DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Applicant has amended the claims such that the Double Patenting rejection is not longer required and as such the Double Patenting rejection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see applicant’s correspondence, filed 5/4/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 14 and 20 under 35 U.S.C 103 in view of Cordes and Aman have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Koch et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-10, and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Cordes et al. (US 2020/0145644 A1) in view of
Koch et al. (US 2015/0294492 A1) and in further view of
Aman et al. (US 2007/0279494 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cordes discloses:
A system (Cordes, Abstract and ¶68: immersive content production system; ¶44: an immersive content presentation system can include one or more processors; and one or more memory devices comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations; Fig. 14 and ¶122: computer system) comprising:
a plurality of sensors positioned at multiple different angles around an area, each sensor being configured to capture sensor data of a subject positioned within the area (Cordes, Fig. 1 and ¶73: taking camera 112 attached to a rig and aimed at performance area to capture performance of performer, where sensors attached to tracking camera can be used to determine position and orientation of the taking camera, and images from camera used to determine movement and orientation of camera, including distance from performer; Figs. 7-8 and ¶101: multiple taking cameras 112a and 112b; ¶102: The taking cameras 112a, 112b can be pointed in different directions and have different fields of views – see Figure 7 showing cameras 112a and 112b)
one or more repositioning systems coupled to one or more of the sensors, the repositioning systems being configured to reposition the sensors in response to receiving an instruction (Cordes, ¶73: taking camera attached to rig 110 for movement, where taking camera can have different orientation and movement; Also, ¶82: taking camera mounted on track 110 that can move the taking camera during performance; Figs. 7-8 and ¶101: multiple taking cameras 112a and 112b); and
a controller coupled to the plurality of sensors, (Cordes, Fig. 14 and ¶122: computer system including a processing unit 1404 connected to cameras 1434; ¶125 discloses processor executing programs and processes for system) the controller being configured to:
receive, from a first set of sensors selected from the plurality of sensors, first data of the subject within the area captured by the plurality of sensors (Cordes, ¶73:
A taking camera 112 can be attached to a rig 110 and can be aimed at the performance area 102 to capture the performance of a performer as well as the virtual environment displayed by the displays 104. In some embodiments, sensors can be used to determine the position and orientation of the taking camera during a performance. For example, GPS based sensors (not shown) can be attached to the taking camera to determine its position within or relative to the performance area. As another example, other cameras (e.g., motion capture cameras 122 discussed below) can be directed at the taking camera configured to capture the performance and one or more markers can be attached to the taking camera. During a performance, the other cameras can capture images of the taking camera as the taking camera is moved and/or oriented during the performance. The production system can use the images captured of the taking camera to determine the movement and orientation of the taking camera during the performance. Such information can be used to support the content production process. For example, such information regarding the orientation and movement of the taking camera can be used to determine the distance of the taking camera from the performer over a performance. Based on the orientation and movement (and other attributes such as lens aperture and focal length) of the taking camera, the content production system can adjust the virtual environment displayed by the immersive cave or walls in real-time or at interactive frame rates to correspond to orientation and position of the taking camera. In this way, images of the virtual environment can be perspective-correct over a performance of the performer.
)
Receive, from a second set of sensors selected from the plurality of sensors, second sensor data of the subject within the area captured by the plurality of sensors, wherein the second set of sensors is different from the first sensors; (Cordes, ¶77:
In some embodiments, content production system 100 can further include one or more depth sensors 120 and/or one or more motion capture cameras 122. During a performance performed within the performance area 102, content production system 100 can detect the motion and/or positioning of one or more performers within the performance area. Such detection can be based on markers or sensors worn by a performer as well as by depth and/or other motion detection sensors 120 and/or by motion capture cameras 122. For example, an array of depth sensors 120 can be positioned in proximity to and directed at the performance area 102. For instance, the depth sensors 120 can surround the perimeter of the performance area. In some embodiments, the depth sensors 120 measure the depth of different parts of a performer in performance area 102 over the duration of a performance. The depth information can then be stored and used by the content production system to determine the positioning of the performer over the course of the performance.
)
Identify, based on the first sensor data, a first subpart of the subject using a first model configured to identify the first subpart of the subject (Cordes, ¶78 discloses use of 3D depth models for objects in performance area, such as for performer; ¶84 discloses use of modeled world for frustrum of taking camera 112);
determine, based on the first sensor data, a relative motion of the first subpart of the subject (Cordes, ¶77: the depth sensors 120 measure the depth of different parts of a performer in performance area 102 over the duration of a performance, and the depth information can then be stored and used by the content production system to determine the positioning of the performer over the course of the performance; ¶78: the one or more depth sensors 120 can receive emitted infrared radiation to generate 3-D depth models of a performer, along with the floor, walls, and/or ceiling of the first performance area 102; ¶79: Motion cameras 122 can be part of a motion capture system that can track the movement of performers or objects within system 100);
(Cordes, ¶85: taking camera 112 can move during a performance as performer 210 moves or to capture the performer from a different angle);
Cordes, by itself, does not explicitly teach the repetition of parts for a second set of sensors, and performing the repositioning as claimed.
Koch, however, discloses:
a first set of sensors selected from the plurality of sensors, first data of the subject within the area captured by the plurality of sensors (Koch, ¶59: The first camera 404 and the second camera 406 may be configured to automatically detect and track motion within their fields of view; ¶72: camera can capture a subject that a first position 604 in the first frame of a video sequence, where between the first frame of the video sequence and a subsequent frame, the subject may move from the first position 604 to a second position 606 along the motion path 608, and a tracking system, can track the subject and calculate the coordinates of the subject in real 3-D space in real time; ¶72: person moves from first position to second position, and tracking system can track subject and calculate the coordinates of the subject in real 3-D space in real time)
second set of sensors selected from the plurality of sensors, second sensor data of the subject within the area captured by the plurality of sensors, wherein the second set of sensors is different from the first set of sensors (Kock, ¶59: The first camera 404 and the second camera 406 may be configured to automatically detect and track motion within their fields of view; ¶72: camera can capture a subject that a first position 604 in the first frame of a video sequence, where between the first frame of the video sequence and a subsequent frame, the subject may move from the first position 604 to a second position 606 along the motion path 608, and a tracking system, can track the subject and calculate the coordinates of the subject in real 3-D space in real time; ¶72: person moves from first position to second position, and tracking system can track subject and calculate the coordinates of the subject in real 3-D space in real time);
Identify, based on the first sensor data, a first subpart of the first subpart of the subject using a first model configured to identify the first subpart of the subject; (Koch, ¶59: The first camera 404 and the second camera 406 may be configured to automatically detect and track motion within their fields of view; ¶72: camera can capture a subject that a first position 604 in the first frame of a video sequence, where between the first frame of the video sequence and a subsequent frame, the subject may move from the first position 604 to a second position 606 along the motion path 608, and a tracking system, can track the subject and calculate the coordinates of the subject in real 3-D space in real time – Fig. 4 shows cameras 404 and 406 tracking subject 402, where the cameras are angled differently and therefore capture different “subparts” of the user for tracking; ¶80: segmenting subject from background to create 2D silhouette of subject for each frame, where computer system can determine or identify where outlines of each cutout silhouette intersect between each corresponding frames – this exemplifies that each camera has a different “subpart of the subject” as the cameras are identifying a subject from different sides from different angles; also ¶87: different cameras available for each point of surface texture on 3D representation of subject Koch;)
determine, based on the first sensor data, a relative motion of the first subpart of the subject (Koch, ¶59: The first camera 404 and the second camera 406 may be configured to automatically detect and track motion within their fields of view; ¶72: camera can capture a subject that a first position 604 in the first frame of a video sequence, where between the first frame of the video sequence and a subsequent frame, the subject may move from the first position 604 to a second position 606 along the motion path 608, and a tracking system, can track the subject and calculate the coordinates of the subject in real 3-D space in real time – Fig. 4 shows cameras 404 and 406 tracking subject 402, where the cameras are angled differently and therefore capture different “subparts” of the user for tracking; This is further explained in ¶80: segmenting subject from background to create 2D silhouette of subject for each frame, where computer system can determine or identify where outlines of each cutout silhouette intersect between each corresponding frames – this exemplifies that each camera has a different “subpart of the subject” as the cameras are identifying a subject from different sides from different angles; also ¶87: different cameras available for each point of surface texture on 3D representation of subject);
identify, based on the second sensor data, a second subpart of the subject using a second model configured to identify the second subpart of the subject, wherein the second subpart is different from the first subpart (Koch, ¶87: different cameras available for each point of surface texture on 3D representation of subject);
determine, based on the second sensor data, a relative motion of the second subpart of the subject (Koch, ¶59: The first camera 404 and the second camera 406 may be configured to automatically detect and track motion within their fields of view; ¶72: camera can capture a subject that a first position 604 in the first frame of a video sequence, where between the first frame of the video sequence and a subsequent frame, the subject may move from the first position 604 to a second position 606 along the motion path 608, and a tracking system, can track the subject and calculate the coordinates of the subject in real 3-D space in real time – Fig. 4 shows cameras 404 and 406 tracking subject 402, where the cameras are angled differently and therefore capture different “subparts” of the user for tracking; ¶80: segmenting subject from background to create 2D silhouette of subject for each frame, where computer system can determine or identify where outlines of each cutout silhouette intersect between each corresponding frames – this exemplifies that each camera has a different “subpart of the subject” as the cameras are identifying a subject from different sides from different angles; also ¶87: different cameras available for each point of surface texture on 3D representation of subject);
generate first instructions for repositioning one or more of the first set of sensors based on the determined relative motion of the first subpart of the subject within the area (Koch, Fig. 6 and ¶72: calculate direction, focus, and lighting commands for the camera 602, so that as the subject moves to the second position 606, the camera 602 can follow the subject; ¶74: each of the cameras can be dynamically adjusted by altering the pan, tilt, rotate, and/or zoom parameters for each camera such that the subject stays in constant view of the camera frame (706)); and
generate second instructions for repositioning one or more of the second set of sensors based on the determined relative motion o(Koch, Fig. 6 and ¶72: calculate direction, focus, and lighting commands for the camera 602, so that as the subject moves to the second position 606, the camera 602 can follow the subject; ¶74: each of the cameras can be dynamically adjusted by altering the pan, tilt, rotate, and/or zoom parameters for each camera such that the subject stays in constant view of the camera frame (706))
(Koch, Fig. 6 and ¶72: calculate direction, focus, and lighting commands for the camera 602, so that as the subject moves to the second position 606, the camera 602 can follow the subject; ¶74: each of the cameras can be dynamically adjusted by altering the pan, tilt, rotate, and/or zoom parameters for each camera such that the subject stays in constant view of the camera frame (706))
Cordes and Koch are directed to camera systems for capturing moving objects for recording video. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the system and method for moving a camera based on a recorded subject’s movement as provided by Cordes, by further using the captured video of a subject from multiple tracking cameras as provided by Koch, using known electronic interfacing and programming techniques. The modification results in an improved video processing system for generating actor-based film or video by allowing capture of multiple angles that automatically follow different sides of an actor to allow for more creative video filming while reducing production cost be reducing the need for duplicate filming to obtain different angles.
Cordes does not explicitly disclose the particular manner in which instructions are transmitted to the repositioning system, as claimed.
Aman discloses:
determine, based on the sensor data, a relative motion of the subject with respect to one or more objects within the area (Aman, ¶55: collecting overhead film used for tracking; ¶57: analyzing the video stream to determine both the location and orientation of the participants and game objects; ¶376: automatic game filming system dynamically determines what game actions to follow on tracking surface; ¶377: system 100 is able to determine the location, such as (rx, cx) of the center of the player's helmet sticker 9a, that serves as an acceptable approximation of the current location of the player 10, and filming station can be dedicated to follow key players)
generate instructions for repositioning one or more of the sensors based on the determined relative motion of the subject within the area (Aman, ¶112: automatically tracking participant and game object movement using a multiplicity of substantially overhead viewing cameras; ¶114: collecting video from one or more perspective view cameras that are automatically directed to follow the game action based upon the determined participant and game object movement; and
transmit the instructions to at least one of the repositioning systems to reposition the sensors according to the generated instructions (Aman, ¶83: the present inventors prefer the use of automated perspective filming cameras whose pan and tilt angles as well as zoom depths are automatically controlled based upon information derived in real-time from the overhead tracking system; ¶378: once system 200 has processed tracking data from system 100 and determined its desired centers-of-views 201, it will then automatically transmit these directives to the appropriate filming stations, such as 40c, located throughout the playing venue, where “processing element 45a, of station 40c, receives directives from system 200 and controls the automatic functioning of pan motor 45b, tilt motor 45c and zoom motor 45d. Motors 45b, 45c and 45d effectively control the center of view of camera 45f-cv.”’ Also ¶379 discussing camera 45f is controllably panned, tiled, and zoomed to follow desired game action images of players)
Both Cordes and Aman are directed to camera systems for capturing moving objects for recording video. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the system and method for moving a camera based on a recorded subject’s movement as provided by Cordes, using the captured video of a subject from multiple tracking cameras as provided by Koch, by incorporating the technique of data communication between devices for controlling the automatic control of camera orientation/position to follow target objects for recording as provided by Aman, using known electronic interfacing and programming techniques. The modification results in an improved camera recording system that tracks movement of a subject for recording using a distributed and automated process for easier control over the camera without requiring human intervention and further allowing for a more efficient communication between components for improved coordinated control of the system components.
Regarding claim 14, Cordes discloses:
A video capture device comprising components. (Cordes, Abstract and ¶68: immersive content production system; ¶44: an immersive content presentation system can include one or more processors; and one or more memory devices comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations; Fig. 14 and ¶122: computer system)
Further regarding claim 14, the device contains the same components performing the same operations as claim 1, and as such claim 14 is further rejected based on the same rationale as claim 1 set forth above.
Regarding claim 20, the claimed method is performed by the system of claim 1 and as such the claim is rejected based on the same rationale as claim 1 set forth above.
Regarding claim 2, Cordes modified by Koch and Aman further discloses:
wherein the controller is further configured to generate a three-dimensional representation of the subject from the sensor data of the subject captured by the plurality of sensors (Cordes, ¶78: Software in the depth sensors 120 can process the IR information received from the depth sensor 120 and use an artificial intelligence machine-learning algorithm to map the visual data and create three-dimensional (3-D) depth models of solid objects in the first performance area 102. For example, the one or more depth sensors 120 can receive emitted infrared radiation to generate 3-D depth models of a performer, along with the floor, walls, and/or ceiling of the first performance area 102)
Aman further discloses:
wherein the controller is further configured to generate a three-dimensional representation of the subject from the sensor data of the subject captured by the plurality of sensors (Aman, ¶87: employing the information collected by the overhead cameras to create a topological three-dimensional profile of any and all participants who may happen to be in the same field-of-view of the current image)
Both Cordes and Aman are directed to camera systems for capturing moving objects for recording video. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the system and method for moving a camera based on a recorded subject’s movement as provided by Cordes, by using a the 3D profile generation of the subject for tracking as provided by Aman, using known electronic interfacing and programming techniques. The modification results in an improved video recording of moving subjects by better identifying and isolating the relevant data for tracking, for improved location data and providing improved image data for reconstruction of video (see e.g. Aman, ¶88)
Regarding claim 15, the system of claim 2 comprises substantially the same components as claim 15 and as such claim 15 is rejected based on the same rationale as claim 2 set forth above.
Regarding claim 3, the limitations included from clam 2 are rejected based on the same rationale as claim 2 set forth above. Further regarding claim 3, Koch discloses:
generate a three-dimensional representation of the subject from the sensor data of the subject captured by the plurality of sensors (Koch, ¶3: The method may include receiving a plurality of 2-D video sequences of a subject in a real 3-D space. Each 2-D video sequence in the plurality of 2-D video sequences may depict the subject from a different perspective. The method may also include generating a 3-D representation of the subject in a virtual 3-D space; Also ¶30) wherein the controller is further configured to generate texture data for applying texture to the three-dimensional representation of the subject from the sensor data of the subject captured by the plurality of sensors. (Koch, ¶3: A geometry and texture of the 3-D representation may be generated based on the plurality of 2D video sequences, and motion of the 3-D representation in the virtual 3-D space may be based on motion of the subject in the real 3-D space; ¶30: surface properties and textural properties of the actor can be used to generate a 3-D geometry with textures and colors that match the actual actor at a level of detail that can capture every fold in the actor's clothing; ¶45: generating a 3-D representation of the subject in a virtual 3-D space (104), where the texture and geometry of the 3-D representation can be generated based on the texture and geometries captured in the plurality of 2-D video sequences from the cameras, such that the motion of the 3-D representation in the virtual 3-D space can match the motion of the subject in the real 3-D space; ¶46: generate 3D representation of geometry and textures can then be applied to the 3D representation)
Cordes and Koch are directed to camera systems for capturing moving objects for recording video. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the system and method for moving a camera based on a recorded subject’s movement as provided by Cordes, by further using the captured video of a subject to generate a 3D model for providing a textured animated representation for generating video as provided by Koch, using known electronic interfacing and programming techniques. The modification results in an improved video processing system for generating actor-based film or video by allowing easier implementation of additional special effects, and providing easier implementation for more dynamic and artistic content.
Regarding claim 16, the system of claim 3 comprises substantially the same components as claim 16 and as such claim 16 is rejected based on the same rationale as claim 3 set forth above.
Regarding claim 4, Cordes modified by Koch further discloses:
wherein the controller is further configured to render video data that depicts an acting performance of the subject in a video scene using the generated three-dimensional representation of the subject. (Koch, ¶3: A geometry and texture of the 3-D representation may be generated based on the plurality of 2D video sequences, and motion of the 3-D representation in the virtual 3-D space may be based on motion of the subject in the real 3-D space; ¶30-31 discloses using actor for motion sequence and generating new synthetic views of motion sequence, such as fight scenes, etc.; ¶45: generating a 3-D representation of the subject in a virtual 3-D space (104), where the texture and geometry of the 3-D representation can be generated based on the texture and geometries captured in the plurality of 2-D video sequences from the cameras, such that the motion of the 3-D representation in the virtual 3-D space can match the motion of the subject in the real 3-D space; ¶47: generating 2D video sequence using new camera view in virtual 3D space)
Cordes and Koch are directed to camera systems for capturing moving objects for recording video. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the system and method for moving a camera based on a recorded subject’s movement as provided by Cordes, by further using the captured video of a subject to generate a 3D model for providing a textured animated representation for generating video as provided by Koch, using known electronic interfacing and programming techniques. The modification results in an improved video processing system for generating actor-based film or video by allowing easier implementation of additional special effects, and providing easier implementation for more dynamic and artistic content.
Regarding claim 17, the system of claim 4 comprises substantially the same components as claim 17 and as such claim 17 is rejected based on the same rationale as claim 4 set forth above.
Regarding claim 5, Cordes further discloses:
wherein the video scene comprises at least one of a two-dimensional video scene or a three-dimensional video scene. (Cordes, Fig. 2 and ¶81: scenery images presented on displays 104 to generate immersive environment; ¶86 discloses dynamically changing scenery images, i.e. clouds moving or trees blowing in wind; ¶114 discloses video display screens; ¶125: the processing unit or another component of system 1400 can include and/or operate a real-time gaming engine or other similar real-time rendering engine. Such an engine can render two-dimensional (2D) images from 3D data at interactive frame rates (e.g., 24, 48, 72, 96, or more frames per second). In one aspect, the real-time gaming engine can load the virtual environment for display on the displays surrounding the performance area)
Regarding claim 18, the system of claim 5 comprises substantially the same components as claim 18 and as such claim 18 is rejected based on the same rationale as claim 5 set forth above.
Regarding claim 6, Cordes further discloses:
wherein the rendered video data includes the acting performance of the subject in the video scene in combination with background environment content that is rendered from the perspective of the subject (Cordes, ¶8: Based on the orientation and movement (and other attributes such as lens aperture and focal length) of the taking camera, the content production system can adjust a portion of the virtual environment displayed by the immersive cave or walls in real-time or at interactive frame rates to correspond to orientation and position of the camera. In this way, images of the virtual environment can be perspective-correct (from the tracked position and perspective of the taking camera) over a performance of the performer; ¶13: the images of the virtual environment can be updated over a performance such that the perspective of the virtual environment displayed compensates for corresponding changes to the positioning and orientation of the taking camera, where a particular portion of the LED or LCD walls can display images of the global view render or images of the perspective-correct render depending on the position and orientation of the taking camera at a given point during a performance; ¶15: The performer is at least partially surrounded by one or more displays presenting images of a virtual environment; ¶85: taking camera 112 can move during a performance as performer 210 moves – i.e. coordinating movement results in content rendered from perspective of subject, as when performer moves, camera moves and perspective of virtual environment is updated to change in positioning)
Regarding claim 19, the system of claim 6 comprises substantially the same components as claim 19 and as such claim 19 is rejected based on the same rationale as claim 6 set forth above.
Regarding claim 8, Cordes further discloses:
further comprising a plurality of display panels configured to display video content within the area (Cordes, Fig. 1 and ¶¶69-71: image displays 104 for displaying virtual environment content; ¶81: Scenery images 214 of the virtual environment can be presented on the displays 104 to generate the immersive environment in which performer 210 can conduct his or her performance)
Regarding claim 9, Cordes further disclose:
wherein the controller is further configured to transmit video content to the plurality of display panels for display, the video content displayed by the plurality of display panels comprising a multidimensional scene (Cordes, Fig. 2 and ¶81: Scenery images 214 of the virtual environment can be presented on the displays 104 to generate the immersive environment in which performer 210 can conduct his or her performance)
Regarding claim 10, Cordes further disclose:
wherein the sensor data is captured while the multidimensional scene is displayed by the plurality of display panels (Cordes, Fig. 2 and ¶81: Scenery images 214 of the virtual environment can be presented on the displays 104 to generate the immersive environment in which performer 210 can conduct his or her performance (e.g., act out a scene in a movie being produced; ¶82: Scenery images 214 can also provide background for the video content captured by a taking camera 112 (e.g., a visible light camera))
Regarding claim 13, Cordes further discloses:
wherein the relative motion of the subject is determined relative to the plurality of display panels (Cordews, ¶8: Based on the orientation and movement (and other attributes such as lens aperture and focal length) of the taking camera, the content production system can adjust a portion of the virtual environment displayed by the immersive cave or walls in real-time or at interactive frame rates to correspond to orientation and position of the camera. In this way, images of the virtual environment can be perspective-correct (from the tracked position and perspective of the taking camera) over a performance of the performer; ¶13: the images of the virtual environment can be updated over a performance such that the perspective of the virtual environment displayed compensates for corresponding changes to the positioning and orientation of the taking camera, where a particular portion of the LED or LCD walls can display images of the global view render or images of the perspective-correct render depending on the position and orientation of the taking camera at a given point during a performance; ¶15: The performer is at least partially surrounded by one or more displays presenting images of a virtual environment; ¶85: embodiments of the invention can render the portion 326 of the displays 104 that corresponds to frustum 318 as perspective-correct images that can update based on movement of the taking camera 112, where taking camera 112 can move during a performance as performer 210 moves – i.e. coordinating movement results in content rendered from perspective of subject, as when performer moves, camera moves and perspective of virtual environment is updated to change in positioning)
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Cordes et al. (US 2020/0145644 A1) in view of
Koch et al. (US 2015/0294492 A1) and
Aman et al. (US 2007/0279494 A1), and in further view of
Calabrese et al. (Calabrese et al., “DHP19: Dynamic Vision Sensor 3D Human Pose Dataset, 2019; 10 pages – reference provided in 8/28/2025 IDS)
Regarding claim 7, the limitations included from claim 1 are rejected based on the same rationale as claim 1 set forth above. Further regarding claim 7, Calabrese discloses:
wherein the controller is further configured to filter one or more other objects in the area that are within a field of view of the plurality of sensors. (Calabrese, p. 5, left column, “DVS events preprocessing”: The raw event streams are preprocessed using a set of filters to clean them from the unwanted signal, including removing background activity, hot pixels, and mask out spots where events are generated due to infrared light emitted from BMC cameras)
Cordes, Koch, Aman and Calabrese are directed to camera systems for capturing moving objects for recording video. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the system and method for moving a camera based on a recorded subject’s movement as provided by Cordes, using the captured video of a subject from multiple tracking cameras as provided by Koch, and incorporating the technique of data communication between devices for controlling the automatic control of camera orientation/position to follow target objects for recording as provided by Aman, by further utilizing the filtering of image data to remove unwanted objects/features/noise as provided by Calabrese, using known electronic interfacing and programming techniques. The modification results in an improved image processing of videos of actors by cleaning up the images to remove unwanted or undesired features of the recorded video for clearer and improved visual results.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Cordes et al. (US 2020/0145644 A1) in view of
Koch et al. (US 2015/0294492 A1) and
Aman et al. (US 2007/0279494 A1) and in further view of
Khalid et al. (US 2017/0287220 A1).
Regarding claim 11, the limitations included from claim 8 are rejected based on the same rationale as claim 8 set forth above. Further regarding claim 11, Cordes discloses presenting a fully immersive display of video content or scenery images surrounding a performer (see Cordes Fig. 2 and ¶80-81). The only limitation not explicitly taught is how the video content is captured. Cordes discusses use of 360-degree video, but is not explicitly clear as to the use (see Cordes, ¶¶138-140)
Khalid discloses:
wherein the video content comprises video data captured using a 360-degree camera (In particular, Khalid discloses a technique for capturing surround video for presentation in a fully immersive environment using a 360 degree camera; in particular, Khalid, ¶27: 360 degree video; Fig. 4 and ¶51: system operates with 360-degree camera 402 to capture and generate 3650 degree image of real-world scenery corresponding to camera; ¶52: camera 402 incorporated with content creator system to capture and process representative 360 degree images of real-world scenery and transmit to data to system to process, where After preparing and/or processing the data representative of the 360-degree images to generate an immersive virtual reality world based on the 360-degree images, system 100 may provide overall data representative of the immersive virtual reality world to media player devices 206; Figs. 10A-10B and ¶¶85-86 discusses perspective of view for user with content sectors 1002; Also see Fig. 13 and ¶97)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the system and method for moving a camera based on a recorded subject’s movement which presents images on displays s as provided by Cordes, using the captured video of a subject from multiple tracking cameras as provided by Koch, and incorporating the technique of data communication between devices for controlling the automatic control of camera orientation/position to follow target objects for recording as provided by Aman, by obtaining the surround video images for presenting in a content creator system from a 360 degree camera as provided by Khalid, using known electronic interfacing and programming techniques. The modification merely substitutes one known type of image data for surround scenery images and video for another, yielding predictable results of obtaining video data for an immersive display from a 360-degree video camera, as opposed to other types of capture techniques or other types of video footage. Moreover, the modification results in an improved immersive content creation system by allowing for additional capture of scenery for use with the content generation system, allowing more creative input by a user/director for generating the immersive content.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Cordes et al. (US 2020/0145644 A1) in view of
Koch et al. (US 2015/0294492 A1),
Aman et al. (US 2007/0279494 A1) and
Khalid et al. (US 2017/0287220 A1) and in further view of
Sanders et al. (US 2015/0348326 A1)
Regarding claim 12, the limitations included from claim 11 are rejected based on the same rationale as claim 11 set forth above. Further regarding claim 12, Cordes discloses:
wherein the sensor data captures an acting performance of the subject using the plurality of sensors, (Cordes, ¶¶7-8: images presented in immersive environment in which a performance area is completely surrounded by display screens on which the immersive content is presented, and performance of performer as well as virtual environment displayed on image is captured by a camera; ¶81: Scenery images 214 of the virtual environment can be presented on the displays 104 to generate the immersive environment in which performer 210 can conduct his or her performance; ¶93: And, as immersive content is presented and updated on the displays, taking camera 112 can film the performance at the frame rate generating video of one or more performers and/or props on the stage with the immersive content generated in block 506 and displayed per block 508 in the background) and a target scene for the subject's acting performance (Cordes, ¶29: capturing plurality of images of performer performing in a performance area using a camera, and generating content based on the plurality of captured images; ¶109: At the end of the filming session, content captured by the taking cameras can then be used or further processed using various post processing techniques and systems to generate content, such as movies, television programming, online or streamed videos, etc.; )
Cordes modified by Koch, Aman and Khalid further discloses:
wherein the 360-degree camera captures a target scene (In particular, Khalid discloses a technique for capturing surround video for presentation in a fully immersive environment using a 360 degree camera; in particular, Khalid, ¶27: 360 degree video; Fig. 4 and ¶51: system operates with 360-degree camera 402 to capture and generate 3650 degree image of real-world scenery corresponding to camera; ¶52: camera 402 incorporated with content creator system to capture and process representative 360 degree images of real-world scenery and transmit to data to system to process, where After preparing and/or processing the data representative of the 360-degree images to generate an immersive virtual reality world based on the 360-degree images, system 100 may provide overall data representative of the immersive virtual reality world to media player devices 206; Figs. 10A-10B and ¶¶85-86 discusses perspective of view for user with content sectors 1002; Also see Fig. 13 and ¶97)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the system and method for moving a camera based on a recorded subject’s movement which presents images on displays s as provided by Cordes, using the captured video of a subject from multiple tracking cameras as provided by Koch, and incorporating the technique of data communication between devices for controlling the automatic control of camera orientation/position to follow target objects for recording as provided by Aman, by obtaining the surround video images for presenting in a content creator system from a 360 degree camera as provided by Khalid, using known electronic interfacing and programming techniques. The modification merely substitutes one known type of image data for surround scenery images and video for another, yielding predictable results of obtaining video data for an immersive display from a 360-degree video camera, as opposed to other types of capture techniques or other types of video footage. Moreover, the modification results in an improved immersive content creation system by allowing for additional capture of scenery for use with the content generation system, allowing more creative input by a user/director for generating the immersive content.
The only limitation not explicitly taught is that an actor’s performance is inserted into a target scene, as opposed to recorded with the performance itself.
Sanders discloses:
a target scene into which the subject's acting performance is to be inserted (Sanders, ¶59: subject 802 can be captured by camera 806 in a motion capture scenario; ¶60: The performance of subject 802 can be received by a computer system that uses the motion capture information to influence the movement of a virtual character 808, and the 3-D virtual scene and the movement of the virtual character 808 can be rendered in real time and presented in the second virtual-reality environment 812; ¶62: recorded subject performance combined in single virtual reality environment – see Fig. 8)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the system and method for moving a camera based on a recorded subject’s movement which presents images on displays s as provided by Cordes, using the captured video of a subject from multiple tracking cameras as provided by Koch, and incorporating the technique of data communication between devices for controlling the automatic control of camera orientation/position to follow target objects for recording as provided by Aman, and obtaining the surround video images for presenting in a content creator system from a 360 degree camera as provided by Khalid, by further inserting an actor’s performance into a separately obtained scene as provided by Sanders, using known electronic interfacing and programming techniques. The modification results in an improved system and technique for generating video based on an actor’s performance by allowing for more creative license and more easily allowing for additional effects without requiring all production to be local in space and time; also reducing costs.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM A BEUTEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616