DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2 August 2024, 21 Oct 2024, 20 Nov 2024, 2 May 2025, 15 Sept 2025, 3 March 2026 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the cooling fluid" in lines 8, 10 and 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the cooling fluid" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the cooling fluid" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the second supply coupling" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the cooling fluid" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the first cartridge" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the second cartridge" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims not specifically referenced are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vancelette et al (US 20080027422).
Regarding Claim 1, Vancelette et al disclose a manifold (112). The manifold comprising:
a first outlet port (see Annotated Figure A) with a first normally-closed outlet valve (¶ 16);
a second outlet port (see Annotated Figure A) with a second normally-closed outlet valve (¶ 16);
a first inlet port (see Annotated Figure A) with a first normally-closed inlet valve (¶ 16);
a second inlet port (see Annotated Figure A) with a second normally-closed inlet valve (¶ 16);
a manifold inlet (124); and
a single supply conduit (113) fluidly coupled between the manifold inlet and both the first outlet port and the second outlet port to supply the cooling fluid1 to both the first outlet port and the second outlet port (Figure 2);
wherein the manifold is arranged to hold the cooling fluid2 within the single supply conduit until the first outlet port is opened via a first supply coupling (to 114), after which the cooling fluid3 is permitted to pass through the single supply conduit and out through the first outlet port (to 114).
Annotated Figure A - Vancelette et al
Regarding Claim 3, Vancelette et al disclose where the single supply conduit includes separate branches for respectively supplying the cooling fluid to the first outlet port and the second outlet port (see Annotated Figure A).
Regarding Claim 4, Vancelette et al disclose where the manifold is further arranged to permit the cooling fluid to pass out through the second outlet port in response to the second supply coupling connecting to the second outlet port (to 114; Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Vancelette et al disclose where a manifold outlet (126) and a single return conduit (Figure 2) fluidly coupled between the manifold outlet and both the first inlet port and the second inlet port to receive the cooling fluid from both the first inlet port and the second inlet port (see Annotated Figure A).
Regarding Claim 6, Vancelette et al disclose where the first outlet port and the first inlet port are arranged in a first pair for simultaneously receiving a first single cartridge (see Annotated Figure A with cartridge 132 of Figure 3), and wherein the second outlet port and the second inlet port are arranged in a second pair (see Annotated Figure A) for simultaneously receiving a second single cartridge (another of 132 of Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 7, Vancelette et al disclose where when the first cartridge is connected to the first pair, the first normally-closed outlet valve is in an open position (¶ 17 via quick disconnect coupling).
Regarding Claim 8, Vancelette et al disclose where when the second cartridge is connected to the second pair, the second normally-closed outlet valve is in an open position (¶ 17 via quick disconnect coupling).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vancelette et al (US 20080027422) in view of Schennum et al (US 5842682).
Regarding Claim 2, Vancelette et al disclose all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose where the first normally-closed outlet valve, the second normally-closed outlet valve, the first normally-closed inlet valve, and the second normally-closed inlet valve are umbrella valves or duckbill valves.
Schennum et al teach a connect disconnect structure with a valve (Figures 3-5) where the valve is an umbrella valve (5 in Figures 3 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve of Vancelette et al with the umbrella valve as taught by Schennum et al for the advantage of combining prior art elements according to known methods (the valve of Schennum et al within the system of Vancelette et al) to yield predictable results (to close and open the inlets and outlets of the manifold).
Conclusion
/NICOLE GARDNER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3753
1 The recitation of the actual fluid handled has been given no patentable weight in the apparatus claims, MPEP 2115.
2 The recitation of the actual fluid handled has been given no patentable weight in the apparatus claims, MPEP 2115.
3 The recitation of the actual fluid handled has been given no patentable weight in the apparatus claims, MPEP 2115.