DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 12/22/2025. Claims 1- 5, 11-20 and 22-26 are pending for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, recites the term “sudio signal” in line 2, which appears as if should read “audio signal”. Examiner believes this is a simple typographical error and interprets the term to be functionally equivalent to the phrase “audio signal”. Appropriate correction is required.
Title 35, U.S. Code
Double Patenting
e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d
1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir.
1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
1.321(b).
Claims 1- 5, 11-20 and 22-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent 12,106,659.
The following lists the comparison of the claims of the instant application with that of the conflict patent:
Instant Application 18/793,115
U.S. Patent 12,106,659
1. (Currently Amended) A haptics signal generator, the haptics signal generator configured to receive an input sudio signal and to generate a haptics signal for driving a haptics transducer by bandwidth modulating a carrier signal based on the input audio signal wherein the haptics signal generator is configured to:
generate a bandwidth-control signal based on the input audio signal; and
bandwidth modulate the carrier signal based on the bandwidth-control signal.
2. (Original) The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 25, configured to:
generate a frequency-control signal based on the input audio signal; and
frequency modulate the carrier signal based on the frequency-control signal.
3. (Original) The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 2, configured to generate the frequency-control signal so that its magnitude is a function of:
a characteristic or dominant frequency or phase or a dominant pitch frequency of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom; and/or a frequency or phase of defined features, characteristics or portions of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom; and/or an amplitude or magnitude or envelope of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom, or a rate of change thereof; and/or an amplitude or magnitude or envelope of defined or extracted features, characteristics or portions of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom, or a rate of change thereof; and/or an amplitude or magnitude or envelope of a combined signal, or a rate of change thereof, the combined signal generated by combining amplitudes or magnitudes or envelopes of defined or
extracted features, characteristics or portions of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom; and/or a frequency bandwidth of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom.
4. (Currently Amended) The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 2, configured to frequency modulate the carrier signal based on the frequency-control signal so that:
a frequency component of the haptics signal, such as a dominant frequency peak of the haptics signal or a center frequency fh of the haptics signal or a frequency peak of the haptics signal corresponding to a carrier frequency fc of the carrier signal, is a function of a magnitude of the frequency-control signal; and/or a frequency component of the haptics signal, such as a dominant frequency peak of the haptics signal or a center frequency fh of the haptics signal or a frequency peak of the haptics signal corresponding to a carrier frequency fc of the carrier signal, oscillates in frequency at a frequency defined by a magnitude of the frequency-control signal; and/or a frequency component of the haptics signal, such as a dominant frequency peak of the haptics signal or a center frequency fh of the haptics signal or a frequency peak of the haptics signal corresponding to a carrier frequency fc of the carrier signal, oscillates in frequency over a frequency bandwidth defined by a configuration parameter.
5. (Previously Presented) The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 1, configured to control and/or limit a frequency bandwidth or a peak modulation frequency deviation of the haptics signal based on one or more of:
a resonant frequency of the haptics transducer;
a predetermined threshold value or a configuration parameter;
a Q factor of the haptics transducer;
one or more harmonic frequencies of the haptics transducer or peaks in a frequency response of the haptics transducer; and
a Q factor of a resonant frequency or one or more harmonic frequencies of the haptics transducer or peaks in a frequency response of the haptics transducer.
11. (Previously Presented) The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 26, configured to:
generate an amplitude-control signal based on the input audio signal; and
amplitude modulate the carrier signal based on the amplitude-control signal.
12. (Original) The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 11, configured to generate the amplitude-control signal so that its magnitude is a function of:
an amplitude or magnitude or envelope of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom; and/or an amplitude or magnitude or envelope of defined or extracted features, characteristics or portions of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom; and/or an amplitude or magnitude or envelope of a combined signal, the combined signal generated by combining amplitudes or magnitudes or envelopes of defined or extracted features, characteristics or portions of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom.
13. (Previously Presented) The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 11, configured to amplitude modulate the carrier signal based on the amplitude-control signal so that an amplitude of the haptics signal is a function of a magnitude of the amplitude-control signal.
14. (Previously Presented) The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 1, wherein the input audio signal is a composite signal comprising a plurality of component signals.
15. (Original) The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 14, wherein at least one of the component signals is, or comprises, an audio signal, a video signal, an audio-visual signal, an ultrasonic signal, an electromagnetic signal, a biometric signal, a synthetic signal and/or a sensor signal.
16. (Original) A haptics signal generator configured to generate a haptics signal for driving a haptics transducer by frequency modulating and bandwidth modulating a carrier signal based on an input audio signal.
17. (Currently Amended) A haptics signal generator, the haptics signal generator configured to receive an input signal and to generate a haptics signal for driving a haptics transducer by frequency modulating a carrier signal based on the input signal, wherein the haptics signal generator is configured to generate a frequency-control signal based on the input signal and frequency modulate the carrier signal based on the frequency-control signal, and wherein the haptics signal generator is configured to control a peak frequency deviation of the haptics signal, and/or limit a frequency bandwidth or a the peak frequency deviation of the haptics signal based on one or more of:
a resonant frequency of the haptics transducer;
a predetermined threshold value or a configuration parameter;
a Q factor of the haptics transducer;
one or more harmonic frequencies of the haptics transducer or peaks in a frequency response of the haptics transducer; and
a Q factor of a resonant frequency or one or more harmonic frequencies of the haptics transducer or peaks in a frequency response of the haptics transducer.
18. (Currently Amended) A haptics system, comprising: a haptics signal generator; and a haptics transducer wherein the haptics signal generator is configured to receive an input audio signal and to generate a haptics signal for driving the haptics transducer by bandwidth modulating a carrier signal based on the input audio signal;
wherein the haptics signal generator is configured to:generate a bandwidth-control signal based on the input audio signal; and
bandwidth modulate the carrier signal based on the bandwidth-control signal.
19. (Currently Amended) The haptics system as claimed in claim 18, wherein:
the haptics transducer has a resonant frequency f0 or another frequency peak fp in its frequency response, optionally being a harmonic of the resonant frequency f0; and a carrier frequency fc of the carrier signal is substantially the same as or within a predetermined range of the resonant frequency f0 or the frequency peak fp.
20. (Currently Amended) A host device comprising a haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 1, wherein the haptics signal generator is configured to receive an input audio signal and to generate a haptics signal for driving a haptics transducer by bandwidth modulating a carrier signal based on the input audio signal,
wherein the haptics signal generator is configured to:generate a bandwidth-control signal based on the input audio signal; and
bandwidth modulate the carrier signal based on the bandwidth-control signal.
22. (Currently Amended) The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 11 wherein bandwidth modulating the carrier signal comprises controlling a peak modulation frequency deviation of the haptics signal based on the bandwidth-control signals optionally wherein the peak modulation frequency deviation is a maximum deviation of a center frequency fh of the haptics signal from a carrier frequency fc of the carrier signal.
23. (Previously Presented) The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 21, configured to generate the bandwidth-control signal so that its magnitude is a function of:
a characteristic or dominant frequency or phase or a dominant pitch frequency of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom; and/or a frequency or phase of defined features, characteristics or portions of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom; and/or an amplitude or magnitude or envelope of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom, or a rate of change thereof; and/or an amplitude or magnitude or envelope of defined or extracted features, characteristics or portions of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom, or a rate of change thereof; and/or an amplitude or magnitude or envelope of a combined signal, or a rate of change thereof, the combined signal generated by combining amplitudes or magnitudes or envelopes of defined or extracted features, characteristics or portions of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom; and/or a frequency bandwidth of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom.
24. (Currently Amended) The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 21, configured to bandwidth modulate and/or frequency modulate the carrier signal based on the bandwidth- control signal so that:
a frequency bandwidth or a peak modulation frequency deviation of the haptics signal is a function of a magnitude of the bandwidth-control signal; and/or a frequency component of the haptics signal, oscillates in frequency over a frequency bandwidth defined by a magnitude of the bandwidth-control signal.
25. (Previously Presented) The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 1, configured to frequency modulate the carrier signal based on the input audio signal.
26. (Previously Presented) The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 1, configured to amplitude modulate the carrier signal based on the input audio signal.
1. A haptics signal generator, the haptics signal generator configured to receive an input audio signal, and to generate a haptics signal for driving a haptics transducer by frequency modulating and bandwidth modulating a carrier signal based on the input audio signal; wherein the haptics signal generator is configured to: generate a frequency-control signal based on the input audio signal; frequency modulate the carrier signal based on the frequency-control signal; generate a bandwidth-control signal based on the input audio signal; and bandwidth modulate the carrier signal based on the bandwidth-control signal; wherein bandwidth modulating the carrier signal comprises controlling a peak modulation frequency deviation of the haptics signal based on the bandwidth-control signal.
2. The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 1, configured to generate the frequency-control signal so that its magnitude is a function of: a characteristic or dominant frequency or phase or a dominant pitch frequency of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom; and/or a frequency or phase of defined features, characteristics or portions of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom; and/or an amplitude or magnitude or envelope of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom, or a rate of change thereof; and/or an amplitude or magnitude or envelope of defined or extracted features, characteristics or portions of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom, or a rate of change thereof; and/or an amplitude or magnitude or envelope of a combined signal, or a rate of change thereof, the combined signal generated by combining amplitudes or magnitudes or envelopes of defined or extracted features, characteristics or portions of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom; and/or a frequency bandwidth of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom.
3. The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 1, configured to frequency modulate the carrier signal based on the frequency-control signal so that: a frequency component of the haptics signal is a function of a magnitude of the frequency-control signal; and/or a frequency component of the haptics signal oscillates in frequency at a frequency defined by a magnitude of the frequency-control signal; and/or a frequency component of the haptics signal oscillates in frequency over a frequency bandwidth defined by a configuration parameter.
4. The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 1, configured to control and/or limit a frequency bandwidth or a peak modulation frequency deviation of the haptics signal based on one or more of: a resonant frequency of the haptics transducer; a predetermined threshold value or a configuration parameter; a Q factor of the haptics transducer; one or more harmonic frequencies of the haptics transducer or peaks in a frequency response of the haptics transducer; and a Q factor of a resonant frequency or one or more harmonic frequencies of the haptics transducer or peaks in a frequency response of the haptics transducer.
5. The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 1, wherein the peak modulation frequency deviation is a maximum deviation of a centre frequency fh of the haptics signal from a carrier frequency fc of the carrier signal.
6. The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 1, configured to generate the bandwidth-control signal so that its magnitude is a function of: a characteristic or dominant frequency or phase or a dominant pitch frequency of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom; and/or a frequency or phase of defined features, characteristics or portions of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom; and/or an amplitude or magnitude or envelope of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom, or a rate of change thereof; and/or an amplitude or magnitude or envelope of defined or extracted features, characteristics or portions of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom, or a rate of change thereof; and/or an amplitude or magnitude or envelope of a combined signal, or a rate of change thereof, the combined signal generated by combining amplitudes or magnitudes or envelopes of defined or extracted features, characteristics or portions of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom; and/or a frequency bandwidth of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom.
7. The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 1, configured to bandwidth modulate and/or frequency modulate the carrier signal based on the bandwidth-control signal so that: a frequency bandwidth or a peak modulation frequency deviation of the haptics signal is a function of a magnitude of the bandwidth-control signal; and/or a frequency component of the haptics signal oscillates in frequency over a frequency bandwidth defined by a magnitude of the bandwidth-control signal.
8. The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 1, configured to: generate an amplitude-control signal based on the input audio signal; and amplitude modulate the carrier signal based on the amplitude-control signal.
9. The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 8, configured to generate the amplitude-control signal so that its magnitude is a function of: an amplitude or magnitude or envelope of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom; and/or an amplitude or magnitude or envelope of defined or extracted features, characteristics or portions of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom; and/or an amplitude or magnitude or envelope of a combined signal, the combined signal generated by combining amplitudes or magnitudes or envelopes of defined or extracted features, characteristics or portions of the input audio signal or a signal derived therefrom.
10. The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 8, configured to amplitude modulate the carrier signal based on the amplitude-control signal so that an amplitude of the haptics signal is a function of a magnitude of the amplitude-control signal.
11. The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 1, wherein the input audio signal is a composite signal comprising a plurality of component signals.
12. The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 11, wherein at least one of the component signals is, or comprises, an audio signal, a video signal, an audio-visual signal, an ultrasonic signal, an electromagnetic signal, a biometric signal, a synthetic signal and/or a sensor signal.
13. A haptics system, comprising: a haptics signal generator; and a haptics transducer; wherein: the haptics signal generator is configured to receive an input audio signal, and to generate a haptics signal for driving the haptics transducer by frequency modulating and bandwidth modulating a carrier signal based on the input audio signal; wherein the haptics signal generator is configured to: generate a frequency-control signal based on the input audio signal; frequency modulate the carrier signal based on the frequency-control signal; generate a bandwidth-control signal based on the input audio signal; and bandwidth modulate the carrier signal based on the bandwidth-control signal; wherein bandwidth modulating the carrier signal comprises controlling a peak modulation frequency deviation of the haptics signal based on the bandwidth-control signal.
14. The haptics system as claimed in claim 13, wherein: the haptics transducer has a resonant frequency f0 or another frequency peak fp in its frequency response; and a carrier frequency fc of the carrier signal is substantially the same as or within a predetermined range of the resonant frequency f0 or the frequency peak fp.
15. A host device comprising a haptics signal generator, wherein: the haptics signal generator is configured to receive an input audio signal, and to generate a haptics signal for driving the haptics transducer by frequency modulating and bandwidth modulating a carrier signal based on the input audio signal; wherein the haptics signal generator is configured to: generate a frequency-control signal based on the input audio signal; frequency modulate the carrier signal based on the frequency-control signal; generate a bandwidth-control signal based on the input audio signal; and bandwidth modulate the carrier signal based on the bandwidth-control signal; wherein bandwidth modulating the carrier signal comprises controlling a peak modulation frequency deviation of the haptics signal based on the bandwidth-control signal.
16. The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 3, wherein said frequency component of the haptics signal is a dominant frequency peak of the haptics signal or a centre frequency fh of the haptics signal or a frequency peak of the haptics signal corresponding to a carrier frequency fc of the carrier signal.
17. The haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 7, wherein said frequency component of the haptics signal is a dominant frequency peak of the haptics signal or a centre frequency fh of the haptics signal or a frequency peak of the haptics signal corresponding to a carrier frequency fc of the carrier signal.
.
Claims 1, 18 and 20 of the instant application contain only obvious modifications of the patented independent claims 1 and 15. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims in the continuation are broader than the patented claims, In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982) and In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993), broad claims in the instant application are rejected as obvious double patenting over narrow claims of the patent. For example, claim 1 of the present invention does not claim the specific features of “wherein bandwidth modulating the carrier signal comprises controlling a peak modulation frequency deviation of the haptics signal based on the bandwidth-control signal.”. Therefore, claim 1 of the instant invention is broader than claim 1 of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 17, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lacroix et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2007/0236449).
Regarding claim 17 (Currently Amended), Lacroix teaches a haptics signal generator, the haptics signal generator configured to receive an input signal and to generate a haptics signal for driving a haptics transducer (Fig 3, ¶061; media player 302 may generate a haptic effect by transmitting the output signal to actuator 310 and/or multi-function transducer 312; also see ¶041-¶042) by frequency modulating a carrier signal based on the input signal (¶033; haptic data may be encoded as frequency modulated data at one or more frequencies of the media stream data; also Examiner notes that per, ¶028; multimedia data may be multimedia file, containing one or more media streams, such as an audio stream and a video stream), wherein the haptics signal generator is configured to control the haptics signal based on: a resonant frequency of the haptics transducer (¶016; processor analyzes parameters associated with actuator, such as actuator's resonant frequency, and generates an actuator signal based in part on haptic data and parameters, also see ¶041; haptic media engine 306 may determine resonant frequency for actuator or transducer and parameter data may comprise a resonant frequency of actuator).
wherein the haptics signal generator is configured to generate a frequency-control signal based on the input signal and frequency modulate the carrier signal based on the frequency-control signal, and wherein the haptics signal generator is configured to control a peak frequency deviation of the haptics signal, and/or limit
a resonant frequency of the haptics transducer (¶016; processor analyzes parameters associated with actuator/transducer, such as actuator's resonant frequency, and generates an actuator signal based in part on haptic data and parameters, also see ¶041; haptic media engine 306 may determine resonant frequency for actuator or transducer and parameter data may comprise a resonant frequency of actuator).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 11, 14-16, 18, 20-21 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lacroix et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2007/0236449) in view of in view of Tao (CN 208924498).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Lacroix teaches a haptics signal generator, the haptics signal generator configured to receive an input sudio signal and to generate a haptics signal for driving a haptics transducer (Fig 3, ¶061; media player 302 may generate a haptic effect by transmitting the output signal to actuator 310 and/or multi-function transducer 312; also see ¶041-¶042) by amplitude modulating and frequency a carrier signal based on an input audio signal (¶033; haptic data may be encoded as amplitude or frequency modulated data at one or more frequencies of the media stream data; also Examiner notes that per, ¶028; multimedia data may be multimedia file, containing one or more media streams, such as an audio stream and a video stream).
Lacroix is silent on wherein the haptics signal generator is configured to: generate a bandwidth-control signal based on the input audio signal; and bandwidth modulate the carrier signal based on the bandwidth-control signal bandwidth modulating the carrier signal based on an input audio signal. Tao, from an analogous driving transducers art, teaches the concept wherein the haptics signal generator is configured to: generate a bandwidth-control signal based on the input audio signal; and bandwidth modulate the carrier signal based on the bandwidth-control signal (claim 1; D-type audio filter from input interface unit of audio signal after filtering D-type carrier signal to obtain target audio signal bandwidth modulator, bandwidth modulator modulating the target audio signal to a predetermined bandwidth and power amplifier outputting bandwidth modulator for driving speaker unit). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Lacroix’s haptics signal generator with the concept of a haptics signal generator is configured to: generate a bandwidth-control signal based on the input audio signal; and bandwidth modulate the carrier signal based on the bandwidth-control signal, as taught by Tao above, in order to simply control and enhance haptic effects for user’s electronic devices.
Regarding claim 2, Lacroix and Tao teach the haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 25, and Lacroix further teaches a haptics signal generator being configured to: generate a frequency-control signal based on the input audio signal (¶033; haptic information converted from native format into same format as multimedia data, Examiner interprets 130Hz signal as frequency control signal);
and frequency modulate the carrier signal based on the frequency-control signal (¶033; haptic data encoded as frequency modulated data at one or more frequencies of the media stream data… haptic data may be encoded as frequency modulated data on a carrier wave having a frequency of 130 Hz, then mixed into existing audio stream).
Regarding claim 5, Lacroix and Tao teach the haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 1, and Lacroix further teaches configured to control the haptics signal based on: a resonant frequency of the haptics transducer (¶016; processor analyzes parameters associated with actuator, such as actuator's resonant frequency, and generates an actuator signal based in part on haptic data and parameters, also see ¶041; haptic media engine 306 may determine resonant frequency for actuator or transducer and parameter data may comprise a resonant frequency of actuator).
Regarding claim 11, Lacroix and Tao teach the haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 26, and Lacroix teaches being configured to: generate an amplitude-control signal based on the input audio signal (¶033; haptic information converted from native format into same format as multimedia data, Examiner interprets 140Hz signal as amplitude control signal);
and amplitude modulate the carrier signal based on the amplitude-control signal (¶033; haptic data encoded as amplitude modulated data at one or more frequencies of the media stream data… haptic data may be encoded as amplitude modulated data on a carrier wave having a frequency of 140 Hz, then mixed into existing audio stream).
Regarding claim 14, Lacroix and Tao teach the haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 1, and Lacroix further teaches wherein the input audio signal is a composite signal (receiving an input signal formatted in a first format) comprising a plurality of component signals (¶007; receiving input signal formatted in first format… input signal having multimedia data and haptic information).
Regarding claim 15, Lacroix and Tao teach the haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 14, and Lacroix further teaches wherein at least one of the component signals is, or comprises, an audio signal, a video signal, and/or an audio-visual signal. (¶028; media player 302 configured to receive input signal having haptic information and multimedia data...which may be a multimedia file, containing one or more media streams, such as an audio stream and a video stream; also see ¶037; media stream decoder 304 may be configured to analyze audio and/or video data to determine frequency patterns associated with haptic events.
Regarding claim 16, Lacroix teaches a haptics signal generator configured to generate a haptics signal for driving a haptics transducer (Fig 3, ¶061; media player 302 may generate a haptic effect by transmitting the output signal to actuator 310 and/or multi-function transducer 312; also see ¶041-¶042) by frequency modulating a carrier signal based on an input audio signal (¶033; haptic data may be encoded as frequency modulated data at one or more frequencies of the media stream data; also Examiner notes that per, ¶028; multimedia data may be multimedia file, containing one or more media streams, such as an audio stream and a video stream).
Lacroix is silent on bandwidth modulating the carrier signal based on an input audio signal. Tao, from an analogous driving transducers art, teaches the concept of being configured to bandwidth modulate a carrier signal based on an input audio signal (claim 1; D-type audio filter from input interface unit of audio signal after filtering D-type carrier signal to obtain target audio signal bandwidth modulator, bandwidth modulator modulating the target audio signal to a predetermined bandwidth and power amplifier outputting bandwidth modulator for driving speaker unit). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Lacroix’s haptics signal generator with the concept of being configured to bandwidth modulate a carrier signal based on an input audio signal, as taught by Tao above, in order to simply enhance the haptic effects for user’s electronic devices.
Regarding claim 18 (Currently Amended), Lacroix teaches a haptics system, comprising: a haptics signal generator and a haptics transducer wherein the haptics signal generator is configured to receive an input audio signal and to generate a haptics signal for driving the haptics transducer (Fig 3, ¶061; media player 302 may generate a haptic effect by transmitting the output signal to actuator 310 and/or multi-function transducer 312; also see ¶041-¶042).
Lacroix is silent on wherein the haptics signal generator is configured to: generate a bandwidth-control signal based on the input audio signal; and bandwidth modulating a carrier signal based on the bandwidth-control signal. Tao, from an analogous driving transducers art, teaches the concept wherein the haptics signal generator is configured to: generate a bandwidth-control signal based on the input audio signal; and bandwidth modulating a carrier signal based on the bandwidth-control signal (claim 1; D-type audio filter from input interface unit of audio signal after filtering D-type carrier signal to obtain target audio signal bandwidth modulator, bandwidth modulator modulating the target audio signal to a predetermined bandwidth and power amplifier outputting bandwidth modulator for driving speaker unit). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Lacroix’s haptics signal generator with the concept of a the haptics signal generator is configured to: generate a bandwidth-control signal based on the input audio signal; and bandwidth modulating a carrier signal based on the bandwidth-control signal, as taught by Tao above, in order to simply control and enhance haptic effects for user’s electronic devices.
Regarding claim 20, (Currently Amended) Lacroix and Tao, in combination teach a host device (Lacroix; Fig 3; media player 302) comprising a haptics signal generator, wherein the haptics signal generator is configured to receive an input audio signal and to generate a haptics signal for driving a haptics transducer (Fig 3, ¶061; media player 302 may generate a haptic effect by transmitting the output signal to actuator 310 and/or multi-function transducer 312; also see ¶041-¶042) by bandwidth modulating a carrier signal based on the input audio signa (¶033; haptic data may be encoded as amplitude or frequency modulated data at one or more frequencies of the media stream data; also Examiner notes that per, ¶028; multimedia data may be multimedia file, containing one or more media streams, such as an audio stream and a video stream).
Lacroix is silent on wherein the haptics signal generator is configured to: generate a bandwidth-control signal based on the input audio signal; and bandwidth modulate the carrier signal based on the bandwidth-control signal bandwidth modulating the carrier signal based on an input audio signal. Tao, from an analogous driving transducers art, teaches the concept wherein the haptics signal generator is configured to: generate a bandwidth-control signal based on the input audio signal; and bandwidth modulate the carrier signal based on the bandwidth-control signal (claim 1; D-type audio filter from input interface unit of audio signal after filtering D-type carrier signal to obtain target audio signal bandwidth modulator, bandwidth modulator modulating the target audio signal to a predetermined bandwidth and power amplifier outputting bandwidth modulator for driving speaker unit). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Lacroix’s haptics signal generator with the concept of a haptics signal generator is configured to: generate a bandwidth-control signal based on the input audio signal; and bandwidth modulate the carrier signal based on the bandwidth-control signal, as taught by Tao above, in order to simply control and enhance haptic effects for user’s electronic devices.
Regarding claim 25, Lacroix and Tao teach the haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 1, and Lacroix further teaches being configured to frequency modulate the carrier signal based on the input audio signal (¶033; haptic data encoded as frequency modulated data at one or more frequencies of the media stream data… haptic data may be encoded as frequency modulated data on a carrier wave having a frequency of 130 Hz, then mixed into existing audio stream).
Regarding claim 26, Lacroix and Tao teach the haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 1, and Lacroix further teaches being configured to amplitude modulate the carrier signal based on the input audio signal (¶033; haptic data may be encoded as amplitude or frequency modulated data at one or more frequencies of the media stream data; also Examiner notes that per, ¶028; multimedia data may be multimedia file, containing one or more media streams, such as an audio stream and a video stream).
Claim 3, 12-13 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lacroix et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2007/0236449) in view of in view of Tao (CN 208924498) further in view of Houghton (EP 0328352).
Regarding claim 3, Lacroix and Tao teach the haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 2, but both are silent on being configured to generate the frequency-control signal so that its magnitude is a function of: a characteristic of the input audio signal.
Houghton from an analogous setting the magnitude of a frequency-control signal teaches the concept of generate the frequency-control signal so that its magnitude is a function of: a characteristic of an input audio signal (Abstract; producing frequency-control signal includes a peak-detector operative during each sample interval for setting the magnitude of the frequency-control signal; Examiner interprets peak detection as a characteristic of the input audio/ultrasound signal). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to further combine Lacroix’s haptics signal generator with the concept of generating a frequency-control signal so that its magnitude is a function of: a characteristic of an input audio signal, as taught Houghton above, in order to simply enhance the haptic effects for user’s electronic devices, such as to enhance the haptic effects so that the transducer and power amplifier operate with essentially peak-power-conversion efficiency.
Regarding claim 12, Lacroix and Tao teach the haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 11, and Lacroix further teaches being configured to generate the amplitude-control signal (see claim 1), but both are silent on the amplitude-control signal’s magnitude being a function of: an amplitude of the input audio signal.
Houghton from an analogous setting the magnitude of a control signal art teaches the concept of generating a control signal so that its magnitude is a function of: a characteristic of an input audio signal (Abstract; producing frequency-control signal includes a peak-detector operative during each sample interval for setting the magnitude of the frequency-control signal; Examiner interprets peak detection as a magnitude of the input audio/ultrasound signal). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Lacroix’s haptics signal generator with the concept of generating a control signal so that its magnitude is a function of: a magnitude of an input audio signal, as taught Houghton above, in order to simply enhance the haptic effects for user’s electronic devices, such as to enhance the haptic effects so that the transducer and power amplifier operate with essentially peak-power-conversion efficiency.
Regarding claim 13, Lacroix and Tao teach the haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 11, and Lacroix further teaches generating both frequency control signals and amplitude-control signals for modulation (see claim 1), but both are silent on generating the amplitude-control signal so that its magnitude is a function of a magnitude of the amplitude-control signal.
Houghton from an analogous setting the magnitude of modulation control signal teaches the concept of generating a modulating control signal so that its magnitude is a function of a magnitude of a frequency control signal. (Abstract; producing frequency-control signal includes a peak-detector operative during each sample interval for setting the magnitude of the modulating control signal; Examiner interprets peak detection as a characteristic of the input audio/ultrasound signal). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to further combine Lacroix’s haptics signal generator including frequency and amplitude modulation with the concept of generating a modulation control signal so that its magnitude is a magnitude of the amplitude control signal , as taught Houghton above, in order to simply enhance the haptic effects for user’s electronic devices, such as to enhance the haptic effects so that the transducer and power amplifier operate with essentially peak-power-conversion efficiency.
Regarding claim 23, Lacroix and Tao teach the haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 21, but both are silent on being configured to generate the frequency-control signal so that its magnitude is a function of: a characteristic of the input audio signal.
Houghton from an analogous setting the magnitude of a frequency-control signal teaches the concept of generate the frequency-control signal so that its magnitude is a function of: a characteristic of an input audio signal (Abstract; producing frequency-control signal includes a peak-detector operative during each sample interval for setting the magnitude of the frequency-control signal; Examiner interprets peak detection as a characteristic of the input audio/ultrasound signal). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to further combine Lacroix’s haptics signal generator with the concept of generating a frequency-control signal so that its magnitude is a function of: a characteristic of an input audio signal, as taught Houghton above, in order to simply enhance the haptic effects for user’s electronic devices, such as to enhance the haptic effects so that the transducer and power amplifier operate with essentially peak-power-conversion efficiency.
Regarding claim 24 (Currently Amended), Lacroix and Tao teach the haptics signal generator as claimed in claim 21, and Lacroix further teaches generating both frequency modulation control signals and amplitude modulation control signals (see claim 1). Tao further teaches the use of generating bandwidth modulation control signals and bandwidth modulate modulating carrier signals based on the bandwidth-control signal (see claim 1). Both Lacroix and Tao are silent on generating the frequency or bandwidth control signal so that a peak modulation frequency deviation of the haptics signal is a function of a magnitude of the bandwidth-control signal.
Houghton from an analogous art of setting the magnitude of modulation control signal teaches the concept of generating modulation control signals so that a peak modulation frequency deviation of the haptics signal is a function of a magnitude of the bandwidth-control signal. (Abstract; producing frequency-control signal includes a peak-detector operative during each sample interval for setting the magnitude of the modulating control signal; Examiner interprets peak detection as a characteristic of the input audio/ultrasound signal) and/or a frequency component of the haptics signal oscillates in frequency over a frequency bandwidth defined by a magnitude of the bandwidth-control signal (optional feature not selected by Examiner). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to further combine Lacroix’s haptics signal generator including frequency and amplitude modulation with the concept a peak modulation frequency deviation of the haptics signal is a function of a magnitude of the bandwidth-control signal, as taught Houghton above, in order to simply enhance the haptic effects for user’s electronic devices, such as to enhance the haptic effects so that the transducer and power amplifier operate with essentially peak-power-conversion efficiency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s prior art arguments to claims 1-5 and 11-26 have been fully considered but are moot because the independent claims were amended by the Applicant to include new features that were never previously presented. Therefore, the scope of the independent claims, and their respective dependent claims were changed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANCIL LITTLEJOHN JR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2685
/QUAN ZHEN WANG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2685