DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 08/02/2024 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/02/2024 and 11/21/2025 have been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 8, 13 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 3, 8, 13 and 18 recite in line 2 the acronym CSI. The acronym CSI should be fully titled so one skilled in the art can quickly ascertain the gist of the applicant's invention.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-12, 14-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US Patent No. 11,363,627), hereinafter “Cirik” in view of Ryu et al. (US 2020/0220592), hereinafter “Ryu”.
As to claim 1, Cirik teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from the base station, a request for group-based beam reporting associated with the multiple reference signals (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, “a base station may configure a wireless device with a higher layer parameter groupBasedBeamReporting…the wireless device may report at least two different resource indicators (e.g., CRI, SSBRI)…the wireless device may receive at least two RSs (e.g., CSI-RS, SSB) indicated by the at least two different resource indicators simultaneously”); and
transmitting, to the base station, group-based beam report by grouping indexes of reference signal resources (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, “In response to the higher layer parameter groupBasedBeamReporting set to “enabled”, the wireless device may report at least two different resource indicators (e.g., CRI, SSBRI) in a single reporting instance for a reporting setting of one or more report settings”) which is received simultaneously by the UE through multi-panel (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, “the wireless device may receive at least two RSs (e.g., CSI-RS, SSB) indicated by the at least two different resource indicators simultaneously…the wireless device may receive the at least two RSs simultaneously with a plurality of simultaneous spatial domain receive filters”) into a single group (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, the wireless device transmits the indicators (CRI, SSBRI) in a single report, where the indicators are for the reference signals received).
Cirik teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Cirik does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 1, receiving, through a multi-panel from a base station, multiple reference signals.
However, Ryu teaches receiving, through a multi-panel from a base station, multiple reference signals (Ryu, Fig. 9, [0087]-[0088], Fig. 10, the UE receives a first RS and a second RS via a first UE antenna panel and second UE antenna panel, correspondingly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cirik to have the features, as taught by Ryu, in order to increase throughput by simultaneously transmitting data using multiple antennas, beams, and/or panels, and to increase reliability (Ryu, [0057]).
As to claim 2, Cirik teaches further comprising:
selecting one or more resource groups (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, “the wireless device may report at least two different resource indicators (e.g., CRI, SSBRI) in a single reporting instance for a reporting setting of one or more report settings”) based on a UE capability and a higher layer parameter configured by the base station based on the UE capability (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, “the base station may set the higher layer parameter groupBasedBeamReporting to “enabled…the wireless device may receive at least two RSs (e.g., CSI-RS, SSB) indicated by the at least two different resource indicators simultaneously…the wireless device may receive the at least two RSs simultaneously with a plurality of simultaneous spatial domain receive filters”); and
reporting, to the base station, the selected resource one or more resource groups (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, “In response to the higher layer parameter groupBasedBeamReporting set to “enabled”, the wireless device may report at least two different resource indicators (e.g., CRI, SSBRI) in a single reporting instance for a reporting setting of one or more report settings”).
As to claim 4, Cirik teaches further comprising:
simultaneously transmitting multiple uplink signals to the base station by using the multi-panel (Cirik, col 54 ln 5-12, “A wireless device may transmit (or receive) the multiplexed first channel/RS and the second channel/RS simultaneously in the uplink (or downlink)”, col 67 ln 61-65, “the wireless device may transmit the first PUSCH via the first antenna panel identified by the first panel-specific index. In an example, the wireless device may transmit the second PUSCH via the second antenna panel identified by the second panel-specific index”).
As to claim 5, Cirik teaches further comprising:
receiving, from the base station, a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (Cirik, col 46 ln 20-38, “the base station may provide the wireless device with a configuration of at least two TCI states for the coreset…the wireless device may receive the configuration of the at least two TCI states from the base station”) in which reference signal in combination of the corresponding reference signals is indicated as the reference signal of quasi co location (QCL) information (Guo, col 46 ln 20-38, “the wireless device may expect that a QCL type (e.g., QCL-TypeD) of a first RS (e.g., CSI-RS) in the at least one of the at least two TCI states is spatial QCL-ed with a second RS (e.g., SS/PBCH block)”).
As to claim 6, Cirik teaches a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (Cirik, Fig. 3, a wireless device 110), the UE comprising:
a transceiver (Cirik, Fig. 3, col 11 ln 15-20, the wireless device includes a communication interface 310); and
a controller configured to (Cirik, Fig. 3, col 11 ln 15-20, the wireless device includes a processor 314 that executes the program code stored in the memory 315 to perform the functions of the wireless device):
receive, from the base station, a request for group-based beam reporting associated with the multiple reference signals (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, “a base station may configure a wireless device with a higher layer parameter groupBasedBeamReporting…the wireless device may report at least two different resource indicators (e.g., CRI, SSBRI)…the wireless device may receive at least two RSs (e.g., CSI-RS, SSB) indicated by the at least two different resource indicators simultaneously”), and
transmit, to the base station, group-based beam report by grouping indexes of reference signal resources (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, “In response to the higher layer parameter groupBasedBeamReporting set to “enabled”, the wireless device may report at least two different resource indicators (e.g., CRI, SSBRI) in a single reporting instance for a reporting setting of one or more report settings”) which is received simultaneously by the UE through multi-panel (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, “the wireless device may receive at least two RSs (e.g., CSI-RS, SSB) indicated by the at least two different resource indicators simultaneously…the wireless device may receive the at least two RSs simultaneously with a plurality of simultaneous spatial domain receive filters”) into a single group (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, the wireless device transmits the indicators (CRI, SSBRI) in a single report, where the indicators are for the reference signals received).
Cirik teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Cirik does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 6, receive, through a multi-panel from a base station, multiple reference signals.
However, Ryu teaches receive, through a multi-panel from a base station, multiple reference signals (Ryu, Fig. 9, [0087]-[0088], Fig. 10, the UE receives a first RS and a second RS via a first UE antenna panel and second UE antenna panel, correspondingly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cirik to have the features, as taught by Ryu, in order to increase throughput by simultaneously transmitting data using multiple antennas, beams, and/or panels, and to increase reliability (Ryu, [0057]).
As to claim 7, Cirik teaches wherein the controller is configured to:
select one or more resource groups (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, “the wireless device may report at least two different resource indicators (e.g., CRI, SSBRI) in a single reporting instance for a reporting setting of one or more report settings”) based on a UE capability and a higher layer parameter configured by the base station based on the UE capability (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, “the base station may set the higher layer parameter groupBasedBeamReporting to “enabled…the wireless device may receive at least two RSs (e.g., CSI-RS, SSB) indicated by the at least two different resource indicators simultaneously…the wireless device may receive the at least two RSs simultaneously with a plurality of simultaneous spatial domain receive filters”), and
report, to the base station, the selected resource one or more resource groups (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, “In response to the higher layer parameter groupBasedBeamReporting set to “enabled”, the wireless device may report at least two different resource indicators (e.g., CRI, SSBRI) in a single reporting instance for a reporting setting of one or more report settings”).
As to claim 9, Cirik teaches wherein the controller is configured to:
simultaneously transmit multiple uplink signals to the base station by using the multi-panel (Cirik, col 54 ln 5-12, “A wireless device may transmit (or receive) the multiplexed first channel/RS and the second channel/RS simultaneously in the uplink (or downlink)”, col 67 ln 61-65, “the wireless device may transmit the first PUSCH via the first antenna panel identified by the first panel-specific index. In an example, the wireless device may transmit the second PUSCH via the second antenna panel identified by the second panel-specific index”).
As to claim 10, Cirik teaches wherein the controller is configured to:
receive, from the base station, a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (Cirik, col 46 ln 20-38, “the base station may provide the wireless device with a configuration of at least two TCI states for the coreset…the wireless device may receive the configuration of the at least two TCI states from the base station”) in which reference signal in combination of the corresponding reference signals is indicated as the reference signal of quasi co location (QCL) information (Guo, col 46 ln 20-38, “the wireless device may expect that a QCL type (e.g., QCL-TypeD) of a first RS (e.g., CSI-RS) in the at least one of the at least two TCI states is spatial QCL-ed with a second RS (e.g., SS/PBCH block)”).
As to claim 11, Cirik teaches a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), multiple reference signals (Cirik, Figs. 9A-9B, 18 and 19, the base station transmits multiple reference signals (RS) to the wireless device. Col 43 ln 50-65, “the wireless device may receive at least two RSs (e.g., CSI-RS, SSB) indicated by the at least two different resource indicators simultaneously”);
transmitting, to the UE, a request for group-based beam reporting associated with the multiple reference signals (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, “a base station may configure a wireless device with a higher layer parameter groupBasedBeamReporting…the wireless device may report at least two different resource indicators (e.g., CRI, SSBRI)…the wireless device may receive at least two RSs (e.g., CSI-RS, SSB) indicated by the at least two different resource indicators simultaneously”); and
receiving, from the UE, group-based beam report by grouping indexes of reference signal resources (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, “In response to the higher layer parameter groupBasedBeamReporting set to “enabled”, the wireless device may report at least two different resource indicators (e.g., CRI, SSBRI) in a single reporting instance for a reporting setting of one or more report settings”) which is received simultaneously by the UE (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, “the wireless device may receive at least two RSs (e.g., CSI-RS, SSB) indicated by the at least two different resource indicators simultaneously…the wireless device may receive the at least two RSs simultaneously with a plurality of simultaneous spatial domain receive filters”) into a single group (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, the wireless device transmits the indicators (CRI, SSBRI) in a single report, where the indicators are for the reference signals received).
Cirik teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Cirik does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 11, through multi-panel.
However, Ryu teaches through multi-panel (Ryu, Fig. 9, [0087]-[0088], Fig. 10, the UE receives a first RS and a second RS via a first UE antenna panel and second UE antenna panel, correspondingly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cirik to have the features, as taught by Ryu, in order to increase throughput by simultaneously transmitting data using multiple antennas, beams, and/or panels, and to increase reliability (Ryu, [0057]).
As to claim 12, Cirik teaches further comprising:
receiving, from the UE, one or more resource groups (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, “In response to the higher layer parameter groupBasedBeamReporting set to “enabled”, the wireless device may report at least two different resource indicators (e.g., CRI, SSBRI) in a single reporting instance for a reporting setting of one or more report settings”) selected based on a UE capability and a higher layer parameter configured by the base station based on the UE capability (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, “the base station may set the higher layer parameter groupBasedBeamReporting to “enabled…the wireless device may receive at least two RSs (e.g., CSI-RS, SSB) indicated by the at least two different resource indicators simultaneously…the wireless device may receive the at least two RSs simultaneously with a plurality of simultaneous spatial domain receive filters”).
As to claim 14, Cirik teaches further comprising:
receiving, from the UE, multiple uplink signals to the base station by using the multi-panel (Cirik, col 54 ln 5-12, “A wireless device may transmit (or receive) the multiplexed first channel/RS and the second channel/RS simultaneously in the uplink (or downlink)”, col 67 ln 61-65, “the wireless device may transmit the first PUSCH via the first antenna panel identified by the first panel-specific index. In an example, the wireless device may transmit the second PUSCH via the second antenna panel identified by the second panel-specific index”).
As to claim 15, Cirik teaches further comprising:
transmitting, to the UE, a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (Cirik, col 46 ln 20-38, “the base station may provide the wireless device with a configuration of at least two TCI states for the coreset…the wireless device may receive the configuration of the at least two TCI states from the base station”) in which reference signal in combination of the corresponding reference signals is indicated as the reference signal of quasi co location (QCL) information (Guo, col 46 ln 20-38, “the wireless device may expect that a QCL type (e.g., QCL-TypeD) of a first RS (e.g., CSI-RS) in the at least one of the at least two TCI states is spatial QCL-ed with a second RS (e.g., SS/PBCH block)”).
As to claim 16, Cirik teaches a base station in a wireless communication system (Cirik, Fig. 3, the base station), the base station comprising:
a transceiver (Cirik, Fig. 3, col 8 ln 22-37, the base station includes a communication interface); and
a controller configured to (Cirik, Fig. 3, col 8 ln 22-37, the base station includes a processor that executes the program code stored in the memory to perform the functions of the base station):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), multiple reference signals (Cirik, Figs. 9A-9B, 18 and 19, the base station transmits multiple reference signals (RS) to the wireless device. Col 43 ln 50-65, “the wireless device may receive at least two RSs (e.g., CSI-RS, SSB) indicated by the at least two different resource indicators simultaneously”),
transmit, to the UE, a request for group-based beam reporting associated with the multiple reference signals (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, “a base station may configure a wireless device with a higher layer parameter groupBasedBeamReporting…the wireless device may report at least two different resource indicators (e.g., CRI, SSBRI)…the wireless device may receive at least two RSs (e.g., CSI-RS, SSB) indicated by the at least two different resource indicators simultaneously”), and
receive, from the UE, group-based beam report by grouping indexes of reference signal resources (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, “In response to the higher layer parameter groupBasedBeamReporting set to “enabled”, the wireless device may report at least two different resource indicators (e.g., CRI, SSBRI) in a single reporting instance for a reporting setting of one or more report settings”) which is received simultaneously by the UE (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, “the wireless device may receive at least two RSs (e.g., CSI-RS, SSB) indicated by the at least two different resource indicators simultaneously…the wireless device may receive the at least two RSs simultaneously with a plurality of simultaneous spatial domain receive filters”) into a single group (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, the wireless device transmits the indicators (CRI, SSBRI) in a single report, where the indicators are for the reference signals received).
Cirik teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Cirik does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 16, through multi-panel.
However, Ryu teaches through multi-panel (Ryu, Fig. 9, [0087]-[0088], Fig. 10, the UE receives a first RS and a second RS via a first UE antenna panel and second UE antenna panel, correspondingly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cirik to have the features, as taught by Ryu, in order to increase throughput by simultaneously transmitting data using multiple antennas, beams, and/or panels, and to increase reliability (Ryu, [0057]).
As to claim 17, Cirik teaches wherein the controller is configured to:
receive, from the UE, one or more resource groups (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, “In response to the higher layer parameter groupBasedBeamReporting set to “enabled”, the wireless device may report at least two different resource indicators (e.g., CRI, SSBRI) in a single reporting instance for a reporting setting of one or more report settings”) selected based on a UE capability and a higher layer parameter configured by the base station based on the UE capability (Cirik, col 43 ln 50-65, “the base station may set the higher layer parameter groupBasedBeamReporting to “enabled…the wireless device may receive at least two RSs (e.g., CSI-RS, SSB) indicated by the at least two different resource indicators simultaneously…the wireless device may receive the at least two RSs simultaneously with a plurality of simultaneous spatial domain receive filters”).
As to claim 19, Cirik teaches wherein the controller is configured to:
receive, from the UE, multiple uplink signals to the base station by using the multi-panel (Cirik, col 54 ln 5-12, “A wireless device may transmit (or receive) the multiplexed first channel/RS and the second channel/RS simultaneously in the uplink (or downlink)”, col 67 ln 61-65, “the wireless device may transmit the first PUSCH via the first antenna panel identified by the first panel-specific index. In an example, the wireless device may transmit the second PUSCH via the second antenna panel identified by the second panel-specific index”).
As to claim 20, Cirik teaches wherein the controller is configured to:
transmit, to the UE, a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (Cirik, col 46 ln 20-38, “the base station may provide the wireless device with a configuration of at least two TCI states for the coreset…the wireless device may receive the configuration of the at least two TCI states from the base station”) in which reference signal in combination of the corresponding reference signals is indicated as the reference signal of quasi co location (QCL) information (Guo, col 46 ln 20-38, “the wireless device may expect that a QCL type (e.g., QCL-TypeD) of a first RS (e.g., CSI-RS) in the at least one of the at least two TCI states is spatial QCL-ed with a second RS (e.g., SS/PBCH block)”).
Claims 3, 8, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US Patent No. 11,363,627), hereinafter “Cirik” in view of Ryu et al. (US 2020/0220592), hereinafter “Ryu” and further in view of Guo et al. (US 2018/0219664), hereinafter “Guo”.
Cirik and Ryu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Cirik and Ryu do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 3, further comprising:
reporting, to the base station, a resource set indicator for indicating a CSI resource set including a reference signal received with largest reference signals received power (RSRP) among RSRP values measured through the multiple reference signals, and a value expressed in bits by quantizing RSRP values of reference signals received with the largest RSRP and a differential RSRP.
As to claim 3, Guo teaches further comprising:
reporting, to the base station (Guo, Fig. 13, [0199], “In step 1325, the UE transmits the generated report to the BS in the reporting instance”), a resource set indicator for indicating a CSI resource set including a reference signal received with largest reference signals received power (RSRP) among RSRP values measured through the multiple reference signals (Guo, Fig. 13, [0198], “In step 1320, the UE generates a report for the N CSI-RS resources, the generated report including a CSI-RS resource index (CRI) for each of the N CSI-RS resources, a L1-RSRP value for one of the N CSI-RS resources having a largest L1-RSRP, and a differential L1-RSRP value for each of the other of the N CSI-RS resources”), and a value expressed in bits by quantizing RSRP values of reference signals received with the largest RSRP and a differential RSRP (Guo, Fig. 13, [0196], “a number of bits in the report for the L1-RSRP value for the one N CSI-RS resource having the largest L1-RSRP is greater than a number of bits in the report for the differential L1-RSRP value for each of the other of the N CSI-RS resources”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cirik and Ryu to have the features, as taught by Guo, in order to reduce the overhead in the RSRP report since the differential RSRP is expected to have smaller value range and thus a shorter bit width (Guo, [0144]).
Cirik and Ryu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Cirik and Ryu do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 8, wherein the controller is configured to:
report, to the base station, a resource set indicator for indicating a CSI resource set including a reference signal received with largest reference signals received power (RSRP) among RSRP values measured through the multiple reference signals, and a value expressed in bits by quantizing RSRP values of reference signals received with the largest RSRP and a differential RSRP.
As to claim 8, Guo teaches wherein the controller is configured to:
report, to the base station (Guo, Fig. 13, [0199], “In step 1325, the UE transmits the generated report to the BS in the reporting instance”), a resource set indicator for indicating a CSI resource set including a reference signal received with largest reference signals received power (RSRP) among RSRP values measured through the multiple reference signals (Guo, Fig. 13, [0198], “In step 1320, the UE generates a report for the N CSI-RS resources, the generated report including a CSI-RS resource index (CRI) for each of the N CSI-RS resources, a L1-RSRP value for one of the N CSI-RS resources having a largest L1-RSRP, and a differential L1-RSRP value for each of the other of the N CSI-RS resources”), and a value expressed in bits by quantizing RSRP values of reference signals received with the largest RSRP and a differential RSRP (Guo, Fig. 13, [0196], “a number of bits in the report for the L1-RSRP value for the one N CSI-RS resource having the largest L1-RSRP is greater than a number of bits in the report for the differential L1-RSRP value for each of the other of the N CSI-RS resources”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cirik and Ryu to have the features, as taught by Guo, in order to reduce the overhead in the RSRP report since the differential RSRP is expected to have smaller value range and thus a shorter bit width (Guo, [0144]).
Cirik and Ryu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Cirik and Ryu do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 13, further comprising:
receiving, from the UE, a resource set indicator for indicating a CSI resource set including a reference signal received with largest reference signals received power (RSRP) among RSRP values measured through the multiple reference signals, and a value expressed in bits by quantizing RSRP values of reference signals received with the largest RSRP and a differential RSRP.
As to claim 13, Guo teaches further comprising:
receiving, from the UE (Guo, Fig. 13, [0199], “In step 1325, the UE transmits the generated report to the BS in the reporting instance”), a resource set indicator for indicating a CSI resource set including a reference signal received with largest reference signals received power (RSRP) among RSRP values measured through the multiple reference signals (Guo, Fig. 13, [0198], “In step 1320, the UE generates a report for the N CSI-RS resources, the generated report including a CSI-RS resource index (CRI) for each of the N CSI-RS resources, a L1-RSRP value for one of the N CSI-RS resources having a largest L1-RSRP, and a differential L1-RSRP value for each of the other of the N CSI-RS resources”), and a value expressed in bits by quantizing RSRP values of reference signals received with the largest RSRP and a differential RSRP (Guo, Fig. 13, [0196], “a number of bits in the report for the L1-RSRP value for the one N CSI-RS resource having the largest L1-RSRP is greater than a number of bits in the report for the differential L1-RSRP value for each of the other of the N CSI-RS resources”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cirik and Ryu to have the features, as taught by Guo, in order to reduce the overhead in the RSRP report since the differential RSRP is expected to have smaller value range and thus a shorter bit width (Guo, [0144]).
Cirik and Ryu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Cirik and Ryu do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 18, wherein the controller is configured to:
receive, from the UE, a resource set indicator for indicating a CSI resource set including a reference signal received with largest reference signals received power (RSRP) among RSRP values measured through the multiple reference signals, and a value expressed in bits by quantizing RSRP values of reference signals received with the largest RSRP and a differential RSRP.
As to claim 18, Guo teaches wherein the controller is configured to:
receive, from the UE (Guo, Fig. 13, [0199], “In step 1325, the UE transmits the generated report to the BS in the reporting instance”), a resource set indicator for indicating a CSI resource set including a reference signal received with largest reference signals received power (RSRP) among RSRP values measured through the multiple reference signals (Guo, Fig. 13, [0198], “In step 1320, the UE generates a report for the N CSI-RS resources, the generated report including a CSI-RS resource index (CRI) for each of the N CSI-RS resources, a L1-RSRP value for one of the N CSI-RS resources having a largest L1-RSRP, and a differential L1-RSRP value for each of the other of the N CSI-RS resources”), and a value expressed in bits by quantizing RSRP values of reference signals received with the largest RSRP and a differential RSRP (Guo, Fig. 13, [0196], “a number of bits in the report for the L1-RSRP value for the one N CSI-RS resource having the largest L1-RSRP is greater than a number of bits in the report for the differential L1-RSRP value for each of the other of the N CSI-RS resources”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cirik and Ryu to have the features, as taught by Guo, in order to reduce the overhead in the RSRP report since the differential RSRP is expected to have smaller value range and thus a shorter bit width (Guo, [0144]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Farag et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0314931 – Method and apparatus for uplink reference signal-based beam management.
Zhou et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0352503 – SINR-based group beam reporting.
Rom et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0072859 – Radio channel antenna pattern matching via configurable front end MMwave module.
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473