DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 15/034141, filed on May 3, 2016.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitations recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function (i.e., flange). Such claim limitations are: “means of one or more flange connections” and “means of one or more angled flanges” in claim 41 and “means of a flange connection” in claim 43.
Because these claim limitations are not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are not interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant intends to have these limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitations to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitations do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 35-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 35 recites the phrase "wherein one or more inlet openings of the at least one filter module are arranged above in relation to the direction of gravity, in particular directly over, one or more outlet openings of the at least one filter module" in lines 9-11. The scope of the claim is unclear because the phrase does not form a nexus with the structural components in the claim and requires only the spatial relationship between (a) the one or more inlet openings of the at least one filter module and (b) the one or more outlet opening of the at least one filter module. Additionally, "gravity" is interpreted as an external reference direction, not a claimed structure. Claim 35 is indefinite.
Regarding claim 35, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 39, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 39 recites the broad recitation "a longitudinal direction of the filter system," and the claim also recites "a conveying direction of a conveying device of a painting system" which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Claim 39 is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claim.
Regarding claim 41, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) (i.e., by means of one or more angled flanges) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 43 recites the limitation "the filter position" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation "a filter position" was not previously recited.
Regarding claim 45, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 45 recites the broad recitation "a frame from profile structural parts", and the claim also recites "a frame formed from…aluminum profiles [of structural parts]" which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Claim 45 is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claim. The limitations raise the questions—Is the frame made from profile structural parts? Is the frame made from aluminum profiles of structural parts? For examination on the merits, prior art that teaches one or more filter modules will inherently disclose profile structural parts and aluminum profiles.
Regarding claim 46, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations (i.e., aluminum panels and aluminum composite panels) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For examination on the merits, prior art that teaches one or more filter modules will inherently disclose the one or more filter modules as metal panels, aluminum panels, or aluminum composite panels. Note that aluminum is a long-known metal.
Claims 36-46 are also rejected for depending from claim 35.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 35-37, 39-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ingram (US 5512100 A).
For claim 35, Ingram discloses a filter system (Figs. 1-4) for separating off contaminants from a stream of untreated gas that contains contaminants, including a base construction through which the stream of untreated gas is guidable (Figs. 1-4; frame 14) and which includes at least one filter module receptacle for receiving at least one filter module (Figs. 1-4; col. 8, l. 50 - col. 9, l. 3), and at least one filter module which is selectively arrangeable on and/or in the at least one filter module receptacle and/or removable therefrom (Figs. 1-4; filter modules 32, 34; col. 8, l. 50 - col. 9, l. 3), wherein the at least one filter module includes a plurality of mutually independent filter elements (Figs. 1-4; cartridge filters 64), and wherein one or more inlet openings of the at least one filter module are arranged above in relation to the direction of gravity (col. 7, ll. 1-9), in particular directly over, one or more outlet openings of the at least one filter module (Figs. 1-4; col. 3, l. 53-col. 4, l. 20; col. 5, l. 23-32; col. 8, l. 50 - col. 9, l. 3).
For claim 36, Ingram discloses wherein a plurality of filter elements are a constituent part of a filter device of the filter module and are flowable through for the stream of untreated gas that is to be cleaned in mutually parallel manner during a filter operation of the filter system (Figs. 1-4; col. 8, l. 50 - col. 9, l. 3).
For claim 37, as interpreted, Ingram discloses wherein the at least one filter module receptacle includes a guide device for guiding, moving and/or immobilizing the at least one filter module in relation to the at least one filter module receptacle (col. 5, ll. 44-50; col. 5, l. 64-col. 6, l. 9).
For claim 39, Ingram discloses wherein the filter system includes a plurality of filter module receptacles and/or filter modules arranged successively in a longitudinal direction of the filter system, in particular in a conveying direction of a conveying device of a painting system (Figs. 1-3).
For claim 40, Ingram discloses wherein the filter system includes a plurality of filter module receptacles that form flow channels of the filter system which are configured for mutually independent through flow (Figs. 1-3; col. 5, ll. 24-32).
For claim 41, Ingram discloses wherein the filter module is sealed with respect to the filter module receptacle by means of one or more flange connections, for example by means of one or more angled flanges (col. 6, ll. 3-13).
For claim 42, Ingram discloses wherein for sealing with respect to the filter module receptacle, the filter module is pushed against one or more flanges and is immobilized in this position. The phrase “wherein for sealing with respect to the filter module receptacle, the filter module is pushed against one or more flanges and is immobilized in this position” is interpreted as an intended use/result. The instant invention is an apparatus. Apparatus claims are distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than intended use or function. See MPEP § 2114.
For claim 43, Ingram discloses wherein in the filter position of the filter module, the filter module is sealed with respect to the filter module receptacle on an input side and/or on an output side by means of a flange connection (col. 6, ll. 3-13).
For claim 44, Ingram discloses wherein one or more filter elements are formed as disposable filter elements. The wherein phrase is interpreted as an intended use/result. The instant invention is an apparatus. Apparatus claims are distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than intended use or function. See MPEP § 2114.
For claim 45, as interpreted, Ingram discloses wherein one or more filter modules include a frame formed from profile structural parts (col. 5, ll. 44-50), in particular aluminum profiles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingram in view of Kreeger (US 4590884 A).
For claim 38, Ingram does not explicitly disclose wherein the guide device includes a rail guide and/or a roller guide. Kreeger is analogous art and does disclose a guide device include a rail guide and/or a roller guide (Fig.1; col. 4, ll. 3-12). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the guide device that includes a rail guide and/or a roller guide taught in Kreeger for the guide device included with the filter module receptacle of Ingram since the selection of art recognized structural equivalents would have been available as an art recognized substitute at the filing date of the current invention with a reasonable expectation for success. See MPEP § 2144.06.
Claim(s) 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingram in view of Tank (US 4498913 A).
For claim 46, as interpreted, Ingram does not explicitly disclose wherein surface structural parts of the filter module (col. 5, ll. 44-50) are metal panels, for example aluminum panels or aluminum composite panels. Tank is analogous art and does disclose surface structural parts of the filter module are metal panels (Fig; col. 1, l. 62 – col. 2, l. 5). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the sheet metal taught in Tank for the surface structural parts of the filter module of Ingram since the selection of art recognized structural equivalents would have been available as an art recognized substitute at the filing date of the current invention with a reasonable expectation for success. See MPEP § 2144.06.
Double Patenting
Claims 35-46 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,596,504, claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,117,080, claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,666,850, and claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,076,682. Although the claims at issue are not identical, the claims are not patentably distinct from each other because of the scope of the subject matter a filter system for separating off contaminants from a stream of untreated gas that contains contaminants, including a base construction through which the stream of untreated gas is guidable and which includes at least one filter module receptacle for receiving at least one filter module, and at least one filter module which is selectively arrangeable on and/or in the at least one filter module receptacle and/or removable therefrom, wherein the at least one filter module includes a plurality of mutually independent filter elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith. Also, see the prior art examples provided below in response to this correspondence. Examples follow:
US 20130186049 A1 & US 8961642 B2: filter elements 122; filter module 102; filter elements 122; Figs. 1-2.
US 5107756 A: conventional cartridge cabinet operation is well known in the industry; cartridge filters 42; fan cabinet 58; Figs. 1-4, 7.
US 4498913 A: filter module; elastomeric gasket to provide an airtight seal with filter module; Fig.
US 20110274827 A1: filter module; base body 174; filter elements 172; filter module 132; Fig. 3; metal plate.
US 20140366798 A1: separation region 44; filter unit 52; filter space 62; latches 102; filter module 40 detachably connected to air guiding ducts 38; filter housing 46; filter inlet 48; duct outlet connection piece 50; intermediate duct 56 has an inlet flange 60; Figs. 1-3.
US 20160023231 A1: Figs. 1-2;
/SONJI TURNER/Examiner, Art Unit 1776 August 13, 2026
/Jennifer Dieterle/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776