Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 21–24 and 26–33 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: There were two inventions in the restriction filed on 06/23/2026. Applicant selected invention II. The newly submitted claims are the unelected invention I and will not be addressed in this rejection. Newly submitted claims 20, 25 and 34–35 are directed to the selected invention II and will be addressed in the rejection below.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 20–33 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: valve box, valve stem, valve shaft, housing.
Fig. 1, element 20 seems to be pointing to a shaft, but it is referenced as a valve box.
The shading in Figs. 1 and 3 is not clear enough to determine the elements.
Figs. 5–12 and 14 are blurry.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: housing and housing body have the same reference number “106.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16–19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoots et al. (US PGPub 20120193558 A1) in view of Smith et al. (US PGPub 20150323098 A1), in further view of Sakatani (USPN 7034711 B2).
Figure 1 - Smith Annotated Fig. 7
Regarding Claim 16, Smith discloses a system comprising: a plurality of valves (Fig. 7, where the number of valves is a design choice), wherein each valve is an isolation valve configured for use in a water transmission system (Para. 3), each valve comprising: a valve body (Smith Annotated Fig. 7); a flow metering body that is movable within the valve body (Smith Annotated Fig. 7) about and between a closed position and a fully open position; a stem (Smith Annotated Fig. 7) coupled to the flow metering body, wherein rotation of the stem (Smith Annotated Fig. 7) is configured to move the flow metering body between the closed position and the fully open position but does not disclose a plurality of valve position monitors.
Hoots teaches a plurality of valve position monitors (10) in order to determine the valve status (Para. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve of Smith with a valve position monitor as taught by Hoots in order to ensure that the valve is in the proper position.
Per the Smith–Hoots combination, Hoots valve position monitor 10 is located above Smith’s element 32.
The Smith–Hoots combination teaches each valve position monitor (Hoots 10) of the plurality of valve position monitors is retrofit (Hoots Para. 27) to a respective valve (Smith Annotated Fig. 7) of the plurality of valves, wherein each valve position monitor comprises: a housing (Hoots 42/44) that is configured to be received within and non-rotatably coupled to a valve box of the water transmission system (Smith Para. 22, where Smith’s element 12 is inserted into the valve box, Fig. 1A, element 12 is connected to element 18, Fig. 4, where element 18 is connected to element 32, and Hoots’ valve position monitor 10 is located above Smith’s element 32, as a result the housing is located within the valve box); a shaft (Hoots 48) disposed within and rotatable relative to the housing (Hoots 42/44, Para. 30) but does not teach the shaft having a first end and a second end, wherein the second end comprises a nut configured for engagement of a wrench.
Hoots teaches “a threaded aperture 50 for receiving a bolt or screw to hold the handle 22 on the shaft 48. . . an interference fit, a set screw or other conventional means” Para. 29.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify shaft with a second end comprises a nut configured for engagement of a wrench, since a nut and a bolt or screw to hold the handle on the shaft. . . an interference fit, a set screw are known equivalents for their use in the securing art and the selection of any of these known equivalents to secure two elements together would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
The Smith–Hoots combination teaches the shaft (Hoots 48) having a first end and a second end, wherein the second end comprises a nut configured for engagement of a wrench (where any tool capable of rotating a shaft can be used including a wrench); a square or rectangular receptacle (Hoots 68 and Para. 30 where the shape of the receptacle is ambiguous, thus, the receptacle may be a square or rectangular) at the first end of the shaft that receives and couples to the stem (Smith Annotated Fig. 7) of the respective valve (Smith Annotated Fig. 7); a rotation sensor (Hoots 76/78/80/82/84/86) that is configured to detect a position of the valve stem (Smith Annotated Fig. 7) and output a signal corresponding to a rotational position (Hoots Para. 3) of the valve stem (Smith Annotated Fig. 7) but does not disclose the transmission of the position sensor information to a user.
Sakatani teaches a transmitter (10) in communication with the sensor in order to be able to determine the valve status from a remote position (Col. 16, Lines 19–23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor communication of the Smith–Hoots combination with a communication system as taught by Hoots in order to determine the valve status from a remote position.
The Smith–Hoots–Sakatani combination teaches a transmitter (Sakatani 10) in communication with the rotation sensor (Hoots 76/78/80/82/84/86) wherein the transmitter (Sakatani 10) is configured to wirelessly transmit a signal corresponding to the rotational position (Hoots 76/78/80/82/84/86) of the valve stem (Smith Annotated Fig. 7), Sakatani Col. 10, Lines 20–31, which describes the steps of receiving information from a sensor and outputting the electrical signal; a display device (Sakatani Col. 14, Lines 29–34); and a computing device (Hoots Para. 34, controller/Sakatani 2, please note that Hoots’ position sensor signal replaces Sakatani’s vibration and temperature modules) in communication with the transmitter (Sakatani 10) of each valve (Smith Annotated Fig. 7) of the plurality of valves and the display device (Sakatani Col. 14, Lines 29–34), wherein the computing device comprises at least one processor (Sakatani 9) and a memory (Sakatani 8), wherein the memory comprises instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Sakatani 9), cause the at least one processor to: receive the signal corresponding to the rotational position of the valve stem (Hoots Para. 34) from a valve of the plurality of valves, and display, on the display device (Sakatani Col. 14, Lines 29–34), a value corresponding to a relative position of the valve.
Regarding Claim 17, the Smith–Hoots–Sakatani combination teaches the memory comprises instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Sakatani 9), cause the at least one processor to: convert the signal from the rotation sensor to the relative position of the valve based on at least one calibration setting (Hoots Claim 16).
Regarding Claim 18, the Smith–Hoots–Sakatani combination teaches an input device that is in communication with the computing device, wherein the input device is configured to receive the at least one calibration setting, wherein the at least one calibration setting comprises a first value corresponding to a rotational position of the valve stem when the valve is fully open and a second value corresponding to a rotational position of the valve stem when the valve is fully closed (Hoots Claim 16).
Regarding Claim 19, the Smith–Hoots–Sakatani combination teaches the memory (Sakatani 8) comprises instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Sakatani 9), cause the at least one processor (Sakatani 9) to: compare the rotational position of the shaft (Hoots 48) relative to a reference position (where the reference position is the initial position), Hoots Claim 16, where this is an inherent response when calibrating.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Clark et al (US PGPub 20130314239 A1) discloses a retro-fitted position sensor. Hart (USPN 3658086) discloses an underground valve.
/Angelisa L. Hicks/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3753