DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on August 4, 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 2023-127710 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (lDS) submitted on August 2, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “transmission unit”, “receiving unit”, “display control unit”, “intercom control unit”, “tally control unit”, and “attachment unit”, in claims 1-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashiguchi (US Pub. 2013/0120633), in view of Saito et al. (US Pub. 2023/0362315).
In regard to claim 1, note Hashiguchi discloses a transmission device configured to receive a video signal from an external camera in a form of a baseband signal to transmit a video (paragraphs 0042, 0045-0048, and figures 1-5: 5), the transmission device comprising a transmission unit configured to transmit, to a predetermined external device, a camera video that is being captured and is received from the camera (paragraphs 0045-0048, and figure 5: 35), and a display provided in a housing of the transmission device (figures 1-5: 5, 51; display 51 is provided in the housing).
Therefore, it can be seen that the primary reference fails to explicitly disclose that the transmission device is configured to convert the video signal into an IP signal to transmit the video.
In analogous art, Saito discloses the use of an imaging system that includes a transmission device configured to convert the video signal into an IP signal to transmit the video (paragraph 0212). The Examiner notes that the conversion of a video signal to an IP signal for transmission of the video is common in the art in order to utilize the internet for video transmission between remote locations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the primary reference such that the transmission device is configured to convert the video signal into an IP signal to transmit the video, in order to utilize the internet for video transmission between remote locations, as is common in the art.
In regard to claim 2, note Hashiguchi discloses that the transmission device includes a receiving unit configured to receive, from the external device, a return video that is on air on television broadcasting (paragraph 0044, and figure 5: 65; the return video is received), and a display control unit configured to display a screen including the return video on the display (paragraphs 0045-0048, and figure 5: 39, 50; the return video can be selectively displayed). As for the video being the in the form of an IP signal, this is considered to be disclosed by Saito (paragraph 0212).
In regard to claim 8, note Hashiguchi discloses a tally control unit having at least one of a function of turning on or blinking a tally lamp provided in a housing of the transmission device or a function of displaying an image based on a tally signal on the display when receiving the tally signal from the external device (paragraphs 0036-0039, 0045-0048, and figure 3: 49, 59; the tally signal is received by the viewfinder 5, and a tally lamp is activated based on this signal).
In regard to claim 9, note Hashiguchi discloses that the display is provided on a first surface widest of a plurality of side surfaces included in the housing (paragraph 0044, and figure 3: 5, 51), and an attachment unit for attaching the housing to the camera is provided on a second surface different from the first surface of the plurality of side surfaces (paragraph 0042, and figure 3).
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashiguchi (US Pub. 2013/0120633), in view of Saito et al. (US Pub. 2023/0362315), and further in view of Gay et al. (US Patent 10,484,579).
In regard to claim 3, note the primary reference of Hashiguchi in view of Saito discloses the transmission device, as discussed with respect to claim 2 above. Therefore, it can be seen that the primary reference fails to explicitly disclose that the display control unit displays a screen including the camera video and the return video on the display.
In analogous art, Gay discloses an imaging system that includes a display control unit that displays a screen including the camera video and a return video on the display (column 1, lines 20-33, column 1, line 65 – column 2, line 10, and figure 1). Wasada teaches that the use of a display control unit that displays a screen including the camera video and a return video on the display is known in the art in order to allow viewers to simultaneously view plural video sources (column 1, lines 20-33). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the primary reference such that the display control unit displays a screen including the camera video and the return video on the display, as is known in the art in order to allow viewers to simultaneously view plural video sources.
In regard to claim 5, note the primary reference of Hashiguchi in view of Saito discloses the transmission device, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Therefore, it can be seen that the primary reference fails to explicitly disclose a receiving unit configured to receive, from the external device, at least one of a background video or a foreground video displayed on television broadcasting, and a display control unit configured to display, on the display, a screen of the camera video combined with at least one of the background video or the foreground video.
In analogous art, Wasada discloses an imaging system that includes a receiving unit configured to receive, from the external device, at least one of a background video or a foreground video displayed on television broadcasting, and a display control unit configured to display, on the display, a screen of the camera video combined with at least one of the background video or the foreground video (column 3, line 4 – column 4, line 2, and figures 3-4). Wasada teaches that the use of a receiving unit configured to receive, from the external device, at least one of a background video or a foreground video displayed on television broadcasting, and a display control unit configured to display, on the display, a screen of the camera video combined with at least one of the background video or the foreground video is preferred in order to blend the images to efficiently create the impression that the local subject and remote subject occupy a shared physical space (column 3, line 60 – column 4, line 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the primary reference to include a receiving unit configured to receive, from the external device, at least one of a background video or a foreground video displayed on television broadcasting, and a display control unit configured to display, on the display, a screen of the camera video combined with at least one of the background video or the foreground video, in order to blend the images to efficiently create the impression that the local subject and remote subject occupy a shared physical space, as suggested by Wasada.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashiguchi (US Pub. 2013/0120633), in view of Saito et al. (US Pub. 2023/0362315), and further in view of Wasada (US Pub. 2002/0176012).
In regard to claim 4, note the primary reference of Hashiguchi in view of Saito discloses the transmission device, as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Therefore, it can be seen that the primary reference fails to explicitly disclose a receiving unit configured to receive information indicating a telop to be displayed on television broadcasting from the external device, and a display control unit configured to display, on the display, a screen of the telop to be displayed superimposed on the camera video.
In analogous art, Wasada discloses the use of and imaging system that includes a receiving unit configured to receive information indicating a telop to be displayed on television broadcasting from the external device, and a display control unit configured to display, on the display, a screen of the telop to be displayed superimposed on the camera video (paragraphs 0040, 0043, 0047-0050, and figures 1-4: 32, 40). Wasada teaches that the use of a receiving unit configured to receive information indicating a telop to be displayed on television broadcasting from the external device, and a display control unit configured to display, on the display, a screen of the telop to be displayed superimposed on the camera video is preferred in order to allow the cameraman to read the script without turning his eyes away from the display (paragraph 0050). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the primary reference to include a receiving unit configured to receive information indicating a telop to be displayed on television broadcasting from the external device, and a display control unit configured to display, on the display, a screen of the telop to be displayed superimposed on the camera video, in order to allow the cameraman to read the script without turning his eyes away from the display, as suggested by Wasada.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashiguchi (US Pub. 2013/0120633), in view of Saito et al. (US Pub. 2023/0362315), and further in view of Lundgren et al. (US Pub. 2013/0278786).
In regard to claim 7, note Saito discloses that the transmission unit transmits the camera video and a non-intercom audio to the external device using a first protocol for multiplexing a compressed audio onto a video (paragraph 0131; the camera video and audio are multiplexed/compressed using MPEG-2 TS), and the transmission device further comprises an intercom control unit configured to transmit and receive, by using a second protocol for transmitting only an audio in a non-compressed manner, an intercom audio to and from the external device (paragraphs 0216-0218; the intercom audio is transmitted using VOIP).
Therefore, it can be seen that the primary reference fails to explicitly disclose that the intercom audio is transmitted and received with a delay smaller than a delay of the first protocol.
In analogous art, Lundgren discloses the transmission of camera audio/video and intercom audio, wherein the intercom audio transmission is performed using a protocol having zero delay (paragraph 0049). Lundgren teaches that the transmission of intercom audio with a protocol having zero delay is preferred when the communication between operators/crew is urgent (paragraph 0049). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the primary reference such that intercom audio is transmitted and received with a delay smaller than a delay of the first protocol, in order to reduce communication delays between operators/crew due to urgency, as suggested by Lundgren.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2015/0201122: note the use of an imaging system that includes a transmission device that transmits and receives video signals.
/CHRISS S YODER III/Examiner, Art Unit 2638