DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, Figures 3-15, in the reply filed on 7/9/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 4 and 6-15 are withdrawn, Claims 16 and 17 are newly added, and Claims 1-3, 5, 16 and 17 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,084,268 (Pat 268). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of the claims in the instant application are found in the cited patent.
Regarding Claim 1: All the limitations of the instant application’s Claim 1 are included in Claim 1 of Pat. 268, as shown below in the table.
Instant Claim 1:
Pat 268
1. (Original) A bracket for affixing a device to a shipping container, the bracket comprising:
Claim 1 preamble.
a base;
Claim 1, line 3: “a base”
a first arm and a second arm disposed on distal ends of the base;
Claim 1, lines 4-5: “a first arm and a second arm disposed on distal ends of the base”
a first flange and second flange extending from the first arm and the second arm
Claim 1, lines 6-7: “a first flange and second flange extending from the first arm and the second arm”
a mounting mechanism on the base for mounting the device
Claim 1, lines 14-15: “a mounting mechanism on the base for mounting the device”
a first affixing mechanism and a second affixing mechanism to affix the first flange and the second flange respectively to adjacent locking rods on the shipping container, said first affixing mechanism and second affixing mechanism allowing rotation of the locking rods.
Claim 1, lines 8-13: “a first affixing mechanism and a second affixing mechanism to affix the first flange and the second flange respectively to adjacent locking rods on the shipping container, said first affixing mechanism and second affixing mechanism allowing rotation of the locking rods”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “where the base includes adjusting screws to increase a width of the bracket.” It is unclear based on the structure recited in the claims, how the screws increase a width of the bracket. More structural details are required to define, with particularity, what the invention is.
Claims 16 and 17 recite the phrase “and/or” which is confusing and indefinite. The use of the slash "/" within the claims should be avoided because it leads to confusion in claim interpretation. Examiner suggests Applicant amend the claims to recite something similar to "at least one of [A] and [B]".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent App. No. 2014/0077576 to Brawner (Brawner).
Regarding Claim 1: Brawner discloses a bracket for affixing a device to a shipping container, the bracket comprising: a base (See Annotated Fig. A); a first arm (See Annotated Fig. A) and a second arm (See Annotated Fig. A) disposed on distal ends of the base; a first flange (See Annotated Fig. A) and second flange (See Annotated Fig. A) extending from the first arm and the second arm; a mounting mechanism (10) on the base for mounting the device; a first affixing mechanism (See Annotated Fig. A) and a second affixing mechanism (See Annotated Fig. A) to affix the first flange and the second flange respectively to adjacent locking rods on the shipping container, said first affixing mechanism (See Annotated Fig. A) and second affixing mechanism (See Annotated Fig. A) allowing rotation of the locking rods.
Please note that the shipping container is not a required limitaiton of the claimed invention, which is only directed to a bracket and not to a bracket coupled to a shipping container. Moreover, all references to the shipping container or aspects of the shipping container (i.e. the locking rods) are all recited within intended use statements which merely recite how the device is intended to be used.
Regarding Claim 2: Brawner discloses a bracket according to claim 1, wherein the base (See Annotated Fig. A) is configured to fit within a corrugation behind the adjacent locking rods. Please note that no additional structure has been claimed or defined here that particularly point to what specifically allows this bracket “to fit within a corrugation.” This is all intended use statements. Therefore, Brawner is configured to fit within a corrugation behind the adjacent locking rods to the same extent as the structural limitations that the claims have recited.
Regarding Claim 3: Brawner discloses a bracket according to claim 1, wherein at least one portion of the base (See Annotated Fig. A) is configured to contact the shipping container when the first flange and the second flange are behind the adjacent locking rods. Please note that no additional structure of the base has been claimed or defined here that particularly points to what specifically allows this base to contact a container if it were attached. This is all intended use statements. Therefore, the base of Brawner is configured to contact the container to the same extent as the structural limitations that the claims have recited.
Regarding Claim 5: Brawner discloses a bracket according to claim 1, where the base includes adjusting screws (See Annotated Fig. A) to increase a width of the bracket.
Regarding Claim 16: Brawner discloses a bracket according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the first and/or second flange (See Annotated Fig. A) comprises a slit (See Annotated Fig. A) for receiving a tongue (See Annotated Fig. A) of the respective first or second affixing mechanism.
Regarding Claim 17: Brawner discloses a bracket according to claim 1, wherein an end of at least one of the first and/or second flange comprises a cup (See Annotated Fig. A), the cup having a slit (See Annotated Fig. A) for receiving a tongue (See Annotated Fig. A) of the respective first or second affixing mechanism.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the references used in this rejection and those cited in the PTO-892, the following references are very relevant to the claimed invention: US 2017/0314732.
ERET C. MCNICHOLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/ERET C MCNICHOLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632