DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 08/02/2024 in which claims 1-18 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/18/2024 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 recites in line 2 “category the resuming” and it should be “category for resuming”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-12 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fujishiro et al. (US 2024/0373508) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Fujishiro”.
As to claim 1, Fujishiro teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0081], a method performed by a UE in communication with a gNB), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (BS), a radio resource control (RRC) release message (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0085], the UE 100 receives a RRC Release message from the gNB 200) including first information configuring an RRC inactive state (Fujishiro, [0086], the RRC release message includes configuration information for configuring threshold values per multicast session. “By including these pieces of configuration information in the RRC Release message, UE-specific configuration information can be efficiently transmitted to the UE 100…the UE 100 may determine that the multicast session can be received (reception is permitted) in the RRC idle or inactive state”. [0088]-[0089], additionally, the thresholds are used for multicast reception while in RRC inactive state), wherein the first information includes second information configuring multicast and broadcast service (MBS) reception in the RRC inactive state (Fujishiro, [0086], “The threshold value may be configured per multicast session. That is, the threshold value may be configured in association with the MRB configuration (MRB ID) or the multicast session ID (TMGI)”, [0070], MBS radio bearer (MRB) is one radio bearer transmitting a multicast session or a broadcast session);
receiving an MBS in the RRC inactive state based on the second information (Fujishiro, [0087]-[0088], the UE continues multicast reception in the RRC inactive state. The UE compares the multicast reception quality measured in step S107 with the threshold value configured by the gNB. “When the measured multicast reception quality is higher than the threshold value (step S108: NO), the UE 100 returns the processing to step S107. In this case, the UE 100 performs multicast reception while maintaining the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state”); and
identifying whether to resume an RRC connection for the MBS by transitioning from the RRC inactive state to an RRC connected state, based on the second information (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0089]-[0090], [0092]-[0093], the UE is in RRC inactive state and determines to resume the RRC based on the multicast reception quality being lower than the threshold value has continued for the first predetermined amount of time. [0086], the configuration information in the RRC Release message includes the threshold information and the first predetermined amount of time).
As to claim 2, Fujishiro teaches wherein the second information includes a parameter for resuming the RRC connection (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0089]-[0090], [0092]-[0093], the UE is in RRC inactive state and determines to resume the RRC based on the multicast reception quality being lower than the threshold value has continued for the first predetermined amount of time. [0086], the configuration information in the RRC Release message includes the threshold information and the first predetermined amount of time), and
wherein the parameter includes at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold or a received signal received quality (RSRQ) threshold (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0086], “The threshold value may be a radio quality threshold value such as a threshold value of Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), a threshold value of Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ)…”).
As to claim 3, Fujishiro teaches wherein identifying whether to resume the RRC connection comprises, in case that a measured RSRP is below the RSRP threshold or a measured RSRQ is below the RSRQ threshold, identifying to resume the RRC connection (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0086], the threshold includes a RSRP threshold and a RSRQ threshold. [0090], “when the measured multicast reception quality is lower than the threshold value (step S108: YES), the UE 100 starts the processing of transitioning to the RRC connected state…the case where the multicast reception quality is lower than the threshold”, [0091], “value may be a case where the radio quality (the RSRP, the RSRQ, and/or the SINR) is lower than the threshold value”, [0092], “When the state in which the multicast reception quality is lower than the threshold value continues for the first predetermined amount of time, the UE 100 may start the processing of transitioning to the RRC connected state”, [0093], “In a case of the RRC inactive state, the AS layer of the UE 100 may start RRC Resume”).
As to claim 6, Fujishiro teaches a method performed by a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0081], a method performed by a gNB in communication with a UE), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) release message (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0085], the UE 100 receives a RRC Release message from the gNB 200) including first information configuring an RRC inactive state (Fujishiro, [0086], the RRC release message includes configuration information for configuring threshold values per multicast session. “By including these pieces of configuration information in the RRC Release message, UE-specific configuration information can be efficiently transmitted to the UE 100…the UE 100 may determine that the multicast session can be received (reception is permitted) in the RRC idle or inactive state”. [0088]-[0089], additionally, the thresholds are used for multicast reception while in RRC inactive state), wherein the first information includes second information configuring multicast and broadcast service (MBS) reception in the RRC inactive state (Fujishiro, [0086], “The threshold value may be configured per multicast session. That is, the threshold value may be configured in association with the MRB configuration (MRB ID) or the multicast session ID (TMGI)”, [0070], MBS radio bearer (MRB) is one radio bearer transmitting a multicast session or a broadcast session); and
transmitting an MBS, to the UE in the RRC inactive state, based on the second information (Fujishiro, [0087]-[0088], the UE continues multicast reception in the RRC inactive state. The UE compares the multicast reception quality measured in step S107 with the threshold value configured by the gNB. “When the measured multicast reception quality is higher than the threshold value (step S108: NO), the UE 100 returns the processing to step S107. In this case, the UE 100 performs multicast reception while maintaining the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state”),
wherein the second information is for resuming an RRC connection by transitioning the UE from the RRC inactive state to an RRC connected state (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0089]-[0090], [0092]-[0093], the UE is in RRC inactive state and determines to resume the RRC based on the multicast reception quality being lower than the threshold value has continued for the first predetermined amount of time. [0086], the configuration information in the RRC Release message includes the threshold information and the first predetermined amount of time).
As to claim 7, Fujishiro teaches wherein the second information includes a parameter for resuming the RRC connection (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0089]-[0090], [0092]-[0093], the UE is in RRC inactive state and determines to resume the RRC based on the multicast reception quality being lower than the threshold value has continued for the first predetermined amount of time. [0086], the configuration information in the RRC Release message includes the threshold information and the first predetermined amount of time), and
wherein the parameter includes at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold or a received signal received quality (RSRQ) threshold (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0086], “The threshold value may be a radio quality threshold value such as a threshold value of Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), a threshold value of Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ)…”).
As to claim 8, Fujishiro teaches wherein the RRC connection is resumed, in case that a measured RSRP is below the RSRP threshold or a measured RSRQ is below the RSRQ threshold (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0086], the threshold includes a RSRP threshold and a RSRQ threshold. [0090], “when the measured multicast reception quality is lower than the threshold value (step S108: YES), the UE 100 starts the processing of transitioning to the RRC connected state…the case where the multicast reception quality is lower than the threshold”, [0091], “value may be a case where the radio quality (the RSRP, the RSRQ, and/or the SINR) is lower than the threshold value”, [0092], “When the state in which the multicast reception quality is lower than the threshold value continues for the first predetermined amount of time, the UE 100 may start the processing of transitioning to the RRC connected state”, [0093], “In a case of the RRC inactive state, the AS layer of the UE 100 may start RRC Resume”).
As to claim 10, Fujishiro teaches a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0081], a UE performing a method in communication with a gNB), the UE comprising:
a transceiver (Fujishiro, Fig. 2, [0028]-[0030], the UE includes a transmitter and a receiver); and
a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to (Fujishiro, Fig. 2, [0028]-[0031], the UE includes a controller connected to the transmitter and receiver to perform the functions of the UE):
receive, from a base station (BS), a radio resource control (RRC) release message (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0085], the UE 100 receives a RRC Release message from the gNB 200) including first information configuring an RRC inactive state (Fujishiro, [0086], the RRC release message includes configuration information for configuring threshold values per multicast session. “By including these pieces of configuration information in the RRC Release message, UE-specific configuration information can be efficiently transmitted to the UE 100…the UE 100 may determine that the multicast session can be received (reception is permitted) in the RRC idle or inactive state”. [0088]-[0089], additionally, the thresholds are used for multicast reception while in RRC inactive state), wherein the first information includes second information configuring multicast and broadcast service (MBS) reception in the RRC inactive state (Fujishiro, [0086], “The threshold value may be configured per multicast session. That is, the threshold value may be configured in association with the MRB configuration (MRB ID) or the multicast session ID (TMGI)”, [0070], MBS radio bearer (MRB) is one radio bearer transmitting a multicast session or a broadcast session),
receive an MBS in the RRC inactive state based on the second information (Fujishiro, [0087]-[0088], the UE continues multicast reception in the RRC inactive state. The UE compares the multicast reception quality measured in step S107 with the threshold value configured by the gNB. “When the measured multicast reception quality is higher than the threshold value (step S108: NO), the UE 100 returns the processing to step S107. In this case, the UE 100 performs multicast reception while maintaining the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state”), and
identify whether to resume an RRC connection by transitioning from the RRC inactive state to an RRC connected state for the MBS, based on the second information (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0089]-[0090], [0092]-[0093], the UE is in RRC inactive state and determines to resume the RRC based on the multicast reception quality being lower than the threshold value has continued for the first predetermined amount of time. [0086], the configuration information in the RRC Release message includes the threshold information and the first predetermined amount of time).
As to claim 11, Fujishiro teaches wherein the second information includes a parameter for resuming the RRC connection (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0089]-[0090], [0092]-[0093], the UE is in RRC inactive state and determines to resume the RRC based on the multicast reception quality being lower than the threshold value has continued for the first predetermined amount of time. [0086], the configuration information in the RRC Release message includes the threshold information and the first predetermined amount of time), and
wherein the parameter includes at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold or a received signal received quality (RSRQ) threshold (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0086], “The threshold value may be a radio quality threshold value such as a threshold value of Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), a threshold value of Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ)…”).
As to claim 12, Fujishiro teaches wherein the controller is further configured to resume the RRC connection, in case that a measured RSRP is below the RSRP threshold or a measured RSRQ is below the RSRQ threshold (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0086], the threshold includes a RSRP threshold and a RSRQ threshold. [0090], “when the measured multicast reception quality is lower than the threshold value (step S108: YES), the UE 100 starts the processing of transitioning to the RRC connected state…the case where the multicast reception quality is lower than the threshold”, [0091], “value may be a case where the radio quality (the RSRP, the RSRQ, and/or the SINR) is lower than the threshold value”, [0092], “When the state in which the multicast reception quality is lower than the threshold value continues for the first predetermined amount of time, the UE 100 may start the processing of transitioning to the RRC connected state”, [0093], “In a case of the RRC inactive state, the AS layer of the UE 100 may start RRC Resume”).
As to claim 15, Fujishiro teaches a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0081], a gNB performing a method in communication with a UE), the base station comprising:
a transceiver (Fujishiro, Fig. 3, [0032]-[0035], the gNB includes a transmitter and a receiver); and
a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to (Fujishiro, Fig. 3, [0032]-[0035], the gNB includes a controller connected to the transmitter and the receiver to perform the functions of the gNB):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) release message (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0085], the UE 100 receives a RRC Release message from the gNB 200) including first information configuring an RRC inactive state (Fujishiro, [0086], the RRC release message includes configuration information for configuring threshold values per multicast session. “By including these pieces of configuration information in the RRC Release message, UE-specific configuration information can be efficiently transmitted to the UE 100…the UE 100 may determine that the multicast session can be received (reception is permitted) in the RRC idle or inactive state”. [0088]-[0089], additionally, the thresholds are used for multicast reception while in RRC inactive state), wherein the first information includes second information configuring multicast and broadcast service (MBS) reception in the RRC inactive state (Fujishiro, [0086], “The threshold value may be configured per multicast session. That is, the threshold value may be configured in association with the MRB configuration (MRB ID) or the multicast session ID (TMGI)”, [0070], MBS radio bearer (MRB) is one radio bearer transmitting a multicast session or a broadcast session), and
transmit an MBS, to the UE in the RRC inactive state, based on the second information (Fujishiro, [0087]-[0088], the UE continues multicast reception in the RRC inactive state. The UE compares the multicast reception quality measured in step S107 with the threshold value configured by the gNB. “When the measured multicast reception quality is higher than the threshold value (step S108: NO), the UE 100 returns the processing to step S107. In this case, the UE 100 performs multicast reception while maintaining the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state”),
wherein the second information is for resuming an RRC connection by transitioning the UE from the RRC inactive state to an RRC connected state (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0089]-[0090], [0092]-[0093], the UE is in RRC inactive state and determines to resume the RRC based on the multicast reception quality being lower than the threshold value has continued for the first predetermined amount of time. [0086], the configuration information in the RRC Release message includes the threshold information and the first predetermined amount of time).
As to claim 16, Fujishiro teaches wherein the second information includes a parameter for resuming the RRC connection (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0089]-[0090], [0092]-[0093], the UE is in RRC inactive state and determines to resume the RRC based on the multicast reception quality being lower than the threshold value has continued for the first predetermined amount of time. [0086], the configuration information in the RRC Release message includes the threshold information and the first predetermined amount of time), and
wherein the parameter includes at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold or a received signal received quality (RSRQ) threshold (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0086], “The threshold value may be a radio quality threshold value such as a threshold value of Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), a threshold value of Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ)…”).
As to claim 17, Fujishiro teaches wherein the RRC connection is resumed, in case that a measured RSRP is below the RSRP threshold or a measured RSRQ is below the RSRQ threshold (Fujishiro, Fig. 10, [0086], the threshold includes a RSRP threshold and a RSRQ threshold. [0090], “when the measured multicast reception quality is lower than the threshold value (step S108: YES), the UE 100 starts the processing of transitioning to the RRC connected state…the case where the multicast reception quality is lower than the threshold”, [0091], “value may be a case where the radio quality (the RSRP, the RSRQ, and/or the SINR) is lower than the threshold value”, [0092], “When the state in which the multicast reception quality is lower than the threshold value continues for the first predetermined amount of time, the UE 100 may start the processing of transitioning to the RRC connected state”, [0093], “In a case of the RRC inactive state, the AS layer of the UE 100 may start RRC Resume”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 9, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujishiro et al. (US 2024/0373508) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Fujishiro” in view of Pu et al. (US 2023/0328789), hereinafter “Pu” and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2021/0266818), hereinafter “Zhang”.
Fujishiro teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Fujishiro does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 4, wherein an access category for resuming the RRC connection is 0, and
wherein the RRC connection is resumed after a barred access attempt is alleviated.
As to claim 4, Pu teaches wherein an access category for resuming the RRC connection is 0 (Pu, [0233], “the NAS layer indicates an access category, such as Access category=0, to the RRC layer”, [0234], “After receiving the NAS message sent by the upper layer, the RRC layer of the UE performs Unified Access Control (UAC) (if the upper layer does not provide an access category, the RRC layer may set an access category for this access attempt, for example, 0), and sends an RRC connection resume request to the network side”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fujishiro to have the features, as taught by Pu, in order to provide a busy indication to the network which avoids the waste of network resources (Pu, [0004]-[0009]).
Fujishiro and Pu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Fujishiro and Pu do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 4, wherein the RRC connection is resumed after a barred access attempt is alleviated.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the RRC connection is resumed after a barred access attempt is alleviated (Zhang, [0064], “If a result of access check of the access category indicates that access is barred, then the corresponding barring timer thereof is started”, [0069], “When the barring timer stops running”, [0070], “if the UE is in the INACTIVE state, and if the T380 is not running, then RNAU is triggered”, [0065], “RNAU is triggered” disclosed herein may refer to that an RRC connection resume procedure is initialized or initiated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fujishiro and Pu to have the features, as taught by Zhang, in order to provide an access control method in a user equipment and a user equipment capable of avoiding meaningless connection requests of RNAU so as to improve the utilization efficiency of communication resources (Zhang, 0012).
Fujishiro teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Fujishiro does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 9, wherein an access category the resuming the RRC connection is 0, and
wherein the RRC connection is resumed after a barred access attempt is alleviated.
As to claim 9, Pu teaches wherein an access category the resuming the RRC connection is 0 (Pu, [0233], “the NAS layer indicates an access category, such as Access category=0, to the RRC layer”, [0234], “After receiving the NAS message sent by the upper layer, the RRC layer of the UE performs Unified Access Control (UAC) (if the upper layer does not provide an access category, the RRC layer may set an access category for this access attempt, for example, 0), and sends an RRC connection resume request to the network side”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fujishiro to have the features, as taught by Pu, in order to provide a busy indication to the network which avoids the waste of network resources (Pu, [0004]-[0009]).
Fujishiro and Pu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Fujishiro and Pu do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 9, wherein the RRC connection is resumed after a barred access attempt is alleviated.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the RRC connection is resumed after a barred access attempt is alleviated (Zhang, [0064], “If a result of access check of the access category indicates that access is barred, then the corresponding barring timer thereof is started”, [0069], “When the barring timer stops running”, [0070], “if the UE is in the INACTIVE state, and if the T380 is not running, then RNAU is triggered”, [0065], “RNAU is triggered” disclosed herein may refer to that an RRC connection resume procedure is initialized or initiated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fujishiro and Pu to have the features, as taught by Zhang, in order to provide an access control method in a user equipment and a user equipment capable of avoiding meaningless connection requests of RNAU so as to improve the utilization efficiency of communication resources (Zhang, 0012).
Fujishiro teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Fujishiro does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 13, wherein an access category for resuming the RRC connection is 0, and
wherein the RRC connection is resumed after a barred access attempt is alleviated.
As to claim 13, Pu teaches wherein an access category for resuming the RRC connection is 0 (Pu, [0233], “the NAS layer indicates an access category, such as Access category=0, to the RRC layer”, [0234], “After receiving the NAS message sent by the upper layer, the RRC layer of the UE performs Unified Access Control (UAC) (if the upper layer does not provide an access category, the RRC layer may set an access category for this access attempt, for example, 0), and sends an RRC connection resume request to the network side”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fujishiro to have the features, as taught by Pu, in order to provide a busy indication to the network which avoids the waste of network resources (Pu, [0004]-[0009]).
Fujishiro and Pu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Fujishiro and Pu do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 13, wherein the RRC connection is resumed after a barred access attempt is alleviated.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the RRC connection is resumed after a barred access attempt is alleviated (Zhang, [0064], “If a result of access check of the access category indicates that access is barred, then the corresponding barring timer thereof is started”, [0069], “When the barring timer stops running”, [0070], “if the UE is in the INACTIVE state, and if the T380 is not running, then RNAU is triggered”, [0065], “RNAU is triggered” disclosed herein may refer to that an RRC connection resume procedure is initialized or initiated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fujishiro and Pu to have the features, as taught by Zhang, in order to provide an access control method in a user equipment and a user equipment capable of avoiding meaningless connection requests of RNAU so as to improve the utilization efficiency of communication resources (Zhang, 0012).
Fujishiro teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Fujishiro does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 18, wherein an access category the resuming the RRC connection is 0, and
wherein the RRC connection is resumed after a barred access attempt is alleviated.
As to claim 18, Pu teaches wherein an access category the resuming the RRC connection is 0 (Pu, [0233], “the NAS layer indicates an access category, such as Access category=0, to the RRC layer”, [0234], “After receiving the NAS message sent by the upper layer, the RRC layer of the UE performs Unified Access Control (UAC) (if the upper layer does not provide an access category, the RRC layer may set an access category for this access attempt, for example, 0), and sends an RRC connection resume request to the network side”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fujishiro to have the features, as taught by Pu, in order to provide a busy indication to the network which avoids the waste of network resources (Pu, [0004]-[0009]).
Fujishiro and Pu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Fujishiro and Pu do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 18, wherein the RRC connection is resumed after a barred access attempt is alleviated.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the RRC connection is resumed after a barred access attempt is alleviated (Zhang, [0064], “If a result of access check of the access category indicates that access is barred, then the corresponding barring timer thereof is started”, [0069], “When the barring timer stops running”, [0070], “if the UE is in the INACTIVE state, and if the T380 is not running, then RNAU is triggered”, [0065], “RNAU is triggered” disclosed herein may refer to that an RRC connection resume procedure is initialized or initiated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Fujishiro and Pu to have the features, as taught by Zhang, in order to provide an access control method in a user equipment and a user equipment capable of avoiding meaningless connection requests of RNAU so as to improve the utilization efficiency of communication resources (Zhang, 0012).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Zhang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0163957 – Transmission control method and related apparatus.
Kim et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0120096 – Radio resource control messaging.
Kim et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0320485 – Method for transmitting RRC message and wireless device.
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473