Response to Amendment
This is an office action in response to communications filed on July 6, 2026. Applicant amended claims 1-2 and 4-20, cancelled claim 3, and added claim 21. Examiner withdraws all objections. Examiner acknowledges the certified copies of the foreign priority documents that were electronically retrieved by the USPTO on September 17, 2024. Claims 1-2 and 4-21 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2 and 4-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Does the claimed invention fall inside one of the four statutory categories (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter)? Yes for claims 1-2 and 4-21. Claims 1-2, 4-10, and 21 are drawn to a method for tracking and measuring body flexibility and balance of a user during physical activity (i.e., a process). Claims 11-18 are drawn to a system for tracking and measuring body flexibility and balance of a user during physical activity (i.e., a manufacture). Claims 19-20 are drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable storage media for tracking and measuring body flexibility and balance of a user during physical activity (i.e., a manufacture).
Step 2A - Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon)? Yes, for claims 1-2 and 4-21.
MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II) discusses certain methods of organizing human activity.
The Supreme Court has identified a number of concepts falling within the “certain
methods of organizing human activity” grouping as abstract ideas. Sub-groupings of
organizing human activity encompass both activity of a single person and activity that
involves multiple people, and thus, certain activity between a person. These sub-groupings fall within the “certain methods of organizing human activity”.
Claim 1 recites:
A method … for tracking and measuring body flexibility and balance of a user during physical activity, the method comprising: (Organizing human activity: managing personal behavior)
…
Claim 8 recites:
tracking the posture attained by the user while performing the selected yoga asana and guiding the user to change and attain the next body posture correctly in sequence; (Organizing human activity: managing personal behavior)
and providing real-time guidance to the user through audio to perform the posture accurately by analyzing and comparing the tilt angles computed for the user with … data of a yoga expert. (Organizing human activity: managing personal behavior)
Claim 11 recites:
… tracking … flexibility and balance of a user during a physical activity, … enable the user to select … a yoga asana as the physical activity; (Organizing human activity: managing personal behavior)
Claim 15 recites:
… guide the user to maintain the posture for a time duration based on a personalized proficiency level of the user, wherein guidance is provided …, wherein the guidance includes at least one of audio cues …,and/or vibrations …, …; (Organizing human activity: managing personal behavior)
track the posture attained by the user while performing the selected yoga asana and guide the user to change and attain the next posture correctly in sequence; (Organizing human activity: managing personal behavior)
Claim 20 recites:
… the tracking includes guiding and correcting the user in real-time to ensure accurate performance of the yoga asana. (Organizing human activity: managing personal behavior)
MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) discusses mental processes. The courts consider a mental process (thinking) that “can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper” to be an abstract idea. CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011). As the Federal Circuit explained, “methods which can be performed mentally, or which are the equivalent of human mental work, are unpatentable abstract ideas the ‘basic tools of scientific and technological work’ that are open to all.’” 654 F.3d at 1371, 99 USPQ2d at 1694 (citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972)). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 (2012) ("‘[M]ental processes[] and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work’" (quoting Benson, 409 U.S. at 67, 175 USPQ at 675)); Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 589, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978) (same). Accordingly, the “mental processes” abstract idea grouping is defined as concepts performed in the human mind, and examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions.
Claim 1 recites:
…
receiving … a user input selecting a yoga asana; (Mental Process: data collection)
obtaining … data … for tracking and determining body posture; (Mental Process: data collection) (Mental Process: data collection)
determining a current body posture of the user and a next body posture of the selected yoga asana (Mental Process: evaluation)
analyzing the … data to determine a plurality of parameters including information related to body posture and physical metrics including balance and flexibility; (Mental Process: evaluation)
identifying a transition of a level of flexibility and balance from a beginner level to an expert level based on performance of the user in the selected yoga asana (Mental Process: evaluation)
… a balance score, a flexibility score, and transition over time based on a result of the analyzing. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 2 recites:
wherein the physical activity includes the selected yoga asana and the tracking includes guiding and correcting the user in real-time to ensure accurate performance of the yoga asana. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 4 recites:
The method of claim 1, wherein the analyzing of the … data is performed for determining the plurality of parameters in steps, and wherein the steps which comprise: computing a plurality of tilt angles using the … data obtained from each of the plurality of wearable devices; (Mental Process: evaluation)
combining the computed plurality of tilt angles and mapping the combined tilt angle with a tilt angle range of predefined poses of the selected yoga asana … for determining the current body posture of the user; (Mental Process: evaluation)
determining the next body posture of the selected yoga asana by matching the determined current body posture with a sequence of predefined postures …; (Mental Process: evaluation)
analyzing the sensor data for calculating the flexibility score and the balance score of the current body posture and determining a level of flexibility and a level of balance of body of the user; (Mental Process: evaluation)
and identifying a transition of the level of flexibility and balance from a beginner level to an expert level based on performance of the user in the selected yoga asana. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 5 recites:
The method of claim 4, wherein the flexibility score and the balance score are … for future reference and guidance to the user. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 6 recites:
The method of claim 4, wherein the flexibility score indicates degree of posture achieved by the user for the selected yoga asana, and wherein the level of flexibility includes the beginner level, an intermediate level, and the expert level. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 7 recites:
The method of claim 4, wherein the balance score is calculated by determining variations in the sensor data, wherein the level of balance includes the beginner level, an intermediate level, and the expert level, and wherein high variations in the sensor data indicate user instability. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 8 recites:
The method of claim 4, wherein the transition of the level of flexibility and balance from the beginner level to the expert level is identified … by performing operations comprising: recording duration of holding a posture of the selected yoga asana and guiding the user to maintain the posture for a time duration based on a personalized proficiency level of the user, wherein guidance is provided…, … wherein the guidance includes at least one of audio cues …, vibrations …,and or vibrations …; (Mental Process: evaluation)
…
Claim 9 recites:
The method of claim 8, wherein the time duration guided to the user is calculated based on a standard holding time of the posture for a yoga expert, previous time durations of holding the posture for the user, and a current proficiency level of the user. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 10 recites:
The method of claim 8, wherein an alarm is triggered in case the user attains a wrong posture. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 11 recites:
… measuring flexibility and balance of a user during a physical activity, …; (Mental Process: evaluation)
… obtain … data from … and compute a plurality of tilt angles, wherein the … data … includes a plurality of motion … data …; (Mental Process: evaluation)
determine the current body posture of the user and a next body posture of the selected yoga asana based on the … data; (Mental Process: evaluation)
analyze the … data and calculate a flexibility score and a balance score of the current body posture and determine a level of flexibility and a level of balance of the a body of the user; (Mental Process: evaluation)
and identify a transition of the level of flexibility and balance from beginner level to expert level based on the performance of the user in the selected yoga asana. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 13 recites:
combine the computed plurality of tilt angles and map the combined tilt angle with a tilt angle range of predefined poses of the selected yoga asana … for determining the current body posture; (Mental Process: evaluation)
and determine a next body posture of the selected yoga asana by matching the determined current body posture with a sequence of predefined postures (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 14 recites:
… analyze the sensor data obtained from the plurality of wearable devices to calculate the flexibility score of the current body posture, wherein the flexibility score indicates a degree of posture achieved by the user for the selected yoga asana and is used for determining the level of flexibility, wherein the level of flexibility which includes a beginner level, an intermediate level, and an expert level; (Mental Process: evaluation)
and analyze the … data obtained … to calculate the balance score of the current body posture, wherein the balance score is calculated by determining variations in the sensor data and the level of balance includes the beginner level, the intermediate level, and the expert level. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 15 recites:
record a duration of holding the posture of the selected yoga asana …; (Mental Process: data collection)
…
and analyze and compare the plurality of tilt angles computed for the user with … data of a yoga expert. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 16 recites:
… the flexibility score and the balance score … for future reference and guidance to the user. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 17 recites:
wherein the balance score is one of a beginner score, an intermediate score, and or an expert score, and wherein the balance score is determined based on variations in the … data. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 18 recites:
… generate a tilt angle based on … data (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 19 recites:
receiving … a user input selecting a yoga asana; (Mental Process: evaluation)
obtaining, during a physical activity of a user performing the selected yoga asana, … data … tracking and determining body posture, wherein the … data includes a plurality of motion … data …; (Mental Process: evaluation)
determining a current body posture of the user and a next body posture of the selected yoga asana based on the … data; (Mental Process: evaluation)
analyzing the … data to determine a plurality of parameters including information related to the body posture and physical metrics including balance and flexibility; (Mental Process: evaluation)
and identifying a transition of a level of flexibility and balance from a beginner level to an expert level based on performance of the user in the selected yoga asana;
… a balance score, a flexibility score, and transition over time based on a result of the analyzing. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 20 recites:
wherein the physical activity includes yoga asana … (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 21 recites:
The method of claim 1, wherein the determining the current body posture of the user and the next body posture of the selected yoga asana based on the … data comprises: computing a plurality of tilt angles using the … data …; (Mental Process: evaluation)
combining the computed plurality of tilt angles and mapping the combined tilt angle with a tilt angle range of predefined poses of the selected yoga asana … for determining the current body posture of the user. (Mental Process: evaluation)
But for the generic recitation of performed by an electronic device, through a user interface of the electronic device, sensor, from a plurality of wearable devices, wherein the sensor data includes a plurality of motion sensor data obtained from the plurality of wearable devices, wherein the plurality of wearable devices include a smart watch and earbuds, and displaying, from a database, through at least one of the plurality of wearable devices, from the earbuds, from the smart watch, an electronic device, the electronic device comprising: memory storing one or more computer programs; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory, wherein the one or more computer programs include instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: a … input unit configured, a sensor processing unit configured, the plurality of wearable devices include a smart watch and earbuds, wherein the one or more computer programs further include instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: display … to the user through at least one of a first display of a first wearable device among the plurality of wearable devices or a second display of an the electronic device, and wherein the electronic device includes a mobile phone, a plurality of … calculators, one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device, and cause the electronic device to perform operations, the identified steps are practically capable of being performed by human analog, including mental processes and certain methods of organizing human activity. These identified steps amount to a form of mental process and organizing human activity (i.e., an abstract idea) because humans can track and measure body flexibility and balance of a user during a physical activity, obtain user input selecting a yoga asana, determine body posture, analyze data to determine information related to body posture, etc.
Dependent claims 2, 4-10, 12-18, and 20-21 are directed towards steps (guiding and correcting the user in real-time, capturing user data, analyzing user data, etc.) for a method that tracks and measures body flexibility and balance of a user during physical activity. Each claim amounts to a form of collecting, generating, and analyzing information, and therefore falls within the scope of a method for organizing human activity, (i.e., an abstract idea). As such, the Examiner concludes that claims 1-2 and 4-21 recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A – Prong Two: Do the claims recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception? No
Examiner interprets the following limitations as additional elements.
performed by an electronic device
through a user interface of the electronic device
sensor
from a plurality of wearable devices
wherein the sensor data includes a plurality of motion sensor data obtained from the plurality of wearable devices, wherein the plurality of wearable devices include a smart watch and earbuds
and displaying
from a database
through at least one of the plurality of wearable devices
from the earbuds
from the smart watch
An electronic device for
the electronic device comprising: memory storing one or more computer programs; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory, wherein the one or more computer programs include instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: a … input unit configured to
a sensor processing unit configured to
the plurality of wearable devices include a smart watch and earbuds
wherein the one or more computer programs further include instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: display … to the user through at least one of a first display of a first wearable device among the plurality of wearable devices or a second display of an the electronic device, and wherein the electronic device includes a mobile phone.
a plurality of … calculators
One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform operations
In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “additional element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using an electronic device, a user interface, wearable devices, memory, computer programs, a database, a mobile phone, processors, and calculators is recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception (independent claims 1, 11, and 19 and dependent claims 2, 4-10, 12-18, and 20-21) and thus is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a computer and/or instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Use of an electronic device, a user interface, a sensor, wearable devices, a smart watch, earbuds, a database, memory, computer programs, processors, an input unit, a sensor processing unit, a mobile phone, calculators, and computer-readable storage media to perform operations in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the additional limitations beyond the abstract idea identified above, serve merely to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Specifically, they serve to limit the application of the abstract idea to a computerized environment (e.g., identifying and displaying, etc.) performed by a computing device, processor, and memory, etc. This reasoning was demonstrated in Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (Fed. Cir. 2015), where the court determined "an abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment, such as the Internet [or] a computer").
Dependent claims 2, 4-10, 12-18, and 20-21 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective dependent claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective independent claim (i.e., they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? i.e., Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea? No
In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This analysis is also termed a search for an “inventive concept.” An “inventive concept” is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 27-18, 110 USPQ2d at 1981 (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73, 101 USPQ2d at 1966).
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong Two”, the identified additional elements in independent claims 1, 11, and 19 and dependent claims 2, 4-10, 12-18, and 20-21 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer, and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Moreover, the specification of the instant application further demonstrates that the additional elements are recited for their well-understood, routine, and conventional functionality, which refers to elements of the computer device in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) (e.g., see [0068], “the electronic device may include a mobile phone, computer, laptop, notebook, and any other device which includes a processing module and a user interface”; [0052], “captured from wearable devices such as a smart watch and earbuds”; [0102], “analyzing the input … stored in the database for future reference and further guidance”; [0130], “Any such software may be stored in non-transitory computer readable storage media. The non-transitory computer readable storage media store one or more computer programs …, the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform a method of the disclosure”; [0131], “Any such software may be stored in … a storage device like read only memory …, random access memory …, … It will be appreciated that the storage devices and storage media are various embodiments of non-transitory machine-readable storage”). Thus, the additional elements defining the field of use as an environment that uses an electronic device to display balance and flexibility scores and transition over time amount to merely automating a manual process, which the courts have held to be insufficient in showing an improvement in computer functionality. See Credit Acceptance Corp. v. Westlake Services, 859 F.3d 1044, 1055, 123 USPQ2d 1100, 1108-09 (Fed. Cir. 2017); see also LendingTree, LLC v. Zillow, Inc., 656 Fed. App'x 991, 996-97 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (non-precedential).
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements are sufficient to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above. Therefore, claims 1-2, and 4-21 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-2 and 4-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable under US 20200390371 A1 (“Kim”) in view of US 20170368413 A1 (“Shavit”) and in further view of US 20180279919 A1 (“Bansbach”).
In regard to claim 1, Kim discloses
A method performed by an electronic device for ([0200], “the apparatus … may be implemented in a computer system”) tracking and measuring body flexibility and balance of a user during physical activity, the method comprising ([0111], “the physical fitness factor measurement unit … may measure physical fitness factors related to flexibility … and balance”): receiving, through a user interface of the electronic device, a user input selecting ([0200], “the computer system … may include … a user-interface input device”)
body posture ([0051], “the apparatus … for evaluating a physical activity ability … evaluates a posture”),
determining a current body posture of the user and a next body posture of based on ([0051], “the apparatus … for evaluating a physical activity ability … evaluates a posture”) the sensor data;
a balance score, a flexibility score, and transition over time based on a result of the analyzing ([0187], “the information measured ... is analyzed, whereby health-related physical fitness factors, such as ... flexibility, and the like, and performance-related physical fitness factors, such as ... balance... may be calculated” Examiner notes that calculations can be used to obtain a score.).
Kim does not disclose
a yoga asana
the selected yoga asana
obtaining sensor data from a plurality of wearable devices for tracking and determining
wherein the sensor data includes a plurality of motion sensor data obtained from the plurality of wearable devices, wherein the plurality of wearable devices include a smart watch and earbuds;
the sensor data;
analyzing the sensor data to determine a plurality of parameters including information related to the body posture and physical metrics including balance and flexibility;
identifying a transition of a level of flexibility and balance from a beginner level to an expert level based on performance of the user in the selected yoga asana;
and displaying
However, in an analogous art of training systems and techniques,
Shavit discloses
a yoga asana ([0142], “the … methods are applicable to … Yoga”)
the selected yoga asana ([0142], “the … methods are applicable to … Yoga”);
identifying a transition of a level of flexibility and balance from a beginner level to ([0450], “if the user is a beginner all exercises that require a higher experience level are removed”) an expert level based on performance of the user in the selected yoga asana ([0974], “The desired result ... is achieved by using a human expert”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, a yoga asana, the selected yoga asana, identifying a transition of a level of flexibility and balance from a beginner level to, an expert level based on performance of the user in the selected yoga asana, of Shavit into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding yoga, a beginner level, and a human expert.
Further, Bansbach is also analogous art because it is in the field of neuromuscular, physiological, biomechanical, and musculoskeletal activity sensing systems,
Bansbach discloses
obtaining sensor data from a plurality of wearable devices for tracking and determining ([0025], “a wearable sensor device for obtaining information about … a subject, such as a patient, athlete … performing … activities is provided”)
wherein the sensor data includes a plurality of motion sensor data obtained from ([0054], “input components … include … capturing … data entry by … motion sensors for capturing gestures performed by the user”) the plurality of wearable devices, wherein the plurality of wearable devices include a smart watch and earbuds ([0025], “a wearable sensor device for obtaining information”);
the sensor data ([0054], “input components … include … capturing … data entry by … sensors”);
analyzing the sensor data to determine a plurality of parameters including information related to the body posture and physical metrics including balance and flexibility ([0015], “FIG. 3 is … a process for data collection from a … sensor”);
and displaying ([0055], “output components … includes a visual display”)
Substituting obtaining sensor data from a plurality of wearable devices for tracking and determining, wherein the sensor data includes a plurality of motion sensor data obtained from, the plurality of wearable devices, wherein the plurality of wearable devices include a smart watch and earbuds; the sensor data; analyzing the sensor data to determine a plurality of parameters including information related to the body posture and physical metrics including balance and flexibility; and displaying of Bansbach into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding a wearable sensor device, subject information, input components, motion sensors, and data collection.
In regard to claim 2, Kim does not disclose
wherein the physical activity includes the selected yoga asana and the tracking includes guiding and correcting the user in real-time to ensure accurate performance of the yoga asana.
However, in an analogous art of training systems and techniques,
Shavit discloses
wherein the physical activity includes the selected yoga asana ([0142], “the … methods are applicable to … Yoga”) and the tracking includes guiding and correcting the user in real-time to ensure accurate performance of the yoga asana ([0051], “embodiments … include a method for tracking … exercises and training sessions and providing feedback”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, wherein the physical activity includes the selected yoga asana and the tracking includes guiding and correcting the user in real-time to ensure accurate performance of the yoga asana, of Shavit into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding yoga, exercises, and training sessions.
In regard to claim 4, Kim discloses
determining the next body posture of the selected yoga asana by matching the determined current body posture with a sequence of predefined postures from the database ([0051], “the apparatus … for evaluating a physical activity ability … evaluates a posture”);
analyzing the sensor data for calculating the flexibility score and the balance score of the current body posture and determining a level of flexibility and a level of balance of a body of the user ([0187], “the information measured ... is analyzed, whereby health-related physical fitness factors, such as ... flexibility, and the like, and performance-related physical fitness factors, such as ... balance... may be calculated”);
Kim does not disclose
wherein analyzing of the sensor data is performed for determining the plurality of parameters in steps, wherein the steps comprise: computing a plurality of tilt angles using the sensor data obtained from each of the plurality of wearable devices;
combining the computed plurality of tilt angles and mapping the combined tilt angle with a tilt angle range of predefined poses of the selected yoga asana from a database for determining the current body posture of the user;
and identifying a transition of the level of flexibility and balance from a beginner level to an expert level based on performance of the user in the selected yoga asana.
However, in an analogous art of training systems and techniques,
Shavit discloses
wherein analyzing of the sensor data is performed for determining the plurality of parameters in steps, wherein the steps comprise: computing a plurality of tilt angles using the sensor data obtained from each of the plurality of wearable devices ([0107], “the wearable computing device … can measure the body part … angle, tilt, … and the like.”);
combining the computed plurality of tilt angles and mapping the combined tilt angle with a tilt angle range of predefined poses of ([0107], “the wearable computing device … can measure the body part … angle, tilt, … and the like.”) the selected yoga asana from ([0142], “the … methods are applicable to … Yoga”) a database for determining the current body posture of the user ([0052], “The database … is configured to store training and exercise information.”);
and identifying a transition of the level of flexibility and balance from a beginner to ([0450], “if the user is a beginner all exercises that require a higher experience level are removed”) an expert level based on performance of the user in the selected yoga asana ([0974], “The desired result ... is achieved by using a human expert”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, wherein analyzing of the sensor data is performed for determining the plurality of parameters in steps, wherein the steps comprise: computing a plurality of tilt angles using the sensor data obtained from each of the plurality of wearable devices; combining the computed plurality of tilt angles and mapping the combined tilt angle with a tilt angle range of predefined poses of the selected yoga asana from a database for determining the current body posture of the user; and identifying a transition of the level of flexibility and balance from a beginner level to an expert level based on performance of the user in the selected yoga asana, of Shavit into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding angle, tilt, a database, and exercise and training information.
In regard to claim 5, Kim does not disclose
wherein the flexibility score and the balance score are stored in the database for future reference and guidance to the user.
However, in an analogous art of training systems and techniques,
Shavit discloses
wherein the flexibility score and the balance score are stored in the database for future reference and guidance to the user ([0052], “The database … is configured to store training and exercise information.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, wherein the flexibility score and the balance score are stored in the database for future reference and guidance to the user, of Shavit into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding a database and exercise and training information.
In regard to claim 6, Kim discloses
wherein the flexibility score indicates ([0187], “the information measured ... is analyzed, whereby health-related physical fitness factors, such as ... flexibility, and the like... may be calculated”) degree of posture achieved by the user for ([0051], “the apparatus … for evaluating a physical activity ability … evaluates a posture” Examiner notes that a flexibility score can reflect aspects of posture.)
Kim does not disclose
the selected yoga asana, and wherein the level of flexibility includes the beginner, an intermediate and the expert level.
However, in an analogous art of training systems and techniques,
Shavit discloses
the selected yoga asana ([0142], “the … methods are applicable to … Yoga”), and wherein the level of flexibility includes the beginner ([0450], “if the user is a beginner all exercises that require a higher experience level are removed”), an intermediate ([0452], “A cardio dedicated exercise is 30 minutes for beginner, 40 for intermediate”) and the expert level ([0974], “The desired result ... is achieved by using a human expert”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, the selected yoga asana, and wherein the level of flexibility includes the beginner, an intermediate and the expert level, of Shavit into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding yoga, a beginner, cardio dedicated exercise, and a human expert.
In regard to claim 7, Kim discloses
wherein the balance score is calculated by ([0187], “the information measured ... is analyzed, whereby … performance-related physical fitness factors, such as ... balance... may be calculated”)
Kim does not disclose
determining variations in the sensor data, wherein the level of balance includes the beginner level, an intermediate level and the expert level, and wherein high variations in the sensor data indicate user instability.
However, in an analogous art of neuromuscular, physiological, biomechanical, and musculoskeletal activity sensing systems,
Bansbach discloses
determining variations in the sensor data, wherein the level of balance includes ([0015], “FIG. 3 is … a process for data collection from a … sensor”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, determining variations in the sensor data, wherein the level of balance includes, of Bansbach into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding data collection and a sensor.
Further, Shavit is also analogous art because it is in the field of training systems and techniques,
Shavit discloses
the beginner level ([0450], “if the user is a beginner all exercises that require a higher experience level are removed”), an intermediate level ([0452], “A cardio dedicated exercise is 30 minutes for beginner, 40 for intermediate”), and the expert level, and wherein high variations in the sensor data indicate user instability ([0974], “The desired result ... is achieved by using a human expert”).
Substituting the beginner level, an intermediate level, and the expert level, and wherein high variations in the sensor data indicate user instability of Shavit into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding a beginner, cardio dedicated exercise, and a human expert.
In regard to claim 8, Kim discloses
wherein the transition of the level of flexibility and balance from the beginner level to the expert level is identified by the electronic device by performing operations comprising: recording duration of holding ([0200], “the apparatus … for evaluating a physical activity ability … may be implemented in a computer system … including a … recording medium”) a posture of ([0051], “the apparatus … for evaluating a physical activity ability … evaluates a posture”) a time duration based on personalized proficiency level of the user ([0115], “the physical fitness factor measurement unit … may measure endurance using the number of times a … motion is performed and a trend in the time spent for the … motion”)
Kim does not disclose
the selected yoga asana and guiding the user to maintain the posture for
wherein guidance is provided through at least one of the plurality of wearable devices, wherein the guidance includes at least one of audio cues from the earbuds vibrations from earbuds, vibrations from the earbuds, or vibrations from the smart watch;
tracking the posture attained by the user while performing the selected yoga asana and guiding the user to change and attain the next body posture correctly in sequence;
and providing real-time guidance to the user through audio to perform the posture accurately by analyzing and comparing the tilt angles computed for the user with stored data of a yoga expert.
However, in an analogous art of training systems and techniques,
Shavit discloses
the selected yoga asana and guiding the user to maintain the posture for ([0142], “the … methods are applicable to … Yoga”)
tracking the posture attained by the user while performing the selected yoga asana and guiding the user to change and attain the next body posture correctly in sequence ([0051], “embodiments … include a method for tracking … exercises and training sessions and providing feedback”);
and providing real-time guidance to the user through audio to perform the posture accurately ([1066], “the system may track the user's performance of the exercise. The system can issue calls for him to correct his performance in real time”) by analyzing and comparing the tilt angles computed for the user with stored data of a yoga expert ([0107], “the wearable computing device … can measure the body part … angle, tilt, … and the like.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, the selected yoga asana and guiding the user to maintain the posture for, wherein guidance is provided through at least one of the plurality of wearable devices, wherein the guidance includes at least one of audio cues from the earbuds vibrations from earbuds, vibrations from the earbuds, or vibrations from the smart watch; tracking the posture attained by the user while performing the selected yoga asana and guiding the user to change and attain the next body posture correctly in sequence; and providing real-time guidance to the user through audio to perform the posture accurately by analyzing and comparing the tilt angles computed for the user with stored data of a yoga expert, of Shavit into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding yoga, tracking exercises, training sessions, feedback, a wearable computing device, angle, and tilt.
In regard to claim 9, Kim discloses
wherein the time duration guided to the user is calculated based on a standard holding time of ([0115], “the physical fitness factor measurement unit … may measure endurance using the number of times a … motion is performed and a trend in the time spent for the … motion”) the posture for a yoga expert, previous time durations of holding the posture for the user, and a current proficiency level of the user.
Kim does not disclose
the posture for a yoga expert, previous time durations of holding the posture for the user, and a current proficiency level of the user.
However, in an analogous art of training systems and techniques,
Shavit discloses
the posture for a yoga ([0142], “the … methods are applicable to … Yoga”) expert, previous time durations of holding the posture for the user, and a current proficiency level of the user ([0974], “The desired result ... is achieved by using a human expert”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, the posture for a yoga expert, previous time durations of holding the posture for the user, and a current proficiency level of the user, of Shavit into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding yoga and a human expert.
In regard to claim 10, Kim does not disclose
wherein an alarm is triggered in case the user attains a wrong posture.
However, in an analogous art of training systems and techniques,
Shavit discloses
wherein an alarm is triggered in case the user attains a wrong posture ([0068], “The speaker and/or microphone … are configured to interface with users … by giving voice details about the … alarms”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, wherein an alarm is triggered in case the user attains a wrong posture, of Shavit into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding a speaker, a microphone, a user, and an alarm.
In regard to claim 11, Kim discloses
An electronic device for ([0200], “the apparatus … may be implemented in a computer system”) tracking and measuring flexibility and balance of a user during a physical activity, the electronic device comprising ([0111], “the physical fitness factor measurement unit … may measure physical fitness factors related to flexibility … and balance”): memory storing one or more computer programs ([0200], “the computer system … may include … memory … and storage”);
and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory ([0200], “the computer system … may include one or more processors … memory”), wherein the one or more computer programs include instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to ([0200], “The processor … may be a central processing unit … for executing processing instructions stored in the memory”): through a user interface ([0200], “the computer system … may include … a user-interface input device”);
obtain sensor data from a plurality of wearable devices and compute a plurality of tilt angles, wherein the sensor data includes a plurality of motion sensor data, obtained from the plurality of wearable devices, wherein the plurality of wearable devices include a smart watch and earbuds;
determine a current body posture of the user and a next body posture of the selected yoga asana based on ([0051], “the apparatus … for evaluating a physical activity ability … evaluates a posture”);
analyze the sensor data and calculate a flexibility score and a balance score of the current body posture and determine a level of flexibility and a level of balance of a body of the user ([0111], “the physical fitness factor measurement unit … may measure physical fitness factors related to flexibility … and balance”);
Kim does not disclose
enable the user to select a yoga asana as the physical activity;
obtain sensor data from a plurality of wearable devices and compute a plurality of tilt angles, wherein the sensor data includes a plurality of motion sensor data, obtained from the plurality of wearable devices, wherein the plurality of wearable devices include a smart watch and earbuds;
the sensor data;
and identify a transition of the level of flexibility and balance from beginner level to expert level based on performance of the user in the selected yoga asana.
However, in an analogous art of training systems and techniques,
Shavit discloses
enable the user to select a yoga asana as the physical activity ([0142], “the … methods are applicable to … Yoga”);
and compute a plurality of tilt angles, wherein the sensor data includes a plurality of motion sensor data obtained from ([0107], “the wearable computing device … can measure the body part … angle, tilt, … and the like.”)
and identify a transition of the level of flexibility and balance from beginner level to expert level based on performance of the user in the selected yoga asana ([0051], “embodiments … include a method for tracking … exercises and training sessions and providing feedback”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, enable the user to select a yoga asana as the physical activity; and compute a plurality of tilt angles, wherein the sensor data includes a plurality of motion sensor data obtained from, and identify a transition of the level of flexibility and balance from beginner level to expert level based on performance of the user in the selected yoga asana, of Shavit into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding yoga, a beginner level, and a human expert.
Further, Bansbach is also analogous art because it is in the field of neuromuscular, physiological, biomechanical, and musculoskeletal activity sensing systems,
Bansbach discloses
obtain sensor data from a plurality of wearable devices ([0025], “a wearable sensor device for obtaining information about … a subject, such as a patient, athlete … performing … activities is provided”)
wherein the plurality of wearable devices include a smart watch and earbuds ([0025], “a wearable sensor device for obtaining information”);
the sensor data ([0054], “input components … include … capturing … data entry by … motion sensors”)
Substituting obtain sensor data from a plurality of wearable devices wherein the plurality of wearable devices include a smart watch and earbuds; the sensor data of Bansbach into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding a wearable sensor device, subject information, input components, motion sensors, and data collection.
In regard to claim 12, Kim discloses
wherein the one or more computer programs further include instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to ([0200], “The processor … may be a central processing unit … for executing processing instructions stored in the memory”):
Kim does not disclose
display the balance score and the flexibility score and transition over time to the user through at least one of a first display of a first wearable device among the plurality of wearable devices or a second display of the electronic device, and wherein the electronic device includes a mobile phone.
However, in an analogous art of neuromuscular, physiological, biomechanical, and musculoskeletal activity sensing systems,
Bansbach discloses
display the balance score and the flexibility score and transition over time to the user through at least one of a first display of a first wearable device among the plurality of wearable devices or a second display of the electronic device ([0055], “output components … includes a visual display”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, display the balance score and the flexibility score and transition over time to the user through at least one of a first display of a first wearable device among the plurality of wearable devices or a second display of the electronic device, of Bansbach into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding output components and a visual display.
Further, Shavit is also analogous art because it is in the field of training systems and techniques,
Shavit discloses
and wherein the electronic device includes a mobile phone ([0058], “The training module … may reside in … a Smartphone”).
Substituting and wherein the electronic device includes a mobile phone of Shavit into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding a training module and a smartphone.
In regard to claim 13, Kim discloses
wherein the one or more computer programs further include instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to ([0200], “The processor … may be a central processing unit … for executing processing instructions stored in the memory”):
and determine a next body posture of the selected yoga asana by matching the determined current body posture with a sequence of predefined postures from the database ([0051], “the apparatus … for evaluating a physical activity ability … evaluates a posture”).
Kim does not disclose
combine the computed plurality of tilt angles and map the combined tilt angle with a tilt angle range of predefined poses of selected yoga asana from a database for determining user's current body posture;
However, in an analogous art of training systems and techniques,
Shavit discloses
combine the computed plurality of tilt angles and map the combined tilt angle with a tilt angle range of ([0107], “the wearable computing device … can measure the body part … angle, tilt, … and the like.”) predefined poses of the selected yoga asana from ([0142], “the … methods are applicable to … Yoga”) a database for determining the current body posture ([0052], “The database … is configured to store training and exercise information.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, combine the computed plurality of tilt angles and map the combined tilt angle with a tilt angle range of predefined poses of selected yoga asana from a database for determining user's current body posture, of Shavit into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding yoga, a wearable computing device, angle, tilt, and a database.
In regard to claim 14, Kim discloses
wherein the one or more computer programs further include instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to ([0200], “The processor … may be a central processing unit … for executing processing instructions stored in the memory”): analyze the sensor data obtained from the plurality of wearable devices to calculate the flexibility score of ([0111], “the physical fitness factor measurement unit … may measure physical fitness factors related to flexibility”) the current body posture, wherein the flexibility score indicates a degree of posture achieved by the user for ([0051], “the apparatus … for evaluating a physical activity ability … evaluates a posture”);
analyze the sensor data obtained from the plurality of wearable devices to calculate the balance score of ([0111], “the physical fitness factor measurement unit … may measure physical fitness factors related to … balance”) the current body posture, wherein the balance score is calculated by determining variations in the sensor data and the level of balance includes ([0051], “the apparatus … for evaluating a physical activity ability … evaluates a posture”)
Kim does not disclose
the selected yoga asana and is used for determining the level of flexibility wherein the level of flexibility includes a beginner level, an intermediate level and the expert level;
the beginner level, the intermediate level and the expert level;
However, in an analogous art of training systems and techniques,
Shavit discloses
the selected yoga asana and is used for determining the level of flexibility wherein the level of flexibility includes a beginner level ([0450], “if the user is a beginner all exercises that require a higher experience level are removed”), an intermediate level ([0452], “A cardio dedicated exercise is 30 minutes for beginner, 40 for intermediate”) and the expert level ([0974], “The desired result ... is achieved by using a human expert”);
the beginner level ([0450], “if the user is a beginner all exercises that require a higher experience level are removed”), the intermediate level ([0452], “A cardio dedicated exercise is 30 minutes for beginner, 40 for intermediate”) and the expert level ([0974], “The desired result ... is achieved by using a human expert”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, the selected yoga asana and is used for determining the level of flexibility wherein the level of flexibility includes a beginner level, an intermediate level and the expert level; the beginner level, the intermediate level and the expert level, of Shavit into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding yoga, cardio dedicated exercise, and a human expert.
In regard to claim 15, Kim discloses
wherein the one or more computer programs further include instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to ([0200], “The processor … may be a central processing unit … for executing processing instructions stored in the memory”): record a duration of holding ([0200], “the apparatus … for evaluating a physical activity ability … may be implemented in a computer system … including a … recording medium”) a posture of ([0051], “the apparatus … for evaluating a physical activity ability … evaluates a posture”) the selected yoga asana and guiding the user to maintain the posture for a time duration based on a personalized proficiency level of the user ([0115], “the physical fitness factor measurement unit … may measure endurance using the number of times a … motion is performed and a trend in the time spent for the … motion”), wherein guidance is provided through at least one of the plurality of wearable devices, wherein the guidance includes at least one of audio cues from the earbuds, vibrations from earbuds or vibrations from a smart watch;
track the posture attained by the user while performing the selected yoga asana and guide the user to change and attain the next posture correctly in sequence;
and analyze and compare the tilt angles computed for the user with stored data of a yoga expert.
Kim does not disclose
the selected yoga asana and guiding the user to maintain the posture for
wherein guidance is provided through at least one of the plurality of wearable devices, wherein the guidance includes at least one of audio cues from the earbuds, vibrations from earbuds or vibrations from a smart watch;
track the posture attained by the user while performing the selected yoga asana and guide the user to change and attain the next posture correctly in sequence;
and analyze and compare the tilt angles computed for the user with stored data of a yoga expert.
However, in an analogous art of training systems and techniques,
Shavit discloses
the selected yoga asana and guiding the user to maintain the posture for ([0142], “the … methods are applicable to … Yoga”)
track the posture attained by the user while performing the selected yoga asana and guide the user to change and attain the next posture correctly in sequence ([0051], “embodiments … include a method for tracking … exercises and training sessions and providing feedback”);
and analyze and compare the tilt angles computed for the user with stored data of a yoga expert ([0107], “the wearable computing device … can measure the body part … angle, tilt, … and the like.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, the selected yoga asana and guiding the user to maintain the posture for, wherein guidance is provided through at least one of the plurality of wearable devices, wherein the guidance includes at least one of audio cues from the earbuds, vibrations from earbuds or vibrations from a smart watch; track the posture attained by the user while performing the selected yoga asana and guide the user to change and attain the next posture correctly in sequence; and analyze and compare the tilt angles computed for the user with stored data of a yoga expert, of Shavit into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding yoga, a wearable computing device, angle, tilt, and exercise and training sessions.
In regard to claim 16, Kim discloses
wherein the memory further stores a database and wherein the flexibility score and the balance score are stored in the database for future reference and guidance to the user ([0015], “an apparatus for evaluating a physical activity ability … includes … memory for storing”).
In regard to claim 17, Kim discloses
wherein the balance score is ([0187], “the information measured ... is analyzed, whereby health-related physical fitness factors, … such as ... balance... may be calculated” Examiner notes that calculations can be used to obtain a score.)
Kim does not disclose
one of a beginner score, an intermediate score, and or expert score, and wherein the balance score is determined based on variations in the sensor data.
However, in an analogous art of training systems and techniques,
Shavit discloses
one of beginner score ([0450], “if the user is a beginner all exercises that require a higher experience level are removed”), an intermediate score ([0452], “A cardio dedicated exercise is 30 minutes for beginner, 40 for intermediate”), or expert score, and wherein the balance score is determined based on variations in the sensor data ([0974], “The desired result ... is achieved by using a human expert”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, one of a beginner score, an intermediate score, and or expert score, and wherein the balance score is determined based on variations in the sensor data, of Shavit into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding beginner, cardio dedicated exercise, and a human expert.
In regard to claim 18, Kim discloses
the one or more processors comprises ([0064], “The processing unit … may include one or more processors”)
Kim does not disclose
a plurality of tilt angle calculators, each of which correspond to one of the plurality of wearable devices, and wherein each of the plurality of tilt angle calculators are configured to generate a tilt angle based on sensor data from a corresponding wearable device.
However, in an analogous art of training systems and techniques,
Shavit discloses
a plurality of tilt angle calculators, each of which correspond to one of the plurality of wearable devices, and wherein each of the plurality of tilt angle calculators are configured to generate a tilt angle based on sensor data from a corresponding wearable device ([0107], “the wearable computing device … can measure the body part … angle, tilt, … and the like.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, a plurality of tilt angle calculators, each of which correspond to one of the plurality of wearable devices, and wherein each of the plurality of tilt angle calculators are configured to generate a tilt angle based on sensor data from a corresponding wearable device, of Shavit into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding yoga, a wearable computing device, angle and tilt.
In regard to claim 19, Kim discloses
One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform operations, the operations comprising: receiving, through a user interface of the electronic device, a user input selecting ([0200], “the computer system … may include … a user-interface input device”)
obtaining, during a physical activity of a user performing the selected yoga asana, sensor data from a plurality of wearable devices for tracking and determining body posture ([0051], “the apparatus … for evaluating a physical activity ability … evaluates a posture”);
analyzing the captured sensor data to determine a plurality of parameters including information related to body posture and physical metrics such as balance and flexibility;
and displaying a balance score, a flexibility score, and transition over time based on the analysis ([0187], “the information measured ... is analyzed, whereby health-related physical fitness factors, such as ... flexibility, and the like, and performance-related physical fitness factors, such as ... balance... may be calculated” Examiner notes that calculations can be used to obtain a score.).
Kim does not disclose
One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform operations, the operations comprising:
obtaining, during a physical activity of a user performing the selected yoga asana, sensor data from a plurality of wearable devices for tracking and determining;
analyzing the captured sensor data to determine a plurality of parameters including information related to body posture and physical metrics such as balance and flexibility;
and displaying
However, in an analogous art of training systems and techniques,
Shavit discloses
One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by ([1125], “The various embodiments disclosed … can be implemented ... on a program storage unit or non-transitory computer readable medium”) one or more processors of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform operations, the operations comprising ([0064], “The processing unit … may include one or more processors”).
the selected yoga asana ([0142], “the … methods are applicable to … Yoga”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform operations, the operations comprising, and the selected yoga asana, of Shavit into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding a non-transitory computer readable medium, a processing unit, processors, and yoga.
Further, Bansbach is also analogous art because it is in the field of neuromuscular, physiological, biomechanical, and musculoskeletal activity sensing systems,
Bansbach discloses
obtaining, during physical activity of a user performing the selected yoga asana, sensor data from a plurality of wearable devices for tracking and determining ([0025], “a wearable sensor device for obtaining information about … a subject, such as a patient, athlete … performing … activities is provided”)
analyzing the captured sensor data to determine a plurality of parameters including information related to body posture and physical metrics such as balance and flexibility ([0015], “FIG. 3 is … a process for data collection from a … sensor”);
and displaying ([0055], “output components … includes a visual display”)
Substituting obtaining, during physical activity of a user performing the selected yoga asana, sensor data from a plurality of wearable devices for tracking and determining, analyzing the captured sensor data to determine a plurality of parameters including information related to body posture and physical metrics such as balance and flexibility ([0015], “FIG. 3 is … a process for data collection from a … sensor”); and displaying of Bansbach into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding a wearable sensor device, subject information, output components, visual display, and sensors.
In regard to claim 20, Kim does not disclose
wherein the physical activity includes yoga asana and the tracking includes guiding and correcting the user in real-time to ensure accurate performance of the yoga asana.
However, in an analogous art of training systems and techniques,
Shavit discloses
wherein the physical activity includes yoga asana ([0142], “the … methods are applicable to … Yoga”) and the tracking includes guiding and correcting the user in real-time to ensure accurate performance of the yoga asana ([0051], “embodiments … include a method for tracking … exercises and training sessions and providing feedback”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, wherein the physical activity includes yoga asana and the tracking includes guiding and correcting the user in real-time to ensure accurate performance of the yoga asana, of Shavit into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding yoga, tracking, exercises, training sessions, and feedback.
In regard to claim 21, Kim discloses
wherein the determining the current body posture of the user and the next body posture of ([0051], “the apparatus … for evaluating a physical activity ability … evaluates a posture”)
from a database for determining the current body posture of the user ([0052], “The database … is configured to store training and exercise information.”).
Kim does not disclose
the selected yoga asana based on the sensor data comprises: computing a plurality of tilt angles using the sensor data captured from each of the wearable devices;
and combining the computed plurality of tilt angles and mapping the combined tilt angle with a tilt angle range predefined poses of the selected yoga asana
However, in an analogous art of training systems and techniques,
Shavit discloses
the selected yoga asana based on ([0142], “the … methods are applicable to … Yoga”) the sensor data comprises: computing a plurality of tilt angles using the sensor data captured from each of the wearable devices ([0107], “the wearable computing device … can measure the body part … angle, tilt, … and the like.”);
and combining the computed plurality of tilt angles and mapping the combined tilt angle with a tilt angle range of ([0107], “the wearable computing device … can measure the body part … angle, tilt, … and the like.”) predefined poses of the selected yoga asana ([0142], “the … methods are applicable to … Yoga”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date to have added the missing claimed limitations, the claim limitations, the selected yoga asana based on the sensor data comprises: computing a plurality of tilt angles using the sensor data captured from each of the wearable devices; and combining the computed plurality of tilt angles and mapping the combined tilt angle with a tilt angle range predefined poses of the selected yoga asana, of Shavit into modified technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human of Kim and it would not change the basic principle operation of Kim, nor would it render Kim unsuitable for its intended purpose of technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human; rather it would enhance Kim by adding yoga, angle, tilt, and a wearable computing device.
Response to Remarks
Applicant's submissions filed July 6, 2026 have been fully considered, but they
are not persuasive. Claims 1-2 and 4-21 remain pending in this application. Pertaining to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §101, Applicant submits that “the claims as amended overcome the § 101 rejections” (See Amendment, Remarks, page 11, lines 12-13) and “there is no correspondence in the pre-computer world for the claimed features” (See Amendment, Remarks, page 11, lines 21-22). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. Applicant did not identify, nor claim, any particular details defining how implementing a specific technical method on an electronic device amount to a technical improvement to the computer functionality itself, or any other technology or technical field. As provided in the rejection, the additional elements defining an electronic device, a user interface, sensor, a plurality of wearable devices, a motion sensor, a smart watch, earbuds, a database, memory, one or more computer programs, one or more processors, a mobile phone, calculators, and non-transitory computer-readable storage media to perform the claimed exception lack sufficient technical detail, as they are recited by name alone to perform a result. Further, the claim lacks sufficient detail defining how the result is achieved. Therefore, these additional elements do not integrate the exception into a practical application. Additionally, these additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as neither the claims, nor the specification provide details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a technological improvement is provided by the claimed invention. Rather, the specification (see Step 2B citations) illustrates the claimed additional elements are recited at a high level of generality to perform well-understood, routine, and conventional functionality using conventional equipment. Although the claims do define “tracking and measuring body flexibility and balance of a user during physical activity, … receiving … a user input selecting a yoga asana, obtaining … data … for tracking and determining body posture, … determining a current body posture of the user and a next body posture of the selected yoga asana based on the .. data; analyzing the … data to determine a plurality of parameters including information related to the body posture and physical metrics including balance and flexibility; and identifying a transition of a level of flexibility and balance from a beginner level to an expert level based on performance of the user in the selected yoga asana”; “guiding and correcting the user in real-time to ensure accurate performance of the yoga asana”; “computing a plurality of tilt angles using the sensor data”, etc. these limitations are interpreted as the abstract idea itself, as it is practically capable of being performed by a human or group of humans, through mental processes and certain methods of organizing human activity, including interactions between individuals in a yoga environment. Therefore, claims 1-2 and 4-21 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Pertaining to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant submits that “the applied references fail to disclose or render obvious the presently claimed combination of features recited in independent claim 1.” (See Amendment, Remarks, page 13, lines 27-29) and “Regarding independent claims 11 and 19, although different in scope from independent claim 1, these claims recite subject matter related to independent claim 1 … independent claims 11 and 19 are allowable over Kim and Bansbach for similar reasons as set forth above with respect to independent claim 1. Further, Shavit fails to cure the deficiencies of Kim, Bansbach, and Shavit.” (See Amendment, Remarks, page 17, paragraph 1). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. Applicant is directed to the revised grounds of rejection above, as necessitated by the claim amendments, which show Kim, Shavit, and Bansbach disclose the combination of features. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
MPEP §2111 discusses proper claim interpretation, including giving claims their broadest reasonable interpretation (“BRI”) in light of the specification during
examination. Under BRI, the words of a claim must be given their plain meaning unless
such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The BRI of yoga asana user input, body posture determination, and flexibility and balance level identification for a search clue option is the most inclusive understanding of a specific element that activates or prompts a search function, allowing for a wide range of potential inputs or conditions that could initiate the search. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the BRI is broader than what is argued. Independent claims 11 and 19 cite limitations parallel to claim 1. Therefore, the rejections of independent claims 1, 11, and 19, as obvious by Kim in view of Shavit and in further view of Bansbach, are maintained. Consequently, the rejections of dependent claims 2, 4-10, 12-18, and 20-21, as obvious by Kim in view of Shavit and in further view of Bansbach, are maintained.
MPEP § 2143 discusses the establishment of obviousness by combining or modifying the disclosures of the prior art to produce the claimed invention. See In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 986, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1335 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (discussing rationale underlying the motivation-suggestion-teaching test as a guard against using hindsight in an obviousness analysis). A “motivation to combine may be found explicitly or implicitly in market forces; design incentives; the ‘interrelated teachings of multiple patents’; ‘any need or problem known in the field of endeavor at the time of invention and addressed by the patent’; and the background knowledge, creativity, and common sense of the person of ordinary skill.” Zup v. Nash Mfg., 896 F.3d 1365, 1371, 127 USPQ2d 1423, 1427 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (quoting Plantronics, Inc. v. Aliph, Inc., 724 F.3d 1343, 1354 [107 USPQ2d 1706] (Fed. Cir. 2013) (citing Perfect Web Techs., Inc. v. InfoUSA, Inc., 587 F.3d 1324, 1328 [92 USPQ2d 1849] (Fed. Cir. 2009) (quoting KSR, 550 U.S. at 418-21)). Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the motivation to combine is both explicit and implicit in Kim, which discloses technology that evaluates the physical activity ability of a human by observing the exercise motion of the human, Shavit, which discloses systems and techniques for planning, presenting, monitoring, providing feedback and improving training in physical exercise, and Bansbach, which discloses devices, systems, and methods for sensing neuromuscular, physiological, biomechanical, and musculoskeletal activity of an individual to provide feedback. Therefore, the rejections of independent claim 1 and dependent claims 2 and 4-10, as obvious by Kim in view of Shavit and in further view of Bansbach, are maintained. Independent claims 11 and 19 cite limitations parallel to independent claim 1. Therefore, the rejections of independent claims 11 and 19 and dependent claims 12-18 and 20-21, as obvious by Kim in view of Shavit and in further view of Bansbach, are maintained.
Pertaining to newly added claim 21, Applicant submits that “these cited references do not clearly disclose the feature of determining a current/subsequent posture, and do not disclose at all the feature of determining a current body posture by calculating tilt angles from respective wearable
devices and combining the calculated tilt angles to map the combined tilt angles to tilt angle ranges defined in a database.” (See Amendment, Remarks, page 18, paragraph 2 and page 19, lines 1-2). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. Applicant is directed to the revised grounds of rejection above, as necessitated by the claim amendments, which show Kim, Shavit, and Bansbach disclose the claimed features. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
MPEP §2111 discusses proper claim interpretation, including giving claims their broadest reasonable interpretation (“BRI”) in light of the specification during
examination. Under BRI, the words of a claim must be given their plain meaning unless
such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The BRI of body posture determination for a search clue option is the most inclusive understanding of a specific element that activates or prompts a search function, allowing for a wide range of potential inputs or conditions that could initiate the search. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the BRI is broader than what is argued. Therefore, claim 21 (which is dependent on claim 1) is rejected, as obvious by Kim in view of Shavit and in further view of Bansbach.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
examiner should be directed to Lisa Antoine whose telephone number is (571) 272-
4252. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday 8:30 am - 6:30 pm
ET.
/LISA H ANTOINE/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/JAMES B HULL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715