DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,077,063. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
Note: the underlined portions of ‘063 are what the examiner considers to not be patentably distinct from the claimed invention.
Patent Application: 18/793226
U.S. Patent: 12,077,063
An apparatus for detecting a malfunction configured to detect a malfunction of an indicator configured to display a charging state of a vehicle battery according to a control signal, the apparatus comprising: an interrupt generation unit configured to generate an interrupt signal when the control signal satisfies a preset predetermined event; a voltage detection unit configured to convert an analog value of the control signal to a digital value to detect a voltage value of the control signal; and a determination unit configured to determine at least one among whether the indicator malfunctions and a malfunction type on the basis of at least one among whether the indicator operates, whether the interrupt signal is generated, and the voltage value of the control signal.
1. An apparatus for detecting a malfunction configured to detect a malfunction of an indicator configured to display a charging state of a vehicle battery according to a control signal, the apparatus comprising: an interrupt generation unit configured to generate an interrupt signal when the control signal satisfies a preset predetermined event; a voltage detection unit configured to convert an analog value of the control signal to a digital value to detect a voltage value of the control signal; and a determination unit configured to determine at least one among whether a malfunction occurrence is indicated by the indicator and a malfunction type based on at least one among whether the indicator operates, whether the interrupt signal is generated, and the voltage value of the control signal, wherein the determination unit is configured to determine whether a malfunction occurrence is indicated by the indicator when the interrupt signal is not generated while the indicator operates.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the determination unit determines whether the indicator malfunctions and the malfunction type according to whether the interrupt signal is generated and the voltage value of the control signal when it is determined that the indicator operates.
5. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the determination unit determines that the malfunction occurs in the indicator when the interrupt signal is not generated.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the determination unit determines whether a malfunction occurrence is indicated by the indicator and the malfunction type according to the voltage value of the control signal when it is determined that the indicator operates and the interrupt signal is generated.
3. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the determination unit determines that the indicator normally operates when the interrupt signal is generated, and the voltage value of the control signal is included in a range larger than a first threshold value and smaller than a second threshold value larger than the first threshold value, and determines that the malfunction occurs in the indicator when the interrupt signal is generated, and the voltage value of the control signal is not included in the range larger than the first threshold value and smaller than the second threshold value.
3. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the determination unit is configured to determine whether the indicator normally operates when the interrupt signal is generated, and the voltage value of the control signal is in a range larger than a first threshold value and smaller than a second threshold value that is larger than the first threshold value, and that a malfunction occurrence is indicated by the indicator when the interrupt signal is generated, and the voltage value of the control signal is not in the range larger than the first threshold value and smaller than the second threshold value.
4. The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the determination unit determines the malfunction type of the indicator as a short to ground when the interrupt signal is generated and the voltage value of the control signal is smaller than or equal to the first threshold value, and determines the malfunction type of the indicator as a cable open when the voltage value of the control signal is larger than or equal to the second threshold value.
4. The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the determination unit is configured to determine whether the malfunction type of the indicator indicates a short to ground when the interrupt signal is generated and the voltage value of the control signal is smaller than or equal to the first threshold value, and determines the malfunction type of the indicator as a cable open when the voltage value of the control signal is larger than or equal to the second threshold value.
6. The apparatus of claim 5, wherein the determination unit determines the malfunction type of the indicator as a short to ground when the voltage value of the control signal is smaller than or equal to a third threshold value, and determines the malfunction type of the indicator as a short to battery when the voltage value of the control signal is larger than the third threshold value.
5. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the determination unit is configured to determine whether the malfunction type of the indicator indicates a short to ground when the voltage value of the control signal is smaller than or equal to a third threshold value, and that the malfunction type of the indicator indicates a short to battery when the voltage value of the control signal is larger than the third threshold value.
7. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the determination unit determines whether the indicator malfunctions and the malfunction type according to the voltage value of the control signal when it is determined that the indicator does not operate.
6. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the determination unit is configured to determine whether a malfunction occurrence is indicated by the indicator and the malfunction type according to the voltage value of the control signal when it is determined that the indicator does not operate.
8. The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the determination unit determines that the indicator is in a normal state when the voltage value of the control signal is smaller than or equal to a fourth threshold value.
7. The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the determination unit is configured to determine that the indicator is in a normal state when the voltage value of the control signal is smaller than or equal to a fourth threshold value.
9. A method of detecting a malfunction using an apparatus for detecting a malfunction configured to detect a malfunction of an indicator configured to display a charging state of a vehicle battery according to a control signal, the method comprising: generating an interrupt signal when the control signal satisfies a preset predetermined event; converting an analog value of the control signal to a digital value to detect a voltage value of the control signal; and determining at least one among whether the indicator malfunctions and a malfunction type on the basis of at least one among whether the indicator operates, whether the interrupt signal is generated, and the voltage value of the control signal.
8. A method of detecting a malfunction using an apparatus for detecting a malfunction configured to detect a malfunction of an indicator configured to display a charging state of a vehicle battery according to a control signal, the method comprising: generating an interrupt signal when the control signal satisfies a preset predetermined condition; converting an analog value of the control signal to a digital value to detect a voltage value of the control signal; and determining at least one among whether the indicator malfunctions and a malfunction type based on at least one among whether the
indicator operates, whether the interrupt signal is generated, and the voltage value of the control signal, wherein the determining at least one among whether a malfunction occurrence is indicated by the indicator and the malfunction type includes: determining whether the indicator operates; and determining whether a malfunction occurrence is indicated by the indicator when the interrupt signal is not generated while the indicator operates.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the determining at least one among whether the indicator malfunctions and the malfunction type includes determining whether the indicator operates, and determining whether the interrupt signal is generated according to the determination result of whether the indicator operates to determine at least one among whether the indicator malfunctions and the malfunction type.
16. The method of claim 13, wherein the determining at least one among whether the indicator malfunctions and the malfunction type includes determining that the malfunction occurs in the indicator when the interrupt signal is not generated.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the determining at least one among whether a malfunction occurrence is indicated by the indicator and the malfunction type includes determining whether the indicator operates, and determining whether the interrupt signal is generated according to the determination result of whether the indicator operates to determine at least one among whether a malfunction occurrence is indicated by the indicator and the malfunction type.
11. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the determination unit determines whether the indicator operates, and determines whether the interrupt signal is generated according to the determination result of whether the indicator operates to determine at least one among whether the indicator malfunctions and the malfunction type.
10. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the determination unit is configured to determine whether the indicator operates, and whether the interrupt signal is generated according to the determination result of whether the indicator operates to determine at least one among whether a malfunction occurrence is indicated by the indicator and the malfunction type.
12. The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the determination unit determines the malfunction type of the indicator as a short to battery when the voltage value of the control signal is larger than the fourth threshold value.
11. The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the determination unit is configured to determine whether the malfunction type of the indicator indicates a short to battery when the voltage value of the control signal is larger than the fourth threshold value.
13. The method of claim 10, wherein the determining at least one among whether the indicator malfunctions and the malfunction type includes determining whether the indicator malfunctions and the malfunction type according to whether the interrupt signal is generated and the voltage value of the control signal when it is determined that the indicator operates.
12. The method of claim 9, wherein the determining at least one among whether a malfunction occurrence is indicated by the indicator and the malfunction type includes determining whether a malfunction occurrence is indicated by the indicator and the malfunction type according to whether the interrupt signal is generated and the voltage value of the control signal when it is determined that the indicator operates.
14. The method of claim 13, wherein the determining at least one among whether the indicator malfunctions and the malfunction type includes determining that the indicator normally operates when the interrupt signal is generated, and the voltage value of the control signal is included in a range larger than a first threshold value and smaller than a second threshold value larger than the first threshold value, and determining that the malfunction occurs in the indicator when the interrupt signal is generated, and the voltage value of the control signal is not included in the range larger than the first threshold value and smaller than the second threshold value.
13. The method of claim 12, wherein the determining at least one among whether a malfunction occurrence is indicated by the indicator and the malfunction type includes determining whether the indicator normally operates when the interrupt signal is generated, and whether the voltage value of the control signal is in a range larger than a first threshold value and smaller than a second threshold value that is larger than the first threshold value, and determining whether a malfunction occurrence is indicated by the indicator when the interrupt signal is generated, and whether the voltage value of the control signal is not in the range larger than the first threshold value and smaller than the second threshold value.
15. The method of claim 14, wherein the determining at least one among whether the indicator malfunctions and the malfunction type includes determining the malfunction type of the indicator as a short to ground when the interrupt signal is generated and the voltage value of the control signal is smaller than or equal to the first threshold value, and determining the malfunction type of the indicator as a cable open when the voltage value of the control signal is larger than or equal to the second threshold value.
14. The method of claim 13, wherein the determining at least one among whether a malfunction occurrence is indicated by the indicator and the malfunction type includes determining whether the malfunction type of the indicator as indicates a short to ground when the interrupt signal is generated and whether the voltage value of the control signal is smaller than or equal to the first threshold value, and determining whether the malfunction type of the indicator indicates a cable open when the voltage value of the control signal is larger than or equal to the second threshold value.
17. The method of claim 16, wherein the determining at least one among whether the indicator malfunctions and the malfunction type includes determining the malfunction type of the indicator as a short to ground when the voltage value of the control signal is smaller than or equal to a third threshold value, and determining the malfunction type of the indicator as a short to battery when the voltage value of the control signal is larger than the third threshold value.
15. The method of claim 8, wherein the determining at least one among whether a malfunction occurrence is indicated by the indicator and the malfunction type includes determining whether the malfunction type of the indicator indicates a short to ground when the voltage value of the control signal is smaller than or equal to a third threshold value, and whether the malfunction type of the indicator indicates a short to battery when the voltage value of the control signal is larger than the third threshold value.
18. The method of claim 9, wherein the determining at least one among whether the indicator malfunctions and the malfunction type includes determining whether the indicator malfunctions and the malfunction type according to the voltage value of the control signal when it is determined that the indicator does not operate.
16. The method of claim 8, wherein the determining at least one among whether a malfunction occurrence is indicated by the indicator and the malfunction type includes determining whether the indicator malfunctions and the malfunction type according to the voltage value of the control signal when it is determined that the indicator does not operate.
19. The method of claim 18, wherein the determining at least one among whether the indicator malfunctions and the malfunction type includes determining that the indicator is in a normal state when the voltage value of the control signal is smaller than or equal to a fourth threshold value.
17. The method of claim 16, wherein the determining at least one among whether a malfunction occurrence is indicated by the indicator and the malfunction type includes determining whether the indicator is in a normal state when the voltage value of the control signal is smaller than or equal to a fourth threshold value.
20. The method of claim 19, wherein the determining at least one among whether the indicator malfunctions and the malfunction type includes determining the malfunction type of the indicator as a short to battery when the voltage value of the control signal is larger than the fourth threshold value.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the determining at least one among whether a malfunction occurrence is indicated by the indicator and the malfunction type includes determining whether the malfunction type of the indicator indicates a short to battery when the voltage value of the control signal is larger than the fourth threshold value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7, 9-11, 13, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connolly et al. (2019/0296565) in view of Chan et al. (2012/0013479) further in view of HE et al. (2017/0203654).
With respect to claim 1, Connolly et al. teaches an apparatus (206) for detecting a malfunction configured to detect a malfunction of an indicator (i.e. an indicator light; [0012]) configured to display a charging state (i.e. a overtemperature state voltage or fault state voltages; [0003]) of a vehicle battery (142) according to a control signal (i.e. a control pilot signal), the apparatus (206) comprising: an interrupt generation unit (206) configured to generate an interrupt signal (i.e. as the interruption device 206 creates an interrupt signal responsive to one or more conditions; [0031]) when the control signal satisfies a preset predetermined event (i.e. for example, voltage values; [0034]), ; a voltage detection unit (i.e. a voltage detection unit within the cordset control configured to detect voltage issues; [0038]) to detect a voltage value of the control signal [0038] and a determination unit (210) configured to determine a malfunction on the basis of at least whether the interrupt signal is generated (i.e. as s416 generates a notification based on the detected voltage interruption) and the voltage value of the control signal (s 414, which determines based on the signal a voltage indicative of a overtemperature).
Connolly et al. remains silent regarding convert[ing] an analog value of the control signal to a digital value; and a determination unit configured to determine at least one among whether the indicator malfunctions and a malfunction type on the basis of at least one among whether the indicator operates.
Chan et al. teaches a similar apparatus having a determination unit (105) configured to determine at least one among whether an indicator malfunctions (as Fig. 1 depicts a error detection module 105 if a LED module is operating correctly; [0015]) and a malfunction type (i.e. a short circuit or driving circuit abnormality; [0015]) on the basis of at least one among whether the indicator operates [0015].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the apparatus and determination unit of Connolly et al. to include the structure and control logic of Chan et al. such that a malfunction in a light indicator can be monitored, because Chan et al. teaches the modification prevents unnecessary waste of energy when no such detection/protection measure for the LED module is in place [0005].
Connolly et al. as modified remains silent regarding convert[ing] an analog value of the control signal to a digital value.
HE et al. teaches using an ADC in a circuit similar to Connolly et al.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the instant invention to modify the circuit of Connolly et al. to include the ADC of HE et al. because such digital data is easier to store, compress, encrypt, and transmit without picking up the noise or distortion that degrades raw analog signals, thereby improving Connolly et al.
The method steps of claim 9 are performed during the operation of the rejected structure of claim 1.
With respect to claim 2, Connolly et al. as modified teaches wherein the determination unit (210) determines whether the indicator malfunctions and the malfunction type according to whether the interrupt signal (via 206) is generated and the voltage value of the control signal when it is determined that the indicator operates (as the determination unit is able to determine indicator malfunctions and type based on the signal having the voltage value, as modified, when the LED light operates and is monitored by the structure taught by Chan et al.).
The method steps of claim 10 are performed during the operation of the rejected structure of claim 2.
With respect to claim 5, Connolly et al. as modified teaches wherein the determination unit (210, as modified) determines that the malfunction occurs in the indicator (LED) when the interrupt signal (via 206) is not generated (as the combination as a whole teaches the apparatus detects malfunctions in the LED indicator even when an interrupt signal is not generated, as two different set of components are monitoring the interrupt signal and the LED module).
The method steps of claim 16 are performed during the operation of the rejected structure of claim 5.
With respect to claim 7, Connolly et al. as modified teaches wherein the determination unit (210, as modified) determines whether the indicator malfunctions (i.e. the LED light) and the malfunction type according to the voltage value of the control signal (via 206) when it is determined that the indicator does not operate (as the determination unit determines the indicator malfunctions and the type of malfunction when the indicator does not operate, via the combination as a whole, as Chan et al. includes structure that allows the determination unit to determine when the LED light is malfunctioning).
The method steps of claim 18 are performed during the operation of the rejected structure of claim 7.
With respect to claim 11, Connolly et al. as modified teaches wherein the determination unit (210, as modified) determines whether the indicator operates (LED, via the structure of Chan et al.), and determines whether the interrupt signal (via 206) is generated according to the determination result of whether the indicator (i.e. LED light) operates to determine at least one among whether the indicator malfunctions and the malfunction type (as the combination as a whole teaches generating the control signal based on the result of the structure taught in Chan et al. when determining the LED is malfunctioning).
With respect to claim 13, Connolly et al. as modified teaches wherein the determining at least one among whether the indicator malfunctions and the malfunction type (210, as modified) includes determining whether the indicator malfunctions and the malfunction type according to whether the interrupt signal (via 206) is generated and the voltage value of the control signal when it is determined that the indicator operates (as the combination, as a whole, teaches using the control logic and structure of Chan et al., to determine if the indicator malfunctions and types from the control signal and the voltage values in the signal when the indicator operators).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 6, 8, 12, 14-15, 17, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rubio et al. (2012/0133282) which teaches an indicator system for a vehicle.
/MATTHEW G MARINI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853