DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0005]: "embodiments of this application provides " should read "embodiments of this application provide". Please correct for all other repeating instances (e.g. [0006], [0007])
[0013]: "a third limit hole" (Page 4, line 25) and "a fourth limit hole" (Page 5, line 2) are recited but there are no prior references to of a first or a second limit hole
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the first limit hole" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, “a second limit hole” is recited prior to any previous limit hole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Wang et al. (US20210119509A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang teaches:
A scanning drive motor ([0004]: “Embodiments of the present disclosure provide a motor”), comprising:
an integrated bearing structure, comprising a first bearing ([0017]: “Refer to FIG. 3 to FIG. 5, the motor 100 includes a base 10, a rotor assembly 20, a first bearing 30”), a second bearing ([0040]: “Refer again to FIG. 3 to FIG. 5, in some embodiments, the motor 100 further includes the second bearing 80”) and a rotating shaft ([0021]: “The rotor assembly 20 includes a rotation shaft 21 and a rotor housing 22”), the first bearing comprising a first inner ring and a first outer ring ([0022]: “An outer ring 32 of the first bearing 30 may contact the inner surface of the shaft hole 12”), the second bearing comprising a second inner ring and a second outer ring ([0040]: “The outer ring 82 of the second bearing 80 abuts against the support 13”), the first bearing and the second bearing being sleeved on the rotating shaft ([0004]: “The bearing is sleeved at the rotation shaft”), the first inner ring and the second inner ring being connected to the rotating shaft ([0022]: “An inner ring 31 of the first bearing 30 may be fixedly connected to the rotation shaft 21”; [0040]: “The inner ring 81 of the second bearing 80 is sleeved at the rotation shaft 21 and is fixedly connected to the rotation shaft 21”);
a mover assembly, comprising a mover ([0017]: “Refer to FIG. 3 to FIG. 5, the motor 100 includes a base 10, a rotor assembly 20, a first bearing 30”);
and a stator assembly, comprising a stator ([0003]: “The rotor and a stator of the motor are rotatably connected through a bearing”) and a stator base, the stator being connected to the stator base ([0018]: “The base 10 includes a body 11, a support 13, and a support plate 14”), the stator base being formed with a bearing chamber ([0018]: ”The base 10 includes a shaft hole 12. The shaft hole 12 passes through the body 11”), the first bearing, the second bearing and at least a part of the rotating shaft being located in the bearing chamber ([0022]: “the first bearing 30 may be completely located in the shaft hole 12”; [0051]: “The second bearing 80 may be mounted in the shaft hole 12”; FIG. 4), at least one of the first outer ring and the second outer ring being connected to the stator base ([0029]: “the outer ring 32 of the first bearing 30 may maintain still relative to the base 10”), the rotating shaft being connected to the mover assembly ([0021]: “The rotor assembly 20 includes a rotation shaft 21 and a rotor housing 22”; [0024]: “The rotor housing 22 may be fixedly connected to the rotation shaft 21”), and the mover being capable of rotating relative to the stator around a central axis of the rotating shaft ([0021]: “the rotor assembly 20 is mounted at the base 10. In some embodiments, the rotor assembly 20 may be rotatably connected to the base 10 through the first bearing 30. The rotor assembly 20 may rotate relative to the base 10”).
Regarding Claim 2, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Wang further teaches:
The scanning drive motor according to claim 1, wherein the stator base has a first inner wall surface participating in forming the bearing chamber ([0019]: “The support 13 is arranged at the inner surface of the shaft hole 12”), the first inner wall surface is in a form of a cylindrical surface wound around the rotating shaft and extending in a length direction of the rotating shaft ([0018]: “The body 11 of the base 10 as a whole may have a column-shape, for example, a cylindrical shape. The base 10 includes a shaft hole 12. The shaft hole 12 passes through the body 11”; FIG. 4), and the first bearing and the second bearing are both arranged corresponding to the first inner wall surface ([0019]: “An outer ring 32 of the first bearing 30 may contact the inner surface of the shaft hole 12”; [0041]: “The outer ring 82 of the second bearing 80 contacts the inner surface of the shaft hole 12”).
Regarding Claim 6, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Wang further teaches:
The scanning drive motor according to claim 1, wherein the stator base has a first inner wall surface participating in forming the bearing chamber ([0019]: “The support 13 is arranged at the inner surface of the shaft hole 12”), the first outer ring and the second outer ring are both connected to the first inner wall surface, to implement pre-tightening of the first bearing and the second bearing ([0019]: “An outer ring 32 of the first bearing 30 may contact the inner surface of the shaft hole 12”; [0041]: “The outer ring 82 of the second bearing 80 contacts the inner surface of the shaft hole 12”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20210119509A1) in view of Guo et al. (CN116538149A).
Regarding Claim 3, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Wang teaches:
The scanning drive motor according to claim 1.
Wang does not teach, whereas Guo teaches:
The scanning drive motor according to claim 1, wherein the integrated bearing structure further comprises:
a pre-tightening member, sleeved on the rotating shaft and located between the first bearing and the second bearing; and
the first outer ring and the second outer ring are both connected to the pre-tightening member, to implement pre-tightening of the first bearing and the second bearing ([0010]: “an outer spacer bush sleeved on the periphery of the rotating shaft, wherein the outer spacer bush is a rigid component, one end of the outer spacer bush is tightly propped against the outer ring of the first bearing, and the other end is tightly propped against the outer ring of the second bearing”: FIGs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotating motor assembly as taught by Wang to have a pre-tightening component around the rotating shaft and in between the two bearings as taught by Guo with a predictable level of success. These elements are known in the art for rotary systems and their incorporation would have the predictable result of providing a tightening force and eliminating the clearance between the bearings for smooth rotational movement.
Regarding Claim 4, which depends from rejected Claim 3, Guo further teaches:
The scanning drive motor according to claim 3, wherein the pre-tightening member has a first mating surface mating with the first outer ring and a second mating surface mating with the second outer ring, the first mating surface and the second mating surface are oppositely arranged along a length direction of the rotating shaft, the first mating surface and the second mating surface are both around the rotating shaft, and the first mating surface and the second mating surface are parallel ([0026]: “two end surfaces of the outer spacer sleeve are respectively propped against the outer ring of the first bearing and the outer ring of the second bearing”; [0059]: “the two end surfaces are parallel to each other”; FIGs. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 5, which depends from rejected Claim 3, Guo further teaches:
The scanning drive motor according to claim 3, wherein at least one of the first inner ring and the second inner ring is connected to the rotating shaft via an adhesive ([0067]: “the inner ring of the first bearing 20 and the inner ring of the second bearing 40 are respectively fixed to the rotating shaft 10 by adhesive”), and the first outer ring, the second outer ring and the pre-tightening member are all abutted ([0049]: “One end of the outer spacer sleeve 30 abuts against the outer ring of the first bearing 20…The other end of the outer spacer sleeve 30 abuts against the outer ring of the second bearing 40”).
Regarding Claim 7, which depends from rejected Claim 6, Wang further teaches:
The scanning drive motor according to claim 6, wherein the first inner ring, the second inner ring and the rotating shaft are all connected by an interference fit ([0033]: “the rotation shaft 21 may be connected to the inner ring 31 of the first bearing 30 by an interference fit”; [0041]: “The rotation shaft 21 may be combined with the inner ring 81 of the second bearing 80 by an interference fit").
Wang does not teach, whereas Guo further teaches:
and at least one of the first outer ring and the second outer ring is connected to the first inner wall surface via an adhesive ([0037]: “the outer ring of the first bearing and the outer ring of the second bearing are respectively adhered and fixed on the inner wall of the blowing passage”).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Guo as applied to Claim 3 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (US20220171033A1).
Regarding Claim 9, which depends from rejected Claim 3, Guo further teaches:
A pre-tightening method for the integrated bearing structure ([0027]: “the present invention also provides a method for preloading and assembling a bearing”) in the scanning drive motor according to claim 3, comprising:
sleeving the first bearing on the rotating shaft, and connecting the first inner ring of the first bearing to the rotating shaft ([0028]: “the first bearing is sleeved on the rotating shaft from one end of the rotating shaft, and then the inner ring of the first bearing is adhered and fixed on the rotating shaft”);
sleeving the pre-tightening member on the rotating shaft, and abutting the pre-tightening member against the first outer ring of the first bearing ([0029]: “the outer separating sleeve is sleeved on the rotating shaft from one end of the rotating shaft, and one end of the outer separating sleeve is propped against the outer ring of the first bearing”);
sleeving the second bearing on the rotating shaft and on a side of the pre-tightening member deviating from the first bearing, abutting the second outer ring of the second bearing against the pre-tightening member, and arranging an adhesive between the second inner ring of the second bearing and the rotating shaft, wherein the adhesive is not cured ([0030]: “the second bearing is sleeved on the rotating shaft from one end of the rotating shaft, and the second bearing moves towards the direction close to the first bearing, the outer ring of the second bearing is propped against the other end of the outer separating sleeve”; [0031]: “the inner ring of the second bearing is adhered and fixed on the rotating shaft”).
Guo does not teach, whereas Wu teaches:
applying a force to the first inner ring and the second inner ring, so that the first inner ring and the second inner ring are close to each other, and when the adhesive is cured, pre-tightening of the first bearing and the second bearing in the integrated bearing structure can be implemented ([0081]: “an applied preload PL is applied to one stator coupling 1779, the force is transmitted to the other bearing 1750 (via the shaft sleeve 1758) to keep the bearings in position along the shaft 1760…The shaft sleeve 1758 can engage the bearing inner races, causing the inner and outer races to be biased in opposite directions…The outer surface of the shaft 1760, and the inner surfaces of the bearings 1750, can be coated with an adhesive which is dried or cured before the preload PL is released”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotating motor as taught by Wang and the bearing pre-tightening assembly as taught by Guo together to have a pre-tightening method to apply an initial force to position the bearings and then allow for the adhesive to cure as taught by Wu with a predictable level of success. These elements are known in the art for constructing bearing systems and their incorporation would have the predictable result of optimally assembling the bearings in the right position and securing them in an efficient manner to ensure smooth rotational movement.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, Guo, and Wu as applied to Claim 9 above, and further in view of Pittroff (US4476614A).
Regarding Claim 10, which depends from rejected Claim 9, Wang, Guo, and Wu teach:
The pre-tightening method according to claim 9.
Wang, Guo, and Wu do not teach, whereas Pittroff teaches:
The pre-tightening method according to claim 9, wherein the applying a force to the first inner ring and the second inner ring, so that the first inner ring and the second inner ring are close to each other comprises:
arranging a first jig (FIG. 1: housing part 1) and a first weight at two ends deviating from each other of the first bearing and the second bearing respectively (Col. 4, Lines 7-12: “A first mounting sleeve (not shown) enclosing the shaft 8 loosely is then positioned on the locating ring 13 whereby the mounting sleeve acts fully upon the locating ring 13 by its dead weight and possibly by additional weights placed on it”);
making a first abutting surface of the first jig abut against the first inner ring of the first bearing (Col. 3, Lines 13-15: “The shaft 8 and the rolling bearing 6 mounted on it form a unit which, during mounting of the bearing arrangement is pushed into the housing part 1”; FIG. 1);
making a second abutting surface of the first weight abut against the second inner ring of the second bearing (Col. 4, Lines 7-13: “A first mounting sleeve (not shown) enclosing the shaft 8 loosely is then positioned on the locating ring 13 whereby the mounting sleeve acts fully upon the locating ring 13 by its dead weight and possibly by additional weights placed on it, thereby pushing the ring 13 into intimate contact with the inner ring 11”); and
arranging the rotating shaft at two ends of the first jig and a second limit hole of the first weight (FIG. 1)
wherein the first limit hole and the second limit hole extend along a vertical direction a central axis of the first abutting surface of the first jig is perpendicular to a central axis of the first limit hole, and a central axis of the second abutting surface of the first weight is perpendicular to a central axis of the second limit hole (Col. 3, Lines 41-42: “The bearing housing is closed at both ends by seals 15 and 16”; FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotating motor as taught by Wang, the bearing pre-tightening assembly method as taught by Guo, and together with the bearing placement and adhering method as taught by Wu to also have a housing jig structure and a weighted load to assist in tightening as taught by Pittroff with a predictable level of success. These elements are known in the art for constructing bearing systems and their incorporation would have the predictable result of optimally assembling the bearings in the right position and securing them in an efficient manner to ensure smooth rotational movement.
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Wang et al. (US20210311173A1; hereafter referred to as WangA).
Regarding Claim 8, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Wang teaches:
The scanning drive motor according to claim 1.
Wang does not teach, whereas WangA teaches:
The scanning drive motor according to claim 1, further comprising:
a code disc, connected to one of the mover assembly and the stator assembly ([0065]: “the detector 45 includes a code disc 451 and at least one optical switch 452. The code disc 451 may be disposed at one end of the connecting ring 412 close to the scanning module 30, and the code disc 451 may follow the scanning module 30 to rotate around the rotation axis”), the code disc comprising a plurality of detection portions, the plurality of detection portions being arranged at circumferential intervals around the rotating shaft ([0066]: “a plurality of light-transmissive areas 4511 and plurality of non-light-transmissive areas 4512 are alternately distributed along the same circumference of the code disc 451”); and
a photoelectric switch, connected to the other of the mover assembly and the stator assembly ([0065]: “The at least one optical switch 452 may be disposed on the scanning mounting base”), wherein the plurality of detection portions of the code disc pass the photoelectric switch in turn when the mover rotates relative to the stator around the central axis of the rotating shaft ([0068]: “when the light-transmissive areas 4511 and the non-light-transmissive areas 4512 of the code disc 451 are rotated to the positioned aligned with the optical switch 452, the optical switch 452 may output signals of different levels”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotating motor assembly as taught by Wang with the code disc and photoelectric switch as taught by Wang2 with a predictable level of success. These elements are known in the art for rotary LIDAR systems and their incorporation would have the predictable result of enabling the rotary system to transmit and receive a light signal while measuring the degree of rotation of the motor assembly.
Regarding Claim 11, Wang teaches:
A Light Detection and Ranging system (LiDAR), comprising:
an integrated bearing structure, comprising a first bearing ([0017]: “Refer to FIG. 3 to FIG. 5, the motor 100 includes a base 10, a rotor assembly 20, a first bearing 30”), a second bearing ([0040]: “Refer again to FIG. 3 to FIG. 5, in some embodiments, the motor 100 further includes the second bearing 80”) and a rotating shaft ([0021]: “The rotor assembly 20 includes a rotation shaft 21 and a rotor housing 22”), the first bearing comprising a first inner ring and a first outer ring ([0022]: “An outer ring 32 of the first bearing 30 may contact the inner surface of the shaft hole 12”), the second bearing comprising a second inner ring and a second outer ring ([0040]: “The outer ring 82 of the second bearing 80 abuts against the support 13”), the first bearing and the second bearing being sleeved on the rotating shaft, the first inner ring and the second inner ring being connected to the rotating shaft ([0022]: “An inner ring 31 of the first bearing 30 may be fixedly connected to the rotation shaft 21”; [0040]: “The inner ring 81 of the second bearing 80 is sleeved at the rotation shaft 21 and is fixedly connected to the rotation shaft 21”);
a mover assembly, comprising a mover; ([0017]: “Refer to FIG. 3 to FIG. 5, the motor 100 includes a base 10, a rotor assembly 20, a first bearing 30”)
a stator assembly, comprising a stator ([0003]: “The rotor and a stator of the motor are rotatably connected through a bearing”) and a stator base ([0018]: “The base 10 includes a body 11, a support 13, and a support plate 14”), the stator being connected to the stator base, the stator base being formed with a bearing chamber ([0018]: ”The base 10 includes a shaft hole 12. The shaft hole 12 passes through the body 11”), the first bearing, the second bearing and at least a part of the rotating shaft being located in the bearing chamber ([0022]: “the first bearing 30 may be completely located in the shaft hole 12”; [0051]: “The second bearing 80 may be mounted in the shaft hole 12”; FIG. 4), one of the first outer ring and the second outer ring being connected to the stator base ([0029]: “the outer ring 32 of the first bearing 30 may maintain still relative to the base 10”), the rotating shaft being connected to the mover assembly ([0021]: “The rotor assembly 20 includes a rotation shaft 21 and a rotor housing 22”; [0024]: “The rotor housing 22 may be fixedly connected to the rotation shaft 21”), and the mover being capable of rotating relative to the stator around a central axis of the rotating shaft ([0021]: “the rotor assembly 20 is mounted at the base 10. In some embodiments, the rotor assembly 20 may be rotatably connected to the base 10 through the first bearing 30. The rotor assembly 20 may rotate relative to the base 10”).
Wang does not teach, whereas WangA teaches:
a laser transceiving assembly, connected to the mover assembly ([0022]: “The present disclosure provides a laser measuring device 100. The laser measuring device 100 includes a light transceiving module 20, a scanning module 30, and a reflection module 40”; [0045]: “The scanning module 30 may include a transmissive optical element 31 and a scanning driver 32. The scanning driver 32 may include a scanning rotor assembly 321, a scanning state assembly 322, and a scanning bearing 323”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang et al. (CN219997290U) teaches many of the same elements of this scanning motor structure and has an earlier filing date (03/23/2023) in China, but is not considered valid prior art under 102(a)(2).
/K.C.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645