reads on the airway basal cells are primary cells (Abstract and Figure 3, page 272).
Regarding claim 11: Following discussion of claim 1 above, Ma et al. teaches that the basal cells
are generated from induced pluripotent stem cells (page 268, column 1, paragraph 1, lines 10-14).
Regarding claim 12: Following discussion of claim 1 above, Ma et al. teaches that the airway
basal cells (BCs) express one or more markers selected from the group consisting of: Nkx2-1; tumor protein 63
(TP63); cytoskeletal protein keratin 5 (KRT5) (page 268, column 2, paragraph 1, lines 10-17).
Regarding claim 13: Following discussion of claim 1 above, Ma et al. teaches that the airway basal cells are autologous to the subject (page 268, column 1, paragraph 1, lines 10-14 and paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 15: Following discussion of claim 1 above, Ma et al. teaches that the cells are
derived from a healthy subject (page 270, column 1, last paragraph).
Regarding claim 16: Following discussion of claim 1 above, Ma et al. teaches that the cells are
derived from a subject that has a respiratory tract disease or a respiratory tract injury (page 270, column 1, last paragraph).
Regarding claim 17: Following discussion of claim 1 above, Ma et al. teaches that the respiratory tract disease is chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) (page 270, column 1, last paragraph).
Regarding claim 18: Following discussion of claim 1 above, Ma et al. teaches that the respiratory tract injury is associated with a surgery (page 270, column 1, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 22: Following discussion of claim 1 above, Ma et al. teaches that the engrafted airway basal cells reconstitute the tissue-resident airway basal stem cell compartment in the respiratory tract of the subject (page 268, column 1, last paragraph).
Regarding claim 23: Following discussion of claim 1 above, Ma et al. teaches that the engrafted airway basal cells comprise at least 10% of the epithelium in the respiratory tract of the subject after the engraftment (page 268, column 2, paragraphs 1-2).
Regarding claim 24: Following discussion of claim 1 above, Ma et al. teaches that the engrafted airway basal cells persist for at least 2 years following the engraftment (Figure 7, page 276).
Regarding claims 25-26: Following discussion of claim 1 above, Ma et al. teaches that the engrafted airway basal cells exhibit self- renewal and/or multipotent differentiation capacity for at least 2 years following the engraftment, wherein the multipotent differentiation capacity comprises basal cells (page 271, column 1, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 27: Following discussion of claim 1 above, Ma et al. teaches that the engrafted airway basal cells exhibit a transcriptome that is at least 80% identical to the transcriptome of endogenous airway epithelium cells (Figure 1, page 268, column 2, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 28: Following discussion of claim 1 above, Ma et al. teaches a method of treating a respiratory tract disease, the method comprising:(a) removing epithelial cells from the respiratory tract of a subject in need thereof, wherein the epithelial cells are removed in at least one bronchus and/or at least one bronchiole of the respiratory tract; and(b) then administering an effective amount of airway basal cells to the respiratory tract of the subject, wherein the respiratory tract disease is COPD (Abstract and page 271, column 2, paragraph 1 and page 277, column 1, paragraph 3, Methods, page 271, column 1, paragraph 2, lines 1-5, and page 270, column 1, last paragraph).
Regarding claim 29: Following discussion of claim 1 above, Ma et al. teaches a method of treating a respiratory tract injury, the method comprising:(a) removing epithelial cells from the respiratory tract of a subject in need thereof, wherein the epithelial cells are removed in at least one bronchus and/or at least one bronchiole of the respiratory tract; and(b) then administering an effective amount of airway basal cells to the respiratory tract of the subject; wherein the respiratory tract injury is associated with surgery (Abstract and page 271, column 2, paragraph 1 and page 277, column 1, paragraph 3, Methods, page 271, column 1, paragraph 2, lines 1-5, and page 270, column 1, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 31: Following discussion of claim 18 above, Ma et al. teaches that the surgery is lung lobectomy (page 270, column 1, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 32: Following discussion of claim 29 above, Ma et al. teaches that the surgery is lung lobectomy (page 270, column 1, paragraph 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (Ma et al., "Regeneration of functional alveoli by adult human SOX9+ airway basal cell transplantation". Protein & Cell, Volume 9, Issue 3, March 2018, Pages 267–282), in view of Farrow et al. (Farrow et al., “Epithelial disruption: a new paradigm enabling human airway stem cell transplantation”. Stem Cell Res Ther 9, 153 (2018), pages 1-8).
Regarding claim 1, the teachings of Ma et al. are set forth in detail above.
Regarding claim 2: Following discussion of claim 1 above, Ma et al. fails to teach that the epithelial cells are removed from the respiratory tract using a chemical agent.
However, Farrow et al. teaches that 4 μL of 2% the agent polidocanol (PDOC) in phosphate-buffered
saline was administered to the nasal airway of mice to disrupt the epithelium (Abstract, Methods). Farrow et al.
further teaches that PDOC treatment denudes the nasal or tracheal epithelium but spares basal cells (page 6, column
2, paragraph 2, lines 1-2). Polidocanol reads on a chemical agent. Farrow et al. also teaches that disrupting the epithelial cell layer using the agent polidocanol (PDOC) would facilitate effective transplantation of cultured stem cells in mouse nasal airways (Abstract, Background).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Ma et al. and administered PDOC to the bronchial epithelium instead of using a bronchoscope with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to have done so for the purpose of removing the epithelium cells from the respiratory tract before administering the airway basal cells with predictable results.
Regarding claim 3: Following discussion of claim 2 above, Polidocanol is known in the art as a synthetic,
non-ionic detergent.
Regarding claim 4: Following discussion of claim 2 above, Farrow et al. teaches that 4 μL of 2% the agent
polidocanol (PDOC) in phosphate-buffered saline was administered to the nasal airway of mice to disrupt the
epithelium (Abstract, Methods).
Regarding claim 5: Following discussion of claim 2 above, Farrow et al. teaches that 4 μL of 2% the agent
polidocanol (PDOC) in phosphate-buffered saline was administered to the nasal airway of mice to disrupt the
epithelium (Abstract, Methods).
Regarding claim 6: Following discussion of claim 1 above, Farrow et al. further teaches that at 2 or 24 h
after PDOC treatment, human airway basal cells were transplanted into the animals (Abstract, Methods).
Claim(s) 1, 14, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (Ma et al., "Regeneration of functional alveoli by adult human SOX9+ airway basal cell transplantation". Protein & Cell, Volume 9, Issue 3, March 2018, Pages 267–282), in view of HAWKINS et al. (the US Patent Application Publication US20210254016A1, filed on 02/19/2021, and published on 08/19/2021).
Regarding claim 1, the teachings of Ma et al. are set forth in detail above.
Regarding claim 14: Following discussion of claim 1 above, Ma et al. fails to teach that the airway basal cells are engineered to reduce or prevent expression of at least one major histocompatibility complex (MHC) polypeptide to reduce immunogenicity of the airway basal cells.
However, HAWKINS et al. teaches that the airway basal cells (BCs) are genetically modified in which the cells comprise a genome that has been manipulated, e.g., by mutation, such as site-directed mutation (paragraphs 0049 and 0333). Site-directed mutation is a mutation that can reduce MHC expression. HAWKINS et al. further teaches in paragraphs 0115 and 0333 that such mutations result in a change in gene or protein expression relative to an un-modified cell. Introduction of RNA can transiently promote expression of a foreign or heterologous product, as can the introduction of a vector that does not integrate or replicate within the cell and such modification is to reduce the risk of engraftment rejection or immunogenicity of the cells.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the airway basal cells in the method of Ma et al. to reduce or prevent expression of MHC with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to have done so in order to reduce immunogenicity of the airway basal cells as taught by HAWKINS et al.
Regarding claims 19 and 20: Following discussion of claim 1 above, HAWKINS et al. teaches mutations
of the CFTR gene affecting chloride ion channel function leads to dysregulation of epithelial fluid transport in the
lung, pancreas and other organs, resulting in cystic fibrosis (paragraph 0241). HAWKINS et al. further teaches that
the airway basal cell line is genetically modified to correct a genetic lesion or mutation in the CFTR gene that causes
cystic fibrosis (paragraph 0330). Correcting a mutation in the CFTR gene that causes cystic fibrosis reads on
expressing at least one functional polypeptide that is dysfunctional in a respiratory tract disease as recited in claim
19 and on expressing functional CFTR polypeptide as recited in claim 20. Additionally, HAWKINS et al. teaches
that mutations in DNAH5 have been associated with primary ciliary dyskinesia (PCD) and that the airway basal
cells described herein are genetically modified to correct a DNAH5 mutation (paragraph 0243, line 3 and last 2
lines). Correcting a mutation in the DNAH5 gene that causes primary ciliary dyskinesia reads on expressing
functional DNAH5 polypeptide.
Claim(s) 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (Ma et al., "Regeneration of functional alveoli by adult human SOX9+ airway basal cell transplantation". Protein & Cell, Volume 9, Issue 3, March 2018, Pages 267–282), in view of Dimmer et al. (US9662171B2, issued on 05/30/2017).
Regarding claim 33, Ma et al. teaches a method of engrafting airway basal cells into the respiratory tract of a subject in need thereof, the method comprising:(a) removing epithelial cells from the respiratory tract, wherein the epithelial cells are removed in at least one bronchus of the respiratory tract of the subject and (b) then administering airway basal cells to the respiratory tract of the subject (Abstract and page 271, column 2, paragraph 1 and page 277, column 1, paragraph 3, Methods and page 271, column 1, paragraph 2, lines 1-5).
However, Dimmer et al. teaches using bronchial thermoplasty to remove cells in the inner lining of the
airway wall, such as the epithelium. Dimmer et al. specifically teaches that heat can be concentrated in the inner
lining (e.g., the epithelium) of the airway wall (column 21, lines 66-67 and column 22, lines 1-2). Dimmer et al. also
teaches that treatments for pulmonary diseases, such as COPD and asthma, such as bronchial thermoplasty, involve
destroying cells by ablating the airway wall in a multitude of bronchial branches within the lung (column 3, lines 44-
48). Bronchial thermoplasty uses heat to reduce excess airway smooth muscle tissue, which minimizes the airway
constriction that takes place during an asthma attack. This reads on removing the epithelial cells from the respiratory
tract using bronchial thermoplasty.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Ma et al. and removed the epithelium using bronchial thermoplasty to isolate the epithelial cells from the respiratory tract before administering the airway basal cells with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to have done so to reduce excess airway smooth muscle tissue which minimizes the airway constriction and facilitate effective transplantation and enragement of the airway basal cells in the respiratory tract of said subject.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Hanan Isam Abuzeineh
/H.I.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/CHRISTOPHER M BABIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1633