DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on 04/14/2026 having claims 1-20 pending.
Claims 1-20 are examined and being considered on the merits.
Claims 1-4, 7-11 and 16-20 have been amended, and all other claims are previously presented.
Claims 1-20 are submitted for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment filed on April 14, 2026 has claims 1-4, 7-11 and 16-20 have been amended, and all other claims are previously presented.
Applicant’s remark, filed on April 14, 2026 at page 8, indicates, “Claim 1 stands objected to because of minor informalities. Withdrawal of this objection is respectfully requested in view of the herein amendments to claim 1 addressing the issues raised under this objection.”
Applicant’s argument has been considered and is found persuasive. Therefore, the claim objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s remark, filed on April 14, 2026 at pages 8-14, indicates, “… Soda, Kuehnle443, Kuehnle959, Woosok, Nix, Lin, Molin, Saitoh, Cook, and Fang do not disclose all elements as recited in the subject claim. Claim 1 in "Currently Amended Claims" recites, in relevant part, (i) selecting a "data mode" from among "a plurality of different data modes" that each vary with respect to at least one of three settings (collection, storage, transfer), and (ii) controlling "the collection, the storage, and the transfer of the data in accordance with the data mode," where the plurality of different data modes "comprise at least one restricted data mode that deactivates collection of at least camera and location data and prevents transfer of the data to the external system or device, and at least one unrestricted data mode that activates collection of the camera and location data and allows transfer of the data to the external system or device." Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with this language, claim 1 requires a single selected "data mode" that (a) is chosen from multiple defined modes configured for the vehicle, (b) embodies coordinated settings across collection, storage, and transfer, and (c) in the case of the restricted data mode, both deactivates collection of camera and location data and prevents transfer of that data, while the unrestricted data mode both activates collection of the same types of data and allows transfer of that data to the external system. The Office Action relies on combinations of Soda, Kuehnle443, Kuehnle959, Woosok, Nix, Lin, Molin, Saitoh, Cook, and Fang, but none of these references, either alone or in combination, disclose or suggest the claimed pair of coordinated restricted and unrestricted data modes as defined in claim 1. … Soda's "conditions" are per-data-collection parameters and do not define a single "mode" that simultaneously embodies collection, storage, and transfer settings as an integrated entity for the vehicle, and Soda does not describe a restricted data mode that deactivates collection of both camera and location data while also preventing transfer of that data, nor does Soda describe a complementary unrestricted mode that activates collection of both camera and location data and allows transfer of that same data. … Kuehnle443 does not disclose a restricted mode that deactivates collection of at least camera and location data. Instead, Kuehnle443 continues to collect data in some form (such as obscured or reduced video or suppressed GPS) in order to maintain a usable dataset. Kuehnle443 also does not describe a restricted mode that "prevents transfer of the data to the external system or device" as recited in claim 1. … The Office Action's combinations do not disclose, suggest, or render obvious the specific coordinated structure of claim 1, which requires selecting among a plurality of data modes including at least one restricted mode and one unrestricted mode, each mode being a unified configuration that controls collection, storage, and transfer, and in which the restricted mode deactivates collection of at least camera and location data and prevents transfer of that data while the unrestricted mode activates collection of the camera and location data and allows transfer of that data to the external system. As a result, the cited references, alone or in combination, do not teach or suggest the full scope of claim 1 as it is now amended. … In view of at least the foregoing discussion, assignee's representative respectfully submits that Soda, Kuehnle443, Kuehnle959, Woosok, Nix, Lin, Molin, Saitoh, Cook, and Fang, alone or in combination, do not disclose or suggest all elements as recited in independent claims 1, 17, and 20 (and claims 2-16, 18, and 19 that depend therefrom), and thus the rejection fails to establish a prima facie case of obviousness with respect to the subject claims. Accordingly, withdrawal of this rejection is respectfully requested.”
Applicant’s argument has been considered and is found persuasive. Therefore, the previous prior-art rejection is withdrawn. However, Applicant’s amendment necessitates a new ground of rejection.
Accordingly, a new ground of rejection based on the prior-art by Abrosimov et al. (US 2022/0232350), hereinafter Abrosimov, in combination with Soda and Kuehnle has been applied to address the amended features. Specifically, Abrosimov discloses a plurality of operating modes for devices installed in a vehicle. Furthermore, parag. [0030] of Abrosimov discloses a controller (having a processor and memory) in a vehicle that controls the collection and transmission of images from a camera based on the operating mode (i.e., data mode) and may deem the camera data not to be transferred when operating in the first mode of operation (see parag. [0066] of Abrosimov). Therefore, it is submitted that teaching from Abrosimov that describes the controller can prevent or allows the camera from capturing and transmitting the image (i.e., camera data).
In addition, Examiner respectfully traverses Applicant’s argument regarding that Kuehnle does not disclose the amended feature. It is submitted that Kuehnle clearly discloses, in Col. 1, lines 15-22, a method for capturing video data and GPS information (i.e. the claimed camera and location data) while not allowing video recording or other data collection in or around certain areas. In col. 3, lines 42-44, Kuehnle further discloses that collected data may be stored and/or transmitted to a remote location/server. Col. 6, lines 24-29 of Kuehnle additionally discloses a first unrestricted mode in which video and non-video data is captured and recorded to an on-vehicle memory in an unrestricted fashion, and col. 6, lines 61-64 of Kuehnle discloses a detection and reporting system that detects the vehicle is in or approaching an area in which data recordation is restricted in some fashion. Therefore, Examiner submits that the combination of Kuehnle and Abrosimov discloses the amended feature limitation “controlling, by the processor, the collection, the storage, and the transfer of the data in accordance with the data mode, as opposed to another data mode of the plurality of different data modes, based on the selecting, wherein the plurality of different data modes comprise at least one restricted data mode that deactivates collection of camera data and location data and prevents transfer of the camera data and the location data to the external system or device, and at least one unrestricted data mode that activates collection of the camera data and the location data and allows transfer of the camera data and the location data to the external system or device”. Please refer to the detailed rejection below.
Examiner acknowledges that the Applicants’ remarks/arguments on how the additional references cited for the dependent claims do not teach or suggest the amended independent claim 1. However, the arguments are moot in view on the newly formulated combination based on Abrosimov.
Additionally, while Examiner agrees that Soda does not disclose the amended feature, it is submitted that Soda discloses a data collection device that is able to store/record data from sensors (i.e., location data), cameras, etc. See detailed rejection below.
Finally, Examiner respectfully submits that the new combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov would render the claimed limitations of the amended independent claim obvious.
Regarding amended independent claims 17 and 20, has been considered and is addressed based on the same rationale presented for the amended independent claim 1. See item 8.
Regarding dependent claims please refer to the aforementioned response, which addresses how the new combination of prior-art references by Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov, along with applied references by Kuehnle-959, Woosok, Lambert, Lin, Molin, Saitoh, Cook and Fang, would render the claimed limitations obvious.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites, “wherein the is selected from amongst a plurality of different data modes configured for the vehicle that vary with respect to one or more settings selected from [[the]] a group …”. Claim 1 should recite, “wherein [[the]] is selected from amongst a plurality of different data modes configured for the vehicle that vary with respect to one or more settings selected from [[the]] a group …”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 8, 12, 17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soda et al. (US 11,189,109) hereinafter Soda in view of Kuehnle (US 11,212,443), included on IDS, and further in view of Abrosimov et al. (US 2022/0232350), hereinafter Abrosimov.
As per Claim 1, Soda teaches a computer-implemented method (Soda, Col. 1, lines 44-48; “its object is to provide a data collection apparatus, a data collection system, and a data collection method that allow a user to set parameters for information collection easily while recognizing a communication amount.”), comprising:
selecting, [by a processor of a vehicle, a data mode] regarding data capable of being collected via one or more data collection devices integrated on or within the vehicle (Soda, Col. 1, lines 44-48; “its object is to provide a data collection apparatus, a data collection system, and a data collection method that allow a user to set parameters for information collection easily while recognizing a communication amount.” … Col. 2, lines 58-63; “Each vehicular device 100, which is, for example, a drive recorder having a camera, various sensors such as an acceleration sensor and a GPS (global positioning system) sensor, a storage device, a microcomputer, etc., picks up vehicle data that comply with a collection request received by the data collection apparatus 10.”), [wherein the data mode is selected from amongst a plurality of different data modes configured for the vehicle that vary with respect to one or more settings selected from a group consisting of]:
a collection setting that controls collection of the data via the one or more data collection devices (Soda, Col. 1, lines 44-48; “its object is to provide a data collection apparatus, a data collection system, and a data collection method that allow a user to set parameters for information collection easily while recognizing a communication amount.” … Col. 2, lines 58-63; “Each vehicular device 100, which is, for example, a drive recorder having a camera, various sensors such as an acceleration sensor and a GPS (global positioning system) sensor, a storage device, a microcomputer, etc., picks up vehicle data that comply with a collection request received by the data collection apparatus 10.”), [a storage setting that controls storage of the data via at least one of a local memory onboard the vehicle and an external memory communicably connected to the processor, and a transfer setting that controls transfer of the data to an external system or device]; and
[controlling, by the processor, the collection, the storage, and the transfer of the data in accordance with the data mode, as opposed to another data mode of the plurality of different data modes, based on the selecting, wherein the plurality of different data modes comprise at least one restricted data mode that deactivates collection of camera data and location data and prevents transfer of the camera data and the location data to the external system or device, and at least one unrestricted data mode that activates collection of the camera data and the location data and allows transfer of the camera data and the location data to the external system or device].
Soda does not expressly teaches:
selecting, by a processor of a vehicle, a data mode … wherein the data mode is selected from amongst a plurality of different data modes configured for the vehicle that vary with respect to one or more settings selected from a group
a storage setting that controls storage of the data via at least one of a local memory onboard the vehicle and an external memory communicably connected to the data processing device, and a transfer setting that controls transfer of the data to an external system or device;
controlling, by the processor, the collection, the storage, and the transfer of the data in accordance with the data mode, as opposed to another data mode of the plurality of different data modes, based on the selecting, wherein the plurality of different data modes comprise at least one restricted data mode that deactivates collection of camera data and location data and prevents transfer of the camera data and the location data to the external system or device, and at least one unrestricted data mode that activates collection of the camera data and the location data and allows transfer of the camera data and the location data to the external system or device.
However, Kuehnle teaches:
selecting, by a processor of a vehicle, a data mode … wherein the data mode is selected from amongst a plurality of different data modes configured for the vehicle that vary with respect to one or more settings selected from a group (Kuehnle, Col. 4, lines 10-15; “The event detection and reporting system 100 may also include a logic applying arrangement such as a controller or processor 130 and control logic 131, in communication with the one or more devices or systems 114. The processor 130 may include one or more inputs for receiving input data from the devices or systems 114.” … Col. 4, lines 46-50; “The processor 130 may sense or estimate the configuration/condition of the vehicle based on the input data, and may select a control tuning mode or sensitivity based on the vehicle configuration/condition.” … Col. 6, lines 24-29; “Operation begins at block 300 with the event detection and reporting system operating in a first, unrestricted mode in which video and non-video data is captured and recorded to an on-vehicle memory in an unrestricted fashion. This data may be captured on a continuous basis or in response to a detected vehicle or driving event.” … Col. 6, lines 61-64; “Process 300 continues to block 320 where the event detection and reporting system detects that the vehicle is in or is approaching an area in which data recordation is restricted in some fashion.” … Col. 7, lines 8-14; “Once the event detection and reporting system identifies the type of restricted area, process 300 continues to block 340 where the event detection and reporting system enters a second, restricted mode in which captured video and/or non-video data (whether continuous or event-based) is only recorded in a manner which complies with the identified restriction.”)
a storage setting that controls storage of the data via at least one of a local memory onboard the vehicle and an external memory communicably connected to the data processing device (Kuehnle, Col. 3, lines 42-44; “Data related to detected events (i.e., event data) may then be stored and/or transmitted to a remote location/server, as described in more detail below.” … Col. 6, lines 24-29; “Operation begins at block 300 with the event detection and reporting system operating in a first, unrestricted mode in which video and non-video data is captured and recorded to an on-vehicle memory in an unrestricted fashion. This data may be captured on a continuous basis or in response to a detected vehicle or driving event.”), and a transfer setting that controls transfer of the data to an external system or device (Kuehnle, Col. 3, lines 42-44; “Data related to detected events (i.e., event data) may then be stored and/or transmitted to a remote location/server, as described in more detail below.” … Col. 8, lines 7-11; “It should further be appreciated that the correlated obscured and unobscured data may then be transmitted by the on-vehicle event detection and reporting system to a remote server at block 360 using, for example, wireless transceiver 150 of FIG. 1.”)
controlling, by the processor, the collection, the storage, and the transfer of the data in accordance with the data mode, as opposed to another data mode of the plurality of different data modes, based on the selecting, wherein the plurality of different data modes comprise at least one restricted data mode that deactivates collection of [camera data] and location data and prevents transfer of [the camera data] and the location data to the external system or device, and at least one unrestricted data mode that activates collection of the camera data and the location data and allows transfer of the camera data and the location data to the external system or device (Kuehnle, Col. 1, lines 15-22; “Current methods of capturing driving and vehicle event data relating to a detected event include the capturing of video data and GPS information (i.e. camera and location data). However, certain geographic areas, such as military bases, may not allow video recording or other data collection in or around such areas. Similarly, the capturing of video, GPS or other data may be time restricted for a given location, for example when sensitive activities are scheduled to occur at a given location.” … Col. 3, lines 42-44; “Data related to detected events (i.e., event data) may then be stored and/or transmitted to a remote location/server, as described in more detail below.” … Col. 6, lines 24-29; “Operation begins at block 300 with the event detection and reporting system operating in a first, unrestricted mode in which video and non-video data (i.e. camera and location data) is captured and recorded to an on-vehicle memory in an unrestricted fashion. This data may be captured on a continuous basis or in response to a detected vehicle or driving event.” … Col. 6, lines 61-64; “Process 300 continues to block 320 where the event detection and reporting system detects that the vehicle is in or is approaching an area in which data recordation is restricted in some fashion.” … Col. 8, lines 7-11; “It should further be appreciated that the correlated obscured and unobscured data may then be transmitted by the on-vehicle event detection and reporting system to a remote server at block 360 using, for example, wireless transceiver 150 of FIG. 1.” Examiner submits different data modes result in different handling of data capture, retention and reporting.).
Soda and Kuehnle are from similar field of technology. Prior to the instant application’s effective filling date, there was a need for a method for provide an enhance method for user privacy and data protection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kuehnle system into Soda system, with a motivation to provide different modes to collect, store and transfer data obtained from in-vehicle devices (Kuehnle, Abstract).
The combination of Soda and Kuehnle does not teach:
controlling, by the processor, … one restricted data mode that deactivates collection of camera data … and prevents transfer of the camera data …
However, Abrosimov teaches:
controlling, by the processor, … one restricted data mode that deactivates collection of camera data … and prevents transfer of the camera data (Abrosimov, Parag. [0030]; “The EOV unit and/or HOV unit can alternate between transmitting and not transmitting images acquired by a camera of the EOV unit and/or HOV unit (or another camera) in different operating modes. Optionally, the controller can prevent the camera from obtaining images in one operating mode but allow the camera to obtain images in another mode. Changing whether the camera is able to acquire images and/or the EOV unit and/or HOV unit is permitted to transmit the images based on the operating mode (which is based on location) can prevent the camera from obtaining images in locations where doing so is not permitted”. Parag. [0066]; “ … A first set of images acquired while the camera operates in the first mode of operation …. deemed by the controller … may, therefore, not be transferred.”).
Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov are from similar field of technology. Prior to the instant application’s effective filling date, there was a need for a method for provide an enhance method for user privacy and data protection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Abrosimov system into Soda-Kuehnle system, with a motivation to provide a restriction mode that prevents collecting camera image/data (Abrosimov, Parag. [0030]).
As per claim 4, the combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov teach the method of claim 1. Kuehnle teaches further comprising:
determining and monitoring, by the processor, determines a context of the vehicle, wherein the selecting comprises selecting the data mode based on the data mode being applicable to the context of the vehicle, and wherein the plurality of different data modes are tailored to different vehicle contexts (Kuehnle, Col. 1, lines 20-22; “Similarly, the capturing of video, GPS or other data may be time restricted for a given location, for example when sensitive activities are scheduled to occur at a given location.” … Col. 1, lines 39-45; “In one embodiment of the invention, a method for providing location-dependent recording modes for an event detection and reporting system of a vehicle includes operating the event detection and reporting system in an unrestricted mode in which video data captured by a camera and non-video data captured by one or more sensors are correlated and recorded in one or more memory modules of the system in an unobscured format.” … Col. 2, lines 22-25; “Also, one or more driver facing cameras may be used to capture a view of the driver of the vehicle, and/or a view of other areas of the cabin, as the driver controls the vehicle while driving.” … Col. 6, lines 24-29; “Operation begins at block 300 with the event detection and reporting system operating in a first, unrestricted mode in which video and non-video data is captured and recorded to an on-vehicle memory in an unrestricted fashion. This data may be captured on a continuous basis or in response to a detected vehicle or driving event.” … Col. 6, lines 61-64; “Process 300 continues to block 320 where the event detection and reporting system detects that the vehicle is in or is approaching an area in which data recordation is restricted in some fashion.” … Col. 7, lines 8-14; “Once the event detection and reporting system identifies the type of restricted area, process 300 continues to block 340 where the event detection and reporting system enters a second, restricted mode in which captured video and/or non-video data (whether continuous or event-based) is only recorded in a manner which complies with the identified restriction.” Examiner submits that vehicle’s context is interpreted as location, time and view of the driver/cabin.).
As per claim 5, the combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov teach the method of claim 4. Kuehnle teaches wherein the different vehicle contexts account for different locations and different times (Kuehnle, Col. 1, lines 20-22; “Similarly, the capturing of video, GPS or other data may be time restricted for a given location, for example when sensitive activities are scheduled to occur at a given location.” … Col. 1, lines 39-45; “In one embodiment of the invention, a method for providing location-dependent recording modes for an event detection and reporting system of a vehicle includes operating the event detection and reporting system in an unrestricted mode in which video data captured by a camera and non-video data captured by one or more sensors are correlated and recorded in one or more memory modules of the system in an unobscured format.” … Col. 2, lines 22-25; “Also, one or more driver facing cameras may be used to capture a view of the driver of the vehicle, and/or a view of other areas of the cabin, as the driver controls the vehicle while driving.” … Col. 6, lines 24-29; “Operation begins at block 300 with the event detection and reporting system operating in a first, unrestricted mode in which video and non-video data is captured and recorded to an on-vehicle memory in an unrestricted fashion. This data may be captured on a continuous basis or in response to a detected vehicle or driving event.” … Col. 6, lines 61-64; “Process 300 continues to block 320 where the event detection and reporting system detects that the vehicle is in or is approaching an area in which data recordation is restricted in some fashion.” … Col. 7, lines 8-14; “Once the event detection and reporting system identifies the type of restricted area, process 300 continues to block 340 where the event detection and reporting system enters a second, restricted mode in which captured video and/or non-video data (whether continuous or event-based) is only recorded in a manner which complies with the identified restriction.” Examiner submits that vehicle’s context is interpreted as location, time and view of the driver/cabin.).
As per claim 8, the combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov teach the method of claim 1. Soda teaches wherein the plurality of different data modes comprise three or more different data modes. Specifically, Soda discloses a mode for collecting data (i.e., first data mode): (Soda, Col. 1, lines 44-48; “its object is to provide a data collection apparatus, a data collection system, and a data collection method that allow a user to set parameters for information collection easily while recognizing a communication amount.” … Col. 2, lines 58-63; “Each vehicular device 100, which is, for example, a drive recorder having a camera, various sensors such as an acceleration sensor and a GPS (global positioning system) sensor, a storage device, a microcomputer, etc., picks up vehicle data that comply with a collection request received by the data collection apparatus 10.”).
In addition, Kuehnle teaches storing and transferring data modes (i.e., second and third data modes): (Kuehnle, Col. 3, lines 42-44; “Data related to detected events (i.e., event data) may then be stored and/or transmitted to a remote location/server, as described in more detail below.” … Col. 4, lines 10-15; “The event detection and reporting system 100 may also a logic applying arrangement such as a controller or processor 130 and control logic 131, in communication with the one or more devices or systems 114. The processor 130 may include one or more inputs for receiving input data from the devices or systems 114 (i.e., collecting data from sensors).” … Col. 5, lines 5-22; “Still yet further, the event detection and reporting system 100 may also include a transmitter/receiver (transceiver) module 150 such as, for example, a radio frequency (RF) transmitter including one or more antennas 152 for wireless communication of the automated control requests, GPS data, one or more various vehicle configuration and/or condition data, or the like between the vehicles and one or more destinations such as, for example, to one or more services (not shown) having a corresponding receiver and antenna. The transmitter/receiver (transceiver) module 150 may include various functional parts of sub portions operatively coupled with a platoon control unit including for example a communication receiver portion, a global position sensor (GPS) receiver portion, and a communication transmitter. For communication of specific information and/or data, the communication receiver and transmitter portions may include one or more functional and/or operational communication interface portions as well.” … Col. 6, lines 24-29; “Operation begins at block 300 with the event detection and reporting system operating in a first, unrestricted mode in which video and non-video data is captured and recorded to an on-vehicle memory in an unrestricted fashion. This data may be captured on a continuous basis or in response to a detected vehicle or driving event.” … Col. 6, lines 61-64; “Process 300 continues to block 320 where the event detection and reporting system detects that the vehicle is in or is approaching an area in which data recordation is restricted in some fashion.” … Col. 7, lines 8-14; “Once the event detection and reporting system identifies the type of restricted area, process 300 continues to block 340 where the event detection and reporting system enters a second, restricted mode in which captured video and/or non-video data (whether continuous or event-based) is only recorded in a manner which complies with the identified restriction.” … Col. 8, lines 7-11; “It should further be appreciated that the correlated obscured and unobscured data may then be transmitted by the on-vehicle event detection and reporting system to a remote server at block 360 using, for example, wireless transceiver 150 of FIG. 1.”).
Therefore, the combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov discloses three or more data modes.
As per claim 12, the combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov teach the method of claim 1. Kuehnle teaches wherein the one or more data collection devices comprise a location detection device that collects location data regarding a location and route of the vehicle, and wherein the collection setting controls activation and deactivation of the location detection device and a type of the location data collected (Kuehnle, Col. 1, lines 15-22; “Current methods of capturing driving and vehicle event data relating to a detected event include the capturing of video data and GPS information (i.e. camera and location data). However, certain geographic areas, such as military bases, may not allow video recording or other data collection in or around such areas. Similarly, the capturing of video, GPS or other data may be time restricted for a given location, for example when sensitive activities are scheduled to occur at a given location.” … Col. 3, lines 21-26; “In the context of a location-recording-restricted area (i.e., an area whose location is prohibited from being recorded or reported), another aspect of the invention is to provide a GPS location recording mode in which the precision of the data is intentionally obscured, such as by rounding, approximation, or correlated random noise addition.” … Col. 6, lines 7-15; “Referring now to FIG. 2, depicted is map data 200, which may preferably be stored on the vehicle in an encrypted or otherwise restricted form. The vehicle's current location may be regularly/periodically compared to the map data 200 to determine if the vehicle is approaching or is in a video- restricted (area 210) or in a location-recording restricted area (area 220). It should be appreciated that the map data 200 may only indicate where the mode changes should apply, and not details of the restricted area.”).
As per claim 17, it is a system claim that recites similar limitation as presented at claim 1. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected using the same rationale applied to claim 1.
In addition, Kuehnle teaches:
a memory that stores computer executable components (Kuehnle, Col. 5, lines 54-63; “The computer system includes a main memory 140, such as random access memory (RAM) or other dynamic storage device for storing instructions and loaded portions of the trained neural network to be executed by the processor 130, and read only memory (ROM) or other static storage device for storing other static information and instructions for the processor 130. Other storage devices may also suitably be provided for storing information and instructions as necessary or desired.”); and
a processor that executes the computer executable components stored in the memory (Kuehnle, Col. 5, lines 54-63; “The computer system includes a main memory 140, such as random access memory (RAM) or other dynamic storage device for storing instructions and loaded portions of the trained neural network to be executed by the processor 130, and read only memory (ROM) or other static storage device for storing other static information and instructions for the processor 130. Other storage devices may also suitably be provided for storing information and instructions as necessary or desired.”)
As per claim 19, the rejection of claim 17 is included. In addition, claim 19 is a system claim that recites similar limitation as presented at claim 4. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected using the same rationale applied to claim 4.
As per claim 20, it is a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium claim that recites similar limitation as presented at claim 1. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected using the same rationale applied to claim 1.
In addition, Kuehnle teaches:
A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor onboard a vehicle, facilitate performance of operations (Kuehnle, Col. 5-6, lines 64-1; “Instructions may be read into the main memory 140 from another computer-readable medium, such as another storage device or via the transceiver 150. Execution of the sequences of instructions contained in main memory 140 causes the processor 130to perform the process steps described herein.” … Col. 9, lines 17-20; “In accordance with the descriptions herein, the term "computer readable medium,” as used herein, refers to any non-transitory media that participates in providing instructions to the processor 130 for execution.”)
Claims 2-3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soda et al. (US 11,189,109) hereinafter Soda in view of Kuehnle (US 11,212,443) (included on IDS) and Abrosimov et al. (US 2022/0232350) hereinafter Abrosimov, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Woosok (KR 102531869 B1).
As per claim 2, the combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov teach the method of claim 1.
The combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov does not expressly teach:
wherein the selecting comprises selecting the data mode in response to reception, via an electronic input device located on or within the vehicle, of user input requesting activation of the data mode.
However, Woosok teaches:
wherein the selecting comprises selecting the data mode in response to reception, via an electronic input device located on or within the vehicle and communicatively coupled to the data processing device, of user input requesting activation of the data mode (Woosok, Page 8, Parag. 5-6; “The vehicle 100 may further include an input unit 127 for receiving operation commands for various functions (i.e., selecting modes). The input unit 127 may be provided on the head unit 125 and the center fascia 124 (i.e., within the vehicle), and includes at least one physical button, such as an on-off button for operating various functions and a button for changing set values of various functions.” … Page 10, Parag. 5-7; “It is also possible to receive data collection commands and data search commands through an input unit provided in the user interface 129, and to receive tags during data collection and search. Here, the input unit provided in the user interface 129 may be a touch panel. The display unit 129b may be a display unit provided on the user interface 129.”).
Soda, Kuehnle, Abrosimov and Woosok are from similar field of technology. Prior to the instant application’s effective filling date, there was a need for a method for provide an enhance method for user privacy and data protection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Woosok system into Soda-Kuehnle-Abrosimov system, with a motivation to provide in-vehicle display device to facilitate the user to select the data mode collection (Woosok, Page 8).
As per claim 3, the combination of Soda, Kuehnle, Abrosimov and Woosok teach the method of claim 2. Woosok teaches further comprising:
rendering, by the processor, via an electronic output device located on or within the vehicle, information identifying the plurality of different data modes, and wherein the user input comprises selection input selecting the data mode from the information (Woosok, Page 8, Parag. 5-7; “The vehicle 100 may further include an input unit 127 for receiving operation commands for various functions (i.e., selecting modes). The input unit 127 may be provided on the head unit 125 and the center fascia 124 (i.e., within the vehicle), and includes at least one physical button, such as an on-off button for operating various functions and a button for changing set values of various functions. The input unit 127 may further include a jog dial (not shown) or a touch pad (not shown) for inputting a cursor movement command and a selection command displayed (i.e., rendering) on the display unit of the user interface 129” … Page 8, Parag. 11; “The user interface 129 displays an image for at least one function selected by a user from among an audio function, a video function, a navigation function, a broadcasting function (DMB function), a radio function, a content reproduction function, and an Internet search function.” … Page 10, Parag. 5-7; “It is also possible to receive data collection commands and data search commands through an input unit provided in the user interface 129, and to receive tags during data collection and search. Here, the input unit provided in the user interface 129 may be a touch panel. The display unit 129b may be a display unit provided on the user interface 129.”).
As per claim 18, the rejection of claim 17 is included. In addition, it is a system claim that recites similar limitations as presented on claims 2 and 3. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected using the same rationale applied to claims 2 and 3.
Claims 6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soda et al. (US 11,189,109) hereinafter Soda in view of Kuehnle (US 11,212,443) (included on IDS), and Abrosimov et al. (US 2022/0232350) hereinafter Abrosimov, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kuehnle et al. (US 2021/0124959) hereinafter Kuehnle-959.
As per claim 6, the combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov teach the method of claim 4.
The combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov does not expressly teach:
wherein the different vehicle contexts account for different occupants of the vehicle and different preferences of the different occupants.
However, Kuehnle-959 teaches:
wherein the different vehicle contexts account for different occupants of the vehicle and different preferences of the different occupants (Kuehnle-959, Parag. [0005]; “In one embodiment of the invention, a system for recording vehicle occupants and their immediate environment using multiple recording modes of a camera is provided. The system includes a driver-facing camera having a plurality of recording modes.” … Parag. [0042]; “In some embodiments, obscuring may be based, at least in part, on a personal preference of the driver, which may be tied to the driver's telematic log-in information, the facial recognition of the driver, or other type of recognition of the driver by the system.”).
Soda, Kuehnle, Abrosimov and Kuehnle-959 are from similar field of technology. Prior to the instant application’s effective filling date, there was a need for a method for provide an enhance method for user privacy and data protection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kuehnle-959 system into Soda-Kuehnle-Abrosimov system, with a motivation to provide a camera settings based on user preferences (Kuenle-959, Parag. [0052]).
As per claim 9, the combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov teach the method of claim 1.
The combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov does not expressly teach:
wherein the plurality of different data modes vary with respect to one or more sub-settings of the collection setting, the storage setting, or the transfer setting.
However, Kuehnle-959 teaches:
wherein the plurality of different data modes vary with respect to one or more sub-settings of the collection setting, the storage setting, or the transfer setting (Kuehnle-959, Parag. [0043-0048]; “Exemplary approaches to obscuring/un-obscuring the video data in accordance with various recording modes will now be discussed. FIG. 6B illustrates a blacked-out mode, in which the brightness level of the image area can be set such that on playback the image area is visually unintelligible or of reduced visual intelligibility. FIG. 6C illustrates a low-resolution mode, in which the spatial resolution levels of the image area can be set such that on playback the image area is visually unintelligible or of reduced visual intelligibility. … FIG. 6D illustrates a darkened mode, in which the grey levels of the image area can be set or remapped via mathematical transformation such that on playback the image area is visually unintelligible or of reduced visual intelligibility. … FIG. 6E illustrates an encrypted mode, in which the video data of the image areas can be encrypted such that on playback the image area is visually unintelligible or of reduced visual intelligibility. The encrypted video data may produce a default image in the affected image area, which may be for example, random pixel colors. FIG. 6F illustrates a reduced mode, in which the color depth levels of the image area can be set such that on playback the image area is visual unintelligible or reduced visual intelligibility.” Examiner submits that storage and transferring modes are additional design features.).
Soda, Kuehnle, Abrosimov and Kuehnle-959 are from similar field of technology. Prior to the instant application’s effective filling date, there was a need for a method for provide an enhance method for user privacy and data protection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kuehnle-959 system into Soda-Kuehnle-Abrosimov system, with a motivation to provide a camera sub-settings from a collection setting (Kuehnle-959, Parag. [0052]).
As per claim 10, the combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov teach the method of claim 1. Kuehnle teaches wherein the one or more data collection devices comprise one or more cameras integrated on or within the vehicle, and wherein the collection setting comprises one or more camera settings (Kuehnle, Col. 2, lines 17-29; “In certain embodiments, the invention may be implemented by an on-vehicle event detection and reporting system that may include one or more forward facing cameras that are configured such that the field of view of the camera(s) captures the scene ahead of the vehicle from, for example, the perspective of a driver of the vehicle. Also, one or more driver facing cameras may be used to capture a view of the driver of the vehicle, and/or a view of other areas of the cabin, as the driver controls the vehicle while driving. Still other embodiments may include cameras configured to capture other scenes relative to the vehicle. For instance, embodiments may include cameras configured to capture the scene behind the vehicle, to either side of the vehicle, etc.”) selected from another group consisting of:
Abrosimov teaches:
an activation/deactivation setting that controls activation and deactivation of capture of the camera data from respective cameras of the one or more cameras (Abrosimov, Parag. [0030]; “The EOV unit and/or HOV unit can alternate between transmitting and not transmitting images acquired by a camera of the EOV unit and/or HOV unit (or another camera) in different operating modes. Optionally, the controller can prevent the camera from obtaining images in one operating mode but allow the camera to obtain images in another mode. Changing whether the camera is able to acquire images and/or the EOV unit and/or HOV unit is permitted to transmit the images based on the operating mode (which is based on location) can prevent the camera from obtaining images in locations where doing so is not permitted.”), [a capture amount setting that controls an amount of the camera data captured from the respective cameras, and capture mode setting that controls a capture mode of the camera data captured via the respective cameras.]
The combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov does not expressly teach:
a capture amount setting that controls an amount of the camera data captured from the respective cameras, and capture mode setting that controls a capture mode of the camera data captured via the respective cameras.
However, Kuehnle-959 teaches:
a capture amount setting that controls an amount of the camera data captured from the respective cameras, and capture mode setting that controls a capture mode of the camera data captured via the respective cameras (Kuehnle-959, Parag. [0043-0048]; “Exemplary approaches to obscuring/un-obscuring the video data in accordance with various recording modes will now be discussed. FIG. 6B illustrates a blacked-out mode, in which the brightness level of the image area can be set such that on playback the image area is visually unintelligible or of reduced visual intelligibility. FIG. 6C illustrates a low-resolution mode, in which the spatial resolution levels of the image area can be set such that on playback the image area is visually unintelligible or of reduced visual intelligibility. … FIG. 6D illustrates a darkened mode, in which the grey levels of the image area can be set or remapped via mathematical transformation such that on playback the image area is visually unintelligible or of reduced visual intelligibility. … FIG. 6E illustrates an encrypted mode, in which the video data of the image areas can be encrypted such that on playback the image area is visually unintelligible or of reduced visual intelligibility. The encrypted video data may produce a default image in the affected image area, which may be for example, random pixel colors. FIG. 6F illustrates a reduced mode, in which the color depth levels of the image area can be set such that on playback the image area is visual unintelligible or reduced visual intelligibility.” … Claim 2; “altering the recording mode changes at least one of: frame rate, frame resolution, pixel colors, local defocus degree, contrast, detail level, compression ratio, pixel order, icon or fixed snapshot substitution, recording time, pixel content, exposure, brightness, obscuration boundaries, and recording on/off.”).
Soda, Kuehnle, Abrosimov and Kuehnle-959 are from similar field of technology. Prior to the instant application’s effective filling date, there was a need for a method for provide an enhance method for user privacy and data protection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kuehnle-959 system into Soda-Kuehnle-Abrosimov system, with a motivation to provide plurality of settings for modifying data capturing mode from a camera (Kuehnle-959, Parag. [0043-0048]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soda et al. (US 11,189,109) hereinafter Soda in view of Kuehnle (US 11,212,443) (included on IDS) and Abrosimov et al. (US 2022/0232350) hereinafter Abrosimov as applied to claim 1, and further in view Kuehnle et al. (US 2021/0124959) hereinafter Kuehnle-959 and Woosok (KR 102531869 B1).
As per claim 7, the combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov teach the method of claim 1. Kuehnle teaches wherein the plurality of different data modes (Kuehnle, Col. 1, lines 39-45; “In one embodiment of the invention, a method for providing location-dependent recording modes for an event detection and reporting system of a vehicle includes operating the event detection and reporting system in an unrestricted mode in which video data captured by a camera and non-video data captured by one or more sensors are correlated and recorded in one or more memory modules of the system in an unobscured format.” … Col. 6, lines 24-29; “Operation begins at block 300 with the event detection and reporting system operating in a first, unrestricted mode in which video and non-video data is captured and recorded to an on-vehicle memory in an unrestricted fashion. This data may be captured on a continuous basis or in response to a detected vehicle or driving event.” … Col. 6, lines 61-64; “Process 300 continues to block 320 where the event detection and reporting system detects that the vehicle is in or is approaching an area in which data recordation is restricted in some fashion.” … Col. 7, lines 8-14; “Once the event detection and reporting system identifies the type of restricted area, process 300 continues to block 340 where the event detection and reporting system enters a second, restricted mode in which captured video and/or non-video data (whether continuous or event-based) is only recorded in a manner which complies with the identified restriction.”) [further comprise at least one user defined data mode tailored to an occupant of the vehicle], and wherein the method further comprises:
[facilitating receiving, by the processor, via an electronic input device, user input from the occupant defining the one or more settings for the at least one user defined data mode, wherein the one or more settings defined by the occupant comprise at least one of the collection setting, the storage setting, and the transfer setting for the at least one user defined data mode].
The combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov does not expressly teach:
… further comprise at least one user defined data mode tailored to an occupant of the vehicle:
facilitating receiving, by the processor, via an electronic input device, user input from the occupant defining the one or more settings for the at least one user defined data mode, wherein the one or more settings defined by the occupant comprise at least one of the collection setting, the storage setting, and the transfer setting for the at least one user defined data mode.
However, Kuehnle-959 teaches:
further comprise at least one user defined data mode tailored to an occupant of the vehicle (Kuehnle-959, Parag. [0042]; “In some embodiments, obscuring (i.e., data collecting mode) may be based, at least in part, on a personal preference of the driver (i.e., user defined), which may be tied to the driver's telematic log-in information, the facial recognition of the driver, or other type of recognition of the driver by the system.”)
Soda, Kuehnle, Abrosimov and Kuehnle-959 are from similar field of technology. Prior to the instant application’s effective filling date, there was a need for a method for provide an enhance method for user privacy and data protection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kuehnle-959 system into Soda-Kuehnle-Abrosimov system, with a motivation to provide a camera settings based on user preferences (Kuehnle-959, Parag. [0052]).
The combination of Soda, Kuehnle, Abrosimov and Kuehnle-959 does not expressly teach:
facilitating receiving, by the processor, via an electronic input device, user input from the occupant defining the one or more settings for the at least one user defined data mode, wherein the one or more settings defined by the occupant comprise at least one of the collection setting, the storage setting, and the transfer setting for the at least one user defined data mode.
However, Woosok teaches:
facilitating receiving, by the processor, via an electronic input device, user input from the occupant defining the one or more settings for the at least one user defined data mode, wherein the one or more settings defined by the occupant comprise at least one of the collection setting, the storage setting, and the transfer setting for the at least one user defined data mode (Woosok, Page 8, Parag. 5-7; “The vehicle 100 may further include an input unit 127 for receiving operation commands for various functions (i.e., selecting modes). The input unit 127 may be provided on the head unit 125 and the center fascia 124 (i.e., within the vehicle), and includes at least one physical button, such as an on-off button for operating various functions and a button for changing set values of various functions. The input unit 127 may further include a jog dial (not shown) or a touch pad (not shown) for inputting a cursor movement command and a selection command displayed (i.e., rendering) on the display unit of the user interface 129” … Page 8, Parag. 11; “The user interface 129 displays an image for at least one function selected by a user from among an audio function, a video function, a navigation function, a broadcasting function (DMB function), a radio function, a content reproduction function, and an Internet search function.” … Page 10, Parag. 5-7; “It is also possible to receive data collection commands and data search commands through an input unit provided in the user interface 129, and to receive tags during data collection and search. Here, the input unit provided in the user interface 129 may be a touch panel. The display unit 129b may be a display unit provided on the user interface 129.”)
Soda, Kuehnle, Abrosimov, Kuehnle-959 and Woosok are from similar field of technology. Prior to the instant application’s effective filling date, there was a need for a method for provide an enhance method for user privacy and data protection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Woosok system into Soda-Kuehnle-Abrosimov-Kuehnle-959 system, with a motivation to provide in-vehicle display device to facilitate the user to select the data mode collection (Woosok, Page 8).
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soda et al. (US 11,189,109) hereinafter Soda in view of Kuehnle (US 11,212,443) (included on IDS), Abrosimov et al. (US 2022/0232350) hereinafter Abrosimov and Kuehnle et al. (US 2021/0124959) hereinafter Kuehnle-959, as applied to claim 10, and further in view Lambert et al. (US 9,358,926) hereinafter Lambert.
As per claim 11, the combination of Soda, Kuehnle, Abrosimov and Kuehnle-959 teach the method of claim 10. Kuehnle teaches wherein one or more cameras comprise an interior camera having a perspective of an interior cabin of the vehicle (Kuehnle, Col. 2, lines 22-25; “Also, one or more driver facing cameras may be used to capture a view of the driver of the vehicle, and/or a view of other areas of the cabin, as the driver controls the vehicle while driving.”), and
[wherein based on the data mode having a camera setting deactivating capture of the camera data via the interior camera], the method further comprises:
[configuring, by the processor, the interior camera to operate in a mirror mode] in which image data from the interior camera is received and displayed via a display monitor located on or within the vehicle [but is not recorded nor stored].
The combination of Soda, Kuehnle, Abrosimov and Kuehnle-959 does not expressly teach:
wherein based on the data mode having a camera setting deactivating capture of the camera data via the interior camera;
configuring, by the processor, the interior camera to operate in a mirror mode in which image data from the interior camera is received and displayed via a display monitor located on or within the vehicle but is not recorded nor stored.
However, Lambert teaches:
wherein based on the data mode having a camera setting deactivating capture of the camera data via the interior camera (Lambert, Col. 2, lines 17-22; “A system for managing a camera is disclosed. A system for managing a camera comprises an input interface configured to detect a change in state; a processor configured to block transfer of data from an inward facing video camera; and an output interface configured to indicate that transfer of data is blocked.” … Col. 3, lines 10-17; “In some embodiments, when a change of driver is noted, it is then necessary to identify the new driver, and in some cases it is determined if the driver's image should be recorded, and if the driver's image is determined that it should not be recorded, then the camera is disabled and/or the images from the camera are not stored. The disabling of the camera can also be indicated to the driver so that the driver knows that he is not being imaged.” … Col. 6, lines 53-64; “In 410, an indication to disable the camera is sent. In some embodiments, the indication to disable the camera is sent to a shutter, where the shutter is used to disable the camera by blocking light to the camera input lens. In some embodiments, the indication to disable the camera is sent to a driver image processor, where the driver image processor is used to disable the storage and/or transfer of an image from the camera. In some embodiments, the indication to disable the camera is sent to the camera, where the camera uses the indication to disable image storing, transferring, or taking capabilities (e.g., by disabling electronic circuits, imaging circuits, etc.) to disable the imaging capabilities of the camera.”)
configuring, by the processor, the interior camera to operate in a mirror mode in which image data from the interior camera is received and displayed via a display monitor located on or within the vehicle but is not recorded nor stored] (Lambert, Col. 2, lines 17-22; “A system for managing a camera is disclosed. A system for managing a camera comprises an input interface configured to detect a change in state; a processor configured to block transfer of data from an inward facing video camera; and an output interface (i.e., display/screen) configured to indicate that transfer of data is blocked.” … Col. 3, lines 10-17; “In some embodiments, when a change of driver is noted, it is then necessary to identify the new driver, and in some cases it is determined if the driver's image should be recorded, and if the driver's image is determined that it should not be recorded, then the camera is disabled and/or the images from the camera are not stored. The disabling of the camera can also be indicated to the driver so that the driver knows that he is not being imaged.” … Col. 6, lines 53-64; “In 410, an indication to disable the camera is sent. In some embodiments, the indication to disable the camera is sent to a shutter, where the shutter is used to disable the camera by blocking light to the camera input lens. In some embodiments, the indication to disable the camera is sent to a driver image processor, where the driver image processor is used to disable the storage and/or transfer of an image from the camera. In some embodiments, the indication to disable the camera is sent to the camera, where the camera uses the indication to disable image storing, transferring, or taking capabilities (e.g., by disabling electronic circuits, imaging circuits, etc.) to disable the imaging capabilities of the camera.”).
Soda, Kuehnle, Abrosimov, Kuehnle-959 and Lambert are from similar field of technology. Prior to the instant application’s effective filling date, there was a need for a method for provide an enhance method for user privacy and data protection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lambert system into Soda-Kuehnle-Abrosimov-Kuehnle-959 system, with a motivation to provide in-vehicle camera which sends the image to a display device and do not store or record the image (Lambert, Col. 6, lines 53-64).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soda et al. (US 11,189,109) hereinafter Soda in view of Kuehnle (US 11,212,443) (included on IDS) and Abrosimov et al. (US 2022/0232350) hereinafter Abrosimov as applied to claim 1, and further in view Lin et al. (US 2022/0281460) hereinafter Lin.
As per claim 13, the combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov teach the method of claim 1. Soda teaches wherein the one or more data collection devices comprise one or more sensors that collect sensor data associated with the vehicle (Soda, Col. 2, lines 58-63; “Each vehicular device 100, which is, for example, a drive recorder having a camera, various sensors such as an acceleration sensor and a GPS (global positioning system) sensor, a storage device, a microcomputer, etc., picks up vehicle data that comply with a collection request received by the data collection apparatus 10.”), and [wherein the collection setting controls activation and deactivation of respective sensors of the one or more sensors].
The combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov does not expressly teach:
wherein the collection setting controls activation and deactivation of respective sensors of the one or more sensors.
However, Lin teaches:
wherein the collection setting controls activation and deactivation of respective sensors of the one or more sensors (Lin, Parag. [0007-0008]; “The instructions can further include instructions to deactivate the vehicle sensor upon collecting the data of the vehicle passenger. The instructions can further include instructions to reactivate the vehicle sensor to collect additional data detecting the vehicle passenger, and, upon detecting the vehicle passenger with the additional data, provide a second output to the user interface.” … Parag. [0015]; “The activation time of the sensor can be a time elapsed from providing an instruction to activate the sensor and receiving collected data from the sensor.”)
Soda, Kuehnle, Abrosimov and Lin are from similar field of technology. Prior to the instant application’s effective filling date, there was a need for a method for provide an enhance method for user privacy and data protection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin system into Soda-Kuehnle-Abrosimov system, with a motivation to provide activation/deactivation function for vehicle sensors (Lin, Parag. [0007-0008]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soda et al. (US 11,189,109) hereinafter Soda in view of Kuehnle (US 11,212,443) (included on IDS) and Abrosimov et al. (US 2022/0232350) hereinafter Abrosimov as applied to claim 1, and further in view Molin (US 2022/0368830).
As per claim 14, the combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov teach the method of claim 1. Kuehnle teaches wherein the storage setting comprises different storage settings that control whether the data is stored in the memory or not, a duration of time over which the data is stored in the memory, and whether the data is stored in the external memory or not (Kuehnle, Col. 8, lines 16-18; “Once the correlated event data has been transmitted from the on-vehicle event detection and reporting system to the remote server, whether automatically or upon request”).
The combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov does not expressly teach:
wherein the storage setting comprises different storage settings that control whether the data is stored in the memory or not, a duration of time over which the data is stored in the memory, …
However, Molin teaches:
wherein the storage setting comprises different storage settings that control whether the data is stored in the memory or not, a duration of time over which the data is stored in the memory, and whether the data is stored in the external memory or not (Molin, Parag. [0015]; “In at least some embodiments, the invention relates to a system and method for adjusting recording modes of the driver facing cameras of such event detection and reporting systems, in response to detected driver position, or more generally to detected positions of vehicle cabin occupants. In certain embodiments, this is achieved by entering a different mode of recording (i.e., recording mode) in response to the detected driver position, which may be, for example location within the cabin (e.g., in-seat versus out of-seat) and/or attitude (e.g., driver has a target driving posture). This different mode of recording is characterized by the fact that the video data of the driver facing camera is altered in a manner which obscures the recorded image data, in whole or in part, or is otherwise not recorded.” … Parag. [0038]; “In particular, switching to the obscured mode may, as a practical matter, result in the driver not being recorded, in whole or in part. For example, in the obscured mode the video data from the driver facing camera may not be recorded in the long-term memory, but may still allow for the video data to be temporarily recorded to the short-term memory, e.g., the buffer memory.”)
Soda, Kuehnle, Abrosimov and Molin are from similar field of technology. Prior to the instant application’s effective filling date, there was a need for a method for provide an enhance method for user privacy and data protection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Molin system into Soda-Kuehnle-Abrosimov system, with a motivation to provide different storage settings for collected data (Molin, Parag. [0038]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soda et al. (US 11,189,109) hereinafter Soda in view of Kuehnle (US 11,212,443) (included on IDS) and Abrosimov et al. (US 2022/0232350) hereinafter Abrosimov as applied to claim 1, and further in view Saitoh et al. (US 2023/0298407) hereinafter Saitoh.
As per claim 15, the combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov teach the method of claim 1. Kuehnle teaches wherein the transfer setting comprises different transfer settings (Kuehnle, Col. 3, lines 42-44; “Data related to detected events (i.e., event data) may then be stored and/or transmitted to a remote location/server, as described in more detail below.” … Col. 8, lines 7-11; “It should further be appreciated that the correlated obscured and unobscured data may then be transmitted by the on-vehicle event detection and reporting system to a remote server at block 360 using, for example, wireless transceiver 150 of FIG. 1.”) that control whether and when the data is transferred to the external system or device, or not transferred to the external system or device, and that control different external systems to which the data is transferred or not transferred].
The combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov does not expressly teach:
control whether and when the data is transferred to the external system or device, or not transferred to the external system or device, and that control different external systems to which the data is transferred or not transferred
However, Saitoh teaches:
control whether and when the data is transferred to the external system or device, or not transferred to the external system or device, and that control different external systems to which the data is transferred or not transferred (Saitoh, Parag. [0006]; “One aspect of the present invention is a control system of a vehicle that includes a first electronic device, a second electronic device for receiving vehicle data related to the vehicle from the first electronic device, a communication device for transmitting the vehicle data received by the second electronic device to an external device of the vehicle, a determination unit for determining whether or not to transmit the vehicle data to the external device, and an imparting unit for imparting time data to the vehicle data to be transmitted to the external device in the case where the determination unit determines to transmit the vehicle data to the external device.”).
Soda, Kuehnle, Abrosimov and Saitoh are from similar field of technology. Prior to the instant application’s effective filling date, there was a need for a method for provide an enhance method for user privacy and data protection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Saitoh system into Soda-Kuehnle-Abrosimov system, with a motivation to provide different transfer settings for collected data (Saitoh, Parag. [0006).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soda et al. (US 11,189,109) hereinafter Soda in view of Kuehnle (US 11,212,443) (included on IDS) and Abrosimov et al. (US 2022/0232350) hereinafter Abrosimov as applied to claim 1, and further in view and Cook et al. (US 8,508,353) hereinafter Cook and Fang et al. (US 2023/0316817) hereinafter Fang.
As per claim 16, the combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: monitoring, by the processor, a risk level associated with operation of the vehicle in association with the data mode corresponding to a restricted data mode having one or more data collection settings that deactivate the collection of the data; and
based on a determination that the risk level exceeds a threshold risk level, temporarily overriding, by the processor, the restricted data mode and activating the collection of the data until the risk level falls below the threshold risk level, and thereafter automatically re-activating the restricted data mode.
The combination of Soda, Kuehnle and Abrosimov does not expressly teach:
monitoring a risk level associated with operation of the vehicle in association with the data mode corresponding to a restricted data mode having one or more data collection settings that deactivate the collection of the data by the control; and
based on a determination that the risk level exceeds a threshold risk level, temporarily overriding the restricted data mode and activating the collection of the data until the risk level falls below the threshold risk level.
However, Cook teaches:
monitoring a risk level associated with operation of the vehicle (Cook, Col. 1, lines 39-51; “The surveillance, analysis and reporting of vehicular accidents and “events” has, for some time, been the focus of numerous inventive and commercial efforts. These systems seek to monitor a vehicle's condition while being driven by a driver, and then record and report whenever a “hazardous” condition is detected (i.e., risk level associated). What vehicle (and/or driver) symptoms are to constitute a "hazardous” event or condition is defined in the context of a particular monitoring system. Each system will monitor one or more sensor devices located in the vehicle (e.g., shock sensors, location sensors, attitude/orientation sensors, sound sensors), and will generally apply a threshold alarm level (of a variety of levels of sophistication) to the sensor(s) output to assign an event or a non-event.”) [in association with the data mode corresponding to a restricted data mode having one or more data collection settings that deactivate the collection of the data by the control component]; and
based on a determination that the risk level exceeds a threshold risk level, [temporarily overriding the restricted data mode] and activating the collection of the data until the risk level falls below the threshold risk level (Cook, Col. 14, lines 16-27; “FIG. 9 depicts the sequence of steps of the manual event scoring portion 62 of the system of the present invention. The sensors (see FIG. 1) feed data 29 to the event detector. When one or more of these sensors reaches or exceeds (or falls below) a pre-set threshold, an “event” is considered to have happened. This “trigger” results in the sensor data 29 being saved by the event detector (e.g., transferred from memory buffer to a longer-term memory storage area) 160. The event detector then applies an analytical method to the triggered sensor data (or "clips') 122 to immediately predict what type of risky driving event has occurred (e.g., crash, excessive braking, hard cornering).”).
Soda, Kuehnle, Abrosimov and Cook are from similar field of technology. Prior to the instant application’s effective filling date, there was a need for a method for provide an enhance method for user privacy and data protection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cook system into Soda-Kuehnle-Abrosimov system, with a motivation to provide activation of data collection until a risk event is below a threshold (Cook, Col. 1, lines 39-51).
The combination of Soda, Kuehnle, Abrosimov and Cook does not expressly teach:
in association with the data mode corresponding to a restricted data mode having one or more data collection settings that deactivate the collection of the data by the control component;
However, Fang teaches:
in association with the data mode corresponding to a restricted data mode having one or more data collection settings that deactivate the collection of the data by the control component (Fang, Parag. [0525]; “The example apparatus 3100 further includes the policy acquisition circuit 2704 that interprets the vehicle policy data value 2710 including a device condition description 3102, for example indicating which fault and/or diagnostic parameters, and/or which devices, are to be utilized to commence, change, and/or stop data collection operations. The example apparatus 3100 operates similarly to apparatus 2700, for example determining parsed policy data responsive to the vehicle policy data value 2710 and the device condition description 3102. The example device in the system, for example any end point, sensor, actuator, control operation, or the like, and allows for the tailoring of data collection responsive to fault activity generally (e.g., collecting specified data whenever a fault occurs, and/or whenever a fault occurs from a group of faults that are of interest) and/or to specific fault activity (e.g., collecting specified data based on the specific fault – for example to determine if highly correlated faults have also occurred and/or may occur soon, to gather specific information related to the fault to determine a root cause of the fault, and/or to capture historical information preceding the fault occurrence).”);
… temporarily overriding the restricted data mode (Fang, Parag. [0230]; “In certain embodiments, a policy further includes event information, which may be stipulated as parameter or quantitative based events (e.g., a given data value exceeds a threshold, etc.), and/or categorical events (e.g., a particular fault code, operational condition or state, or vehicle location/jurisdiction occurs) (i.e., risk level exceeds a threshold). In certain embodiments, a policy further includes an event response, such as data values to be captured in response to the occurrence of the event, and/or other changes in the data collection scheme such as increased or reduced data collection rates, changes in collected resolution, or the like. In certain embodiments, an event response further includes a time frame associated with the event occurrence, for example a time period after the event occurrence to utilize the adjusted data collection scheme (i.e., allowing the adjusted data collection rates as temporarily override the restricted data mode) and/or a time period preceding the event occurrence (e.g., utilizing a rolling buffer or other data collection operation, providing temporary information that can subsequently be captured if the event occurs). In certain embodiments, changes to the data collection scheme for an event can include multiple changes-for example changes over a period of time, further changes based upon the progression of the event (e.g., if the event severity gets worse), and/or criteria to determine that an event is cleared. In certain embodiments, changes to a data collection scheme may be implemented based on event related clearance of the same or another event, for example implementing a data collection change until a next shutdown event of the vehicle, until a service technician clears the event, for a selected number of shutdown events occurs, or the like.”).
Soda, Kuehnle, Abrosimov, Cook and Fang are from similar field of technology. Prior to the instant application’s effective filling date, there was a need for a method for provide an enhance method for user privacy and data protection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fang system into Soda-Kuehnle-Abrosimov-Cook system, with a motivation monitoring a risk level and deactivation of collecting data (Fang, Parag. [0525]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Breaux et al. (US 11,178,272) relates to enforcing blocking functionality on a mobile device (e.g., a mobile device within a vehicle). The mobile device receives a request to disable a blocking of a user interaction with one or more functions of the mobile device. The mobile device prompts a capture of an image by a camera of the mobile device. The mobile device determines whether the image is captured from a passenger space in the vehicle. Once so determined, the mobile device disables the blocking of the user interaction with the one or more functions of the mobile device.
Jiang et al. (WO2022237863) relates to a vehicle control method and a vehicle control system. By means of controlling the switching of driving modes under a predetermined condition, excessive data collection can be avoided, especially in sensitive areas or controlled areas. Some or all of the data collection functions can be turned off according to the condition, so as to actively prevent the collection of data while ensuring the safe and stable driving of a vehicle.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.D.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2498
/YIN CHEN SHAW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2498