DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the original application filed on August 02, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bathia (US Pub. No. 2019/0325522).
As per claim 1 Bathia discloses:
A system, comprising: an attachment mechanism configured to attach the system to a portable traffic marker; an electrical power source configured to provide power to the system; a communications device; a processor; and a memory storing: (paragraph 19 of Bathia, the blockchain-based platform includes an electronic ledger (i.e., a distributed ledger) that tracks a plurality of events associated with the asset. The asset preferably constitutes shareable asset. In addition, one or more IoT (Internet of Things) devices can be utilized to monitor the identity of the asset. In some example embodiments, such an IoT device may be, for example, an ALPR (Automated License Plate Recognition) sensor and/or a digital camera with image recognition features) and (paragraph 96 of Bathia, IoT sensors (e.g., ALPR sensors/cameras or other types of sensors/cameras) can be installed at traffic signals, which can detect traffic violations. If a citizen is found to be violating the traffic signals as shown at step (1) in FIG. 8, IoT sensor (s) 65 can capture the license plate information of the violated vehicle and can forward this information to the blockchain network 51 in real time as indicated at step (2) in FIG. 8).
A blockchain node module including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations of a node in a blockchain; (paragraph 44 of Bathia, blockchain is an electronic replicated ledger in which transactions are recorded. A blockchain database can be implemented by software. Such software can be referred to as blockchain software that is executed by each computer client (e.g., referred to as a node or a miner). Each computer client can participate in the particular overall system for which the data stored in the blockchain is being used).
A communications module including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to communicate, via the communications device, with another node in the blockchain. (Paragraph 45 of Bathia, each of the replicated blockchains can also communicate over the internal network that is part of an enterprise/organization and/or over the Internet. The term Internet as used herein refers generally to a public network, which may not be the case all the times. It will be appreciated that the term network, in addition to referring to the communications medium by which replicated blockchains communicate, may also be used to refer to the collection of blockchain clients which are implementing a particular system using a blockchain database for data storage and other functions, which may also be referred to as a blockchain network).
As per claim 3 Bathia discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the electrical power source comprises at least one of a battery, a fuel cell, a capacitor, a supercapacitor, or a solar panel. (Paragraph 96 of Bathia, IoT sensors (e.g., ALPR sensors/cameras or other types of sensors/cameras) can be installed at traffic signals, which can detect traffic violations. If a citizen is found to be violating the traffic signals as shown at step (1) in FIG. 8, IoT sensor (s) 65 can capture the license plate information of the violated vehicle and can forward this information to the blockchain network 51 in real time as indicated at step (2) in FIG. 8).
As per claim 4 Bathia discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein: the blockchain is a permissioned blockchain, the electrical power source is configured to store an amount of energy, and a count of nodes included in the permissioned blockchain is a function of the amount of energy. (Paragraph 66 of Bathia, blockchain is the only platform, which facilitates controllable read and write permissions to stakeholders across organizations. Blockchain also has the capability to automate cross-organizational/multi-stakeholder actions on fulfillment of certain conditions).
As per claim 5 Bathia discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the other node in the blockchain is a vehicle configured to operate as the other node in the blockchain. (Paragraph 20 of Bathia, a blockchain-based ledger can be utilized to track and manage the arrival and departure of, for example, a specific vehicle in a parking spot asset and arranging the transfer of money from the consumer to the provider (i.e., payment for a parking spot). The identity of the vehicle can be monitored through ALPR detection systems and devices).
As per claim 6 Bathia discloses:
The system of claim 1, further comprising a sensor. (Paragraph 96 of Bathia, IoT sensors (e.g., ALPR sensors/cameras or other types of sensors/cameras) can be installed at traffic signals, which can detect traffic violations. If a citizen is found to be violating the traffic signals as shown at step (1) in FIG. 8, IoT sensor (s) 65 can capture the license plate information of the violated vehicle and can forward this information to the blockchain network 51 in real time as indicated at step (2) in FIG. 8).
As per claim 7 Bathia discloses:
The system of claim 6, wherein the sensor comprises at least one of an imaging sensor, a ranging sensor, or a microphone. (Paragraph 19 of Bathia, such an IoT device may be, for example, an ALPR (Automated License Plate Recognition) sensor and/or a digital camera with image recognition features).
As per claim 8 Bathia discloses:
The system of claim 6, wherein the memory further stores a record production module including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to produce a record of a situation detected by the sensor. (Paragraph 96 of Bathia, IoT sensors (e.g., ALPR sensors/cameras or other types of sensors/cameras) can be installed at traffic signals, which can detect traffic violations. If a citizen is found to be violating the traffic signals as shown at step (1) in FIG. 8, IoT sensor(s) 65 can capture the license plate information of the violated vehicle and can forward this information to the blockchain network 51 in real time as indicated at step (2) in FIG. 8) and (paragraph 44 of Bathia, the data stored in a blockchain is typically coalesced, collected, or grouped together, such as on a quantitative and/or periodic basis, into blocks where each block is coupled or linked, such as in a cryptographic manner, with a prior block forming a chain of blocks which may continue to grow as new data is added).
As per claim 9 Bathia discloses:
The system of claim 8, wherein the instructions to produce the record of the situation include instructions to produce, in response to a receipt of an indication of a likelihood of an existence of the situation, the record of the situation. (Paragraph 96 of Bathia, IoT sensors (e.g., ALPR sensors/cameras or other types of sensors/cameras) can be installed at traffic signals, which can detect traffic violations. If a citizen is found to be violating the traffic signals as shown at step (1) in FIG. 8, IoT sensor (s) 65 can capture the license plate information of the violated vehicle and can forward this information to the blockchain network 51 in real time as indicated at step (2) in FIG. 8).
As per claim 10 Bathia discloses:
The system of claim 8, wherein: the instructions to perform the operations of the node in the blockchain include instructions to produce a prospective block of the blockchain, the prospective block including: the record of the situation, a hash of a previous block of the blockchain, and a nonce; and the instructions to communicate with the other node in the blockchain include instructions to transmit, to the other node, the prospective block. (Paragraph 45 of Bathia, each of the replicated blockchains can also communicate over the internal network that is part of an enterprise/organization and/or over the Internet. The term Internet as used herein refers generally to a public network, which may not be the case all the times. It will be appreciated that the term network, in addition to referring to the communications medium by which replicated blockchains communicate, may also be used to refer to the collection of blockchain clients which are implementing a particular system using a blockchain database for data storage and other functions, which may also be referred to as a blockchain network) and (paragraph 43 of Bathia, each block typically contains a cryptographic hash of the previous block, a timestamp, and transaction data. By design a blockchain is inherently resistant to modification of the data. It is an open distributed ledger that can record transactions between two parties efficiently and in a verifiable and permanent manner).
As per claim 11 Bathia discloses:
The system of claim 10, wherein: the electrical power source of the system is configured to store a first amount of energy, the other node is configured to receive, as power for the other node, at least a second amount of energy, and the second amount of energy is greater than the first amount of energy. (paragraph 96 of Bathia, IoT sensors (e.g., ALPR sensors/cameras or other types of sensors/cameras) can be installed at traffic signals, which can detect traffic violations. If a citizen is found to be violating the traffic signals as shown at step (1) in FIG. 8, IoT sensor (s) 65 can capture the license plate information of the violated vehicle and can forward this information to the blockchain network 51 in real time as indicated at step (2) in FIG. 8).
As per claim 12 Bathia discloses:
The system of claim 8, wherein: the instructions to communicate with the other node in the blockchain include instructions to receive, from the other node, a prospective block of the blockchain, the prospective block including: another record of the situation, a hash of a previous block of the blockchain, and a nonce; and the instructions to perform the operations of the node in the blockchain include instructions to perform a verification operation of the prospective block. (Paragraph 45 of Bathia, each of the replicated blockchains can also communicate over the internal network that is part of an enterprise/organization and/or over the Internet. The term Internet as used herein refers generally to a public network, which may not be the case all the times. It will be appreciated that the term network, in addition to referring to the communications medium by which replicated blockchains communicate, may also be used to refer to the collection of blockchain clients which are implementing a particular system using a blockchain database for data storage and other functions, which may also be referred to as a blockchain network) and (paragraph 43 of Bathia, each block typically contains a cryptographic hash of the previous block, a timestamp, and transaction data. By design a blockchain is inherently resistant to modification of the data. It is an open distributed ledger that can record transactions between two parties efficiently and in a verifiable and permanent manner).
As per claim 13 Bathia discloses:
The system of claim 12, wherein: the instructions to communicate with the other node in the blockchain further include instructions to transmit, to the other node, a result of the verification operation; and the instructions to perform the operations of the node in the blockchain further include: instructions to perform the operations of a validator node in the blockchain, instructions to participate, with other validator nodes of the blockchain, in a consensus operation of the blockchain, and instructions to cause, in response to a result of the consensus operation being that the prospective block is valid, the prospective block to be added to a copy of the blockchain maintained by the node. (Paragraph 45 of Bathia, each of the replicated blockchains can also communicate over the internal network that is part of an enterprise/organization and/or over the Internet. The term Internet as used herein refers generally to a public network, which may not be the case all the times. It will be appreciated that the term network, in addition to referring to the communications medium by which replicated blockchains communicate, may also be used to refer to the collection of blockchain clients which are implementing a particular system using a blockchain database for data storage and other functions, which may also be referred to as a blockchain network) and (paragraph 43 of Bathia, each block typically contains a cryptographic hash of the previous block, a timestamp, and transaction data. By design a blockchain is inherently resistant to modification of the data. It is an open distributed ledger that can record transactions between two parties efficiently and in a verifiable and permanent manner).
As per claim 14 Bathia discloses:
The system of claim 12, wherein the memory further stores a sensor verification module including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: compare the record of the situation and the other record of the situation; and determine, in response to a result of a comparison of the record of the situation and the other record of the situation, a problem associated with the sensor. (Paragraph 85 of Bathia, on receipt of the information, the provider-consumer smart contract 80 can be triggered, which checks whether the received data matches with the existing license plate number information. If the condition is satisfied, no action is taken. This means that the citizen can continue to use the parking space).
As per claim 15 Bathia discloses:
The system of claim 8, wherein the situation comprises a change with respect to an object in a vicinity of the sensor. (Paragraph 86 of Bathia, on a successful confirmation about the transfer to its respective recipients, the status of the transaction is changed to complete on the provider-consumer and provider-enforcing agency contracts).
As per claim 16 Bathia discloses:
The system of claim 15, wherein the communications module further includes instructions to communicate information about the change to another entity. (Paragraph 45 of Bathia, each of the replicated blockchains can also communicate over the internal network that is part of an enterprise/organization and/or over the Internet. The term Internet as used herein refers generally to a public network, which may not be the case all the times. It will be appreciated that the term network, in addition to referring to the communications medium by which replicated blockchains communicate, may also be used to refer to the collection of blockchain clients which are implementing a particular system using a blockchain database for data storage and other functions, which may also be referred to as a blockchain network).
As per claim 18 Bathia discloses:
The system of claim 8, wherein the memory further stores a smart contract operation module including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to operate, in response to a production of the record of the situation, a smart contract associated with the situation. (Paragraph 66 of Bathia, blockchain also has the capability to automate cross-organizational/multi-stakeholder actions on fulfillment of certain conditions. This can be achieved through the use of “smart” contracts, which control data visibility and allow only the relevant stakeholders to access data. Such smart contracts provide rules for monitoring parameters of importance and then taking necessary actions. Smart contracts are the only way to access and modify the data stored on the blockchain network. All data accessed via smart contracts is immutably stored on the blockchain network in the form of transactions).
As per claim 19 Bathia discloses:
A blockchain, comprising: a first portable traffic marker having a first electrical power source, a first communications device, a first processor, and a first memory, and configured to perform operations of a first node in the blockchain; and a second portable traffic marker having a second electrical power source, a second communications device, a second processor, and a second memory, and configured to perform operations of a second node in the blockchain. (Paragraph 19 of Bathia, the blockchain-based platform includes an electronic ledger (i.e., a distributed ledger) that tracks a plurality of events associated with the asset. The asset preferably constitutes shareable asset. In addition, one or more IoT (Internet of Things) devices can be utilized to monitor the identity of the asset. In some example embodiments, such an IoT device may be, for example, an ALPR (Automated License Plate Recognition) sensor and/or a digital camera with image recognition features) and (paragraph 96 of Bathia, IoT sensors (e.g., ALPR sensors/cameras or other types of sensors/cameras) can be installed at traffic signals, which can detect traffic violations. If a citizen is found to be violating the traffic signals as shown at step (1) in FIG. 8, IoT sensor (s) 65 can capture the license plate information of the violated vehicle and can forward this information to the blockchain network 51 in real time as indicated at step (2) in FIG. 8).
As per claim 20 Bathia discloses:
A blockchain, comprising: a portable traffic marker having a first electrical power source, a first communications device, a first processor, and a first memory, and configured to perform operations of a first node in the blockchain; and a vehicle having a second electrical power source, a second communications device, a second processor, and a second memory, and configured to perform operations of a second node in the blockchain. (paragraph 19 of Bathia, the blockchain-based platform includes an electronic ledger (i.e., a distributed ledger) that tracks a plurality of events associated with the asset. The asset preferably constitutes shareable asset. In addition, one or more IoT (Internet of Things) devices can be utilized to monitor the identity of the asset. In some example embodiments, such an IoT device may be, for example, an ALPR (Automated License Plate Recognition) sensor and/or a digital camera with image recognition features) and (paragraph 96 of Bathia, IoT sensors (e.g., ALPR sensors/cameras or other types of sensors/cameras) can be installed at traffic signals, which can detect traffic violations. If a citizen is found to be violating the traffic signals as shown at step (1) in FIG. 8, IoT sensor (s) 65 can capture the license plate information of the violated vehicle and can forward this information to the blockchain network 51 in real time as indicated at step (2) in FIG. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bathia (US Pub. No. 2019/0325522) in view of Pepe (US Pub. No. 2019/0375373).
As per claim 2:
Bathia teaches the method of managing urban assets such us parking spaces and traffic violation with a lager data structure (see abstract of Bathia) but fails to disclose:
The system of claim 1, wherein the portable traffic marker comprises at least one of a traffic cone, a construction barrel, a traffic barricade, a waffle-board barricade, a parade barricade, a Jersey barrier, a delineator, or a vertical traffic panel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pepe teaches this limitation as, (paragraph 64 of Pepe, a first networked device 1200 (in a vehicle 1202) that interacts with one or more second networked devices 1204a-c (which, in this example, are in barriers controlling vehicular traffic). A communication from the first networked device 1200 in the vehicle 1202 is received by a second networked device 1204c in a barrier system and the second networked device 1204c looks to blockchain transactions in blockchain 1206 to determine if there is a smart contract between the first and second networked devices and if so, whether the level of access provided to the vehicle 1202 allows it to pass. If a blockchain transaction indicates that the networked device has the appropriate level of access, then the barrier is raised).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Bathia to include the above limitation using the teaching of Pepe in order to securely document and store vehicle information using a blockchain (see paragraph 2 of Pepe).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bathia (US Pub. No. 2019/0325522) in view of Catalano (US Pub. No 2019/0303463).
As per claim 17:
Bathia teaches the method of managing urban assets such us parking spaces and traffic violation with a lager data structure (see abstract of Bathia) but fails to disclose:
The system of claim 8, wherein the situation comprises a collision in a vicinity of the sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pepe teaches this limitation as, (Paragraph 48 of Catalano, the vehicle or vehicles 410 include various sensors 120 that provide data outputs to a server (a node in the blockchain network 420). In one embodiment, the server 415 is the node 104 that receives data from vehicles 410 and other sources 411. In another embodiment, a node 104 different from the server 415 receives data from vehicles 410 and other sources 411 and responsively provides the received data to the server 415. The sensors 120 are additionally able to detect the occurrence of an accident or incident, and either implicitly provide that as part of providing primary data 431 to the server 415, or as an additional data component of primary data 431. Primary data 431 may also include supplementary data such as a video output of a personal video recorder (e.g. dashcam) in a vehicle 410).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Bathia to include the above limitation using the teaching of Catalano in order to securely document and report vehicle information during an accident using a blockchain (see paragraph 47 of Catalano).
Conclusion
The prior art made or record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure is Bansal (US Pub. No. 2020/0380091) and Soundararajan (US Pub. 2020/0389294).
Bansal’s reference discloses:
A method for protecting and sharing a data file using a block chain network, and an apparatus therefor are provided. The method includes encoding, at an electronic device in a blockchain network, at least one portion of data to be transmitted to another electronic device, generating a packet based on the data including the encoded at least one portion, and transmitting the packet from the electronic device to the other electronic device, wherein a transaction block recorded on the blockchain network is updated based on a transaction information regarding the transmission of the packet. The transaction information includes forward-lock information for indicating whether the at least one portion of the data is forward-locked.
Soundararajan’s reference discloses:
In some examples, an electronic device includes a non-transitory storage medium storing blockchain information, a processor to compute a secure representation of the blockchain information based on applying a cryptographic function to the blockchain information, and a transmitter to transmit a beacon comprising the secure representation of the blockchain information.
/TESHOME HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434